Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 25, 2018
    100
    One of the most original modern JRPGs of all time, and beatable at the fraction of the time. Once you get over its primitive aesthetic, you’ll soon realise why everyone else has been so captivated by Toby Fox’s creation.
  2. Sep 19, 2018
    100
    What else can I say? Undertale is spectacular, even three years later. It’s a game that deserves every bit of praise that it receives, and a game that the people who love it are going to remember for a long, long time. I can’t express how happy I am to have had the opportunity to experience it again on the Switch.
  3. NF Magazine
    Oct 29, 2018
    95
    If you haven't played Undertale before, you will want to pick this Switch version up to experience what everyone's talking about for yourself. [Issue #36 – November/December 2018, p. 17]
  4. Sep 18, 2018
    95
    Sure, the music is infectious to the point where I'd find myself humming it days later. Yes, the dialogue is stunningly well-written. Meeting and experiencing the varied cast is a delight, since you never know what will come next. And okay, yeah, there are countless little touches and fleeting moments that would make me stop and appreciate what was happening. And that's the real secret about Undertale. There isn't one thing that makes it special, because everything makes it special. It has a heart, a soul.
  5. Sep 25, 2018
    90
    Toby Fox's work is not just an anecdote: it is perfectly well-thought out. It hides something that connects directly or indirectly to anyone who has spent too much time with a gamepad in his hands.
  6. Sep 14, 2018
    90
    The game is every bit as charming, challenging, and harrowing as it was the first time around.
  7. 90
    Going through the experience today, it’s easy to see why Undertale was the talk of the town two years ago. It’s not an overly long playthrough, but it’s an impactful 7+ hours. A slow burn that starts off cute, but builds up to an absolutely thrilling last couple hours. I’m not sure if the Pope has gotten around to playing it yet, but he would be doing himself a disservice if he hasn’t.
  8. Sep 14, 2018
    90
    Undertale is a brilliant and smartly designed game that understands well what makes a good RPG work; so much so that it can upend expectations and deliver something that’s almost a satire of the genre. It’s been a long time since we’ve played a game that manages to surprise so often and in so many unique ways, and even if it doesn’t look like much, Undertale has way more going for it under the surface. Excellently written characters, a genre-bending battle system and a solid soundtrack make this one an easy recommendation, especially to RPG lovers. Do yourself a favour and give this one a download.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 91
  2. Negative: 19 out of 91
  1. Sep 22, 2018
    10
    Undertale has everything to be a good game, people are endearing and funny, the atmosphere is nice, the music is beautiful in short the gameUndertale has everything to be a good game, people are endearing and funny, the atmosphere is nice, the music is beautiful in short the game is a masterpiece if you are a fan of RPG or not I advise you strongly to try it Full Review »
  2. Sep 23, 2018
    10
    I have always looked away from this game until now that it's on switch and I realize now I was such an idiot. This game uses mechanics I haveI have always looked away from this game until now that it's on switch and I realize now I was such an idiot. This game uses mechanics I have never seen in an RPG where your skill can decide how much damage you take / give while most RPG's make me just click the a button to skip the text and attack again. Also, while most games just show one method of defending, this game shows different methods of defending and sometimes attacking but never stalls on it so you can have a new experience and not have to play a repetitive game over and over.

    UnderTale also has great replay-ability because even though the map does not change, your actions on certain people can change how the game is played and theirs multiple endings to make the game always feel new and fresh.

    When I was a child I had this ability known as "Sucking at games" which would make the game way more fun learning and getting better at bosses like Mario Galaxy 2 the Perfect Run would just be a good time spender but games will all use the same format which is why i have lost the feeling of learning a game but this is new and inspiring giving me the nostalgic feeling I have wanted for a long time, learning, trying different methods of killing bosses.

    In conclusion, UnderTale has a great story line with new kinds of methods of attacking and defending and in my total of 10 hours of playing I can say this is one of the best games I have ever played and I'm not just saying that because everyone else likes it, It has a great chunk of story on it's bones and I can't wait to see whats the next ending I can get. Thank you Toby Fox for giving me this feeling again I haven't felt in a long time.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    I’ve heard of this game but never played it. Now I have and it’s interesting to see why people loved it back then. I love the humor and jokesI’ve heard of this game but never played it. Now I have and it’s interesting to see why people loved it back then. I love the humor and jokes in the game it’s very entertaining and a very fun game to play when you have nothing else to do. Full Review »