User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 156

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2018
    7
    This game should be evaluated in two different aspects:
    1 - As a sequel in the Wolfenstein franchise: greater plot, more cut-scenes, and action sequences yet straying from the rambo feeling and falling more into the games with story bucket, dual wielding games don't mix up well with emotional flashbacks.
    2 - As a port of a really nice looking game to a beefed-up tablet: lot's of
    This game should be evaluated in two different aspects:
    1 - As a sequel in the Wolfenstein franchise: greater plot, more cut-scenes, and action sequences yet straying from the rambo feeling and falling more into the games with story bucket, dual wielding games don't mix up well with emotional flashbacks.
    2 - As a port of a really nice looking game to a beefed-up tablet: lot's of compromises were made; textures look like taken from goldeneye 64, fire particles looks 2d-ish, there is more blurring than on instagram celebrity pics and the usual frame drops, but neither of this stops the action and you can still enjoy the game, Motion aim assist is excellent, you aim with the stick then refine with the controller, works better than on doom, haven't found any annoying bug, just one on the first run where it wouldn't detect the joycons, fully restarting the switch fixed it; playing it undocked is just extending the definition of "playable", text is blurry and small and the FPS dips might annoy you.
    If you have other consoles, get wolf there, you'll probably enjoy it more on a stronger device, if you only have the switch then you'll get a well done and faithful port of an OK game just keep in mind that certain sacrifices had to be done.
    Oh and for some reason we still have to kill dogs :( they should have nazi robot dogs!
    Expand
  2. Aug 3, 2018
    5
    Basura subversiva e ideología del NOM, la típica mierda hollywodiense para adoctrinar a las masas . Muy inferior a RTC Wolfenstein.
  3. Jul 16, 2018
    0
    This is DEFINITELY not worth $80 (Canada). Horrible graphics; they went with the CHEAPER cartridge which means you need to use 10 GB of your SD card for their Day 1 download; text is hard to read in handheld mode; s-l-o-w-dooooooown. Who tf are writing these positive reviews here? Fake news!
  4. Jul 26, 2018
    10
    So im familiar with all wolfenstein games lastly wolf2 on playstation2 pro got it cheap and when the switch version launched i had to order it wasnt dissapointment. The physical version still require 8gb addiotanal download, you can start playing right away but the quality and gameplay bumbs up a huge marging when setup is fully complete. You will also loose all savedate if you startSo im familiar with all wolfenstein games lastly wolf2 on playstation2 pro got it cheap and when the switch version launched i had to order it wasnt dissapointment. The physical version still require 8gb addiotanal download, you can start playing right away but the quality and gameplay bumbs up a huge marging when setup is fully complete. You will also loose all savedate if you start before the download is complete. And they didnt use full 32gb cartridge nor give us the dlc or combat simulation, but othet than that this is the most impressive gaming experience ive had, and ive owned everys system and some pcs since early 2000's. Not only it looks outstanding handheld mode it is easy to play. i used bring em on difficulty on ps4p version but switch imnrocking do or die and when you learn to play with the switch it is really easy, rewarding on most fun. Handheld mode i dont use gyrocontrols but tvmode it makes fine tuning ur aiming really efective and fun. I have to say i choose the switch version over ps4pro and same goes for skyrim. It is very special to move these games whereever you want or just enjoy home at ur porch or tvmode i can but love the switch. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2018
    0
    Rage, which is a pretty ancient game by now, had much better AI and pathing -- in wolf 2 enemies will often get stuck on junk in the environment and they can't hop over railings or anything like in Rage. Truly a step back in mechanics - playing through this game on Death Incarnate makes many of these issues apparent.

    The story and characters also got more wacky, stupid, and cartoonish
    Rage, which is a pretty ancient game by now, had much better AI and pathing -- in wolf 2 enemies will often get stuck on junk in the environment and they can't hop over railings or anything like in Rage. Truly a step back in mechanics - playing through this game on Death Incarnate makes many of these issues apparent.

    The story and characters also got more wacky, stupid, and cartoonish which I think will turn off those looking for a thoughtful storyline instead of just a violent one.

