Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
Buy On
  1. Nov 14, 2018
    92
    If you're looking for a multiplayer shooter that offers more than twitch-based gameplay and is not strictly focused on kills, then you should definitely give Battlefield V a try.
  2. Nov 19, 2018
    91
    There's no doubt that Battlefield series is still going strong, and this V is probably the best game of the franchise.
  3. Nov 12, 2018
    90
    Battlefield V builds upon its predecessor in meaningful ways, DICE stripping away practically every one of the series' fripperies to get to the nub of what truly makes the series tick. This is Battlefield at its most undiluted and raw, and it's all the better for it.
  4. Nov 11, 2018
    90
    Battlefield V achieves a full immersion within the WWII phenomenon due to a magnificent storyline and some excellent general details. The multiplayer meets all of the expectations and in the end the franchise manages to stay as a reference in the FPS genre.
  5. 90
    Battlefield V retains heart in its single player War Stories mode and variety in its multiplayer modes. New & improved personalisation within 'Your Company' gives each of the classes a fresh, personal feel to your soldiers, while remaining authentic to the era. A solid road map of content is set to deliver new maps, modes and seasonal events to keep gamers coming back, which is a good thing as no other game does raw gun play and bullet physics quite like Battlefield. It just feels right and Battlefield V is no exception.
  6. Nov 18, 2018
    85
    Battlefield V is not a big audiovisual step up from Battlefield 1, nor does it have a great campaign or important new game modes. But in return it brings us the best multiplayer in the series in playable terms and the promise of Tides of War: the free and regular updates of the game with new content and features.
  7. Nov 15, 2018
    85
    Battlefield V has the potential to be the best game in the series. It’s recaptured the magic of those Battlefield moments at almost every opportunity, and its new mechanics like squad revives and attrition put the focus back on sticking with your teammates. There are still a lot of questions it needs to answer with its Tides of War live service, and more casual players might be turned off by the challenging gunplay, but what we have now is a worthy successor to the Battlefield name.
  8. Nov 12, 2018
    85
    Battlefield V is a good FPS that invites to review everything related to the Second World War. The slight changes in their game dynamics make it much more fun than before, however, the design of their maps and even their characters is less bright than in their previous game. Including a campaign mode is something that many of us greatly appreciate, but it feels repetitive and, although its narrative is good, I do not think it stays in the hearts of the players. Although in general its sound and visuals are impressive, it has some scratches in its programming that take part of its brightness to one of the most striking sections of the game.
  9. Nov 21, 2018
    83
    Battlefield V manages the series' formula in many aspects, offering us one of the most entertaining multiplayer FPS experiences to date. On the other hand, though, it feels a bit underdeveloped with an overly short and somewhat dull single-player campaign and an overall lack of contents. It will definitely be a better and richer game in some months, when more content will have been delivered.
  10. Nov 23, 2018
    82
    Battlefield V reconfirms its usual and granitic certainty in multiplayer, while the single player campaign fails to strike as we would have hoped.
  11. Nov 17, 2018
    81
    I like the Battlefield series, and I love the parts of this game that are here. I only wish it were finished.
  12. Nov 28, 2018
    80
    Battlefield V was a nice return for me. With a few little issues here and there, I was able to look past them and get a nice multiplayer focused game that has seemed to improve a lot since Bad Company 2. Emphasis more on teamwork and class roles has given it an identity and is more than just a spawn, kill, die game. Battlefield fans should pick this one up, and I think casual first person shooter fans looking for a quick fix with some pretty great visuals can’t go wrong here either.
  13. Nov 27, 2018
    80
    Battlefield V is a welcome return to the fast paced massive multiplayer games that the series is known for. Even though it lacks in map counts and has a few missing modes that are coming in the future it is a surprisingly complete package. It makes a very competent first impression and promises a longevity that Battlefield 1 never did.
  14. Nov 26, 2018
    80
    Thankfully, even as some features are conspicuously absent, nothing else in Battlefield V feels rushed. It's a smooth experience, offering yet another audiovisual master class, and regularly delivers a true sense of spectacle in a way that other console shooters simply can't match.
  15. 80
    The finest war game of 2018.
  16. Nov 20, 2018
    80
    The lack of polish in some of the systems will get improved with patches, but the missed opportunities with the campaign content frustrate the full package. But ultimately, this is one of the best multiplayer shooters you will play this year, and maybe the best until the next Battlefield. So if you love competitive FPS games, yes, you have to buy this.
  17. Nov 19, 2018
    80
    Battlefield V doesn’t do anything out of the ordinary, but it’s atmospheric, tense and wildy entertaining.
  18. Nov 17, 2018
    80
    I enjoyed my time with Battlefield V a lot, I just can’t confidently say that it’s a major improvement (if at all) over my personal favorite in the series, Battlefield 1, at least not yet.
  19. Nov 16, 2018
    80
    On day one, the game feels a few reinforcements short to pull off the overwhelming victory we’ve come to expect given the series’ strong lineage.
  20. Nov 16, 2018
    80
    Fans of the Battlefield franchise will find that despite its flaws, Battlefield V warrants a return trip to World War II. If we look at raw numbers, there's less content than before, but the quality of the maps remains the same, and free DLC is on the way. Some old modes, like Frontlines, feel like a slog, while new modes like Grand Operations feel quite quick despite having longer intended play times. The game looks gorgeous, but it still has some graphical issues that need to be ironed out. Despite all of this and a number of bugs that are already being addressed by DICE, BF5 still manages to retain all of the traits and quirks that make the Battlefield series feel exhilarating.
  21. Nov 15, 2018
    80
    Despite its slow rollout, Battlefield 5 is a fantastic multiplayer experience, especially across the fan favourite Conquest and large-scale Grand Operations.
