User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2018
    8
    Yoku’s Island Express
    A Metroidpinballvania
    Yoku’s Island express is a 7 hour long Metroidvania game where you play as a postmaster beetle named yoku you’re here to deliver some mail, but this sets you on a quest of gathering the three chiefs of the island to perform a ritual to save makuma, the life blood of this island… and in Metroid vania fashion this means going as far as you can
    Yoku’s Island Express
    A Metroidpinballvania
    Yoku’s Island express is a 7 hour long Metroidvania game where you play as a postmaster beetle named yoku you’re here to deliver some mail, but this sets you on a quest of gathering the three chiefs of the island to perform a ritual to save makuma, the life blood of this island…
    and in Metroid vania fashion this means going as far as you can on this one giant connected map completing quests to get new items to reach new areas rinse and repeat until credits role…
    this isn’t an ordinary metroidvania game though,,
    The entire map is one giant pinball machine..
    you have full control of yokuyoure rolling along this ball, but often you’ll find yourself in a mini pinball area where you lose full control and are just focused on the flippers.. hitting targets, collecting fruit so you can unlock other targets and fast travel bee line posts.. even working towards larger fruit carrying capacity
    for probably the first half of the game, the fruit feels worth collecting and looking out for..
    it feels scarce despite seemingly being all over the place due to how pricey unlocking bumpers and new items is..
    this encourages exploration, and youll soon find collectables insinuating there are a few secrets to uncover on this island, adding more intrigue….
    Everything about this game is so charming and well designed..
    As a metroidvania, I naturally felt overwhelmed at times…
    this game is very unlinear, you have a map you can keep referring to to the area you need to get to.. but until you’ve explored an area its clouded.. so finding the route to get there is completely up to you..
    youll constantly run into for the time being dead ends as you might not yet have the ability to get past a certain point..
    though if you stop and talk to the characters of this world, the game does a great job of giving you hints on where to go to next, or which area to investigate a little..
    As a giant pinball game, traversing upwards can feel a bit frustrating at times… as you are relying on timing od the ball and the triggers and you can feel a little out of control, but yokus island express is also super forgiving..
    you cant really die in this game.. you can only lose fruit and traversal progress…
    but none of it is ever too painful..
    Its just enough to keep you engaged and putting in a decent amount of effort…
    there are also side quests here on top of the collectables..
    tons to do to keep you exploring and hooked in this polished pinball world..
    This is a really unique experience worth checking out..
    theres nothing out there like it.
    I give Yokus Island Express
    a 7.5/10
    Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2018
    10
    The most fun I can remember having with an indie game. It is delightful and addictive, with fun new mechanics introduced throughout. Ingenious combination of pinball and platformer.
  3. Aug 23, 2018
    9
    The Idea is absolutely ridiculous, essentially a Metroidvania game crossed with pinball. That description at once tells you exactly what the game is but doesn't really do justice to how well it actually works in practice. The bizarreness of the games concept is equally matched in it's story as a dung beetle attempts to heal the wounds of cthulu esque island monster, but as strange as thisThe Idea is absolutely ridiculous, essentially a Metroidvania game crossed with pinball. That description at once tells you exactly what the game is but doesn't really do justice to how well it actually works in practice. The bizarreness of the games concept is equally matched in it's story as a dung beetle attempts to heal the wounds of cthulu esque island monster, but as strange as this sounds it actually presents a very charming, colorful world with some quirky characters. The music is lovely and catchy, and the sound effects are perfectly chosen. This already makes the game worthy of a few hours, but just how well pinball works in a metroidvania template is surprising. The tables start off rather small and lead up to more elaborate interconnected ones. However the whole world is stitched together in a wonderfully seamless way, and even when you are reduced to just pushing the ball it doesn't feel like a chore.

    There are a few niggles here and there, the central quest line is a bit brief (although there is lots to explore after this finishes), some routes are frustrating to get to, and the world map isn't the easiest to read, but these niggles do little to diminish the overall experience. You could write paragraph after paragraph trying to describe how pinball works with Metroidvania, but surprisingly it not only works it excels in doing so.
    Expand
  4. May 29, 2018
    9
    Yoku's Island Express is a blast! Seriously, this game is so much fun. The art is gorgeous, the world is beautiful and the characters are charming. The music in this game is very upbeat, feel-good music, and gets you in a good mood. You'll be smiling the entire time you're playing this wholesome and charming game. The game plays great, haven't come across any performance issues so far. I'mYoku's Island Express is a blast! Seriously, this game is so much fun. The art is gorgeous, the world is beautiful and the characters are charming. The music in this game is very upbeat, feel-good music, and gets you in a good mood. You'll be smiling the entire time you're playing this wholesome and charming game. The game plays great, haven't come across any performance issues so far. I'm really enjoying it! Expand
  5. May 30, 2018
    10
    Yoku, while short, was one of the most densely-packed fun games I have ever played. Two genres that I'm normally not super crazy about, Pinball and Metroidvania, combine to create a world that is incredibly fun to explore with each area feeling like a unique spin on the concept. The world is lighthearted but has a feeling of depth, like a ghibli movie or indie animation, which kept meYoku, while short, was one of the most densely-packed fun games I have ever played. Two genres that I'm normally not super crazy about, Pinball and Metroidvania, combine to create a world that is incredibly fun to explore with each area feeling like a unique spin on the concept. The world is lighthearted but has a feeling of depth, like a ghibli movie or indie animation, which kept me entranced the way whole way through. There's a surprising wealth of characters and side quests to discover, and it is all done with loads of charm. There is a lot of backtracking near the end of the game, like many other metroidvanias, but the mechanics kept this from feeling too intrusive and accommodations like the Beeline help smooth it out as well. It's about 5 hours if you want to beat the game, but that time doubles if you wish to 100% it, and there is a mechanic in the game that encourages at least one replay, which I wish to do anyways. I strongly recommend it to people who love physics-based platformers and metroidvanias in general. Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2018
    0
    This is a great game. I prefer the kind of game that you can lean back and approach calmly. Yoku's Island Express does this with it's cute and fun style.
