User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1030 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    The best smash bros game so far, combines everything for casual and competitive game. Without a doubt this is the best work of Sakurai.
  2. Dec 7, 2018
    9
    One of the must have games for the switch, amazing amount of content and a vast diverse array of fighters, modes and trophy/collections! It's everything you'd want for a nintendo beat em up, nothing quite more amusing than watching nintendo franchise characters plummet each other!
    I did notice that it can be very overwhelming at the start figuring everything out, bit of a learning curve
    One of the must have games for the switch, amazing amount of content and a vast diverse array of fighters, modes and trophy/collections! It's everything you'd want for a nintendo beat em up, nothing quite more amusing than watching nintendo franchise characters plummet each other!
    I did notice that it can be very overwhelming at the start figuring everything out, bit of a learning curve in finding your feet and once you do it's fantastic.
    online play is hit and miss, can be a bit of a lag fest depending on who hosts..
    Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate takes a superb game to new level with so much content that is near to impossible to try all there is included in it.
  4. Dec 7, 2018
    0
    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is really disappointing. When it was first announced, I felt it would be one of the best 2018 games. However, when I saw it at the E3, it let me down.

    The new fighters, like Daisy, Isabelle and Chrom, are nothing interesting with the exception of King K. Rool, Inkling and Ridley. No new 3rd-party characters neither, which is why there's a huge fandom of this
    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is really disappointing. When it was first announced, I felt it would be one of the best 2018 games. However, when I saw it at the E3, it let me down.

    The new fighters, like Daisy, Isabelle and Chrom, are nothing interesting with the exception of King K. Rool, Inkling and Ridley. No new 3rd-party characters neither, which is why there's a huge fandom of this series and, anyway, their requests are not taken in account.

    My most disliked announcement was the new Assist Trophies. People felt disappointed when Waluigi was an AT once again. In my case, I really felt depressed when I saw Bomberman was one too. I mean, really? An Assist Trophy? Since the announcement of Super Bomberman R as a launch title for the Switch, both Smash and Bomberman fans determined it was time to include him as a playable fighter in the next Smash, not something else. Even notable personalities and brands agreed with it. There are a lot of reasons of why he deserves it much more than the current 3rd-party characters such as Wario Blast!, the series in every Nintendo platform, the Mario Party series developed by Hudson Soft, etc. Is this a joke? Even though both Bomberman and Hudson Soft had a long relationship with Nintendo, they just gave him mere respect.

    Going on with the Assist Trophies, this feature really ruined more 3rd-party characters. Later, they announced Ashley, Isaac, Knuckles, Krystal, Shadow, Shovel Knight, Starfy and Zero as AT's as well, despite being requested by fans too. What? Why the overuse of this Assist Trophy thing? I thought Smash accepted relevant characters like those as fighters but no, looks like in a very different way.

    The 3rd-party characters are disappointing too. Bayonetta is not a very notable series as others. So why is she here once again? She doesn't deserve to be in a crossover fighting game like this. Nobody requested her. Hideo Kojima, who I don't think is great, asked Nintendo to include Solid Snake to Brawl. He left Konami and wasn't included in 3DS/Wii U but is here again. And later, they announced the only new 3rd-party character: Simon Belmont. So why did Konami re-add a character whose latest game was hated by the Internet media and fans and one whose series is dead since 2014. Bomberman is the only current notable series owned by Konami thanks to the success of Super Bomberman R. Nonetheless, Bomberman is less important than Metal Gear and Castlevania? Just because they're overrated it doesn't mean he doesn't deserve to be playable. Bomberman is a more iconic and original video game character for both casual and hardcore gamers than Snake, Bayonetta, Ryu, Cloud and Simon. He is just like Mario, Sonic, Mega Man and Pac-Man. The problem is that Konami doesn't know how to treat him. He was much better with Hudson Soft instead.

    Even some of the 1st-party characters are disappointing. Daisy is just like Peach and could better fit as a skin for her and not as a separate character. The same with Dr. Mario: you still treat him as a different character apart from Mario even though he is a clone of him. That's absurd. He is just Mario wearing a doctor suit. Why didn't you add him as part of his interchangeable skins? Also, why are there a lot of Fire Emblem characters? Most of them are echo fighters or clones. Even Zelda and Kirby have more legacy and popularity than Fire Emblem and they don't get a new character at least. And Wario still has his boring WarioWare style instead of the more appreciated Wario Land one.

    The game doesn't have so interesting features. The new story mode, World of Light, is repetitive and nothing like the Subspace Emissary, whose removal was due to a pointless reason. How they made all of the Final Smashes automatic and the addition of more Echo Fighters and clones is worthless. All this make this game look like a Deluxe version of the 3DS/Wii U game rather than a new game.

    Moreover, another disappointing thing was the new Spirits thing, which took off the possibility to even more characters like Rayman, Shantae and, once again, Bomberman. This new Spirits feature messed the crossover style of this game up a lot, together with the Assist Trophies.

    To end up, I totally dislike this game. I don't deny I had my hopes to it but I do say this game screwed itself. I learned you don't have to expect anything good about it like requesting your favourite characters to appear in it. If they do, they will most probably end up being and AT or a Spirit, but not playable. I will never play nor have interest in Super Smash Bros. ever again. This game is the major disappointment of 2018 and one of the main reasons why the Switch isn't as cool as it was in 2017. I would rather play with the characters I like in their respective franchises than in a crossover fighting game like this.

    Thank you, Nintendo. Just go and take care of your other IP's and make this entry the last one of its series. Super Mario Odyssey is way better than this.
    Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2018
    0
    It is not a perfect game, we have to make it clear, it has a lot of port and the truth ruins several things and traditions that the saga had always maintained, that without mentioning that the marketing campaign was excessive and practically showed the whole game without having left , it hurt me especially to see how Nintendo prostitutes his demos everywhere, erasing any surprise that theIt is not a perfect game, we have to make it clear, it has a lot of port and the truth ruins several things and traditions that the saga had always maintained, that without mentioning that the marketing campaign was excessive and practically showed the whole game without having left , it hurt me especially to see how Nintendo prostitutes his demos everywhere, erasing any surprise that the player could have when playing it. Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2018
    0
    The "definitive" Smash that is not so definitive, particularly I did not like many of its inclusions, I can be better if I had not changed or replaced what was already established, and it is the Smash that has added more clones.
  7. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    Finally a Super Smash Bros game that has a extremely fast gameplay since Melee.
    It has a lot of content for both casual and competitive players. FURTHERMORE, it is the most balanced smash game ever.
    Online is trash but I am sure they will fix it.

