User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 134

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2018
    9
    For me both the visuals and sound design give the game a lot of character and whilst it’s minimalist in areas it still doesn’t stop the game from shining. The combat feels awesome and it remains fluid at all times which means it’s not only a nice challenge when in combat but it’s also fun as well. There’s a decent variety of enemies and bosses you come across during your time with the gameFor me both the visuals and sound design give the game a lot of character and whilst it’s minimalist in areas it still doesn’t stop the game from shining. The combat feels awesome and it remains fluid at all times which means it’s not only a nice challenge when in combat but it’s also fun as well. There’s a decent variety of enemies and bosses you come across during your time with the game and this does keep things fresh and interesting for longer. I really enjoyed traversing through the fantastic world because it feels alive in all areas and it never seems to get dull or boring either. Each weapon feels important when in combat and they all pack a punch as well which means defeating an enemy is very satisfying. The game suffers with a few issues here and there and whilst these bugs aren’t game-breaking they can still be off-putting from time to time. Your A.I companions can be a real nuisance at times and they do tend to do what they want to do instead of what you’d like them to do. Ashen is a game that I’ve read a lot about but it seems like it has been in development forever. As you can imagine then I was very surprised to learn of a release coming out of the blue, but I’m glad it did come out of the blue because Ashen is awesome. Without a doubt you’ll notice similarities with the Dark Souls series in this game and whilst some may call it a clone at least you can say it’s a fantastic clone instead of being something poorly done. Combat is obviously the main aspect in this game and I’m pleased to say that they’ve got this aspect spot on because everything remains fluid and brutal at all times. The weapons also shine in the combat elements as well and trying out each weapon is very fun because they all pack a punch and have tons of variety. Speaking about variety the enemies you have to face also have tons of variety as well and defeating each different enemy and boss always remained satisfying because of this. At the end of the day then Ashen was definitely worth the wait because it has a world that’s worth exploring and it never seems to get dull or boring and if it didn’t suffer with a few bugs and AI problems then it may have got a perfect score because the game is that good and it without a doubt deserves everybody’s attention. Massive two thumbs up! Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2018
    9
    Ashen is a beautiful game.

    The phrase "souls-like" gets thrown around a lot. People use it for Dead Cells, Ori, Hollowknight, Cuphead, pretty much any game that is hard. It makes the phrase utterly useless. But for this game, it is an adequate genre-description. Ashen is a third person perspective action-adventure game with some RPG elements, and it is very much in the same genre as
    Ashen is a beautiful game.

    The phrase "souls-like" gets thrown around a lot. People use it for Dead Cells, Ori, Hollowknight, Cuphead, pretty much any game that is hard. It makes the phrase utterly useless. But for this game, it is an adequate genre-description.

    Ashen is a third person perspective action-adventure game with some RPG elements, and it is very much in the same genre as Dark Souls. Mechanically, it is quite similar, with the main innovations coming from the social interactions allowing for permanent (or at least near-permanent) play with your friends. Albeit in a clunky and purposefully difficult way.

    Graphically, the game retains a very distinctive art style. It has been compared to Absolver, and that is not an unfair comparison. The interpretive style of the art is perfectly in character with the light/dark themes of the levels, and it is in this level design that Ashen masters most cleanly. The use use of light and dark in the design, from art aesthetic to level and creature design, all the way to the aural sensations of the soundtrack and sound effects, are immersive and evocative. They remind me of the same themes in Destiny.

    The game is relatively approachable, and despite the difficulty it never feels truly punishing. It's very narrowly easier than From Software's offerings,though a lot of that ease is the fact that ashen gets the controls right (which took Dark Souls until its 3rd title to do anywhere close to as well). The pacing is more like dark souls and less like Nioh or Bloodborne.

    The whole game takes just around 25 hours for an adequately skilled 'Souls' player. And it is thoroughly enjoyable from beginning to end.