    Too much preachy cringe and long unskipable cutscenes for me to finish this one...
    Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2018
    8
    Pros: This game is solid. I like Wolfenstein and DOOM titles, classical old-school FPS what a real man cannot ask for more. The storyline is attractive. HD rumble of NS is good too.
    Cons: The font size of subtitle is too small, especially in hand-held mode. Maybe because of the hardware performance, the resolution ratio is a little bit low, making it vague when playing.
    In all, 8/10,
    Pros: This game is solid. I like Wolfenstein and DOOM titles, classical old-school FPS what a real man cannot ask for more. The storyline is attractive. HD rumble of NS is good too.
    Cons: The font size of subtitle is too small, especially in hand-held mode. Maybe because of the hardware performance, the resolution ratio is a little bit low, making it vague when playing.
    In all, 8/10, recommended.
    Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2018
    9
    Increíble que este juego se mueva en Switch con absoluta fluidez. Gran historia e inmersión, frenetismo, gran banda sonora y control perfecto. Inmprescindible si te gustan los shooters. Me encantaría ver la primera parte en Switch. 9/10
  8. Jul 6, 2018
    10
    No way this game should fall below the 85% mark. It's an excellent port that keeps the experience intact. Panic Button did an amazing job as usual, maximizing the capacity of the Switch for a perfect handheld experience. If you want crisper graphics, play the other versions, but on the switch screen the game is just perfect!
  9. Jul 4, 2018
    10
    Another great job by Panic Button. This is not the best looking version of the game, but that is to be expected and who cares. The Switch version gives you the ability to blast Nazis anywhere! If you enjoyed DOOM, you will enjoy Wolf 2. Another visually demanding game has been squeezed into the tiny Switch, it controls well and provides more play options than any other version available.Another great job by Panic Button. This is not the best looking version of the game, but that is to be expected and who cares. The Switch version gives you the ability to blast Nazis anywhere! If you enjoyed DOOM, you will enjoy Wolf 2. Another visually demanding game has been squeezed into the tiny Switch, it controls well and provides more play options than any other version available. (8/10, but rating 10/10 just to counter the idiots that give the game a zero) Expand
  10. Jul 2, 2018
    9
    Superbe portage réalisé par le studio Panic Button, à qui l'on doit également les portages de Doom et Rocker League. Ils prouvent que la Switch peut faire tourner les productions AAA si l'on s'en donne les moyens. Pour revenir au jeu, c'est humour trash et violence frénétique ! Visuellement, ça en en jette pas mal que ce soit en mode docké ou portable. Le downgrade est perceptibleSuperbe portage réalisé par le studio Panic Button, à qui l'on doit également les portages de Doom et Rocker League. Ils prouvent que la Switch peut faire tourner les productions AAA si l'on s'en donne les moyens. Pour revenir au jeu, c'est humour trash et violence frénétique ! Visuellement, ça en en jette pas mal que ce soit en mode docké ou portable. Le downgrade est perceptible (resolution plus basse, texture moins fine, un peu de floutage) mais il est habillement dosé pour que le soft ne soit pas dénaturé. Bien que le jeu semble plus clair que les autres versions, il suffira d'aller faire un tour dans les réglages vidéo du jeu et de laisser tout juste apparaître le chiffre 4, ce sera plus sombre certes mais bien plus beau ! Les animations sont de qualité, et le jeu tourne avec un très solide 30fps. La bande son est ouf, et la voix de Bruce Willis ne fera que renforcer cet aspect cinématographique au plus grand bonheur des joueurs !

    Ce que j'ai aimé (+) :
    - L'action ultra prenante... le jeu se dévore comme un bon film
    - Qualité du portage
    - Un 30fps ultra stable
    - Bande son exceptionnelle / La voix de Bruce ;-)
    - Scénario

    Ce que je n'ai pas aimé (-) :
    - Les textures auraient pu être un chouillat plus fines (même réflexion que pour Doom) la Switch aurait pu gérer.
    - Le rendu de l'eau... mais là je chipote.
    - ON VEUT UN MODE MULTI JOUEURS !!!!!!!!!!

    Pour résumer, Wolfenstein devient un incontournable FPS sur Switch qui passe à côté d'un 10/10 pour manque de mode multi joueurs.
    Expand
  11. Jul 8, 2018
    9
    Bethesda is like 8/10 on all of it's games. I can't think of a game they have made in the recent past that is less than that. This game brought so much value. The story was excellent, game play tuned, graphics pristine. If you're going to go in on this game, make sure you will commit to the other series. As well, make sure you pick up all the other Wolfenstein games from Bethesda.
  12. wmw
    Jul 10, 2018
    9
    Pros: Very dynamic, excellent game-play and good story and enemy design.
    Cons: Graphics looks bad sometimes but I think they achieved a lot with Switch limited power compared to PS4 and X1.

