User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1762 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    Finally a Super Smash Bros game that has a extremely fast gameplay since Melee.
    It has a lot of content for both casual and competitive players. FURTHERMORE, it is the most balanced smash game ever.
    Online is trash but I am sure they will fix it.

    BEST SMASH GAME EVER
  2. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Absolutely perfect! The last Smash Bros that I played was the 64 version, and everything is great on this Ultimate version, lots of characters, stages, soundtracks... graphics are very good, as much as the ultimate blows. I give 10 even without playing the history mode... the game delivers what he promises and much more.

    Thanks for this masterpiece, Nintendo!
  3. jte
    Dec 7, 2018
    10
    The ultimate super smash bros game. The game play is top notch, and it is loaded with so many things to do. I will easily spend over 100 hours on this game
  4. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    It´s amazing game, is posible to play a lot of time with the aventure mode and the online.
  5. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    My first smash bros game and I love it, so much fun. For those who think this game is a port. It's not and never will be one. So just stop fxxk around and try to trash this masterwork.
  6. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    N64:Fun game
    Melee: More complex and faster game than N64
    Brawl: Slower game rythm..bad (Project M was a must have) Smash 4: Better.. but low content Ultimate: The Best. Nintendo has achieved the best Smash Bros ever created, but it seems that they have not been satisfied with just that, they have also created one of the best games in history, wich will talk about it in the
    N64:Fun game
    Melee: More complex and faster game than N64
    Brawl: Slower game rythm..bad (Project M was a must have)
    Smash 4: Better.. but low content
    Ultimate: The Best.

    Nintendo has achieved the best Smash Bros ever created, but it seems that they have not been satisfied with just that, they have also created one of the best games in history, wich will talk about it in the following years. I still do not believe it... what beast you have created Nintendo... even scares
    Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    My sister, girlfriend, and I have been playing all day and loving it. Only having eight characters at first has been really fun. It's more engaging to unlock the characters just by playing longer.
  8. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    All these fake 0 scores from people who probably do not have the game or just haters. Coincidence that these accounts have given specific 3 games of Pokemon lets go 0 as well while not reviewing any other games?
  9. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    The best smash bros game so far, combines everything for casual and competitive game. Without a doubt this is the best work of Sakurai.
  10. Dec 7, 2018
    9
    One of the must have games for the switch, amazing amount of content and a vast diverse array of fighters, modes and trophy/collections! It's everything you'd want for a nintendo beat em up, nothing quite more amusing than watching nintendo franchise characters plummet each other!
    I did notice that it can be very overwhelming at the start figuring everything out, bit of a learning curve
    One of the must have games for the switch, amazing amount of content and a vast diverse array of fighters, modes and trophy/collections! It's everything you'd want for a nintendo beat em up, nothing quite more amusing than watching nintendo franchise characters plummet each other!
    I did notice that it can be very overwhelming at the start figuring everything out, bit of a learning curve in finding your feet and once you do it's fantastic.
    online play is hit and miss, can be a bit of a lag fest depending on who hosts..
    Expand
  11. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate takes a superb game to new level with so much content that is near to impossible to try all there is included in it.
  12. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    They just announced Persona 5 in freaking Smash Bros Ultimate. I'm f*cking sold.
  13. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Smash Ultimate is the heart of all gaming. It not only celebrates Nintendo but gives everyone a chance to shine, from Mario to Simon Belmont from Castlevania to King K Rool the villain of the original DK games. The gameplay after 20 years is at its best. It combines every Smash game in some way, wether that be every character returning, a fine selection of 100 plus stages from all 4Smash Ultimate is the heart of all gaming. It not only celebrates Nintendo but gives everyone a chance to shine, from Mario to Simon Belmont from Castlevania to King K Rool the villain of the original DK games. The gameplay after 20 years is at its best. It combines every Smash game in some way, wether that be every character returning, a fine selection of 100 plus stages from all 4 previous games, master class music pieces, a fun and addictive single player adventure mode and many many more hours... days... months worth of content. This game is pure perfection, I would also go as far as saying that this game is unbeatable because you will spend the rest of your life playing, no... experiencing this masterpiece. Sakurai has out done himself. 10/10 Expand
  14. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    I can't fault this game anything. Oh wait, wait. I can, and for that I give it 9.9999999999998/10

    They forgot to add the Aquatic Ambience (DK), Fi's Gratitude (LoZ:SS), and Kapp'n's Song (from New Leaf) to the Audio Vault... and also, just because the Wii U version had it, Ballad of the Wind Fish (LoZ: LA) If you are looking for a fighting game that isn't 100% about "serious
    I can't fault this game anything. Oh wait, wait. I can, and for that I give it 9.9999999999998/10

    They forgot to add the Aquatic Ambience (DK), Fi's Gratitude (LoZ:SS), and Kapp'n's Song (from New Leaf) to the Audio Vault... and also, just because the Wii U version had it, Ballad of the Wind Fish (LoZ: LA)

    If you are looking for a fighting game that isn't 100% about "serious fighting" (BandaiNamco, Koei, and Capcom are in charge of that, and I guess Warner Bros., too these days), but a fighting game that has more features than any other fighting game (yes, even more than Mortal Kombat X with its gimmicky faction war), then look no further.

    I was expecting a rehash of the Wii U version, you know, with maybe a couple of features, just like Mario Kart 8 and Splatoon 2. I was thinking, I'm sure they'll add more stuff as DLC.

    No, guys. Nintendo has brought it all in, in a $60 package. Everything is already here, and as they said, "Everyone is here!" It is insane the amount of content this game has, especially when one thinks about how other companies handle content these days. And even with all that, there are 5 more committed DLC packages to be released for the next few months, each bringing one new fighter, as well as other smaller items.

    I wanted this to be a spoiler free review, mostly because I truly appreciate the developers and companies that, in their own way, fight back these megagiants who continue ripping us off with microtransactions and ridiculous disc-locked content. And I appreciate this game as much as I appreciate something indie, like Stardew Valley, Dead Cells, and Into the Breach (with all their content at their respective base prices), and something not-so-indie, like Witcher 3 or the Disgaea series.

    Either way. If you enjoy these brawlers, this one won't disappoint... for like 4-5 years to come, or more, if you're into the "pro scene."
    Expand
  15. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    At the time of 3DS and Wii U's release, you thought that they would stop making more games for the franchise especially if that hype for said installments was a blast, but of course Nintendo thinks you're wrong since they can obviously do a lot better and bigger than said installments. The result is a game that has so much everything that not even the word everything can be compared to theAt the time of 3DS and Wii U's release, you thought that they would stop making more games for the franchise especially if that hype for said installments was a blast, but of course Nintendo thinks you're wrong since they can obviously do a lot better and bigger than said installments. The result is a game that has so much everything that not even the word everything can be compared to the amount of everything Super Smash Bros. Ultimate has. The best part about that is that they all feel ambitious to the point where it is impossible to determine where to start your journey. Nintendo has not only created the most enthusiastic and magnificent Super Smash Bros. game in history's namesake, but they have also managed to make it one of the greatest video games in whatever timeline you are living. I usually do not ask people to play games or watch movies as if I was forcing them to do it, but when you're talking about one of the biggest games of possibly all time, you know I have no choice and I will not resist such a game that deserves all the praise I can give it. Please look forward into getting this game and playing it especially if you do not have a Nintendo Switch. Expand
  16. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Best fighting game ever made by far. Awesome game with all the greatest characters in gaming all in one package. It got everything you could ever wish for like adventure mode, spirit mode (challange mode) etc. If you don't love this you are not a gamer.
  17. Dec 7, 2018
    0
    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is really disappointing. When it was first announced, I felt it would be one of the best 2018 games. However, when I saw it at the E3, it let me down.