    A note for Xbox players. For Xbox One X, Ashen delivers one of the most beautiful games released on the system to date. For Xbox One S, the game is just as beautiful but minor slowdown can occasionally mar the experience. For those utilizing the original Xbox One hardware, you may find yourself dying in frustration due to input lag/dropped frames at key moments. While this occasionally crops up against bosses, it's more common when facing scores of weaker opponents in the already suicidal melees. If you want to avoid these mishaps (and the associated frustration), you'll want to focus more on ranged, and cautious styles of play.

    Mechanically, this game is nearly flawless. Artistically, it is a work of beauty. The multiplayer design is purposeful but bad. Why 'souls' games so utterly hate the idea of making it easy for you to play with your friends is beyond me, but it is what it is. Insofar as difficulty, it is a bit easier than Dark Souls, but on the other hand the controls are handled far better. I found the overall experience better, and I vastly preferred the world Ashen shows to us to that of Dark Souls.

    This is the best 'Souls' available on the market. It's better than Dark souls 1, 2, 3, Demon Souls 1, 2, Bloodborne, Nioh, and The Surge. It is my favorite game in the genre.

    I can't quite call this game perfect, but it is damn close. There are plenty of people who won't like Ashen. And there are also plenty of people who may like it mechanically but won't necessarily appreciate the aesthetic, which is boiled into everything about the game. But if you like the aesthetic, and you if this is your favorite genre, then Ashen is IMO the best game on the market for you.
    Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Definitivamente é um soulslike que honra o título. Ashen não só usa elementos já conhecidos da famosa série da Fromsoftware como traz sua própria personalidade, o game fornece ao jogador um multiplayer imersivo e divertido, com ótimo desempenho, principalmente visto que falamos aqui de um indie! Outro ponto que lhe faz ser único é sua dinâmica em locais escuro, sempre dependendo de umDefinitivamente é um soulslike que honra o título. Ashen não só usa elementos já conhecidos da famosa série da Fromsoftware como traz sua própria personalidade, o game fornece ao jogador um multiplayer imersivo e divertido, com ótimo desempenho, principalmente visto que falamos aqui de um indie! Outro ponto que lhe faz ser único é sua dinâmica em locais escuro, sempre dependendo de um lampião. O combate beira a perfeição, buscando manter o melhor do gênero, sua arte ainda que simples, faz com que o player pare algumas vezes só pra admirar. Tendo visto isso, Ashen é um jogo extremamente desafiador, divertido e marcante. Seus defeitos ficam pela falta de verba claramente notada na ausência de trilhas sonoras mais bem trabalhadas e nos chefes com baixa riqueza de detalhes. Resumindo, Ashen, se algum dia pudesse ser um AA, seria sem dúvidas um exemplo de rpg para a indústria, que busca inovar e emocionar com a simplicidade que só os gênios do ramo têm. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2018
    9
    Absolutely charming game. I've been playing it since last night and there are Souls-like things to Ashen but how is that a bad thing? Combat is fluid and playing with another gamer is so much fun. Whether you're on PC or X1 PLAY THIS GAME.
  5. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Jogo indie muito bom. Bons desafios, boas mecânicas, bons gráficos. Recomendo!
