User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 7 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2018
    10
    Sushi Striker: Way of Sushido is a creative and incredibly fun videogame. It's not a piece of art, although it has a fun, light-hearted and creative plot, but that's okay: this game is not made to be taken seriously. It's not the big single-player epic, but it's a near flawless action-RPG-puzzler videogame, and it fits the switch fantastically. This game, whatsoever, is not for everyone,Sushi Striker: Way of Sushido is a creative and incredibly fun videogame. It's not a piece of art, although it has a fun, light-hearted and creative plot, but that's okay: this game is not made to be taken seriously. It's not the big single-player epic, but it's a near flawless action-RPG-puzzler videogame, and it fits the switch fantastically. This game, whatsoever, is not for everyone, but for those who enjoy it, it's a masterpiece. Since there hasn't really been any game like this before, I recommend anyone interested to check the free demo in the Nintendo Switch EShop( although personally I think the 3DS version is superior in almost every way besides graphics). A common complaint among people who haven't played the game is the price, but this game is well worth 50 Dollars. I've played the game non-stop(14 hours), and I'm about 20% in the story mode. There is also online play, beautiful graphics and a concept never found in any game before. (It has nothing to do with bad Match-3 mobile games). Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2018
    8
    What a surprise! I picked this game up, taking a gamble, and I have been nothing less than impressed. The art style is crisp, the gameplay is fast and incredibly fun, and the music is appropriate. This is a perfect "pick up and play" puzzle game that is easy to start, with a lot of depth to discover. I truly believe this will be a hidden gem for the Switch, but hope that other players willWhat a surprise! I picked this game up, taking a gamble, and I have been nothing less than impressed. The art style is crisp, the gameplay is fast and incredibly fun, and the music is appropriate. This is a perfect "pick up and play" puzzle game that is easy to start, with a lot of depth to discover. I truly believe this will be a hidden gem for the Switch, but hope that other players will give it a chance. There is a free demo on the eShop, I implore you....at least give the demo a try, it doesn't cost anything. Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2018
    0
    An actual mobile game that is on the Switch for way too much money. Should have been $10 at most.
  4. Jun 8, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm definitely liking this game. The only "rush" is the 7 seconds you get to link all the sushi you can to kick your opponents a$$ lol
    The storyline is well thought out, dialog is hilarious, art style is perfect, and the voice acting fits. You can replay older levels to level up and there's no limit to how many times you can do so. If I could liken these to a game or two...I guess I'd say any match 3 or more with Pokémon (Sprites).
    Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2018
    3
    This game is garbage... The song at the beginning is hilarious (in a so bad it's good kinda way) but it's all downhill from there... If you like Pokemon, or if you're under 8 years old, you might be able to tolerate the plot. Otherwise (hopefully) you will want to kill yourself. There are too many plot segments, but at least you can skip through them.

    The game itself doesn't interest
    This game is garbage... The song at the beginning is hilarious (in a so bad it's good kinda way) but it's all downhill from there... If you like Pokemon, or if you're under 8 years old, you might be able to tolerate the plot. Otherwise (hopefully) you will want to kill yourself. There are too many plot segments, but at least you can skip through them.

    The game itself doesn't interest me. If you're a BIG fan of match-the-colour games, you might like it. I'm not a fan of the genre. But, personally, I think Puyo Puyo Tetris is a MUCH better game.

    The controls aren't great. There are too many combos and special moves for my liking. And, the gameplay (in the context of the plot) makes no sense. Why are we matching coloured plates together? It seems pretty pointless to go to the effort of building plot and characters around gameplay when they don't fit together.

    I didn't realise there was a free demo available.
    I should have tried it out, before buying it...
    Oh well, I bought the physical so I'll just resell it.

    If it was $20, I'd give it a better score.
    It's not worth anywhere near $60.
    You've been warned.
    Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2018
    7
    "Sushi Striker: The Way of Sushido" es un juego más de unir piezas de colores iguales pero con un giro y varias mecánicas que le dan mucha personalidad y rejugabilidad. La historia es algo básica pero ayuda a darle un sentido a los personajes y a la artística.
    El juego consta de crear múltiples conexiones largas de platos del mismo color y utilizarlas como ataques para vencer a oponentes
    "Sushi Striker: The Way of Sushido" es un juego más de unir piezas de colores iguales pero con un giro y varias mecánicas que le dan mucha personalidad y rejugabilidad. La historia es algo básica pero ayuda a darle un sentido a los personajes y a la artística.
    El juego consta de crear múltiples conexiones largas de platos del mismo color y utilizarlas como ataques para vencer a oponentes en una competencia de bajarse la barra de vida. Los controles se sienten extraños, pero el modo táctil responde muy bien, no es tan satisfactorio como la pantalla táctil de 3DS pero la Switch responde firme. Además del juego en si hay personajes acompañantes que te dan personalización por sobre el estilo de juego que uno quiera tener, por lo que el juego tiene un ajuste similar a lo brindado en Puyo Puyo Tetris.
    En general es un juego que no es para todos, pero si eres fanático de los puzzles vale la pena probarlo, me falta experimentarlo en 3DS pero en Switch el juego se disfruta bastante aunque la pantalla de la tableta no tiene ese acojinamiento que si tiene la consola portátil de 2 pantallas.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Jul 15, 2018
    60
    Despite its engaging story and charming characters, Sushi Striker: The Way of Sushido undergoes a significant setback when you take its gameplay and controls into consideration.
  2. Jul 3, 2018
    70
    If you are looking for a charming and damn right silly plot, and you don’t mind paying a little more for your puzzle action to have it on the Switch, then I feel you will certainly find a lot to like with Sushi Striker: The Way of Sushido and its captivating bizarre world of sushi eating puzzle combat.
  3. Jul 2, 2018
    70
    Sushi Striker suffers only one major concern on Nintendo Switch; it is not suitable for gaming in the living room and on a big screen. Designed to be tactile, the best way to play it will be in nomadic mode. This problem aside, we are in front of a good puzzle game that has been carefully developed by Indieszero. A great way to kill time.