    The new fighters, like Daisy, Isabelle and Chrom, are nothing interesting with the exception of King K. Rool, Inkling and Ridley. No new 3rd-party characters neither, which is why there's a huge fandom of this
    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is really disappointing. When it was first announced, I felt it would be one of the best 2018 games. However, when I saw it at the E3, it let me down.

    The new fighters, like Daisy, Isabelle and Chrom, are nothing interesting with the exception of King K. Rool, Inkling and Ridley. No new 3rd-party characters neither, which is why there's a huge fandom of this series and, anyway, their requests are not taken in account.

    My most disliked announcement was the new Assist Trophies. People felt disappointed when Waluigi was an AT once again. In my case, I really felt depressed when I saw Bomberman was one too. I mean, really? An Assist Trophy? Since the announcement of Super Bomberman R as a launch title for the Switch, both Smash and Bomberman fans determined it was time to include him as a playable fighter in the next Smash, not something else. Even notable personalities and brands agreed with it. There are a lot of reasons of why he deserves it much more than the current 3rd-party characters such as Wario Blast!, the series in every Nintendo platform, the Mario Party series developed by Hudson Soft, etc. Is this a joke? Even though both Bomberman and Hudson Soft had a long relationship with Nintendo, they just gave him mere respect.

    Going on with the Assist Trophies, this feature really ruined more 3rd-party characters. Later, they announced Ashley, Isaac, Knuckles, Krystal, Shadow, Shovel Knight, Starfy and Zero as AT's as well, despite being requested by fans too. What? Why the overuse of this Assist Trophy thing? I thought Smash accepted relevant characters like those as fighters but no, looks like in a very different way.

    The 3rd-party characters are disappointing too. Bayonetta is not a very notable series as others. So why is she here once again? She doesn't deserve to be in a crossover fighting game like this. Nobody requested her. Hideo Kojima, who I don't think is great, asked Nintendo to include Solid Snake to Brawl. He left Konami and wasn't included in 3DS/Wii U but is here again. And later, they announced the only new 3rd-party character: Simon Belmont. So why did Konami re-add a character whose latest game was hated by the Internet media and fans and one whose series is dead since 2014. Bomberman is the only current notable series owned by Konami thanks to the success of Super Bomberman R. Nonetheless, Bomberman is less important than Metal Gear and Castlevania? Just because they're overrated it doesn't mean he doesn't deserve to be playable. Bomberman is a more iconic and original video game character for both casual and hardcore gamers than Snake, Bayonetta, Ryu, Cloud and Simon. He is just like Mario, Sonic, Mega Man and Pac-Man. The problem is that Konami doesn't know how to treat him. He was much better with Hudson Soft instead.

    Even some of the 1st-party characters are disappointing. Daisy is just like Peach and could better fit as a skin for her and not as a separate character. The same with Dr. Mario: you still treat him as a different character apart from Mario even though he is a clone of him. That's absurd. He is just Mario wearing a doctor suit. Why didn't you add him as part of his interchangeable skins? Also, why are there a lot of Fire Emblem characters? Most of them are echo fighters or clones. Even Zelda and Kirby have more legacy and popularity than Fire Emblem and they don't get a new character at least. And Wario still has his boring WarioWare style instead of the more appreciated Wario Land one.

    The game doesn't have so interesting features. The new story mode, World of Light, is repetitive and nothing like the Subspace Emissary, whose removal was due to a pointless reason. How they made all of the Final Smashes automatic and the addition of more Echo Fighters and clones is worthless. All this make this game look like a Deluxe version of the 3DS/Wii U game rather than a new game.

    Moreover, another disappointing thing was the new Spirits thing, which took off the possibility to even more characters like Rayman, Shantae and, once again, Bomberman. This new Spirits feature messed the crossover style of this game up a lot, together with the Assist Trophies.

    To end up, I totally dislike this game. I don't deny I had my hopes to it but I do say this game screwed itself. I learned you don't have to expect anything good about it like requesting your favourite characters to appear in it. If they do, they will most probably end up being and AT or a Spirit, but not playable. I will never play nor have interest in Super Smash Bros. ever again. This game is the major disappointment of 2018 and one of the main reasons why the Switch isn't as cool as it was in 2017. I would rather play with the characters I like in their respective franchises than in a crossover fighting game like this.

    Thank you, Nintendo. Just go and take care of your other IP's and make this entry the last one of its series. Super Mario Odyssey is way better than this.
    Expand
  18. Dec 7, 2018
    0
    It is not a perfect game, we have to make it clear, it has a lot of port and the truth ruins several things and traditions that the saga had always maintained, that without mentioning that the marketing campaign was excessive and practically showed the whole game without having left , it hurt me especially to see how Nintendo prostitutes his demos everywhere, erasing any surprise that theIt is not a perfect game, we have to make it clear, it has a lot of port and the truth ruins several things and traditions that the saga had always maintained, that without mentioning that the marketing campaign was excessive and practically showed the whole game without having left , it hurt me especially to see how Nintendo prostitutes his demos everywhere, erasing any surprise that the player could have when playing it. Expand
  19. Dec 7, 2018
    0
    The "definitive" Smash that is not so definitive, particularly I did not like many of its inclusions, I can be better if I had not changed or replaced what was already established, and it is the Smash that has added more clones.
  20. Dec 12, 2018
    9
    Impresionante en casi todos los niveles, llevo jugando desde el lanzamiento y cada vez me abruma más el contenido de este juego.
    La jugabilidad está trabajadísima y se nota el lavado de cara de todos los personajes, sus sets y sus escenarios. Se aproxima a Melee, pero bien sea por nostalgia o por excelencia, no creo que vuelva haber un Smash igual.
    El multijugador es donde tiene el
    Impresionante en casi todos los niveles, llevo jugando desde el lanzamiento y cada vez me abruma más el contenido de este juego.
    La jugabilidad está trabajadísima y se nota el lavado de cara de todos los personajes, sus sets y sus escenarios. Se aproxima a Melee, pero bien sea por nostalgia o por excelencia, no creo que vuelva haber un Smash igual.
    El multijugador es donde tiene el lunar... En modo local es impresionante, y la forma ideal de jugarlo, sin fisuras, entretenido, muy ajustable y frenético. Ahora bien, Nintendo tiene que hacerse mirar sus servicios online (por los cuales ahora pagas), ya se cargó la experiencia en juegos como Mario Tennis Aces y ahora cojea por la falta de filtros y las caídas regulares... Es jugable, pero a un título así con aspiraciones al competitivo se le queda corto este servicio online.
    Expand
  21. Dec 15, 2018
    10
    Super Smash Bros is back. I have been waiting for a long time since I had Nintendo Switch. Thank you Nintendo
  22. Jan 17, 2019
    10
    Simply the best so far both for casu and pro players. If you have a Switch you defenetly need to buy SSBU
  23. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    por que es el mejor juego de lucha de switch y de toda la historia de los videojuegos y punto.
  24. Dec 17, 2018
    10
    i don't even understand how a person can give this game a negative review. While the online isn't at it's finest and requested characters didn't make the game, that doesn't make it a bad game. Echo fighters isn't a big deal, so stop complaining. there was no subspace emissary because the fans released the cutscenes on the internet- the fans led their own downfall. world of light is fun toi don't even understand how a person can give this game a negative review. While the online isn't at it's finest and requested characters didn't make the game, that doesn't make it a bad game. Echo fighters isn't a big deal, so stop complaining. there was no subspace emissary because the fans released the cutscenes on the internet- the fans led their own downfall. world of light is fun to play and is a great, underrated part of the game. I'm not supporting spirits or the new classic mode, but this is a great game, and i feel like it is getting negative reviews for the wrong reasons. this is an epic game, one of the best to have on the switch, and many of the changes were made for the better. this game was made for the real players. i can understand if you don't like classic mode or the online, but you can't even call yourself a real gamer if you didn't like this. all you salty noobs can play brawl with items on in norfair for all i care. stop dissing this epic game that most of you negative reviewers haven't even played. This is the best smash bros game with awesome graphics, awesome soundtrack, awesome fighting system, awesome character roster and an awesome spicing up of the series. we finally get a competitive smash game and people want brawl back? count me out. Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is truly the best Super Smash Bros. game Expand
  25. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    Super Smash Bros Ultimate is a delight to play. With a vast roster of characters and stages, with new side modes this game is a blast to play with friends or by yourself. Classic mode is revamped in this game with each character having a personalized route along with training mode having many updates for advanced players. However, there are some missing modes many smash fans will knowSuper Smash Bros Ultimate is a delight to play. With a vast roster of characters and stages, with new side modes this game is a blast to play with friends or by yourself. Classic mode is revamped in this game with each character having a personalized route along with training mode having many updates for advanced players. However, there are some missing modes many smash fans will know including, stage builder and stadium modes. A new adventure mode, World of Light, is also in place including a variety of challenges and some amazing boss battles. Although it is great in many ways, it starts to get repetitive after some time. Overall, even though this game has some flaws, I still consider it the best in the series so far. Expand
  26. Dec 21, 2018
    9
    Amazing feel to the comp side and world of light is pretty fun too. The only downside is the online matchmaking for rules is very inconsistent at it's current state.
  27. Dec 13, 2018
    9
    This game is impressive, the mechanics are very well made, every characters look equal in the sense that none of them seem to have been left out of the scene and the local multiplayer is amazing too. It is a very fun game to play either with friends or alone. Im impresses by nintendo on this one!
  28. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Amazing game! Although world of light isn't as good as subspace, it's better than melee's adventure mode. Nerfs and buffs to good and bad characters are always welcome. A 9.7/10 in my opinion.
  29. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    This game is fantastic. This is very subjective but if your getting a switch and one game get this game over zelda and mario as this is a great single and multiplayer game. Just keep in mind when you don't beat a new fighter play a few ore matches and check games and more.
  30. Dec 12, 2018
    9
    If this is Sakurai's last Smash Bros game he went out with a bang. The new adventure mode, World of Light, is the story mode many people wanted. It had a simple but great story, some fun and sometimes overly frustrating challenges, and had some challenging battles. I was a big fan of how we unlocked characters in this game and I some of the newcomers had very interesting play styles that IIf this is Sakurai's last Smash Bros game he went out with a bang. The new adventure mode, World of Light, is the story mode many people wanted. It had a simple but great story, some fun and sometimes overly frustrating challenges, and had some challenging battles. I was a big fan of how we unlocked characters in this game and I some of the newcomers had very interesting play styles that I instantly grew a liking towards. Also, I was in shock and awe over the new classic mode and how each character had a different route they take where each one had different enemies and bosses to fight. There where a lot of callbacks and I love some of the new bosses which I will not go into but they are a lot of fun. Overall this is the best smash bros game to date. Expand
  31. Feb 15, 2019
    8
    A lot of fun in the short term. It's not something I'd play for hours at a time nor sink hundreds of hours into but it is a lot of fun for an hour or so every now and then.

