Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 25, 2018
    100
    One of the most original modern JRPGs of all time, and beatable at the fraction of the time. Once you get over its primitive aesthetic, you’ll soon realise why everyone else has been so captivated by Toby Fox’s creation.
  2. Sep 19, 2018
    100
    What else can I say? Undertale is spectacular, even three years later. It’s a game that deserves every bit of praise that it receives, and a game that the people who love it are going to remember for a long, long time. I can’t express how happy I am to have had the opportunity to experience it again on the Switch.
  3. NF Magazine
    Oct 29, 2018
    95
    If you haven't played Undertale before, you will want to pick this Switch version up to experience what everyone's talking about for yourself. [Issue #36 – November/December 2018, p. 17]
  4. Sep 18, 2018
    95
    Sure, the music is infectious to the point where I'd find myself humming it days later. Yes, the dialogue is stunningly well-written. Meeting and experiencing the varied cast is a delight, since you never know what will come next. And okay, yeah, there are countless little touches and fleeting moments that would make me stop and appreciate what was happening. And that's the real secret about Undertale. There isn't one thing that makes it special, because everything makes it special. It has a heart, a soul.
  5. Sep 25, 2018
    90
    Toby Fox's work is not just an anecdote: it is perfectly well-thought out. It hides something that connects directly or indirectly to anyone who has spent too much time with a gamepad in his hands.
  6. Sep 14, 2018
    90
    The game is every bit as charming, challenging, and harrowing as it was the first time around.
  7. 90
    Going through the experience today, it’s easy to see why Undertale was the talk of the town two years ago. It’s not an overly long playthrough, but it’s an impactful 7+ hours. A slow burn that starts off cute, but builds up to an absolutely thrilling last couple hours. I’m not sure if the Pope has gotten around to playing it yet, but he would be doing himself a disservice if he hasn’t.
  8. Sep 14, 2018
    90
    Undertale is a brilliant and smartly designed game that understands well what makes a good RPG work; so much so that it can upend expectations and deliver something that’s almost a satire of the genre. It’s been a long time since we’ve played a game that manages to surprise so often and in so many unique ways, and even if it doesn’t look like much, Undertale has way more going for it under the surface. Excellently written characters, a genre-bending battle system and a solid soundtrack make this one an easy recommendation, especially to RPG lovers. Do yourself a favour and give this one a download.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 173
  1. Sep 22, 2018
    10
    Undertale has everything to be a good game, people are endearing and funny, the atmosphere is nice, the music is beautiful in short the gameUndertale has everything to be a good game, people are endearing and funny, the atmosphere is nice, the music is beautiful in short the game is a masterpiece if you are a fan of RPG or not I advise you strongly to try it Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2018
    1
    I played this game with high expectations because of it's positive reviews. I know many people love this game but it's not for everyone. I wasI played this game with high expectations because of it's positive reviews. I know many people love this game but it's not for everyone. I was very dissapointed in the story, humor, and combat mechanics of this game. I think it is way over hyped. The best thing I can say about this game is that it's charming, it has good characters, and it has good music. Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2018
    1
    Don't believe the lies. There are those who will tell you that Undertale is one of the most unique, charming, and creative RPGs ever made.Don't believe the lies. There are those who will tell you that Undertale is one of the most unique, charming, and creative RPGs ever made. There are people who will tell you that the music is spectacular, that the characters are incredibly likeabe, and that Toby Fox has crafted one of the most beloved video games of all time.

    These people have NEVER played a video game before or since they played Undertale. The game offers nothing of value as a video game. The gameplay is lackluster and uninspired. The plot, clearly designed to subvert JRPG tropes, feels hackneyed and forced. And the often praised humor reminds me of how children will do something stupid and laugh.

    It falls far short of the games that very clearly inspired it. Earthbound, Cave Story, Shin Megami Tensei, and its contemporary indie titles, such as Shovel Knight, Freedom Planet, Stealth 2, Thumper, or virtually any other major indie Switch release.

    Undertale is increasingly garnering a reputation for being one of the most overhyped video game titles ever made. It is amazing how fans of the title, to this day, write off very real criticisms towards the game under the belief that the game is only disliked because of how popular it is.

    If the game was actually good, how the fans behave should not matter.

    If you do not already know who Toby Fox is you will not enjoy Undertale. It is not a good game.
    Full Review »