User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 83
  2. Negative: 24 out of 83
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2019
    9
    What can i say? 4 player multiplayer. A great 50+ hours story. Alot of side quest and much more. With the Nintendo switch you can take this game on the go and because of that this is the best version of the game. I love this game from the beginning to the very end. This game have alot of replay value and are totally worth 45$. It's not even a 60$ game. If you haven't played this game andWhat can i say? 4 player multiplayer. A great 50+ hours story. Alot of side quest and much more. With the Nintendo switch you can take this game on the go and because of that this is the best version of the game. I love this game from the beginning to the very end. This game have alot of replay value and are totally worth 45$. It's not even a 60$ game. If you haven't played this game and own the system, now is your time. Perfect to play with your friends, partner or kids. The story is lovely, an action JRPG dream came true AGAIN. Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2019
    9
    New to the Tales series and waited to grab this since the first promotion dropped. I could not be happier, the port looks great and the combat system is very unique. I have been waiting for a good RPG to put hours into since grinding +300 hours in both xc2 and botw. The fact this game is a 10 year old port is nuts, aside from the battle music, I enjoy everything about this game. I amNew to the Tales series and waited to grab this since the first promotion dropped. I could not be happier, the port looks great and the combat system is very unique. I have been waiting for a good RPG to put hours into since grinding +300 hours in both xc2 and botw. The fact this game is a 10 year old port is nuts, aside from the battle music, I enjoy everything about this game. I am looking forward to more Tales ports and new titles. Hot dog the switch is an RPG Machine! Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2019
    10
    The long awaited Complete Version of Tales of Vesperia!
    It feel SO GOOD to finally have a lot of costumes to unlock, finally a lots of sidequest to find out when you replay, finally a lots of optional content and bosses. I feel like this game gave me everything I wanted "more of" tales of symphonia.
    The characters are overall pretty good, Yuri put a great dynamic with the team and each
    The long awaited Complete Version of Tales of Vesperia!
    It feel SO GOOD to finally have a lot of costumes to unlock, finally a lots of sidequest to find out when you replay, finally a lots of optional content and bosses. I feel like this game gave me everything I wanted "more of" tales of symphonia.

    The characters are overall pretty good, Yuri put a great dynamic with the team and each character feel very distinct.

    Battle Wise the game is more clunky in first few hours than most tales of, but open up much more in the end, which gives a fantastic sense of progression through the game and in the challenge keeps up, to max level in the endgame challenges. Add to that 9 playable characters and you have the most diverse cast and a lot to learn if you want to vary your play style.

    Story wise it's pretty simple, it's mostly about people figure it out and an adventure in the classic sense, it wasn't as groundbreaking as other tales of, but servicable.

    As most tales of you can still have fantastic couch multiplayer, expect great replayability from the NG+, unlocked difficulties, numerous Ex dungeons, and a lots of things to unlock.

    If for some reason you don't like anime or JRPG in general, just pass on this game, for the other just buy it.
    Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2019
    9
    This game is damn gorgeous!!! Buy it you won't regret. Every playthrough keeps making you to want more.
  5. Jan 29, 2019
    5
    I think people with a lot of nostalgia for the Tales series are biasing reviews for this game. By modern standards, it has incredibly clunky controls and pretty awful music/sound design. I'm 13 hours in and the story still isn't even remotely motivating. I do not think this is a good game. It's an "ok" game. Certainly not worth $50. Maybe $30.
  6. Feb 25, 2019
    7
    Cast: 10/10
    Story: 6/10
    Fun: 8/10
    Gameplay: 4/10

    Recommended
    ----------------------
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Feb 26, 2019
    80
    All in all, Tales of Vesperia: Definitive Edition is a solid remaster of a fun and enjoyable JRPG. It has its flaws and foibles, including a relative weak final story arc and a somewhat inconsistent battle system, but it's one of the most popular Tales titles for a reason. It's plenty of fun to play, and fans of JRPGs will easily overlook the flaws for what is a genuinely enjoyable romp through an old game style.
  2. Feb 4, 2019
    80
    The Nintendo Switch is fast becoming the definitive JRPG console of its generation, and Tales of Vesperia stands tall among its best games. The combat is fast paced and fun, there is plenty to see and do and the cast of characters are a joy to be around. If future ports and remasters are as delightful to experience as Tales of Vesperia, there is a lot to look forward to in the future of the Switch.
  3. Feb 4, 2019
    83
    Tales of Vesperia may very well be the best JRPG on the Nintendo Switch, even if it's over a decade old. I'd love to see more games get the port treatment to the Switch, but even more than that I'm hoping that the series leads decide to bring the next game to the Nintendo console at launch. Recommended for any fans of the series or the JRPG genre.