    BEST SMASH GAME EVER
  8. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Thanks Mr. Sakurai, an awesome game!
    Can't stop playing! 10/10 The definitive version of Smash Bros
  9. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    Absolutely STELLAR. I didn't know this series could get any better. But it just did!
  10. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Amazing game, will truly go down as a classic. Nintendo keeps hitting home-runs.
  11. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Simplemente es un juego maravilloso que vale la pena disfrutar en todos sus aspectos, ideal para jugar en familia y con amigos! momentos de mucha emoción y felicidad nos trae este juego, Muchas gracias Sakurai y todo el equipo de desarrollo.
  12. Dec 11, 2018
    9
    the best game in the series since Melee and it's equally as fun too! it may not be perfect with some missteps, but regardless of those, Ultimate is still worth a look for a amazing Roster of characters with every Veteran back including newcomers that are fun to play with each, good amount of content, and it still keeps the Great Smash Bros formula for Beginners and Hardcore players in thethe best game in the series since Melee and it's equally as fun too! it may not be perfect with some missteps, but regardless of those, Ultimate is still worth a look for a amazing Roster of characters with every Veteran back including newcomers that are fun to play with each, good amount of content, and it still keeps the Great Smash Bros formula for Beginners and Hardcore players in the series! the game also looks fantastic with more detail than the Wii U game in stages and characters, and it all runs at 1080p 60fps (except in some "certain matches" like Ice Climbers only 8 player match) and it looks just as good on Portable mode. i will admit i was expecting a little bit more on World of Light but it's not too bad since it still feels like an epic adventure to rescue all your friends to come back to the main villain, stronger than ever to save the World

    This, along side Mario Odyssey, Mario Kart 8 DX and Zelda Breath of the Wild should be your first Nintendo Switch game when you get one eventually. Smash Ultimate, while not Perfect, still sure is ULTIMATE
    Expand
  13. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Amazing. This game is packed with content with over 70 characters and 100 stages. It has the best local multiplayer experience around. Highly recommended and worth buying a Switch alone.
  14. Dec 10, 2018
    9
    Nunca me había gustado tanto un Smash Bros y he jugado a todos. Este mejora muchísimo en todos los aspectos e incluso en lo que parecía imposible mejorar. Una cantidad increíble de jugadores, escenarios, música y además unos gráficos y sombras muy llamativos que a su vez ayudan bastante a visualizar perfectamente la pelea. Por otro lado y el motivo que le doy un 9 y no un 10 es el modoNunca me había gustado tanto un Smash Bros y he jugado a todos. Este mejora muchísimo en todos los aspectos e incluso en lo que parecía imposible mejorar. Una cantidad increíble de jugadores, escenarios, música y además unos gráficos y sombras muy llamativos que a su vez ayudan bastante a visualizar perfectamente la pelea. Por otro lado y el motivo que le doy un 9 y no un 10 es el modo historia que se agradece que se meta de nuevo después de 10 años (además de que meten la mecánica de espíritus) pero la verdad es que por lo menos a mí se me ha hecho bastante repetitivo. Y también el motivo que le doy un 9 es por la estabilidad del online, que va un poco mejor que el de la WiiU y estás pagando 20 euros al año para jugar online y si quieres te compras el adaptador de ethernet para que te vaya mejor y si no mejora apenas te aguantas. Por lo demás, JUEGAZO. Expand
  15. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is amazing. Is the best Smash to date, but it has a drawback: AI.
    The AI on general seems too smart, or simply unfair at a start, specially on story mode, but hey, a reason to get good in a game; but after a time playing it gets fun.
    I also noticed the lack of a proper story in Adventure mode, but who buys an Smash game for a story? We want action, and this game delivers it VERY well...

    (Also, it has a lot of content for a fighting game.)
    Expand
  16. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Bets game of the year not a port or remake whole new game from the ground up AMAZING GAME 100/100-Pigtwig2
  17. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Great game, worth the price, especially if you skipped Smash 4. Even so, this game is incredible. Some of these 0 scores are people who haven't played the game or people who just are not good at it and complaining. Not all, but a decent chunk.
  18. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    It is fantastic, i have no words for this masterpiece. Unique and complete. Really fits in your switch library.
  19. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    Announcing DLC character before the game release? It's the only bad thing about this game (online will improve with updates, so don't worry) but we get the best super smash bros so far. Starting with the story, the adventure game, having to unlock one by one all the players, the new feature of having spirits, it’s the best. Amazing character roster and more to come, great stages, funAnnouncing DLC character before the game release? It's the only bad thing about this game (online will improve with updates, so don't worry) but we get the best super smash bros so far. Starting with the story, the adventure game, having to unlock one by one all the players, the new feature of having spirits, it’s the best. Amazing character roster and more to come, great stages, fun gameplay for newcomers and old fans of the saga alike. It's great. Only thing that wasn't so great was world of light. A must have for Nintendo Switch owners. This has to be by far the greatest Nintendo game that I have ever played in my entire life. Expand
  20. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    Smash is a proven formula and Smash Ultimate doesn't mess with that, it just dishes out what we love in a very complete way, all the characters, a ton of stages and music which would be enough for me to be honest, but there is more here, with the spirits mode that just piles on the nostalgia in a set of themed battles to classic mode and lots of ways to customize it so you can play it howSmash is a proven formula and Smash Ultimate doesn't mess with that, it just dishes out what we love in a very complete way, all the characters, a ton of stages and music which would be enough for me to be honest, but there is more here, with the spirits mode that just piles on the nostalgia in a set of themed battles to classic mode and lots of ways to customize it so you can play it how you want to.
    If you like Smash, it is a no brainer this is the Ultimate version of Smash!