    The levels are fun for the most part with a few irritating ones. I do find it difficult to consistently combo and put this down to tricky control design, however this could be personal to me. The characters are
    A lot of fun in the short term. It's not something I'd play for hours at a time nor sink hundreds of hours into but it is a lot of fun for an hour or so every now and then.

    The levels are fun for the most part with a few irritating ones.
    I do find it difficult to consistently combo and put this down to tricky control design, however this could be personal to me.
    The characters are great and playing to unlock new ones keeps incentive and keeps it fun as you keep getting to play with different characters.
    I am yet to play online but imagine it to be really exciting to play with friends.

    I definitely would recommend buying it if you haven't already.
    Expand
  32. Feb 7, 2019
    9
    The best smash bros. by far. The new characters were all very fun and interesting inclusions and I am very hopeful for the future of this game! The online is not the best and could 100% improve. I think that if you are looking whether or not to purchase this game, you need to ask yourself what you plan to do in the game. If you are a casual fan who is looking for a fun time killer to playThe best smash bros. by far. The new characters were all very fun and interesting inclusions and I am very hopeful for the future of this game! The online is not the best and could 100% improve. I think that if you are looking whether or not to purchase this game, you need to ask yourself what you plan to do in the game. If you are a casual fan who is looking for a fun time killer to play in their spare time or with friends then this game is a must-have for your switch! If you are a hardcore fan then you probably have already decided whether or not you want this game but nonetheless, there is something in this game for everyone. Every character from past titles have made their comeback so there are no shortages of fun and unique characters full of personality for you to wield!
    Notable exclusions include:
    All-Star Mode
    Subspace Emissary-type mode
    Break-the-target
    Home-run contest

    Thanks to Sakurai for all the hard work him and his team put into the game.
    Expand
  33. Mar 3, 2019
    9
    Okay so This is my first review. I am reviewing this game in particular because when reading the negative reviews its pretty obvious that most people aren't reviewing the game fairly, including those who gave 10/10's. I LOVE this game and i don't want misinformation being spread about it.

    Many reviews on here (especially the low scoring ones) are practically reviewing the characters
    Okay so This is my first review. I am reviewing this game in particular because when reading the negative reviews its pretty obvious that most people aren't reviewing the game fairly, including those who gave 10/10's. I LOVE this game and i don't want misinformation being spread about it.

    Many reviews on here (especially the low scoring ones) are practically reviewing the characters included. One in particular says "The new fighters, like Daisy, Isabelle and Chrom, are nothing interesting with the exception of King K. Rool, Inkling and Ridley. No new 3rd-party characters neither...". Of course the first bit is completely opinionated which is fine but saying there were no new 3rd party characters is just plain false. Simon and Richter Belmont are brand new 3rd party characters, Snake is also a "new" 3rd party character to this game as they most likely still had to go through a lot just to get him in since Konami's contract would likely have expired from brawl.

    I feel that their is a harsh lack of legitimate reviews so i'm going to give mine. I'd give this game an 9/10, i believe it is one of the best smash games. This is a celebration of Smash as a series and it shows. Right out of the box this game comes with the most music, characters, and stages of any game. Variety is huge and is definitely the biggest selling point of this title compared to the others. Smash 64 was a great proof of concept and the fighting is very deep. Melee took the depth of SM64 and put it on steroids. Brawl was a fighting game for the casual audience of the WII, not bad but most of the depth was taken out in favor of fun wacky mechanics. Smash 4 was a sort of return to form for the series but still leaving a bit of Brawl linger. Then came Ultimate with it's new ideas and implementation of old mechanics. This game really is the epitome of smash. I can only come up with one complaint about this game and it's a common one. The online is a bit of a mess, I think it will be fixed in the foreseeable future but at the moment it's a bit broken, with the connection problems and the preferred rules system. Other than that though, I feel this game is great in all other regards so I think i'll talk about common complaints other people have. "It's not enough like melee." Now I kinda get this one, after all my favorite smash game is melee, but we have to realized that melee is great because it is unique, if we got another melee that would not be good for the growth of the game. Even with that they did add new tech like directional air-dodges which allow for sudo-wavedashes and more colorful edge-guarding. "It's a port." Now this one I do not understand at all. I think this one is more of a thing people with out Switches say to make themselves feel better. The game has so so much content, I am much happier with what we got then a game built from the ground up that would come out a few years later with less content.