    Summary: Don't remember last time I had that much fun. If you're Wolfenstein fan - you won't be dissapointed.
  13. Aug 1, 2018
    10
    Wolfenstein 2 excels at story, gameplay, and Panic Button have out done themselves with this port. The only thing it's missing is a co-op horde survival mode. Keep exaggerating the resolution to justify your favorite platform not supporting mobile play. It always gives me a good moral boost.
  14. Jul 4, 2018
    0
    Oh, look at all these NINTENDO based publications raising its score even though it's a full priced game for the worst graphics possible! AN 8 average is not accurate at all or even close. The Switch doesn't deserve this game and it chugs, and still requires half a download even with the cartridge. Nintendo has proven time and time again they can't get third party support right and theyOh, look at all these NINTENDO based publications raising its score even though it's a full priced game for the worst graphics possible! AN 8 average is not accurate at all or even close. The Switch doesn't deserve this game and it chugs, and still requires half a download even with the cartridge. Nintendo has proven time and time again they can't get third party support right and they continue to with this garbage and Crash. Expand
  15. Jul 3, 2018
    10
    Fabulous and what great games are made of :)
    A great mix of intrigue, politics, questions and action
  16. Jul 11, 2018
    0
    Attention Bethesda: Breaking news flash... people who like Doom-type games dont want to be FORCED TO SIT THROUGH TONS OF BORING CINEMATICS. It was so bad it made me create a metacritic account just to create this review. I watched 10 minutes of extremely boring cgi scenes with the volume off, because I usually use my switch in a public place where any sound would be unwelcome. I wasntAttention Bethesda: Breaking news flash... people who like Doom-type games dont want to be FORCED TO SIT THROUGH TONS OF BORING CINEMATICS. It was so bad it made me create a metacritic account just to create this review. I watched 10 minutes of extremely boring cgi scenes with the volume off, because I usually use my switch in a public place where any sound would be unwelcome. I wasnt actually watching it, but I would glance at it occasionally. There was no way to skip the boring scenes and play the game at all. Even worse, occasionally the game would allow me to wiggle my head and require me to click a button in order to proceed, so I couldnt just ignore it and do something else until it finally let me play the game. Nintendo loves to do this kind of thing too, but never seen anything this long. After about four times where I thought I could start playing the damn game, I finally gave up. I dont care how good it is, making people sit through all those cinematics WITHOUT AN OPTION TO SKIP THE CINEMATICS...... why? Why force someone to sit through it who doesnt want to? Why not give the option? I wont know if the game was good (I doubt it, probably continue to make me watch boring B movie cinematics the whole game), fortunately there are plenty of other available options. PLEASE DONT SUPPORT GAMES WHICH FORCE YOU TO SIT THROUGH CINEMATICS. I didn't know better, so I accidentally bought it. Expand
  17. Jul 6, 2018
    8
    Cierto, este juego es peor gráficamente comparado con las otras versiones,pero estamos hablando de una "consola portátil". Panic Button hace un gran trabajo haciendo este port.
  18. Aug 1, 2018
    8
    I won't even talk about the graphics as we all know what to expect in terms of down grade on the switch. Gameplay wise, it's Doom, Doom Doom and Doom, in a new setting/location. I played through the entire game on hard mode and it was thoroughly entertaining, if you liked Doom you'll probably like this one equally. The story; I'm shocked to read reviews saying it was too long or bad etc,I won't even talk about the graphics as we all know what to expect in terms of down grade on the switch. Gameplay wise, it's Doom, Doom Doom and Doom, in a new setting/location. I played through the entire game on hard mode and it was thoroughly entertaining, if you liked Doom you'll probably like this one equally. The story; I'm shocked to read reviews saying it was too long or bad etc, it was one of the few times i didnt mind long cut scenes in a shooter. The story is compelling and hits home for a lot of people with it's connection to social issues. The only downside I had was the length. Where are the Silent Hills and Syphon Filters of today, with hours of gameplay before even asking what extras are in it. For $60, I shouldnt beat the story as a leisure gamer, in a matter of two or three days. That was a big disappointment for me at such a high price point, but other than that, game is pretty exceptional and a great addition to your Switch lib Expand
  19. Aug 13, 2018
    8
    Gameplay quase que tradicional de um FPS padrão. A narrativa é o forte desse jogo. Nota 8 pela boa jogabilidade e narrativa, mas também por falta de inovação pois muitas vezes vocês pensa "É um FPS comum". Se você gosta muito de jogos de tiro, jogue. Mas se não quer mais do mesmo, talvez fosse interessante considerar outro jogo. Mas não se engane: houveram "cutscenes" em que sentiGameplay quase que tradicional de um FPS padrão. A narrativa é o forte desse jogo. Nota 8 pela boa jogabilidade e narrativa, mas também por falta de inovação pois muitas vezes vocês pensa "É um FPS comum". Se você gosta muito de jogos de tiro, jogue. Mas se não quer mais do mesmo, talvez fosse interessante considerar outro jogo. Mas não se engane: houveram "cutscenes" em que senti calafrios pois a narrativa é imprevisível. Expand
  20. Sep 14, 2018
    8
    I am not a big fan of Western FPS. Yet I bought this game out of support for 3rd party developers. Don't want the WII U debacle to repeat again this generation. It shows you one thing: Panic Button is one of the best developer for Switch. The fact that they can compress a 40 + GB game into the Switch is astounding. Of course, it is blurry, but it has perfect frame rate, and portability,I am not a big fan of Western FPS. Yet I bought this game out of support for 3rd party developers. Don't want the WII U debacle to repeat again this generation. It shows you one thing: Panic Button is one of the best developer for Switch. The fact that they can compress a 40 + GB game into the Switch is astounding. Of course, it is blurry, but it has perfect frame rate, and portability, Switch's best feature. The game itself is typical high production values, violent and non-sensical storyline (I will probably get a lot of down vote for this). I couldn't get into it, but as a lifelong gamer, I can appreciate its craftmanship. If you want your fill for FPS on the Switch, then this is one of its best releases. Expand
  21. Aug 19, 2018
    9
    I'm playing this game right now, and Is really impressive how the game runs in a too tiny console. The graphics is acceptable runs solid at 30fps at 720p in docked mode. Overall, IS a playable game, Panic Button do a great work and looks like they is learning much more about the Switch hardware. I recommend this game if you not played yet.
  22. Sep 16, 2018
    3
    Wolfenstein 2 The New cutscene is entirely too short and has too many cinematic's. As if the constant cinematic's weren't enough they don't really serve much of a purpose instead of beating us over the head with Nazi bad, KKK, racism is bad. I mean they try to do some character development but everyone in the game is a walking talking stereotype...which is funny considering the game isWolfenstein 2 The New cutscene is entirely too short and has too many cinematic's. As if the constant cinematic's weren't enough they don't really serve much of a purpose instead of beating us over the head with Nazi bad, KKK, racism is bad. I mean they try to do some character development but everyone in the game is a walking talking stereotype...which is funny considering the game is about killing Nazi's and racists. Isn't making everyone a goddamn stereotype racist? Or at least Biggoted?