    When I first saw Ultimate, I have to admit I did wonder if it was a "deluxe" version of Sm4sh but once you have played it, you can really tell that it is its own game and while it builds on the past games Ultimate maintains its own style that plays differently compared to Melee or Sm4sh. There are a few games that become console defining titles and the Switch already has a few! Smash Ultimate is easily a contender for top of the pile.
    Expand
  21. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    Lo esperaba tanto...Y valio la pena. Mejor juego de Nintendo para este fin de año. Casi perfecto en todos los aspectos.
  22. Dec 12, 2018
    9
    If this is Sakurai's last Smash Bros game he went out with a bang. The new adventure mode, World of Light, is the story mode many people wanted. It had a simple but great story, some fun and sometimes overly frustrating challenges, and had some challenging battles. I was a big fan of how we unlocked characters in this game and I some of the newcomers had very interesting play styles that IIf this is Sakurai's last Smash Bros game he went out with a bang. The new adventure mode, World of Light, is the story mode many people wanted. It had a simple but great story, some fun and sometimes overly frustrating challenges, and had some challenging battles. I was a big fan of how we unlocked characters in this game and I some of the newcomers had very interesting play styles that I instantly grew a liking towards. Also, I was in shock and awe over the new classic mode and how each character had a different route they take where each one had different enemies and bosses to fight. There where a lot of callbacks and I love some of the new bosses which I will not go into but they are a lot of fun. Overall this is the best smash bros game to date. Expand
  23. Dec 12, 2018
    9
    Impresionante en casi todos los niveles, llevo jugando desde el lanzamiento y cada vez me abruma más el contenido de este juego.
    La jugabilidad está trabajadísima y se nota el lavado de cara de todos los personajes, sus sets y sus escenarios. Se aproxima a Melee, pero bien sea por nostalgia o por excelencia, no creo que vuelva haber un Smash igual.
    El multijugador es donde tiene el
    Impresionante en casi todos los niveles, llevo jugando desde el lanzamiento y cada vez me abruma más el contenido de este juego.
    La jugabilidad está trabajadísima y se nota el lavado de cara de todos los personajes, sus sets y sus escenarios. Se aproxima a Melee, pero bien sea por nostalgia o por excelencia, no creo que vuelva haber un Smash igual.
    El multijugador es donde tiene el lunar... En modo local es impresionante, y la forma ideal de jugarlo, sin fisuras, entretenido, muy ajustable y frenético. Ahora bien, Nintendo tiene que hacerse mirar sus servicios online (por los cuales ahora pagas), ya se cargó la experiencia en juegos como Mario Tennis Aces y ahora cojea por la falta de filtros y las caídas regulares... Es jugable, pero a un título así con aspiraciones al competitivo se le queda corto este servicio online.
    Expand
  24. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Amazing, There is so much content in the game in which you have a variety of play modes and characters.
  25. Dec 15, 2018
    10
    Super Smash Bros is back. I have been waiting for a long time since I had Nintendo Switch. Thank you Nintendo
  26. Dec 17, 2018
    5
    Have a really mixed feeling to give the game only 5 Points. I really do love this game and its mechanics, local it is an absolute blast. My only issue with this game is its only mode. And since this is the mode you want to spend most your time in, i really can't give the game more points. The connection with almost each player you face is downright terrible and feels unplayable (at leastHave a really mixed feeling to give the game only 5 Points. I really do love this game and its mechanics, local it is an absolute blast. My only issue with this game is its only mode. And since this is the mode you want to spend most your time in, i really can't give the game more points. The connection with almost each player you face is downright terrible and feels unplayable (at least to me). Especially in a fighting game, it's crucial to have on point controls without much delay. Here? Get used to half a second delay (and more if it is really bad) or don't play the online mode. Very dissapointing in my opinion Expand
  27. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    It´s AWESOME!!!! There are a ton of characters and a lot of scenarios. It´s the perfect gift for this xmas season
  28. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    N64:Fun game
    Melee: More complex and faster game than N64
    Brawl: Slower game rythm..bad (Project M was a must have) Smash 4: Better.. but low content Ultimate: The Best. Nintendo has achieved the best Smash Bros ever created, but it seems that they have not been satisfied with just that, they have also created one of the best games in history, wich will talk about it in the
    N64:Fun game
    Melee: More complex and faster game than N64
    Brawl: Slower game rythm..bad (Project M was a must have)
    Smash 4: Better.. but low content
    Ultimate: The Best.

    Nintendo has achieved the best Smash Bros ever created, but it seems that they have not been satisfied with just that, they have also created one of the best games in history, wich will talk about it in the following years. I still do not believe it... what beast you have created Nintendo... even scares
    Expand
  29. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    this is the definitive version, improves everything seen in previous installments, very entertaining and fun to play with friends. I recommend it a lot I have weighed good times with my brother, especially when we bet who will be the king of smash bross. I do not have any complaints, in the technical area it excels and meets the standards of today very flashy at 60 fps very stable. Withthis is the definitive version, improves everything seen in previous installments, very entertaining and fun to play with friends. I recommend it a lot I have weighed good times with my brother, especially when we bet who will be the king of smash bross. I do not have any complaints, in the technical area it excels and meets the standards of today very flashy at 60 fps very stable. With this delivery we gain the users and the world of videogames in general Expand
  30. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    The best super smash bros. Starting with the story, the adventure game, having to unlock one by one all the players, the new feature of having spirits, it’s the best. The only thing I would change is the same of all the switch games, I don’t understand why they’re not able to use the touch screen, ir would be easier to select players/spirits and I would have given a little more protagonismThe best super smash bros. Starting with the story, the adventure game, having to unlock one by one all the players, the new feature of having spirits, it’s the best. The only thing I would change is the same of all the switch games, I don’t understand why they’re not able to use the touch screen, ir would be easier to select players/spirits and I would have given a little more protagonism to spirits, as giving an specific power as summoning a thunderbolt pushing a button every x seconds or something that is more visible, since it feels a little bit abstract the power and how it affects the game, however the game is still perfect. Expand
  31. Dec 8, 2018
    8
    Fighting games these days are the biggest cash cows as most of them are polluted by scummy DLC practices, little content and small rosters. Thankfully Smash Bros Ultimate doesn't follow that path and shows how a complete game should be.

    It has a roster of 70 characters (I think it's the biggest roster ever in a Smash Bros game), tons of collectibles as well as a single player mode that
    Fighting games these days are the biggest cash cows as most of them are polluted by scummy DLC practices, little content and small rosters. Thankfully Smash Bros Ultimate doesn't follow that path and shows how a complete game should be.

    It has a roster of 70 characters (I think it's the biggest roster ever in a Smash Bros game), tons of collectibles as well as a single player mode that lasts around 15-20 hours. I also heavily admire the fact that unlike every other fighting game, this one doesn't just throw the whole roster in your face from the very beggining. You start off with just 8 character and from there you can ulock the rest by playing through the story mode. It's a key feature for me because it actually makes you feel rewarded for playing the game, something that many developers do not understand today.

    The only criticism I have for Smash Bros Ultimate is about the roster. I don't want to be ungrateful towards the number of characters we get to play, but seeing 3 different variations of Mario, Samus and Link taking away slots is annoying and unfair. I'd take Pyra/Mythra from Xenoblade Chronicles 2 over 1 of those variations any day.. Octopath Traveler, TWEWY, Golden Sun, all those games could've had a playable character (NOT assist trophy) but no... Instead we get Link, toon link, young Link and fat Link. I also think there are characters who should have been skins or assist trophies instead of actual playable characters.