  7. Sep 20, 2018
    9
    Pinball dream on beautiful island even with multiball boss battle included.
  8. Sep 6, 2018
    7
    This is a great and beautiful game, however I feel there was something that wasn't stated so clearly and I'll do it here. Yoku is a open world pinball game, do not get Yoku unless you like pinball.
  9. Jul 21, 2018
    9
    La original idea de combinar de manera que realmente funcionen los generos metroidvanias y pinball hacen ya de este juego una llamativa opcion para probar algo diferente. Sumarle a esto unos preciosos y coloridos graficos y una ambientacion musical muy chill-out, junto carismaticos animalisticos personajes y es imposible no ver el cariño vertido en crear este juego.
    Como puntos negativos
    La original idea de combinar de manera que realmente funcionen los generos metroidvanias y pinball hacen ya de este juego una llamativa opcion para probar algo diferente. Sumarle a esto unos preciosos y coloridos graficos y una ambientacion musical muy chill-out, junto carismaticos animalisticos personajes y es imposible no ver el cariño vertido en crear este juego.
    Como puntos negativos del juego hay que señalar no obstante los nacidos de la propia dinamica: si como a mi, no se te dan bien las mecanicas de pinball, algunas zonas pueden ser algo frustantes, aunque debido a la imposibilidad de morir se convierte en una lucha por seguir intentandolo. Algo similar ocurre con una de las ultimas habilidades desbloqueadas, que nos permite lanzarnos como una honda en determinados lugares, pero que al ser introducida al final del juego y ser realmente dificil de dominar, haga mas frustante de lo debido algunas areas secretas donde la necesitamos. No obstante esto son "peros" muy menores, yla capacidad de introducir nuevas mecanicas en cada zona, haciendolas frescas y nada repetitivas es tambien loable.
    Y si quereis conseguir el 100% (sin guia, como toca) os espersn buenas horas quebrandoos la cabeza, buscando areas secretas, formas de llegar a este o a aquel cofre, o maneras de resolver los ingeniosos puzzles que nos lanzaran algunos habitantes de la isla.
    Expand
  10. Oct 1, 2018
    10
    Yoku's Island Express is a very refreshing adventure game mixing pinball mechanics with platform and exploration. I was randomly downloading a dozen of free demos on my switch, but this one really stuck out after only 10 minutes. The pinball mechanics are very precise, you may not get exactly where you want to go on the first try but you will almost always find secrets and extra fruits byYoku's Island Express is a very refreshing adventure game mixing pinball mechanics with platform and exploration. I was randomly downloading a dozen of free demos on my switch, but this one really stuck out after only 10 minutes. The pinball mechanics are very precise, you may not get exactly where you want to go on the first try but you will almost always find secrets and extra fruits by bouncing to unexpected areas. This is not a giant pinball world but rather an adventure game with interconnected areas full of small pinball puzzles and challenges. The map will update with your progress and you will keep finding secrets as you backtrack with new abilities or with a different perspective. The level design is really good, you will really have to observe your environment and think in terms of pinball physics to progress and find everything the game has to offer. I think I reached the end in about 10 hours with only 64% progress, then it was a joy to spend another 5-6 hours to find everything and reach 100% with a second ending. Did I mention that the game is really beautiful and charming? Every corner of the world looks hand drawn. In the end, it's not a perfect game and you can get occasionally frustrated by the difficulty of trying to bounce exactly where you want to go, but I think the level of challenge is fair and if you take your time you will always reach your objective. I enjoyed every minute I spent with Yoku's Island and could not put it down until I had explored every corner of its world. If you are not sure it's your cup of tea, then you could try the demo. For me it's a 10, as a measure of the fun I had with this one-of-a-kind game, and I'm happy I managed to secure a physical copy on switch rather than downloading it. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Aug 27, 2018
    83
    Yoku’s Island Express is kind of a testament to the power of positivity. Sure, it’ll leave you frustrated at times. But it’s frustration borne out of wanting to experience more of this delightful world, and that’s more than enough to keep me pushing through those brief moments of annoyance.
  2. Jul 18, 2018
    90
    If a pinball ball is a piece of dung in disguise that postman rolls over a mysterious island in order to save a divine guardian from a godslayer, and it's NOT a dream... Then it's Yoku's Island Express! An excellent and gorgeous game you should not miss for a world.
  3. Jul 17, 2018
    80
    Who said Metroidvania and pinball can’t exist in the same game? Yoku’s Island Express shows the opposite by being a great game, thanks to very uncommon and never frustrating gameplay.