  6. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Olvidad los votos haters, es el mejor Souls alike de la generación y no solo eso, elimina elementos molestos de los souls para apostar por un mundo mas orgánico, la ambientación es increible y artísticamente bebe de SOTC y Journy de manera evidente. Juegazo por mucho que pese a los sonyers que han venido a dar negativos.
  7. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Jogo maravilhoso! Combate dinâmico e divertido, visuais muito bonitos, direção de arte cuidadosa. Jogão!
  8. Dec 11, 2018
    9
    Cross between Dark Souls and Necropolis. If you like the Souls style game, this is definitely worth your time. It's not quite as challenging, probably more akin to the difficulty of Lords of the Fallen, but it's a great indie game in it's own right. The one issue I've had so far is just getting whoever takes over my Jokell to actually do the mission I need to do with me. You can justCross between Dark Souls and Necropolis. If you like the Souls style game, this is definitely worth your time. It's not quite as challenging, probably more akin to the difficulty of Lords of the Fallen, but it's a great indie game in it's own right. The one issue I've had so far is just getting whoever takes over my Jokell to actually do the mission I need to do with me. You can just disable multiplayer and use the AI (who is actually useful) so that isn't a big deal. Otherwise awesome game. Expand
  9. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    for a game that has simplistic graphics...its beautiful, the combat is definitely souls-like and that's a good thing, it keeps you thinking especially when you find yourself moving a little too quickly it has a way of slowing you down. its charming , well crafted, and a joy to play....don't believe me ...try it for yourself, you'll be delighted.
  10. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Enchanting graphics and style with fluid combat, a must play for any PC or Xbox One owner.
  11. Dec 7, 2018
    9
    Nunca fui um grande fã de RPGs, poucos realmente me conquistaram e posso vir aqui falar abertamente que Ashen me conquistou, seus gráficos são lindos, mesmo cartunizados, encantam o tempo inteira , o som, seja do cenário ou dos inimigos é único, o gameplay possui uma dificuldade boa, desafiadora , mas não exageradamente. O jogo possui uma boa variedade de lugares e coisas a se fazer,Nunca fui um grande fã de RPGs, poucos realmente me conquistaram e posso vir aqui falar abertamente que Ashen me conquistou, seus gráficos são lindos, mesmo cartunizados, encantam o tempo inteira , o som, seja do cenário ou dos inimigos é único, o gameplay possui uma dificuldade boa, desafiadora , mas não exageradamente. O jogo possui uma boa variedade de lugares e coisas a se fazer, tornando ele menos repetitivo e muito mais intuitivo, é um jogo que, mesmo tendo o ár de complicação de RPG, é ao mesmo tempo fácil de se jogar. Não vi nenhum glitche que tenha realmente me atrapalhado ou incomodado e os loadings do jogo são oks. Ashen vem com uma grande promessa de entreter quaisquer usuários de Xbox One neste fim de ano, altamente recomendo o jogo. Expand
  12. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    The game system is concise, the atmosphere is excellent, the battle is simple but the test technology. In particular, the first boss War performance is very stunning!
  13. Dec 20, 2018
    3
    Conscious graphical style of bland and faded. Greys and browns. Interesting at first, but falls apart quickly.