    The game is great and worth your money, but I'll take away 2 points just for the fact that some franchises got left out for the sake of getting Mario and Zelda duplicates.
    Expand
  32. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    The best SMB that I even seen, a lot of content, a huge map in the adventure mode, 74+1 characters, 103 scenarios, the return of old mechanics and a few new ones, tons of collectibles and iconic characters not only from Nintendo but from Konami, Capcom, Sega, Square Enix and even more as collectible spirits, even Indie games, definitble a must have
    But if you are a Nintendo,s hater, I
    The best SMB that I even seen, a lot of content, a huge map in the adventure mode, 74+1 characters, 103 scenarios, the return of old mechanics and a few new ones, tons of collectibles and iconic characters not only from Nintendo but from Konami, Capcom, Sega, Square Enix and even more as collectible spirits, even Indie games, definitble a must have
    But if you are a Nintendo,s hater, I invite U to give this game a score of 0.0
    Expand
  33. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    My first smash bros game and I love it, so much fun. For those who think this game is a port. It's not and never will be one. So just stop fxxk around and try to trash this masterwork.
  34. Dec 10, 2018
    9
    this game is an absolute masterpiece, with minor flaws that for some can ruin the experience. packed with single player content as well as multiplayer and online, and an amazing roster of over 74 characters with 6 more to come in. this game offers a good experience both for casuals and competitives, and it's flaws are easily patchable.
    the online matchmaking system works in theory but
    this game is an absolute masterpiece, with minor flaws that for some can ruin the experience. packed with single player content as well as multiplayer and online, and an amazing roster of over 74 characters with 6 more to come in. this game offers a good experience both for casuals and competitives, and it's flaws are easily patchable.
    the online matchmaking system works in theory but it's executed poorly in a crappy way, and the input lag isn't really noticeable by a normal player but more skilled ones will surely notice it. of course, both of these are probably bound to change in future updates to the game, so a 9.5 is more than deserved
    Expand
  35. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Outstanding! Really the best entry in the series. The moves, roster, visuals, music, gameplay, it's all a perfect love letter to everything that has come before.
  36. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Absolutely perfect! The last Smash Bros that I played was the 64 version, and everything is great on this Ultimate version, lots of characters, stages, soundtracks... graphics are very good, as much as the ultimate blows. I give 10 even without playing the history mode... the game delivers what he promises and much more.

    Thanks for this masterpiece, Nintendo!
  37. jte
    Dec 7, 2018
    10
    The ultimate super smash bros game. The game play is top notch, and it is loaded with so many things to do. I will easily spend over 100 hours on this game
  38. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    It´s amazing game, is posible to play a lot of time with the aventure mode and the online.
  39. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    The graphics are amazing, full of stuff to do, world of light its really fun but honestly gets a little boring over time (If you play for like an hour, stop and play again it won't feel as repetitive as it would). The controls are really nice, soundtrack is phenomenal, my minor issue with this game is the launch speed, its so easy to knock someone and also really easy to be beaten. SpiritsThe graphics are amazing, full of stuff to do, world of light its really fun but honestly gets a little boring over time (If you play for like an hour, stop and play again it won't feel as repetitive as it would). The controls are really nice, soundtrack is phenomenal, my minor issue with this game is the launch speed, its so easy to knock someone and also really easy to be beaten. Spirits are kind of confusing at first. besides that everything is perfect. Important to notice that many of those bad reviews are from nintendo haters, i opened some profiles and saw "breath of the wild 0" "Mario odissey 0" "pokemon lets go 0" so ignore those sony and xbox fanboys and enjoy this masterpiece Expand
  40. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    My sister, girlfriend, and I have been playing all day and loving it. Only having eight characters at first has been really fun. It's more engaging to unlock the characters just by playing longer.
  41. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Finally a switch game that is well worth the $60 plus price tag. What are you waiting for? Go and buy it.
  42. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This is 100% the definitive smash game. the game play has been perfected and we have all the characters from the past and some new ones. anyone who says otherwise does not know what they are talking about. with so many options in multiplayer and a great single player experience. its all you can ask for.

    some small modes like home-run contest and break the targets have been removed but
    This is 100% the definitive smash game. the game play has been perfected and we have all the characters from the past and some new ones. anyone who says otherwise does not know what they are talking about. with so many options in multiplayer and a great single player experience. its all you can ask for.

    some small modes like home-run contest and break the targets have been removed but really never was a big part of smash anyway. the game is amazing and it is a must have for the switch especially if you are a smash fan
    Expand
  43. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    Amazing character roster and more to come, great stages, fun gameplay for newcomers and old fans of the saga alike. It's great. Only thing that wasn't so great was world of light. A must have for Nintendo Switch owners.
  44. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Hands down the best casual fighting game of all time. Oh, did I say "casual", indeed, Super Smash Bros Ultimate is a rare breed, a fighting game that's accessible. Today most fighting games such as Street Fighter and Tekken are very difficult to get involved in do to the competitive scene, however Smash has both great competitive and casual aspects.

    For the competitive scene the
    Hands down the best casual fighting game of all time. Oh, did I say "casual", indeed, Super Smash Bros Ultimate is a rare breed, a fighting game that's accessible. Today most fighting games such as Street Fighter and Tekken are very difficult to get involved in do to the competitive scene, however Smash has both great competitive and casual aspects.

    For the competitive scene the mechanics are great and ultra polished, it may not be as fast and solid as Melee but it's close. This game makes sure that the competitive aspect of smash doesn't get lost like brawl did.

    And for the casual side, Ultimate is huge. A massive roster, more than a hundred stages and more items then ever, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is pure gold for those who are looking for a great multiplayer game.

    My only complain is the online, as usual Nintendo games have a tendency to dissapoint in this department, and Ultimate is not the exception. When I choose to play a 1v1, I expect to play a 1v1 instead of a three or four player match. In my opinion the Wii U game handled this aspect in a better way.
    Expand
  45. Dec 9, 2018
    9
    I can play 8 players with my whole family, with pretty much every character and map in Smash Brothers history. The controls are more or less the same, and handling is about 95% equivelent.