    Thank you for reading my long review and hopefully it was insightful and helpful for you.
    Expand
  34. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    It´s AWESOME!!!! There are a ton of characters and a lot of scenarios. It´s the perfect gift for this xmas season
  35. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Thanks Mr. Sakurai, an awesome game!
    Can't stop playing! 10/10 The definitive version of Smash Bros
  36. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    The best SMB that I even seen, a lot of content, a huge map in the adventure mode, 74+1 characters, 103 scenarios, the return of old mechanics and a few new ones, tons of collectibles and iconic characters not only from Nintendo but from Konami, Capcom, Sega, Square Enix and even more as collectible spirits, even Indie games, definitble a must have
    But if you are a Nintendo,s hater, I
    The best SMB that I even seen, a lot of content, a huge map in the adventure mode, 74+1 characters, 103 scenarios, the return of old mechanics and a few new ones, tons of collectibles and iconic characters not only from Nintendo but from Konami, Capcom, Sega, Square Enix and even more as collectible spirits, even Indie games, definitble a must have
    But if you are a Nintendo,s hater, I invite U to give this game a score of 0.0
    Expand
  37. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    this is the definitive version, improves everything seen in previous installments, very entertaining and fun to play with friends. I recommend it a lot I have weighed good times with my brother, especially when we bet who will be the king of smash bross. I do not have any complaints, in the technical area it excels and meets the standards of today very flashy at 60 fps very stable. Withthis is the definitive version, improves everything seen in previous installments, very entertaining and fun to play with friends. I recommend it a lot I have weighed good times with my brother, especially when we bet who will be the king of smash bross. I do not have any complaints, in the technical area it excels and meets the standards of today very flashy at 60 fps very stable. With this delivery we gain the users and the world of videogames in general Expand
  38. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Amazing game, will truly go down as a classic. Nintendo keeps hitting home-runs.
  39. Dec 10, 2018
    9
    this game is an absolute masterpiece, with minor flaws that for some can ruin the experience. packed with single player content as well as multiplayer and online, and an amazing roster of over 74 characters with 6 more to come in. this game offers a good experience both for casuals and competitives, and it's flaws are easily patchable.
    the online matchmaking system works in theory but
    this game is an absolute masterpiece, with minor flaws that for some can ruin the experience. packed with single player content as well as multiplayer and online, and an amazing roster of over 74 characters with 6 more to come in. this game offers a good experience both for casuals and competitives, and it's flaws are easily patchable.
    the online matchmaking system works in theory but it's executed poorly in a crappy way, and the input lag isn't really noticeable by a normal player but more skilled ones will surely notice it. of course, both of these are probably bound to change in future updates to the game, so a 9.5 is more than deserved
    Expand
  40. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Simplemente es un juego maravilloso que vale la pena disfrutar en todos sus aspectos, ideal para jugar en familia y con amigos! momentos de mucha emoción y felicidad nos trae este juego, Muchas gracias Sakurai y todo el equipo de desarrollo.
  41. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    Absolutely STELLAR. I didn't know this series could get any better. But it just did!
  42. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Hands down the best casual fighting game of all time. Oh, did I say "casual", indeed, Super Smash Bros Ultimate is a rare breed, a fighting game that's accessible. Today most fighting games such as Street Fighter and Tekken are very difficult to get involved in do to the competitive scene, however Smash has both great competitive and casual aspects.

    For the competitive scene the
    Hands down the best casual fighting game of all time. Oh, did I say "casual", indeed, Super Smash Bros Ultimate is a rare breed, a fighting game that's accessible. Today most fighting games such as Street Fighter and Tekken are very difficult to get involved in do to the competitive scene, however Smash has both great competitive and casual aspects.

    For the competitive scene the mechanics are great and ultra polished, it may not be as fast and solid as Melee but it's close. This game makes sure that the competitive aspect of smash doesn't get lost like brawl did.

    And for the casual side, Ultimate is huge. A massive roster, more than a hundred stages and more items then ever, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is pure gold for those who are looking for a great multiplayer game.

    My only complain is the online, as usual Nintendo games have a tendency to dissapoint in this department, and Ultimate is not the exception. When I choose to play a 1v1, I expect to play a 1v1 instead of a three or four player match. In my opinion the Wii U game handled this aspect in a better way.
    Expand
  43. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    The best super smash bros. Starting with the story, the adventure game, having to unlock one by one all the players, the new feature of having spirits, it’s the best. The only thing I would change is the same of all the switch games, I don’t understand why they’re not able to use the touch screen, ir would be easier to select players/spirits and I would have given a little more protagonismThe best super smash bros. Starting with the story, the adventure game, having to unlock one by one all the players, the new feature of having spirits, it’s the best. The only thing I would change is the same of all the switch games, I don’t understand why they’re not able to use the touch screen, ir would be easier to select players/spirits and I would have given a little more protagonism to spirits, as giving an specific power as summoning a thunderbolt pushing a button every x seconds or something that is more visible, since it feels a little bit abstract the power and how it affects the game, however the game is still perfect. Expand
  44. Dec 11, 2018
    9
    the best game in the series since Melee and it's equally as fun too! it may not be perfect with some missteps, but regardless of those, Ultimate is still worth a look for a amazing Roster of characters with every Veteran back including newcomers that are fun to play with each, good amount of content, and it still keeps the Great Smash Bros formula for Beginners and Hardcore players in thethe best game in the series since Melee and it's equally as fun too! it may not be perfect with some missteps, but regardless of those, Ultimate is still worth a look for a amazing Roster of characters with every Veteran back including newcomers that are fun to play with each, good amount of content, and it still keeps the Great Smash Bros formula for Beginners and Hardcore players in the series! the game also looks fantastic with more detail than the Wii U game in stages and characters, and it all runs at 1080p 60fps (except in some "certain matches" like Ice Climbers only 8 player match) and it looks just as good on Portable mode. i will admit i was expecting a little bit more on World of Light but it's not too bad since it still feels like an epic adventure to rescue all your friends to come back to the main villain, stronger than ever to save the World

    This, along side Mario Odyssey, Mario Kart 8 DX and Zelda Breath of the Wild should be your first Nintendo Switch game when you get one eventually. Smash Ultimate, while not Perfect, still sure is ULTIMATE
    Expand
  45. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Amazing. This game is packed with content with over 70 characters and 100 stages. It has the best local multiplayer experience around. Highly recommended and worth buying a Switch alone.
  46. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    Amazing character roster and more to come, great stages, fun gameplay for newcomers and old fans of the saga alike. It's great. Only thing that wasn't so great was world of light. A must have for Nintendo Switch owners.
  47. Dec 10, 2018
    9
    Nunca me había gustado tanto un Smash Bros y he jugado a todos. Este mejora muchísimo en todos los aspectos e incluso en lo que parecía imposible mejorar. Una cantidad increíble de jugadores, escenarios, música y además unos gráficos y sombras muy llamativos que a su vez ayudan bastante a visualizar perfectamente la pelea. Por otro lado y el motivo que le doy un 9 y no un 10 es el modoNunca me había gustado tanto un Smash Bros y he jugado a todos. Este mejora muchísimo en todos los aspectos e incluso en lo que parecía imposible mejorar. Una cantidad increíble de jugadores, escenarios, música y además unos gráficos y sombras muy llamativos que a su vez ayudan bastante a visualizar perfectamente la pelea. Por otro lado y el motivo que le doy un 9 y no un 10 es el modo historia que se agradece que se meta de nuevo después de 10 años (además de que meten la mecánica de espíritus) pero la verdad es que por lo menos a mí se me ha hecho bastante repetitivo. Y también el motivo que le doy un 9 es por la estabilidad del online, que va un poco mejor que el de la WiiU y estás pagando 20 euros al año para jugar online y si quieres te compras el adaptador de ethernet para que te vaya mejor y si no mejora apenas te aguantas. Por lo demás, JUEGAZO. Expand
  48. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    This is the best Smash Bros game ever made by far. It's snappy, full of content and has an amazing UI. I could not ask for a better fighting game with a stronger roster.
  49. Dec 9, 2018
    9
    I can play 8 players with my whole family, with pretty much every character and map in Smash Brothers history. The controls are more or less the same, and handling is about 95% equivelent.