    Yeah we get it, Nazi's are bad, racists and the KKK are bad....NOW CAN WE GET ON WITH KILLING THEM...How does game, whose main character is ostensibly in his own rambo movie but against Nazi's, Have so litle nazi killing going for. Was the plan to bore the Nazis too death with endless rants.

    The shooting mechanics suck, or at least they changed something from the previous one, I can't quite put my finger on it but it seems like you die way too fast now. Which means no more running and gunning and more hiding behind walls, which lets face it is boring when you have an AI system dumb as bricks.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 51
  2. Negative: 2 out of 51
  1. NF Magazine
    Sep 5, 2018
    85
    Stepping into the shoes of B.J. Blazkowicz makes for one wild ride! [Issue #35 – September/October 2018, p. 66]
  2. Aug 17, 2018
    75
    At its core, Wolfenstein 2 for Switch feels exactly like the adventure we played last year. With solid mechanics and a thrilling story, the game truly shines. Despite some heavy technical downscaling, the shooter still plays very well on the Switch.
  3. Aug 9, 2018
    67
    Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus is an absolute must play for anyone who enjoys that genre at all. As for the Switch version, it is a bit of a mixed bag. If you only own Nintendo consoles and never use anything else, get it. If you are looking to play the game on the go and the Switch is your preferred gaming console, get it. If you have other consoles and you only use your Switch now and then, and want the best experience possible with Wolfenstein II, go a different route and experience it for the first time the way the developers intended.