User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 124

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 1, 2018
    8
    Pros: This game is solid. I like Wolfenstein and DOOM titles, classical old-school FPS what a real man cannot ask for more. The storyline is attractive. HD rumble of NS is good too.
    Cons: The font size of subtitle is too small, especially in hand-held mode. Maybe because of the hardware performance, the resolution ratio is a little bit low, making it vague when playing.
    In all, 8/10,
    Pros: This game is solid. I like Wolfenstein and DOOM titles, classical old-school FPS what a real man cannot ask for more. The storyline is attractive. HD rumble of NS is good too.
    Cons: The font size of subtitle is too small, especially in hand-held mode. Maybe because of the hardware performance, the resolution ratio is a little bit low, making it vague when playing.
    In all, 8/10, recommended.
    Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2018
    9
    Bethesda is like 8/10 on all of it's games. I can't think of a game they have made in the recent past that is less than that. This game brought so much value. The story was excellent, game play tuned, graphics pristine. If you're going to go in on this game, make sure you will commit to the other series. As well, make sure you pick up all the other Wolfenstein games from Bethesda.
  3. wmw
    Jul 10, 2018
    9
    Pros: Very dynamic, excellent game-play and good story and enemy design.
    Cons: Graphics looks bad sometimes but I think they achieved a lot with Switch limited power compared to PS4 and X1.

    Summary: Don't remember last time I had that much fun. If you're Wolfenstein fan - you won't be dissapointed.
  4. Jul 4, 2018
    10
    Another great job by Panic Button. This is not the best looking version of the game, but that is to be expected and who cares. The Switch version gives you the ability to blast Nazis anywhere! If you enjoyed DOOM, you will enjoy Wolf 2. Another visually demanding game has been squeezed into the tiny Switch, it controls well and provides more play options than any other version available.Another great job by Panic Button. This is not the best looking version of the game, but that is to be expected and who cares. The Switch version gives you the ability to blast Nazis anywhere! If you enjoyed DOOM, you will enjoy Wolf 2. Another visually demanding game has been squeezed into the tiny Switch, it controls well and provides more play options than any other version available. (8/10, but rating 10/10 just to counter the idiots that give the game a zero) Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2018
    9
    Increíble que este juego se mueva en Switch con absoluta fluidez. Gran historia e inmersión, frenetismo, gran banda sonora y control perfecto. Inmprescindible si te gustan los shooters. Me encantaría ver la primera parte en Switch. 9/10
  6. Jul 6, 2018
    10
    No way this game should fall below the 85% mark. It's an excellent port that keeps the experience intact. Panic Button did an amazing job as usual, maximizing the capacity of the Switch for a perfect handheld experience. If you want crisper graphics, play the other versions, but on the switch screen the game is just perfect!
  7. Jul 3, 2018
    0
    Rage, which is a pretty ancient game by now, had much better AI and pathing -- in wolf 2 enemies will often get stuck on junk in the environment and they can't hop over railings or anything like in Rage. Truly a step back in mechanics - playing through this game on Death Incarnate makes many of these issues apparent.

    The story and characters also got more wacky, stupid, and cartoonish
    Rage, which is a pretty ancient game by now, had much better AI and pathing -- in wolf 2 enemies will often get stuck on junk in the environment and they can't hop over railings or anything like in Rage. Truly a step back in mechanics - playing through this game on Death Incarnate makes many of these issues apparent.

    The story and characters also got more wacky, stupid, and cartoonish which I think will turn off those looking for a thoughtful storyline instead of just a violent one.

    Too much preachy cringe and long unskipable cutscenes for me to finish this one...
    Expand
  8. Jul 2, 2018
    9
    Superbe portage réalisé par le studio Panic Button, à qui l'on doit également les portages de Doom et Rocker League. Ils prouvent que la Switch peut faire tourner les productions AAA si l'on s'en donne les moyens. Pour revenir au jeu, c'est humour trash et violence frénétique ! Visuellement, ça en en jette pas mal que ce soit en mode docké ou portable. Le downgrade est perceptibleSuperbe portage réalisé par le studio Panic Button, à qui l'on doit également les portages de Doom et Rocker League. Ils prouvent que la Switch peut faire tourner les productions AAA si l'on s'en donne les moyens. Pour revenir au jeu, c'est humour trash et violence frénétique ! Visuellement, ça en en jette pas mal que ce soit en mode docké ou portable. Le downgrade est perceptible (resolution plus basse, texture moins fine, un peu de floutage) mais il est habillement dosé pour que le soft ne soit pas dénaturé. Bien que le jeu semble plus clair que les autres versions, il suffira d'aller faire un tour dans les réglages vidéo du jeu et de laisser tout juste apparaître le chiffre 4, ce sera plus sombre certes mais bien plus beau ! Les animations sont de qualité, et le jeu tourne avec un très solide 30fps. La bande son est ouf, et la voix de Bruce Willis ne fera que renforcer cet aspect cinématographique au plus grand bonheur des joueurs !