    This is the best Smas Bros game ever IMO. Well done Nintendo, you still do some things right.
  50. Dec 9, 2018
    9
    Masahiro Sakurai definitely worked his butt off to make sure this is the most ultimate version of Smash Bros. The amount of content in this game is just amazing. You can tell a lot of love and care was put in by the director. Thank you Masahiro Sakurai, you deserve a long vacation.
  51. Dec 15, 2018
    9
    All in all it's mostly an upgrade over Sm4sh. The only downgrade is the online matchmaking sometimes putting you into 4 player ffa when you want 1v1, but patch 1.2 reduced that drastically.

    The only thing keeping it from a 10 is the single player. While it is an improvement over Smash 64, Melee, and Sm4sh's single player, it still falls short of Subspace Emissary. The matches are fun,
    All in all it's mostly an upgrade over Sm4sh. The only downgrade is the online matchmaking sometimes putting you into 4 player ffa when you want 1v1, but patch 1.2 reduced that drastically.

    The only thing keeping it from a 10 is the single player. While it is an improvement over Smash 64, Melee, and Sm4sh's single player, it still falls short of Subspace Emissary. The matches are fun, and the rpg elements are neat (and necessary for many of the fights, dear god!), but it lacks that sweet sweet high-production fan-fiction feel that Subspace had. There are much fewer cut-scenes, and there isn't really any interaction between the roster beyond the intro scene. That being said, it is definitely a big part of the game. I still haven't finished it and I've clocked nearly 25 hours (the map you see in the trailers is only map 1!). There are indeed boss battles, some of them very fun, others kind of easy. It's no subspace, but it's the next best thing imo.
    Expand
  52. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    Announcing DLC character before the game release? It's the only bad thing about this game (online will improve with updates, so don't worry) but we get the best super smash bros so far. Starting with the story, the adventure game, having to unlock one by one all the players, the new feature of having spirits, it’s the best. Amazing character roster and more to come, great stages, funAnnouncing DLC character before the game release? It's the only bad thing about this game (online will improve with updates, so don't worry) but we get the best super smash bros so far. Starting with the story, the adventure game, having to unlock one by one all the players, the new feature of having spirits, it’s the best. Amazing character roster and more to come, great stages, fun gameplay for newcomers and old fans of the saga alike. It's great. Only thing that wasn't so great was world of light. A must have for Nintendo Switch owners. This has to be by far the greatest Nintendo game that I have ever played in my entire life. Expand
  53. Dec 26, 2018
    10
    excelente juego. en verdad a este juego se le puede llamar la edición ultimate de un vídeo juego. tiene una gran jugabilidad, un modo "historia" bastante bueno y miles de horas de jugabilidad tanto para un jugador en modo online como para jugar con tus amigos en tu casa. la música y el arte del juego es hermoso. altamente recomendable.
  54. Dec 15, 2018
    10
    El mejor juego de lucha de la historia.

    Tanto en diversión como en contenido Nintendo y sobre todo Masahiro Sakurai, nos han entregado lo que es el culmen hasta hoy en día del genero de lucha. Cientos de horas para desbloquear todo el contenido que viene incluido, y cientos de horas de diversión con sus 74 luchadores todos ellos únicos y sus muchos modos de juego que harán que la
    El mejor juego de lucha de la historia.

    Tanto en diversión como en contenido Nintendo y sobre todo Masahiro Sakurai, nos han entregado lo que es el culmen hasta hoy en día del genero de lucha.

    Cientos de horas para desbloquear todo el contenido que viene incluido, y cientos de horas de diversión con sus 74 luchadores todos ellos únicos y sus muchos modos de juego que harán que la experiencia sea muy enriquecedora.

    En mi caso los 3 primeros días de juego ya le he dedicado 30 horas y solo he podido desbloquear el plantel al completo, que puede parecer mucho, pero eso solo es una pequeña parte del juego aun me quedan mas de 1000 espíritus por lograr, y muchas horas en conseguir completar el modo árcade de cada uno de los personajes.

    No contentos con esto tenemos también el mítico modo Smash donde tendremos miles de combates con las reglas, objetos y personajes que queramos.

    En cuanto al apartado gráfico esta muy bien los efectos de iluminación y texturizados, sin caídas de FPS, gameplay fluido y con una gran profundidad que si queremos refinar al máximo nuestra habilidad podemos tardar literalmente años.

    El apartado sonoro es sublime, unos efectos muy cuidados y de gran calidad, y una banda sonora para recordad toda la vida con un opening impresionante que cuando lo escuchas te entran unas ganas tremendas de jugar.

    En conclusión, juegazo del genero de lucha, muchas horas de juego, un juego de los que marcan época.
    Expand
  55. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Super smash Bros. ultimate es un homenaje a los videojuegos. No es un juego perfecto, pero se acerca muchísimo, no solo por el contenido desorbitante, sino también por la sólida jugabilidad que ya es característica de la serie. Es increíble ver a usuarios poniendoles nota 0 a un videojuego de estas características, es ridículo el tan solo pensar que hay personas que se hacen múltiplesSuper smash Bros. ultimate es un homenaje a los videojuegos. No es un juego perfecto, pero se acerca muchísimo, no solo por el contenido desorbitante, sino también por la sólida jugabilidad que ya es característica de la serie. Es increíble ver a usuarios poniendoles nota 0 a un videojuego de estas características, es ridículo el tan solo pensar que hay personas que se hacen múltiples cuentas solo para bajarle la nota. Expand
  56. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    The best smash Game so far. Masses of content, game modes, characters etc. And finally you have to unlock everything again. It's so much fun, I love it !
  57. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    Only thing that could use improvement (IMO) is the online, but with ver. 1.2 it seems they are already working on fixing it up. This gives me the feeling that they will do everything they can to support this game for quite some time.

    Fantastic game all around, worth the $.
  58. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    This is the best Super Smash up to now and the best Fighting game ever done. Period.
  59. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    Smash is a proven formula and Smash Ultimate doesn't mess with that, it just dishes out what we love in a very complete way, all the characters, a ton of stages and music which would be enough for me to be honest, but there is more here, with the spirits mode that just piles on the nostalgia in a set of themed battles to classic mode and lots of ways to customize it so you can play it howSmash is a proven formula and Smash Ultimate doesn't mess with that, it just dishes out what we love in a very complete way, all the characters, a ton of stages and music which would be enough for me to be honest, but there is more here, with the spirits mode that just piles on the nostalgia in a set of themed battles to classic mode and lots of ways to customize it so you can play it how you want to.
    If you like Smash, it is a no brainer this is the Ultimate version of Smash!

    When I first saw Ultimate, I have to admit I did wonder if it was a "deluxe" version of Sm4sh but once you have played it, you can really tell that it is its own game and while it builds on the past games Ultimate maintains its own style that plays differently compared to Melee or Sm4sh. There are a few games that become console defining titles and the Switch already has a few! Smash Ultimate is easily a contender for top of the pile.
    Expand
  60. Dec 15, 2018
    9
    Great game with pretty bad online, still worth every cent. The amount of content is huge
  61. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    It's literally the ultimate Smash Game. Its the Smash with the most Content and the best Gameplay.
  62. Dec 30, 2018
    10
    I may be fairly new to the franchise (starting and ending with Smash for 3DS before this game), but it does not take an expert to recognize an amazing game when he sees one. With a incredibly impressive roster exceeding 70 characters, an impressive stage count, and just how much love was put into it, this game warrants buying a Switch all on its own. Like all other Smash games, there isI may be fairly new to the franchise (starting and ending with Smash for 3DS before this game), but it does not take an expert to recognize an amazing game when he sees one. With a incredibly impressive roster exceeding 70 characters, an impressive stage count, and just how much love was put into it, this game warrants buying a Switch all on its own. Like all other Smash games, there is some magic seeing Link, Mario, and Pikachu duke it out in a platform fighter, and that magic is only amplified with the incredible graphics and movesets. While a few of the characters are just copies of others with minor changes, the roster is big enough that it should be impossible to complain. As for the single player content, World of Light is not meant for what many thought it was. If you try to sit down and just play through it, you are going to get bored. However, if you take it in bites and work your way through it, it will be an amazing experience. I have always wanted Skull Kid as a playable character in Smash, but I cannot be mad about him not making the cut because I get to use a spirit and play with him in that way! With well over 1,000 spirits, it is a guarantee that at least one of your favorite characters will be in Smash that way, and it is heartwarming to see. Expand
  63. Dec 27, 2018
    8
    Okay so I was reading some of the negative reviews of smash bros and some of the positive reviews of smash bros and its pretty obvious that some of the people who give it a 0/10 aren't even trying to fairly review this game and even the people who give it a 10/10, this game isn't perfect and i want to point out its flaws but most importantly its successes.