    But really it all comes down to the combat, which is slow, clunky, unforgiving, and very, very unfun.
  14. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    great and original graphics, same gameplay of Dark souls with enhancements in controls but not as deep in the possible builds (but still good tho)
    great music and atmosphere, really worth it
  15. Dec 14, 2018
    9
    The only thing it has that is similar to Dark Souls is the combat but even then, It's a lot more forgiving and quite a bit more fluid than Dark Souls ever was. I love the art style, I like how your town starts off as this destroyed village and eventually rebuilds into this beautiful place as you progress through the game and recruit characters.

    And I really like how in-depth the
    The only thing it has that is similar to Dark Souls is the combat but even then, It's a lot more forgiving and quite a bit more fluid than Dark Souls ever was. I love the art style, I like how your town starts off as this destroyed village and eventually rebuilds into this beautiful place as you progress through the game and recruit characters.

    And I really like how in-depth the storylines are for some of these characters. I feel like a lot of RPGs lack quality sub-plots but the ones in Ashen are really thought out and well developed and everyone has a connection to someone else so it's really enjoyable in that way. And while the game can be a challenge at times, It's so satisfying to finally get through a difficult part and continue on. I'd definitely recommend the game to anyone but it's certainly not a walk in the park.
    Expand
  16. Jan 4, 2019
    6
    I am a great fan of Dark Souls and Dark Souls-like games. Tried this one for about 7,5 hours, but i am beginning to feel disappointed. The graphics are ok, but the multiplayer, the variety of weapons, the enemies and the lack of solid character build (no magic?) are starting to make me want to quit. Too sad, as i was expecting Microsoft to prove it had a great title in its library.
  17. Dec 7, 2018
    9
    Looks and feels great! I played about 7 hours since it dropped yesterday and if you like Dark Souls, you'll like this.
  18. Dec 7, 2018
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not bad at all. It is what an indie should be, but I think it could have a little more personality Expand
  19. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    Ashen is one of the best xbox console exclusive This Year A44 Games - Ashen made one of the best Games for xbox i give this game a 10 out of 10
  20. Dec 13, 2018
    3
    Bad copy of Dark Souls with many bugs.
    No personality, bad gameplay, booooring
  21. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    I've only played about six hours of this game but I'm in love. If you have ever played a souls-like game this is a great grab for you at 40.
  22. Dec 17, 2018
    0
    L'indé du jour est un bricolage inspiré des Dark qui soûlent, les infamies sado-masos complètement pétées (de saké) bien connues... sauf qu'ici, "fraîcheur" indé oblige, c'est en 4 couleurs dont du gris et du marron... et les personnages (?) n'ont pas de visage ! c'est un "nouveau" concept. Un con-cept. Avec bien entendu la pettie musique d'ascenseur qui va pas bien.

    Les personnes
    L'indé du jour est un bricolage inspiré des Dark qui soûlent, les infamies sado-masos complètement pétées (de saké) bien connues... sauf qu'ici, "fraîcheur" indé oblige, c'est en 4 couleurs dont du gris et du marron... et les personnages (?) n'ont pas de visage ! c'est un "nouveau" concept. Un con-cept. Avec bien entendu la pettie musique d'ascenseur qui va pas bien.

    Les personnes sensibles et naïves trouveront certanement de la poésie dans ce petit monde de lumière blafarde face aux méchantes ténèbres (quelle originalité, dites-moi !) et la même non-jouabilité des combats avec barre d'endurance vidée en 3 coups, roulades qui vident la barre d'dndurance en 3 fois et coups des ennemis qui vident la barre de vie en 3 coups de cuiller à pot.