  22. It might lack the spit and polish seen in some other shooters, but Battlefield V delivers a visceral thrill unique to the series. Its adrenaline-filled, large-scale battles give rise to memorable moments simply not seen in other games, and these moments are augmented by the faithful Second World War setting. Those looking for an alternative to the twitch-driven combat of other popular shooters will find it here.
  23. 80
    Battlefield V ultimately feels like a lateral release with little pushing the franchise forward when you judge it by what’s here and not what may or may not come.
  24. Nov 14, 2018
    80
    If DICE is telling the truth and Battlefield V develops into a long-term, always evolving online game, fans are in for a treat. The bones of BFV are robust. It looks outstanding, plays great, and the stories of World War 2 are a constant draw for history fans. There are rough patches for the time being, but if those get smoothed out and the content pipeline remains full, Battlefield V stands to have a very, very long shelf life with shooter fans.
  25. Nov 13, 2018
    80
    Battlefield V is a solid experience crafted from BF1 for BF1’s fans. It’s a great start for a game that in the next months (hopefully) is going to show its true potential.
  26. Nov 12, 2018
    80
    A good but incomplete game that tries to improve every part of Battlefield 1, and achieves it... While falling short on content on its release (no coop, no battle royale, only 3 short campaigns...)
  27. Dec 13, 2018
    76
    It’s unfinished, but I’m highly optimistic that it will improve as new content releases and its Battlefield multiplayer at its finest, and that alone may sell the game for the longtime veteran considering what’s to come. I very reluctantly recommend Battlefield V in its current state, but I must stress my disappointment that EA and DICE willing released a game that feels kind of unfinished.
  28. Nov 20, 2018
    75
    I trust DICE, I think they’re a great developer, and I have no doubt that six months from now when all of the promised content for Battlefield 5 has finally made its way into the game that this will be one of the best multiplayer shooters on the market. But at this moment, it simply feels like more of what we’ve already seen before with some slight tweaks that only series veterans will truly appreciate.
  29. Nov 19, 2018
    75
    Battlefield V’s content depth may indeed be lacking, though even so, the content that is on offer remains explosively robust from the onset. The campaign is relatively engaging and emotional, and the multiplayer is every bit as action-heavy as it ever has been. That said, if you’re looking for a varied shooter, you may want to hold off until DICE adds in its additional story, its battle royale mode, and its extra maps.
  30. Nov 14, 2018
    75
    Gunplay, a revamped squad system, interesting war stories, and superb maps make Battlefield V a great game to enjoy. However, the lack of content across the entire game at launch weakens the appeal, which ultimately lessens the overall experience.
  31. Nov 28, 2018
    74
    This is a Battlefield experience through and through. However, I find myself staring more at the gaps in the menus than the accessible parts that are there. The promise of future content is a great thing, but not when you are constantly reminded of the voids it will fill. Fans will love this entry, and rightfully so, but in its current form Battlefield V won't be recruiting any new soldiers to this battle.
  32. Edge Magazine
    Dec 6, 2018
    70
    What's here is enough to be going on with, but we'll have to wait till next year's updates and in particular, that possibly seismic battle-royale mode, to discover whether this is truly a Battlefield that stands apart. [Jan 2019, p.114]
  33. Nov 29, 2018
    70
    If you’re a fan of Battlefield then there is every reason to jump in with this year’s title, but if you want to experience the game as the developers have obviously intended, I suggest you hold off, enjoy the other amazing games released this year and come back to Battlefield V in about six months’ time when it’s no longer in its current state of being a glorified beta with a triple-A price tag.
  34. Nov 20, 2018
    70
    Battlefield V is flawed at launch, but it’s clearly a game that is only going to get better with time.
  35. Nov 16, 2018
    70
    Battlefield V offers a compelling single-player and multiplayer package, although it's not the complete reinvention that you may have hoped for.
  36. Nov 15, 2018
    70
    Battlefield's traditional strengths remain firmly in place amid DICE's return to World War II: great graphics, audio, and a scope that few other games can equal. But it's a thinner package than usual, and the decision to hold important modes like Firestorm until 2019 feels like a crucial misstep. Battlefield 5 is a good shooter as it is, but we wouldn't blame you if you decided to wait until it's had some time to mature.
  37. Nov 19, 2018
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  38. Nov 14, 2018
    60
    As it stands now, Battlefield V is a beautiful depiction of an ugly war that offers only a few fleeting chances to reflect on what it meant...And then the bullets start flying.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 15, 2018
    A strong if slim shooter that lays down strong foundations for the future, while feeling a little unfinished.
User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 508 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    If you want to see petite Asian women and female cripples running around on the frontlines of WW2 then go ahead and buy this travesty of aIf you want to see petite Asian women and female cripples running around on the frontlines of WW2 then go ahead and buy this travesty of a game. Not to mention the Fortnite style character customizations that make WW2 an even bigger joke. This game takes SJW to an entirely new level LOL. Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Battlefield V is a political tool. Add to that it's a shell of a game. Don't waste your money.
  3. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    What in the world is this game? A joke. A disgrace to World War 2 veterans. I can't believe I got this pile of garbage. MicrotransactionsWhat in the world is this game? A joke. A disgrace to World War 2 veterans. I can't believe I got this pile of garbage. Microtransactions galore, same looks and textures from Battlefield 1 in 2016. Poor AI in the campaign which, by the way was one of the worst stories I've played from DICE. No interesting plot, no rememberable characters. Go to Point A, Point B, come back and repeat. Why support a company that does this? Outrageous that it's a 60 dollar game too. Do not buy, wait for a better game! Full Review »