    Well first the successes, the
    Okay so I was reading some of the negative reviews of smash bros and some of the positive reviews of smash bros and its pretty obvious that some of the people who give it a 0/10 aren't even trying to fairly review this game and even the people who give it a 10/10, this game isn't perfect and i want to point out its flaws but most importantly its successes.

    Well first the successes, the story mode which really isn't one and it was never said to be a story mode so I dont really care if it has a story or what. The "story" mode doesn't have much of a story or anything like subspace but i think thats what makes it really good because smash never needed a story, i mean it needs some sort of story but not one with cutscenes everywhere. Subspace was pretty cool okay but the issue i have with subspace is the levels, the levels are more like levels designed for a platformer and the smash engine wasn't made to be used as a platform game so the characters felt really clunky in my opinion, but i still really enjoyed very much and i still think that brawl is really underrated. But whatever smash bros ultimate's story mode doesn't have these platform sections but instead has matches which most people would think will get repetitive but dont for some reason, the mode starts out slow but then it gets really good, i dont really want to explain the spirits since i want you to experience them and learn about them on your own but all i can say is that they are so much better then trophies.

    Next Pretty much everything else, well classic mode is really good thats what i can say, it has different paths for every fighter so its not as boring as smash 4's classic mode it's actually pretty fun. The game runs smoothly at 60fps and great resolution but i ain't gonna kiss this games but as the perfect game.

    the negatives, well i dont have much to say except ONLINE....................... okay just kidding online really isn't that big of a problem if you ask me, i mean at the beginning of the games life span it was just bad but since a couple of updates it has improved SO much more so i can say the online IS OKAY not perfect it has some lag some times it NOW matches you up with your preferred rule list all the time so not that much to complain. BUt the real thing i dont like is that its disappointing that i cant think of that many thing to say that theres something wrong because there are so many little things that kinda combine into something i dont like but i cant explain this game, you may give this a 10 or a 0 but we all know that this game is just mostly a game and dont it wont change anything, this game is just a game and i just think its an 8 cant say anything about why or what but its a game that you play and it will keep you entertained for hours on end but we all know that we humans just keep each other entertained until we die, and thats the human cycle we entertain ourselves until we die and these things just entertain us the bit more and this game is nice entertainment but we all know that his game will never reach the level of lego harry potter years 1-4 and years 5-7
    Expand
  64. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    This truly is the ultimate smash bros. Hundreds of hours of content, and extremely fun gameplay. If you have a switch, you NEED this game!
  65. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    So much love and passion was put into this game it's hard not to give it a perfect score. With the most Characters, Stages, Song, a ton of spirits and a very lengthy yet fun story mode this is definitely the Ultimate version of smash brothers by far.
  66. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    Really is the Ultimate smash. Really Good graphics and runs really smooth. Unlocking new characters feels really rewarding because it doesn't happen constantly, rather a slow pace with a few games in between. World of light takes a while to get going, but the end is really good. Gameplay is solid in all modes, the characters are all really fun to use and try. Other than a few drops inReally is the Ultimate smash. Really Good graphics and runs really smooth. Unlocking new characters feels really rewarding because it doesn't happen constantly, rather a slow pace with a few games in between. World of light takes a while to get going, but the end is really good. Gameplay is solid in all modes, the characters are all really fun to use and try. Other than a few drops in frame rate online works relatively well. Takes the best parts of all the previous games and puts them into one jam-packed package of good fun. Competitively might even beat melee with how difficult it can be to memorize all the frame data for every character. It also delivers to be a really good casual game that is really fun to play with a few friends. it runs pretty well even on handheld mode and is just really fun to use. Other than a really slow middle part of the World of Light section, and the occasional flickers of frame rate drops when playing online really good game. Expand
  67. Dec 15, 2018
    10
    I think that the people who doesn't liked the game is the same people that don't celebrate Christmas.
    Are you serious guys? A port? Wow. You're really kind of amazing.
  68. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    Es increíble me ha gustado mucho, es el mejor juego que he jugado genial regalo navideño
  69. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is amazing. Is the best Smash to date, but it has a drawback: AI.
    The AI on general seems too smart, or simply unfair at a start, specially on story mode, but hey, a reason to get good in a game; but after a time playing it gets fun.
    I also noticed the lack of a proper story in Adventure mode, but who buys an Smash game for a story? We want action, and this game delivers it VERY well...

    (Also, it has a lot of content for a fighting game.)
    Expand
  70. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Great game, worth the price, especially if you skipped Smash 4. Even so, this game is incredible. Some of these 0 scores are people who haven't played the game or people who just are not good at it and complaining. Not all, but a decent chunk.
  71. Dec 21, 2018
    9
    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is by no means the perfect Smash game as of now; the problems with online abysmal, characters in need of balance changes, and lots of room for quality of life updates, it makes up for all of its downfalls through its new fighting elements (taken from both Smash 4 and Melee), its diversity, through inclusion of every fighter in the series (with Joker from Persona,Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is by no means the perfect Smash game as of now; the problems with online abysmal, characters in need of balance changes, and lots of room for quality of life updates, it makes up for all of its downfalls through its new fighting elements (taken from both Smash 4 and Melee), its diversity, through inclusion of every fighter in the series (with Joker from Persona, along with four others, on the way) diverse options to toy around with; Squad Strike, Smash Down, and Classic Mode, and finally, World of Light's glorious additions to the experience through a difficult and satisfying adventure mode and Spirits, gushing with fanservice for every gamer from casual to hardcore. Expand
  72. Geb
    Dec 24, 2018
    9
    Smash Ultimate is the 5th game in the Smash Brothers series, which includes many more characters than any other game in the series. Most of the new characters added were also highly requested, such as Chrom or Ridley. Classic is much better then it's ever been, due to using character based paths.

    Story mode and online are the worst parts about this game. Story doesn't have a story (but
    Smash Ultimate is the 5th game in the Smash Brothers series, which includes many more characters than any other game in the series. Most of the new characters added were also highly requested, such as Chrom or Ridley. Classic is much better then it's ever been, due to using character based paths.

    Story mode and online are the worst parts about this game.
    Story doesn't have a story (but that was intentional, more time was put into improving the quality of the fights), and this was due to the story mode in Brawl being leaked, which took a lot of surprise out of the game. Online is laggy, with horrible matchmaking.

    Overall this is a really good game, but the second paragraph is only to point out the main two flaws that I have with this game.
    Expand
  73. Dec 29, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. its not melee 10/10 great game would recommend to all my friends Expand
  74. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    The graphics are amazing, full of stuff to do, world of light its really fun but honestly gets a little boring over time (If you play for like an hour, stop and play again it won't feel as repetitive as it would). The controls are really nice, soundtrack is phenomenal, my minor issue with this game is the launch speed, its so easy to knock someone and also really easy to be beaten. SpiritsThe graphics are amazing, full of stuff to do, world of light its really fun but honestly gets a little boring over time (If you play for like an hour, stop and play again it won't feel as repetitive as it would). The controls are really nice, soundtrack is phenomenal, my minor issue with this game is the launch speed, its so easy to knock someone and also really easy to be beaten. Spirits are kind of confusing at first. besides that everything is perfect. Important to notice that many of those bad reviews are from nintendo haters, i opened some profiles and saw "breath of the wild 0" "Mario odissey 0" "pokemon lets go 0" so ignore those sony and xbox fanboys and enjoy this masterpiece Expand
  75. Dec 10, 2018
    9
    Lets get all the bad out of the way right now - the intro song SUCKS. That's about it, everything else is more or less the epitome of Smash, if you've played any of the recent entries you'll feel right at home.