    On a -attention- un coéquipier pour nous aider que l'on doit ressusciter parce qu'il est trop con et qui reste aussi bloqué régulièrement à tel ou tel endroit parce qu'il est encore trop con... pour nous suivre. J'ai aussi vu l'un des ennemis à capuche qui restait invulnérable avec à peine un dixième de ses points de vie... voilà qui promet ! Et voilà donc surtout un étron de plus à rajouter à la longue liste (interminable) des étrons indés qui sentent très fort.
    Expand
  23. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    juegazo, una de las grandes sorpresas del año y en el game pass desde el dia 1.
  24. Dec 10, 2018
    9
    Ok so this is a neat old school Action RPG, I don't love the Art style, but it's certainly "new" (to me at least). Very slick, very entertaining.
  25. Dec 28, 2018
    9
    It surprised me, because I expected it to be a bland, boring copy of Dark Souls. But it wasn't. It is enchanting. It has great style. The fight is much heavier and methodical, more gimmick-driven and careful. The bosses are surprisingly fun and the story and vibe is much more lively and positive! It's a delight to even travel back to the main hub town as it slowly but steadily beingIt surprised me, because I expected it to be a bland, boring copy of Dark Souls. But it wasn't. It is enchanting. It has great style. The fight is much heavier and methodical, more gimmick-driven and careful. The bosses are surprisingly fun and the story and vibe is much more lively and positive! It's a delight to even travel back to the main hub town as it slowly but steadily being rebuilt and repopulated, making for a fun return. It's a great game so far with mechanically smart combat, lots of character and gripping story. Expand
  26. Dec 12, 2018
    9
    Ashen is an incredible game, especially for those who like Darksouls but with characteristics that differentiate them.
  27. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Um Soulslike lite, interessante para aqueles que gostariam de começar a apreciar este gênero mas que não tem muita paciência em ficar morrendo o tempo todo.
    O visual no xbox one x é muito bonito e o estilo gráfico é original e marcante.
  28. Dec 15, 2018
    8
    This is openly a Dark Souls clone, the game does not try to hide it at any point. but there is more than that to it, it has his own mechanics. If a minimalistic world and a story about death and creation with the mechanics of before mentioned Dark Souls is your thing you will not be dissapointed. The combat is almost identical with the one in DS, which is a good thing in my book. theThis is openly a Dark Souls clone, the game does not try to hide it at any point. but there is more than that to it, it has his own mechanics. If a minimalistic world and a story about death and creation with the mechanics of before mentioned Dark Souls is your thing you will not be dissapointed. The combat is almost identical with the one in DS, which is a good thing in my book. the inclusion of a map, quests and a permanent companion makes things easier, but not exactly a breeze. Expand
  29. Dec 15, 2018
    10
    Buena Sorpresa de fin de año.
    Ashen sera un juego Souls like pero sabe ganarse una identidad propia.
  30. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    Un Hermoso Indie que al principio nos sonara a un DS, pero con las horas se va desmascardon mostrando un poco mas de su personalidad, una historia no muy profunda pero si unas dinámicas muy interesantes y entretenidas que nos mantendrá horas y horas, es un 8.5 en toda regla, le he colocado un 10 solo por que mucho sonyer heater le ha dado 0, pero este juego para los que tienen game passUn Hermoso Indie que al principio nos sonara a un DS, pero con las horas se va desmascardon mostrando un poco mas de su personalidad, una historia no muy profunda pero si unas dinámicas muy interesantes y entretenidas que nos mantendrá horas y horas, es un 8.5 en toda regla, le he colocado un 10 solo por que mucho sonyer heater le ha dado 0, pero este juego para los que tienen game pass les va a hacer el mes. Expand
  31. Dec 15, 2018
    8
    Los jugue aproximadamente 3hs y puedo decir que esta bien, esta bueno: buen concepto artistico, buen primer boss, una historia que te motiva a descubrir, una jugabilidad familiar de tipo soul, co-op.

    Me recordo a los MMORPG cuando tenes algunos NPC aparecen varias misiones y como que es mucha informacion de golpe y es un mundo nuevo. Hay que adaptarse y aprender el mapa. Recomendado.
  32. Jan 16, 2019
    10
    Ashen is a third person perspective action-adventure game with some RPG elements, and it is very much in the same genre as Dark Souls. Mechanically, it is quite similar, with the main innovations coming from the social interactions allowing for permanent (or at least near-permanent) play with your friends. Albeit in a clunky and purposefully difficult way.
    Absolutely charming game. I've
    Ashen is a third person perspective action-adventure game with some RPG elements, and it is very much in the same genre as Dark Souls. Mechanically, it is quite similar, with the main innovations coming from the social interactions allowing for permanent (or at least near-permanent) play with your friends. Albeit in a clunky and purposefully difficult way.
    Absolutely charming game. I've been playing it since last night and there are Souls-like things to Ashen but how is that a bad thing? Combat is fluid and playing with another gamer is so much fun. Whether you're on PC or X1 PLAY THIS GAME.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jan 18, 2019
    80
    Ashen is a game created in the same vein as some of the predecessors of its genre, like Dark Souls or Bloodborne. It imitates a great deal of the mechanics from those games but also brings a unique and beautiful art style as well a sense of organic progression that enhances the feel of the game. For those lovers of games like Dark Souls, it's hard to guarantee that you'll find the same experience, but there's still a heck of a lot to like about what sets Ashen apart.
  2. Jan 17, 2019
    70
    Ashen is a good Dark Souls like but its open world feature are its weakness.
  3. 80
    An innovative Dark Souls clone that charts its own course -- and a game that has plenty to offer for fans of taut action role-playing titles. In the end, Ashen isn’t Dark Souls.