    This is the best Smas Bros game ever IMO. Well done Nintendo, you still do some things right.
  46. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    All these fake 0 scores from people who probably do not have the game or just haters. Coincidence that these accounts have given specific 3 games of Pokemon lets go 0 as well while not reviewing any other games?
  47. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Plays smooth as silk, World of Light is light years ahead of Subspace Emissary, Online is fantastic. Trumps all previous Smash Brothers games in all ways!
  48. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Joker from persona 5 was in!, ...................Take that Waluigi Fanboys.
  49. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    My god, this is hands down one of the best games I have ever played. Super Smash Bros has been one of my all time favourite series since the N64 days and I can proudly say that this one is the best in the series. Everything is here, the combat feels like melee (if not, better), 70+ fighters and everyone I have used so far feels so unique and fun to play. Also, my favourite game soundtrackMy god, this is hands down one of the best games I have ever played. Super Smash Bros has been one of my all time favourite series since the N64 days and I can proudly say that this one is the best in the series. Everything is here, the combat feels like melee (if not, better), 70+ fighters and everyone I have used so far feels so unique and fun to play. Also, my favourite game soundtrack "Crocodile Cacophony" from DKC2 is in it! I love battling to that track.

    On top of all that, there are so many modes to play and you could sit on it for hours with the biggest smile on your face. I know from experience.
    I am so happy. Buy this game and love it to death. Is it safe to say Nintendo are owning the gaming industry right now?
    Thank you, Sakurai for this god tier creation.
    Expand
  50. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    Definitively the best game in the series, you need to take some time to really appreciate how this is a huge deal, so many franchises and so many details that makes this a tribute to the gaming world , best video game crossover ever
  51. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Best Smash ever? Probably.

    A billion characters, tons of game modes, single-player content, multi-player content, RPG content, casual content, hardcore content... it's everything you can and should expect from one of the premiere franchises of Nintendo.
  52. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    The best fighting game of all time period. With an incredible amount of content, gorgeous visuals, amazing music and gameplay that is incredibly fun and satisfying, Super Smash Bros Ultimate is arguably the best game on the Switch and will be played by many, for many years to come. Nintendo could have simply ported Smash 4 with all the dlc, but instead they went a step further completelyThe best fighting game of all time period. With an incredible amount of content, gorgeous visuals, amazing music and gameplay that is incredibly fun and satisfying, Super Smash Bros Ultimate is arguably the best game on the Switch and will be played by many, for many years to come. Nintendo could have simply ported Smash 4 with all the dlc, but instead they went a step further completely revamping the menus, bringing back old fighters alongside plenty of new ones, a story mode that makes unlocking characters way more enjoyable (although it may not be as interesting as subspace emissary in brawl) as well as plenty of new modes and improved online matchmaking. I rarely say this about games, but Super Smash Bros Ultimate is simply one of the best and most polished games i have ever played. If you have a Switch this game is well worth the price and a necessity in your videogame collection. Expand
  53. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    a fantastic insane brawler. Its more realistically 8-9 for a score but as the way of things with metacritic, there is a need to offset the 0s from the fanboys with hurt feelings
  54. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Been playing this game almost non stop since the release. Nothing but pure joy. Enough said.
  55. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    best smash bros game ever! there are so many amazing characters, and even more are coming through DLC, including joker from persona 5! sakurai was right, EVERYONE IS HERE!
  56. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This has to be by far the greatest Nintendo game that I have ever played in my entire life.
  57. Dec 12, 2018
    8
    First of all, I will start out by saying this; DO NOT believe anyone here who is giving this game a zero out of 10 score. Anything below 7 is absurd, and probably being done by butthurt Sony fans trying to rain on Nintendo's parade here.

    With that being said, I will say that Ultimate is the greatest Smash Bros. since Melee with ease (given more time with it, I may even come to terms
    First of all, I will start out by saying this; DO NOT believe anyone here who is giving this game a zero out of 10 score. Anything below 7 is absurd, and probably being done by butthurt Sony fans trying to rain on Nintendo's parade here.

    With that being said, I will say that Ultimate is the greatest Smash Bros. since Melee with ease (given more time with it, I may even come to terms that it surpasses it). Everything about Super Smash Bros. Ultimate lives up to the name; there are over 70 characters, 100 stages (each of which has a Battlefield and Final Destination layout choice), and 800 tracks (which can be listened to even when the console is sleeping) to choose from, leaving an endless array of match combinations for fans to enjoy. Trophies have been replaced with pictures of characters (all of which dwell not only into the history of Nintendo, but also the likes of Capcom, Square, Konami, and more), known as Spirits, and there are well over 1000 for gamers to collect. These Spirits are the central point for the story mode, World of Light, which pits Kirby surviving an all-out massacre of every Smash character. It is then up to him to save them in a map reminiscent of a Super Nintendo overhead RPG title. Characters you battle on the map have spirits attached to them (for example, there is a battle where King K. Rool has the Spirit of a Snorlax and literally is giant and doesn't move). Along the way, you will gain many spirits that will give you an advantage as the story progresses (don't worry if it sounds confusing, there is an auto-equip setting that will give you the best suitable spirits before each battle). The story mode is also pretty long as well (we're talking 24+ hours, and that would be rushing). Classic Mode, All Star-Mode, and a couple others are here as well, so there is a lot to dive into single player-wise.

    Ultimate (like all Smash titles) shines in multiplayer. There have been QOL tweaks that really boost the overall experience before battles, with the rules being displayed first (you can even save your own set, which is really a lifesaver for those of us who invest countless hours into multiplayer). Stage selection is then shown before characters are selected, which can alter the strategy a little bit. Every stage now supports up to 8 players (after 5 it gets hard to keep up with the action IMO). There is also a new mode called Squad Strike, in which each stock you have remaining is a different individual character (think of it as an elimination match). Online has been given a giant overhaul this time around, with match-searching criteria added in to make this the easiest game yet to find opponents who want to smash the same way you do. Online is really great this time around, so I recommend you experiencing it for yourself without me spoiling it too much.

    What I love so much about Ultimate is its refusal to hold the player's hand, unlike many modern Nintendo offerings. Whereas Brawl felt geared toward the casual audience and, Smash 4 felt like a mix between Melee and Brawl, Ultimate feels like it completely cold-shoulders the casual at points and welcomes the hardcore. This is noticeable from not only the CPU strength (Lv 3 in this game is equivalent to Brawl's Lv 7, easy), but also in the combat, which is where Ultimate absolutely gleams. The combat gameplay and physics are extremely close to Melee, with hits feeling harder and gameplay much faster than 4. These updates are welcomed by not only the competitive, but those who felt as if Nintendo abandoned them with Brawl. Sure, 4 was definitely an upgrade, but not near as much as this. I strongly consider Ultimate as the spiritual successor to Melee in every sense of the word. With that said, I be no means am implying that this is ONLY a game for the core audience; Ultimate is a blast for EVERYONE, but how you choose to indulge in it is strictly up to you. The casual gameplay is still there, only this time its deep enough to hook in those who left after Melee.