    The game is PACKED with content, so value is there in spades, and if there's a Nintendo character left unrepresented by either playable characters or the new support characters
    Lets get all the bad out of the way right now - the intro song SUCKS. That's about it, everything else is more or less the epitome of Smash, if you've played any of the recent entries you'll feel right at home.

    The game is PACKED with content, so value is there in spades, and if there's a Nintendo character left unrepresented by either playable characters or the new support characters (known as spirits) - then it must be the most obscure character license they own.

    Literally its as overwhelming as starting a new massive open world game, just staring at the list of unlockables. It's almost too much, but Nintendo does a masterful job of layering elements and peppering in extras at certain intervals that keeps it from becoming too much of a chore to manage.

    The combat is still the same, but the same for somebody not akin to Smash, that may like a more traditional "hard-counter" set-up like in SF, this may be a little bit of a turn off.

    Not every character has fluid movement, for instance. Some feel floaty, and not as impactful. This is a far cry from something you'd see in a traditional fighter. It's not a BAD thing necessarily, but if you aren't use to it you may think Kirby is a great representation of how the gameplay works. Where as playing with a character like Little Mac leaves you feeling like you're outpacing all opponents. This is simply the nature of the game, as mobility is a big part of what distinguishes the fighters.

    Overall I don't think its for everybody, perhaps the hardcore fight fans who don't squeal with glee everytime they see their favorite Nintendo (or Sega) mascots on the screen - perhaps its worth testing first. For everybody else, fork it over and hail to the king, Smash is back! 9/10
    Expand
  76. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Super smash bros ultimate is what every switch owner needs, Smash on the go makes this game a 10 within itself, 75 characters, hours of fun. It finally gets me away from that dreaded fortnite everyone is stuck on! Okay online game play might b a bit laggy, but thats what wifi does, you must invest in an ethernet module for the switch and problem solved. I like me some fighting games, butSuper smash bros ultimate is what every switch owner needs, Smash on the go makes this game a 10 within itself, 75 characters, hours of fun. It finally gets me away from that dreaded fortnite everyone is stuck on! Okay online game play might b a bit laggy, but thats what wifi does, you must invest in an ethernet module for the switch and problem solved. I like me some fighting games, but love me some smash! Letss goooo!!!!! Expand
  77. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    Lo esperaba tanto...Y valio la pena. Mejor juego de Nintendo para este fin de año. Casi perfecto en todos los aspectos.
  78. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Outstanding! Really the best entry in the series. The moves, roster, visuals, music, gameplay, it's all a perfect love letter to everything that has come before.
  79. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    My god, this is hands down one of the best games I have ever played. Super Smash Bros has been one of my all time favourite series since the N64 days and I can proudly say that this one is the best in the series. Everything is here, the combat feels like melee (if not, better), 70+ fighters and everyone I have used so far feels so unique and fun to play. Also, my favourite game soundtrackMy god, this is hands down one of the best games I have ever played. Super Smash Bros has been one of my all time favourite series since the N64 days and I can proudly say that this one is the best in the series. Everything is here, the combat feels like melee (if not, better), 70+ fighters and everyone I have used so far feels so unique and fun to play. Also, my favourite game soundtrack "Crocodile Cacophony" from DKC2 is in it! I love battling to that track.

    On top of all that, there are so many modes to play and you could sit on it for hours with the biggest smile on your face. I know from experience.
    I am so happy. Buy this game and love it to death. Is it safe to say Nintendo are owning the gaming industry right now?
    Thank you, Sakurai for this god tier creation.
    Expand
  80. Dec 8, 2018
    8
    Fighting games these days are the biggest cash cows as most of them are polluted by scummy DLC practices, little content and small rosters. Thankfully Smash Bros Ultimate doesn't follow that path and shows how a complete game should be.

    It has a roster of 70 characters (I think it's the biggest roster ever in a Smash Bros game), tons of collectibles as well as a single player mode that
    Fighting games these days are the biggest cash cows as most of them are polluted by scummy DLC practices, little content and small rosters. Thankfully Smash Bros Ultimate doesn't follow that path and shows how a complete game should be.

    It has a roster of 70 characters (I think it's the biggest roster ever in a Smash Bros game), tons of collectibles as well as a single player mode that lasts around 15-20 hours. I also heavily admire the fact that unlike every other fighting game, this one doesn't just throw the whole roster in your face from the very beggining. You start off with just 8 character and from there you can ulock the rest by playing through the story mode. It's a key feature for me because it actually makes you feel rewarded for playing the game, something that many developers do not understand today.

    The only criticism I have for Smash Bros Ultimate is about the roster. I don't want to be ungrateful towards the number of characters we get to play, but seeing 3 different variations of Mario, Samus and Link taking away slots is annoying and unfair. I'd take Pyra/Mythra from Xenoblade Chronicles 2 over 1 of those variations any day.. Octopath Traveler, TWEWY, Golden Sun, all those games could've had a playable character (NOT assist trophy) but no... Instead we get Link, toon link, young Link and fat Link. I also think there are characters who should have been skins or assist trophies instead of actual playable characters.

    The game is great and worth your money, but I'll take away 2 points just for the fact that some franchises got left out for the sake of getting Mario and Zelda duplicates.
    Expand
  81. Dec 10, 2018
    9
    This game is good. Go buy it. If you don't buy it, you are doing yourself a disservice.
  82. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    Definitively the best game in the series, you need to take some time to really appreciate how this is a huge deal, so many franchises and so many details that makes this a tribute to the gaming world , best video game crossover ever
  83. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Finally a switch game that is well worth the $60 plus price tag. What are you waiting for? Go and buy it.
  84. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This is 100% the definitive smash game. the game play has been perfected and we have all the characters from the past and some new ones. anyone who says otherwise does not know what they are talking about. with so many options in multiplayer and a great single player experience. its all you can ask for.

    some small modes like home-run contest and break the targets have been removed but
    This is 100% the definitive smash game. the game play has been perfected and we have all the characters from the past and some new ones. anyone who says otherwise does not know what they are talking about. with so many options in multiplayer and a great single player experience. its all you can ask for.

    some small modes like home-run contest and break the targets have been removed but really never was a big part of smash anyway. the game is amazing and it is a must have for the switch especially if you are a smash fan
    Expand
  85. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    The best fighting game of all time period. With an incredible amount of content, gorgeous visuals, amazing music and gameplay that is incredibly fun and satisfying, Super Smash Bros Ultimate is arguably the best game on the Switch and will be played by many, for many years to come. Nintendo could have simply ported Smash 4 with all the dlc, but instead they went a step further completelyThe best fighting game of all time period. With an incredible amount of content, gorgeous visuals, amazing music and gameplay that is incredibly fun and satisfying, Super Smash Bros Ultimate is arguably the best game on the Switch and will be played by many, for many years to come. Nintendo could have simply ported Smash 4 with all the dlc, but instead they went a step further completely revamping the menus, bringing back old fighters alongside plenty of new ones, a story mode that makes unlocking characters way more enjoyable (although it may not be as interesting as subspace emissary in brawl) as well as plenty of new modes and improved online matchmaking. I rarely say this about games, but Super Smash Bros Ultimate is simply one of the best and most polished games i have ever played. If you have a Switch this game is well worth the price and a necessity in your videogame collection. Expand
  86. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This has to be by far the greatest Nintendo game that I have ever played in my entire life.
  87. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    As a first time smash player, this game is amazing!!!!