    Ce que j'ai aimé (+) :
    - L'action ultra prenante... le jeu se dévore comme un bon film
    - Qualité du portage
    - Un 30fps ultra stable
    - Bande son exceptionnelle / La voix de Bruce ;-)
    - Scénario

    Ce que je n'ai pas aimé (-) :
    - Les textures auraient pu être un chouillat plus fines (même réflexion que pour Doom) la Switch aurait pu gérer.
    - Le rendu de l'eau... mais là je chipote.
    - ON VEUT UN MODE MULTI JOUEURS !!!!!!!!!!

    Pour résumer, Wolfenstein devient un incontournable FPS sur Switch qui passe à côté d'un 10/10 pour manque de mode multi joueurs.
    Expand
  9. Jul 3, 2018
    10
    Fabulous and what great games are made of :)
    A great mix of intrigue, politics, questions and action
  10. Jul 6, 2018
    8
    Cierto, este juego es peor gráficamente comparado con las otras versiones,pero estamos hablando de una "consola portátil". Panic Button hace un gran trabajo haciendo este port.
  11. Jul 4, 2018
    0
    Oh, look at all these NINTENDO based publications raising its score even though it's a full priced game for the worst graphics possible! AN 8 average is not accurate at all or even close. The Switch doesn't deserve this game and it chugs, and still requires half a download even with the cartridge. Nintendo has proven time and time again they can't get third party support right and theyOh, look at all these NINTENDO based publications raising its score even though it's a full priced game for the worst graphics possible! AN 8 average is not accurate at all or even close. The Switch doesn't deserve this game and it chugs, and still requires half a download even with the cartridge. Nintendo has proven time and time again they can't get third party support right and they continue to with this garbage and Crash. Expand
  12. Jul 11, 2018
    0
    Attention Bethesda: Breaking news flash... people who like Doom-type games dont want to be FORCED TO SIT THROUGH TONS OF BORING CINEMATICS. It was so bad it made me create a metacritic account just to create this review. I watched 10 minutes of extremely boring cgi scenes with the volume off, because I usually use my switch in a public place where any sound would be unwelcome. I wasntAttention Bethesda: Breaking news flash... people who like Doom-type games dont want to be FORCED TO SIT THROUGH TONS OF BORING CINEMATICS. It was so bad it made me create a metacritic account just to create this review. I watched 10 minutes of extremely boring cgi scenes with the volume off, because I usually use my switch in a public place where any sound would be unwelcome. I wasnt actually watching it, but I would glance at it occasionally. There was no way to skip the boring scenes and play the game at all. Even worse, occasionally the game would allow me to wiggle my head and require me to click a button in order to proceed, so I couldnt just ignore it and do something else until it finally let me play the game. Nintendo loves to do this kind of thing too, but never seen anything this long. After about four times where I thought I could start playing the damn game, I finally gave up. I dont care how good it is, making people sit through all those cinematics WITHOUT AN OPTION TO SKIP THE CINEMATICS...... why? Why force someone to sit through it who doesnt want to? Why not give the option? I wont know if the game was good (I doubt it, probably continue to make me watch boring B movie cinematics the whole game), fortunately there are plenty of other available options. PLEASE DONT SUPPORT GAMES WHICH FORCE YOU TO SIT THROUGH CINEMATICS. I didn't know better, so I accidentally bought it. Expand
  13. Jul 16, 2018
    0
    This is DEFINITELY not worth $80 (Canada). Horrible graphics; they went with the CHEAPER cartridge which means you need to use 10 GB of your SD card for their Day 1 download; text is hard to read in handheld mode; s-l-o-w-dooooooown. Who tf are writing these positive reviews here? Fake news!
  14. Jul 17, 2018
    9
    Is really impressive how the game runs in a too tiny console. The graphics is acceptable runs the mostly solid at 30fps at 720p in docked mode (some times drop to 28/27fps). Overall, IS a realy playable game. The only "problem" is in portable mode, even in a small screen the graphics turns realy realy blury. Looks like something around 320p.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Jul 17, 2018
    60
    A mixed bag of emotions and gameplay sum up Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus. A lot in the way of graphical fidelity has been hacked away at in order to get this on Nintendo Switch, but it is quite clear those who are interested in this FPS know exactly what to expect on that front. Despite the obvious visual downgrade, coupled with the pacing and storyline issues, there is still a solid arcade game here that can sit alongside DOOM (or maybe the next shelf down).
  2. Jul 17, 2018
    85
    It’s a testament to the game’s quality that a second play-through less than a year after the original release still felt fun, fresh, and exciting. Even without the DLC packs, it’s great that we get to play Wolfenstein II on the Switch - and just like with DOOM this is a wonderful addition to the Switch family.
  3. Jul 17, 2018
    80
    Panic Studio's port of Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus may be a game of compromises, but the amitious effort still manages to capture not only the complete content of the original game but also its very essence.