    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate stands true to its name in every way I could have ever imagined. When Brawl was announced at E3 2006, I was anticipated beyond belief for the true successor to the game I spent so many hours with during my childhood. When Brawl failed to live up to my expectations, I was hesitant about 4. Although it was a step in the right direction, it failed to live up to the standard that Melee set. I am proud to stand here today and say that Ultimate more than lives up to the hype; it is a true sequel to not only Melee, but your childhood memories. Turning on the Switch makes me feel as if I am 12 years old again, and I have enjoyed every second of it. So let the good times roll, in the most ultimate way possible.

    UPDATE: After having the game sometime, I change my score from 10 to an 8 due to the horrible online implementation.
    Expand
  58. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This is defenintly the best smash games. A lot of new characters maps and gameplay, overall amaizing game.
  59. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Best smash bros game ever. easy 10/10. Don't listen to all these 0 score haters. Pick it up, love it and play it forever to come.
  60. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Fake 0's from people that havent even played.

    This is 100 percent the definitive smash experience. I havent been able to stop playing since picking it up. Best smash game since melee, so much content, charming and beautiful graphics, everything you expect from smash.
  61. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    For this review, it’s going to be mostly just be showing simple matches that would not spoil the game, this game is massive, probably one of the only games many people will buy this year alone.
    For this reason, I just want to review the game itself and not spoil the game for anyone.
    As always, I will be reviewing this game with the five pillars of gaming – Graphics, Gameplay, Sound,
    For this review, it’s going to be mostly just be showing simple matches that would not spoil the game, this game is massive, probably one of the only games many people will buy this year alone.
    For this reason, I just want to review the game itself and not spoil the game for anyone.
    As always, I will be reviewing this game with the five pillars of gaming –

    Graphics, Gameplay, Sound, Story, and controls.

    Let’s begin with the story –

    So, this magical force has come to steal the souls away from all the smash fighters making them, “Spirits”

    These spirits will come into play later, but essentially the single player story mode is the player taking on and slowly taking back all these spirits in a climactic final battle with the bad guy.
    It’s extremely simple, but a good vessel to push a reason why you are fighting multiple of the same character, or an evil version of Mario, or how to get all these spirits without fighting the same battles over and over again.
    Small tweaks on the conditions of victory make it a nice story mode, but a basic one.
    Not why you bought Smash Bros. to begin with.
    Nintendo are all about those call backs though, and you’ll see that immediately when you begin playing the simple, yet extremely deep, smash battles that you can create.

    This is where the story will transfer into game play, where you can play 1 on 1 skirmish styled matches with any number of rules under the sun.
    From bombs being the only items to competitive level rules of final destination only no items, fox only.
    That is the beauty of this fighting game, you can take Nintendo’s original 8 fighters, and battle them to the death.

    Donkey fighting Pikachu because he thinks the yellow mouse is a banana, Mario beating up Yoshi for tax evasion, everyone is here.
    Everyone that you are willing to unlock that is.
    If you have never played Smash Bros. before, it works like this.
    The game usually begins with a limited set of Characters, requiring you to then complete certain challenges, battles, modes to then unlock the chance to battle these new characters to play with.
    But how does this game differ from other fighting games?
    Simple

    Instead of having an HP system in many fighting games, this has a percentage level, the higher it goes, the easier it is to be knocked out of the stage.
    Being knocked out of the stage counts as a loss, which would be something the player wants to avoid while actively attempting to defeat those around them.
    To accomplish this, you do what the game’s title implies, you smash…

    No, not that type of “Smash”, this isn’t Netflix and chill.

    Smash bros require you to battle it out for victory, first one to smash the opponent off the stage wins, put simply.

    With varying conditions like time and life stock, it’s a fairly simple concept, yet effective fun game play.
    This game is crisp, clean and a real treat –
    Graphics

    I have no tested this game for its frames, but it would be difficult to say that it is not smooth or nice to experience in any way.
    The frames never dropped on me, and felt like a constant 60 FPS, while retaining graphics that were even better than Smash Bros on the Wii U, and that was full HD smash as well.
    I honestly didn’t think it could get better, and yet, it did.
    The clean visuals mixed with a solid frame rate breathe beauty and refinement that a PC gamer would drool over.

    From the deep blacks, to the crisp Mario bright colors, it’s a real beauty.
    But the many series were done right, no series looks poorly done, all character models look rendered properly, the game series here all look and sound great.

    Speaking of the sound, those sound effects are all present, from the coin to Pac-man’s chomp, it’s all here. And the music is outstanding, every series sounds on point, if a bit better in my opinion.
    Classic songs make appearances along with their respective game series, with the ability to hear their songs while duking it out with these legendary series, it makes for a great feeling.
    Nostalgia is extremely strong with this music combined with the sound effects, really making this a joy to listen to while playing. You can control all aspects of sound and music in this game to your content.
    The Switch is no stranger to multiple control schemes, from the pro controller to the joy-cons, you can play this game your way. This game is accessible to almost anyone, with simple controls that are easy to master, these controls allow you to get batter if you desire to be the best, while retaining the simplicity of Smash. The combo’s you can do, the charge attacks, the special moves, all of them are very easy to learn and use with the given buttons on the controllers. Be it in handheld mode, to using the Joy-cons, the game works great for anyone new or well versed to the series. Anyone who has never played Smash bros, if you have a Switch, you need to buy this game and play it.
    Expand
  62. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Best smash game so far. If you have enjoyed the previous entries you will definitely enjoy this one. It does a great job of balancing the game so both casual and competitive players will enjoy it. With over 70 characters and over 100 stages there is enough content that you can stay occupied for hours on end. Overall, I am very impressed with this game and it is definitely worth a purchase.
  63. Dec 7, 2018
    8
    In brief, a pretty good fighting game. This game has a story/adventure mode and multiple other things to do. You can fight as your favourite character against fight against people online as well! Very fun and I would recommend this game to new Switch owners!
  64. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    As a first time smash player, this game is amazing!!!!

    There is just so much depth that goes into this game, the music, the art style, the character designs, and most importantly the gameplay. Everything feels extremely well polished down to the nitty gritty details. i especially like how each character feels extremely unique, and is portrayed just like they are in the original video
    As a first time smash player, this game is amazing!!!!