    There is just so much depth that goes into this game, the music, the art style, the character designs, and most importantly the gameplay. Everything feels extremely well polished down to the nitty gritty details. i especially like how each character feels extremely unique, and is portrayed just like they are in the original video
    As a first time smash player, this game is amazing!!!!

    There is just so much depth that goes into this game, the music, the art style, the character designs, and most importantly the gameplay. Everything feels extremely well polished down to the nitty gritty details. i especially like how each character feels extremely unique, and is portrayed just like they are in the original video game it is from. No copy pasting here! (Take note Bethesda and EA)

    Furthermore, I think this game has extremely good replay value, every character has a different playstyle and seems like there is just a general high skill cap if you want to master this game. Very well done game overall.
    Expand
  88. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Pure AWESOME. Variety, balance and a lot more fun than previous entries in the series. Good job Nintendo.
  89. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Best Smash ever? Probably.

    A billion characters, tons of game modes, single-player content, multi-player content, RPG content, casual content, hardcore content... it's everything you can and should expect from one of the premiere franchises of Nintendo.
  90. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    a fantastic insane brawler. Its more realistically 8-9 for a score but as the way of things with metacritic, there is a need to offset the 0s from the fanboys with hurt feelings
  91. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Plays smooth as silk, World of Light is light years ahead of Subspace Emissary, Online is fantastic. Trumps all previous Smash Brothers games in all ways!
  92. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    best smash bros game ever! there are so many amazing characters, and even more are coming through DLC, including joker from persona 5! sakurai was right, EVERYONE IS HERE!
  93. Dec 12, 2018
    8
    First of all, I will start out by saying this; DO NOT believe anyone here who is giving this game a zero out of 10 score. Anything below 7 is absurd, and probably being done by butthurt Sony fans trying to rain on Nintendo's parade here.

    With that being said, I will say that Ultimate is the greatest Smash Bros. since Melee with ease (given more time with it, I may even come to terms
    First of all, I will start out by saying this; DO NOT believe anyone here who is giving this game a zero out of 10 score. Anything below 7 is absurd, and probably being done by butthurt Sony fans trying to rain on Nintendo's parade here.

    With that being said, I will say that Ultimate is the greatest Smash Bros. since Melee with ease (given more time with it, I may even come to terms that it surpasses it). Everything about Super Smash Bros. Ultimate lives up to the name; there are over 70 characters, 100 stages (each of which has a Battlefield and Final Destination layout choice), and 800 tracks (which can be listened to even when the console is sleeping) to choose from, leaving an endless array of match combinations for fans to enjoy. Trophies have been replaced with pictures of characters (all of which dwell not only into the history of Nintendo, but also the likes of Capcom, Square, Konami, and more), known as Spirits, and there are well over 1000 for gamers to collect. These Spirits are the central point for the story mode, World of Light, which pits Kirby surviving an all-out massacre of every Smash character. It is then up to him to save them in a map reminiscent of a Super Nintendo overhead RPG title. Characters you battle on the map have spirits attached to them (for example, there is a battle where King K. Rool has the Spirit of a Snorlax and literally is giant and doesn't move). Along the way, you will gain many spirits that will give you an advantage as the story progresses (don't worry if it sounds confusing, there is an auto-equip setting that will give you the best suitable spirits before each battle). The story mode is also pretty long as well (we're talking 24+ hours, and that would be rushing). Classic Mode, All Star-Mode, and a couple others are here as well, so there is a lot to dive into single player-wise.

    Ultimate (like all Smash titles) shines in multiplayer. There have been QOL tweaks that really boost the overall experience before battles, with the rules being displayed first (you can even save your own set, which is really a lifesaver for those of us who invest countless hours into multiplayer). Stage selection is then shown before characters are selected, which can alter the strategy a little bit. Every stage now supports up to 8 players (after 5 it gets hard to keep up with the action IMO). There is also a new mode called Squad Strike, in which each stock you have remaining is a different individual character (think of it as an elimination match). Online has been given a giant overhaul this time around, with match-searching criteria added in to make this the easiest game yet to find opponents who want to smash the same way you do. Online is really great this time around, so I recommend you experiencing it for yourself without me spoiling it too much.

    What I love so much about Ultimate is its refusal to hold the player's hand, unlike many modern Nintendo offerings. Whereas Brawl felt geared toward the casual audience and, Smash 4 felt like a mix between Melee and Brawl, Ultimate feels like it completely cold-shoulders the casual at points and welcomes the hardcore. This is noticeable from not only the CPU strength (Lv 3 in this game is equivalent to Brawl's Lv 7, easy), but also in the combat, which is where Ultimate absolutely gleams. The combat gameplay and physics are extremely close to Melee, with hits feeling harder and gameplay much faster than 4. These updates are welcomed by not only the competitive, but those who felt as if Nintendo abandoned them with Brawl. Sure, 4 was definitely an upgrade, but not near as much as this. I strongly consider Ultimate as the spiritual successor to Melee in every sense of the word. With that said, I be no means am implying that this is ONLY a game for the core audience; Ultimate is a blast for EVERYONE, but how you choose to indulge in it is strictly up to you. The casual gameplay is still there, only this time its deep enough to hook in those who left after Melee.

    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate stands true to its name in every way I could have ever imagined. When Brawl was announced at E3 2006, I was anticipated beyond belief for the true successor to the game I spent so many hours with during my childhood. When Brawl failed to live up to my expectations, I was hesitant about 4. Although it was a step in the right direction, it failed to live up to the standard that Melee set. I am proud to stand here today and say that Ultimate more than lives up to the hype; it is a true sequel to not only Melee, but your childhood memories. Turning on the Switch makes me feel as if I am 12 years old again, and I have enjoyed every second of it. So let the good times roll, in the most ultimate way possible.

    UPDATE: After having the game sometime, I change my score from 10 to an 8 due to the horrible online implementation.
    Expand
  94. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Joker from persona 5 was in!, ...................Take that Waluigi Fanboys.
  95. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Best Smash Bros game in the series so far. Feels better then Smash for Wii U, plays better. Loving this game. The team did a great job. A must have game. Join the Joker hype train! CHOO-CHOOO!

    10/10
  96. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Best smash game so far. If you have enjoyed the previous entries you will definitely enjoy this one. It does a great job of balancing the game so both casual and competitive players will enjoy it. With over 70 characters and over 100 stages there is enough content that you can stay occupied for hours on end. Overall, I am very impressed with this game and it is definitely worth a purchase.
  97. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Fake 0's from people that havent even played.

    This is 100 percent the definitive smash experience. I havent been able to stop playing since picking it up. Best smash game since melee, so much content, charming and beautiful graphics, everything you expect from smash.
  98. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    beautiful
    best smash game by far away, perfect, i can´t stop playing.......
  99. Dec 7, 2018
    9
    Una auténtica oda a los videojuegos. Banda sonora sobresaliente, jugabilidad increible, escenarios geniales... De lo mejor de este año. Recomendado
  100. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Best smash bros game ever. easy 10/10. Don't listen to all these 0 score haters. Pick it up, love it and play it forever to come.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. CD-Action
    Mar 25, 2019
    95
    It’s not just a great fighting game and a perfect party title, uncommonly enjoyable and absurdly rich in content that should suffice for literally years of fun. It’s also an amazing homage to the history of video games. [02/2019, p.60]
  2. Mar 5, 2019
    95
    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate escalates everything the series was known for, and delivers it flawlessly. Biggest fighter rooster ever, more dynamic gameplay, loads and loads of gameplay modes, stages, weapons, music, stuff! If there is a smash that deserves your cash, this is the one!
  3. NF Magazine
    Feb 26, 2019
    100
    This is the ultimate Smash Bros. How will they ever top it? [Issue #37 – January/February 2019, p. 65]