    There is just so much depth that goes into this game, the music, the art style, the character designs, and most importantly the gameplay. Everything feels extremely well polished down to the nitty gritty details. i especially like how each character feels extremely unique, and is portrayed just like they are in the original video game it is from. No copy pasting here! (Take note Bethesda and EA)

    Furthermore, I think this game has extremely good replay value, every character has a different playstyle and seems like there is just a general high skill cap if you want to master this game. Very well done game overall.
    Expand
  65. Dec 10, 2018
    9
    This game is good. Go buy it. If you don't buy it, you are doing yourself a disservice.
  66. Dec 9, 2018
    9
    Masahiro Sakurai definitely worked his butt off to make sure this is the most ultimate version of Smash Bros. The amount of content in this game is just amazing. You can tell a lot of love and care was put in by the director. Thank you Masahiro Sakurai, you deserve a long vacation.
  67. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Super smash Bros. ultimate es un homenaje a los videojuegos. No es un juego perfecto, pero se acerca muchísimo, no solo por el contenido desorbitante, sino también por la sólida jugabilidad que ya es característica de la serie. Es increíble ver a usuarios poniendoles nota 0 a un videojuego de estas características, es ridículo el tan solo pensar que hay personas que se hacen múltiplesSuper smash Bros. ultimate es un homenaje a los videojuegos. No es un juego perfecto, pero se acerca muchísimo, no solo por el contenido desorbitante, sino también por la sólida jugabilidad que ya es característica de la serie. Es increíble ver a usuarios poniendoles nota 0 a un videojuego de estas características, es ridículo el tan solo pensar que hay personas que se hacen múltiples cuentas solo para bajarle la nota. Expand
  68. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    The best smash Game so far. Masses of content, game modes, characters etc. And finally you have to unlock everything again. It's so much fun, I love it !
  69. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    It's literally the ultimate Smash Game. Its the Smash with the most Content and the best Gameplay.
  70. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    This truly is the ultimate smash bros. Hundreds of hours of content, and extremely fun gameplay. If you have a switch, you NEED this game!
  71. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    So much love and passion was put into this game it's hard not to give it a perfect score. With the most Characters, Stages, Song, a ton of spirits and a very lengthy yet fun story mode this is definitely the Ultimate version of smash brothers by far.
  72. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    Really is the Ultimate smash. Really Good graphics and runs really smooth. Unlocking new characters feels really rewarding because it doesn't happen constantly, rather a slow pace with a few games in between. World of light takes a while to get going, but the end is really good. Gameplay is solid in all modes, the characters are all really fun to use and try. Other than a few drops inReally is the Ultimate smash. Really Good graphics and runs really smooth. Unlocking new characters feels really rewarding because it doesn't happen constantly, rather a slow pace with a few games in between. World of light takes a while to get going, but the end is really good. Gameplay is solid in all modes, the characters are all really fun to use and try. Other than a few drops in frame rate online works relatively well. Takes the best parts of all the previous games and puts them into one jam-packed package of good fun. Competitively might even beat melee with how difficult it can be to memorize all the frame data for every character. It also delivers to be a really good casual game that is really fun to play with a few friends. it runs pretty well even on handheld mode and is just really fun to use. Other than a really slow middle part of the World of Light section, and the occasional flickers of frame rate drops when playing online really good game. Expand
  73. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    This is the best Smash Bros game ever made by far. It's snappy, full of content and has an amazing UI. I could not ask for a better fighting game with a stronger roster.
  74. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    Es increíble me ha gustado mucho, es el mejor juego que he jugado genial regalo navideño
  75. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Una auténtica oda a los videojuegos. Banda sonora sobresaliente, jugabilidad increible, escenarios geniales... De lo mejor de este año. Recomendado
  76. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This game needs a 10 because it's amazing, never i enjoyed more whit a battle, this game made me feel good when i win and feel good when i lose because i need to be better for get more winnings.
    PD: the 0 notes are trollers o haters ignore him.
  77. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    beautiful
    best smash game by far away, perfect, i can´t stop playing.......
  78. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This is easily the Best Smash Game I've ever played, props to the entire development team for their hard work.
  79. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Best Smash Bros game in the series so far. Feels better then Smash for Wii U, plays better. Loving this game. The team did a great job. A must have game. Join the Joker hype train! CHOO-CHOOO!

    10/10
  80. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Best game ever. Its probably one of the only games to be worth the £60 price tag, if you have a Nintendo switch this is a must buy.
  81. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Great game!!! As pessoas que estão reclamando em sua maioria nem jogaram, ou simplesmente estão decepcionado com algo que queriam, tem seu defeitos porém, analisando como qualidade de jogo e pela diversão que proporciona, é nota 10 mesmo.
  82. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This really is the ultimate Smash Bros. game. It is a love letter to Nintendo, the series itself, and gaming as a whole. Every single aspect has been painstakingly crafted with love and an extreme attention to detail. The amount of content is mind boggling. Thank you to Masahiro Sakurai and his team for creating this masterpiece.
  83. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Im just giving this Game a 10, although I havent played it yet, just to keep up all the "0" scores that are throughn out for no reason. If a game is rated 8 or 9 by respected reviewers it cant be a 2 or 3 and never a 0. Thats just badmouthing any game for no reason. There should be a scoring rule for users, that prevents you giving a worse score than 3 score points from the average critsIm just giving this Game a 10, although I havent played it yet, just to keep up all the "0" scores that are throughn out for no reason. If a game is rated 8 or 9 by respected reviewers it cant be a 2 or 3 and never a 0. Thats just badmouthing any game for no reason. There should be a scoring rule for users, that prevents you giving a worse score than 3 score points from the average crits score. So if the critics score is 8.5 the users can´t score it lower than 5.5. Something to think about... Expand
  84. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    greatest, NEW, smash brother game ever, this is no doubt, an instant classic.
  85. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This light hearted platform fighter is packed with content that anyone of any age can enjoy. Some reviews are complaining about the roster and not getting their favorite characters but this game already has the biggest roster of iconic characters. When they called this game Ultimate, they weren't kidding. I have had fun playing this with my son, father-in-law, wife, friends. We all playedThis light hearted platform fighter is packed with content that anyone of any age can enjoy. Some reviews are complaining about the roster and not getting their favorite characters but this game already has the biggest roster of iconic characters. When they called this game Ultimate, they weren't kidding. I have had fun playing this with my son, father-in-law, wife, friends. We all played day 1 and we are hooked. It is the best Smash has been since Melee. It is similar to Smash 4 but if you haven't noticed all of the improvements, you haven't played the game. This is not Smash 4. Smash 4 wishes it was Smash Ultimate. You will get every dollar you spend out of this game. Must buy for Nintendo fans. Expand
  86. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    increíble juego tanto en modo historia como en batallas en línea,una compra asegurada para todas las personas que tengan un Switch,espectacular la cantidad de contenido increible
  87. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Pure AWESOME. Variety, balance and a lot more fun than previous entries in the series. Good job Nintendo.
  88. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is finally out and i love it!
    So many modes, so many characters, so many stages and SO MANY POSSIBILITIES! Implementing the Spirits may seem weird and complicated at first but it's a solid new implementation that really changes many matches. Hours and hours of play time, beautiful graphics and more content coming soon!
    The only things that lowered my rating
    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is finally out and i love it!
    So many modes, so many characters, so many stages and SO MANY POSSIBILITIES! Implementing the Spirits may seem weird and complicated at first but it's a solid new implementation that really changes many matches. Hours and hours of play time, beautiful graphics and more content coming soon!

    The only things that lowered my rating from 10 to 9 are the online connection issues and some little details that are a bit annoying, such as being kicked out of the arena when changing you preferred stage for the next fight or not beeing able to use the touchscreen in a menu.

    But like Sakurai said in the Nintendo Direct: "It's the most Smash you get for your buck"
    It's worth every cent you spend on it.
    Expand
  89. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    This is THE game that COULD have been perfect, but you know Nintendo, for every almost perfect product they need to ruin something, and guess what, "For Glory" mode is not here anymore, the mode that allowed players to fight online with custom rule-set for a truly competitive match (3 stocks, no items, and only omega maps). I'm a bit disappointed, and seriously hope Nintendo will add thisThis is THE game that COULD have been perfect, but you know Nintendo, for every almost perfect product they need to ruin something, and guess what, "For Glory" mode is not here anymore, the mode that allowed players to fight online with custom rule-set for a truly competitive match (3 stocks, no items, and only omega maps). I'm a bit disappointed, and seriously hope Nintendo will add this with the future patch.. but my hopes are weak.
    Beside that the game is awesome, a lot of modes to play, a lot of character (or should I say, EVERYONE IS HERE?)
    The graphics, the smoothness of the game play, and the music, everything feels super good.
    Expand
  90. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    I rate the game a 9/10 but will cast a 10 in a feeble attempt to counter the ridiculous goose eggs that always manage to plague rating systems. 10's are just a ridiculous but when you have a genuinely good game its the 0's that impact the most. I'd like to remind users to be fair with their reviews. We all know what 0-5 games look like and lets be real... Smash Ultimate falls far from thatI rate the game a 9/10 but will cast a 10 in a feeble attempt to counter the ridiculous goose eggs that always manage to plague rating systems. 10's are just a ridiculous but when you have a genuinely good game its the 0's that impact the most. I'd like to remind users to be fair with their reviews. We all know what 0-5 games look like and lets be real... Smash Ultimate falls far from that realm.

    My experience with the smash universe is limited to SSB4 and now this installment. So far it seems to be a wonderful improvement. Sound, Graphics, Artwork and overall game play and features are wonderful to interact with. Only unlocked half of the characters and looking forward to hours and hours of casual and competitive action!
    Expand
  91. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    “No matter how you slice, this game has the most smash for your buck”. This sentence is simply the most accurate way to describe this masterpiece. From the single-player content, which is repetitive at times, and likely the worst part of the game, to the 70 Character roster, to the stages, to the character unlocking, every aspect of Sakurai’s newest game just scream “Ultimate”. That said,“No matter how you slice, this game has the most smash for your buck”. This sentence is simply the most accurate way to describe this masterpiece. From the single-player content, which is repetitive at times, and likely the worst part of the game, to the 70 Character roster, to the stages, to the character unlocking, every aspect of Sakurai’s newest game just scream “Ultimate”. That said, if you don’t like Smash Bros. , this game isn’t doing anything to change that. It is truly made for both fans and newcomers. Expand
  92. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Super Smash Brothers is one of my favorite titles for the Nintendo Switch which further justifies that 20$ for a year of Nintendo online. The graphics are fantastic and the game has significant replay value that will keep you coming back for more. Now most people may be turned off by the difficulty of part of this game however being a dark souls veteran this did not deter me from having aSuper Smash Brothers is one of my favorite titles for the Nintendo Switch which further justifies that 20$ for a year of Nintendo online. The graphics are fantastic and the game has significant replay value that will keep you coming back for more. Now most people may be turned off by the difficulty of part of this game however being a dark souls veteran this did not deter me from having a great time. I do plan on buying the fighter pack and playing the heck out of this game for the next few months! I highly recommend it for your switch it is definitely a must buy! Expand
  93. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    It is a different smash, the gameplay changed but it is very well.
    I love the everyone is here, plus the 6 new DLC (one for free)
    For online i love the part they added stocks.
    I love spirits and adventure mode
    What i miss is event match (one of my favorites mode) plus i wanted Issac and Skull kid but oh well it does deserved a better rate than Brawl
  94. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This game honors it's predecessors ever since the smash bros for 64 beautifully! From the wide arsenal of 74 plus characters to over 100 stages there is just endless content for everyone. The new spirit mode and classic mode ensures that the single player mode is complex as well.
  95. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Best super smash bros ever, world of light mode is very impressive. Old characters with new characters make this game perfect.
  96. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Ever since Nintendo release the Nintendo Switch, I always want to play a Super Smash Bros game on the console & now I'm planning to get this for Christmas this year
  97. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Perfect game!! The people that actually thinks that this game is a port from Wii U never played a smash game before or are just bad... Simple as that! New mechanics, new third party characters, new story mode etc......... Buy this game and you won't regret it !!
  98. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This game is really fun, not joking. 10/10, best smash game to date. You'll enjoy it.
  99. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    This game deserves a 9 but I had to give it the Nintendo Bonus. I guess I'm off to give RDR a 0, bye guys enjoy the game.
  100. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    El mejor juego de switch hasta ahora muy competitivo y lo tiene todo vale cada centavo
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. Dec 18, 2018
    98
    Quite easily the best Smash game of all time. It’s got it all, and the Switch only helps compliment what makes Smash Bros. so damn fun. It’s the perfect console for the fighter, and is one of the best value for money propositions I’ve ever had the pleasure of taking on. It’s been an arduous wait, but it’s been well worth it — Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is absolutely brilliant.
  2. Dec 18, 2018
    90
    It’s the best single-player Smash to date, and still retains the fantastic couch co-op the series is known for, but only time will tell if online functionality catches up to the rest of the game.
  3. Dec 18, 2018
    90
    Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is a fantastic game and one of the best entries in the series, and the only serious issue holding it back is the online performance. The various modes and features will satisfy those seeking a significant single player component and those desiring countless hours of local multiplayer mayhem. Ultimate celebrates the rich history of Nintendo and several other beloved franchises, and it’s the perfect game to end the year on. This is an excellent fighting game that people will clearly be playing for many years to come.