User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 94
  2. Negative: 15 out of 94
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 16, 2019
    5
    My biggest complaint is that at game startup, the game wants to share some data witch 2K for no reason, you are unable to reject the data sharing thing. If you click 'Cancel', the game will ask you again the same thing at each game startup.... Really no reasons for such sharing requirement, for single player. for multiplayer, you could just create a 2K account if needed.
    From a gameplay
    My biggest complaint is that at game startup, the game wants to share some data witch 2K for no reason, you are unable to reject the data sharing thing. If you click 'Cancel', the game will ask you again the same thing at each game startup.... Really no reasons for such sharing requirement, for single player. for multiplayer, you could just create a 2K account if needed.
    From a gameplay perspective, if you enjoy Civ games, you'll play countless hours of fun, the ability to play it handled is a + :)
    Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2018
    0
    NO HOT SEAT!
    This game is a total scam and disappointment. The only reason why I bought this non-refundable game was to play hot seat, which was the most enjoyable feature in Civ 5
    I want my money back!
  3. Nov 16, 2018
    8
    Almost finished with my game on standard mode. Picked it up last night at 9 and just like pc I have been lost in it till about 3 am and then im playing in my office.

    Pretty happy about the purchase. I had concerns it would be watered down like xbox 360 civ revolution. But we actually got a full port over to the switch. Maps arent smaller, all civs are there. It sucks that we dont have
    Almost finished with my game on standard mode. Picked it up last night at 9 and just like pc I have been lost in it till about 3 am and then im playing in my office.

    Pretty happy about the purchase. I had concerns it would be watered down like xbox 360 civ revolution. But we actually got a full port over to the switch. Maps arent smaller, all civs are there. It sucks that we dont have the Rise and Fall DLC but I think in time it will come.

    My second concern was the controls, I will say that it will take getting use to but you can use the bumpers to zoom in out, pinch the screen aswell like tablets and phones. Joy sticks move around the map and d-pad can be used to navigate menus. You can move units with the touch screen or with the thumbstick and A button. It works really well in handheld mode i have yet to try out dock mode.

    3rd concern I had was performance. The cartoony graphics works well with the system and I didnt experience any slow downs. My system didnt get too hot from extended play either. later turns wasnt bad, I expected it to bog down the system but It performed really well on the switch.

    I gave it an 8 for 2 reasons.
    1. I really wish they had released the DLC. Like I understand they probably want to test the waters and all but it would have been really cool to get like an ultimate edition with the DLC or have the DLC available for download.

    2. this is minor to me because I hardly play multiplayer and i think civ is really mostly played single player. But I do understand there are some that do play multiplayer and it sucks there isnt online multiplayer but local with 4 people.
    Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2018
    9
    I took the plunge on a first day purchase and I have to say I do not regret it. I have loved the Civ games and own them all, on PC, Consoles and mobile. This game is an excellent port. The controls feel natural, the graphics are great, no slow down, the soundtrack is there, and now with the added bonus of crashed out on the sofa playing it on a large screen TV until early hours of theI took the plunge on a first day purchase and I have to say I do not regret it. I have loved the Civ games and own them all, on PC, Consoles and mobile. This game is an excellent port. The controls feel natural, the graphics are great, no slow down, the soundtrack is there, and now with the added bonus of crashed out on the sofa playing it on a large screen TV until early hours of the morning.
    Handheld mode is great too.
    One little tip is, press the - button on the switch, and it puts tooltips on so you know what each icon does for beginners. ( Tooltips is off by default )
    Warning through, this game will take your life away. As for the people complaining about no multiplay etc, it doesnt bother me one bit... I always class Civ as a single player game that you can sit there play for hours in your own time and stop whenever you want.
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2018
    10
    This is the first Civ game I've played. I tried to dabble with Civ 3 decades ago but I didn't get the hang of it. Civ 6 on the Switch though is PERFECT. I like the balance and mechanics and I simply cannot put it down. Being on a handheld it's easy to pick up and play again where I left off even during short breaks. The rest of the time in between though all I think about is my city. IfThis is the first Civ game I've played. I tried to dabble with Civ 3 decades ago but I didn't get the hang of it. Civ 6 on the Switch though is PERFECT. I like the balance and mechanics and I simply cannot put it down. Being on a handheld it's easy to pick up and play again where I left off even during short breaks. The rest of the time in between though all I think about is my city. If you're having second thoughts let this review be the one to sway you into getting it. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2018
    9
    Docked a point because it had a longer than expected learning curve to play. Once past that curve I found an addictive game that I often can't put down.
  7. Nov 20, 2018
    9
    I loved this game and I cannot stop playing it, very complex and real which I loved. Engaging into the growth of your culture is so easy, although you have to pay lots of attention on details and investigate what you can do and what you should do, not everything is intuitive.
  8. Dec 5, 2018
    9
    - There is no hotseat mode
    - There is no online mode
    - Only local multiplayer w/ seperate consoles and copies of Civ6

    + It's Civ6 on the Switch
    + Runs better than on my Laptop
    + Most DLC's to date included
    + Arguably more user-friendly than PC version, which now spews ads at its users

    9/10
  9. Nov 16, 2018
    9
    It's a great port. Sure, it's missing several multiplayer features but the controls, graphics and gameplay work exceedingly well on the Switch.
  10. Nov 22, 2018
    10
    Bought my first CIV game with pre-order. Didn't know what the hotseat was, and I understand that long time fans consider it a loss. But to be honest, without knowing or experiencing hotseat before, I honestly fell in love with the game. The amount of depth the game has, is unseen for me. Only got in the "cardboard-like-games" only this year. And I have to say I'm really suprised how theBought my first CIV game with pre-order. Didn't know what the hotseat was, and I understand that long time fans consider it a loss. But to be honest, without knowing or experiencing hotseat before, I honestly fell in love with the game. The amount of depth the game has, is unseen for me. Only got in the "cardboard-like-games" only this year. And I have to say I'm really suprised how the game can hook you on a playsession.
    So for newcomers of the series, I would say it's a purchase you won't regret.
    Expand
  11. Dec 27, 2018
    0
    - not all the DLCs are included
    - no online mode
    - NO HOT SEAT LOCAL MULTIPLAYER, it's the only reason I bought this game and it is not included even though it is in all the other platforms...

    The switch version of this game is a rip-off, do not buy this game.
  12. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    I just threw $60 in the trash on Civilization VI for Switch. No hot seat local multiplayer. A staple of the series. 0/10
  13. Nov 16, 2018
    2
    I have day one buyers regret for my first Civ game. Civ 1 was great, but I really got into the game when hot seat was introduced in Civ 2 Gold. Playing hot seat with friends and family is an expected feature on Civ games. 2K should have let people know that this game was missing all multi-player, including hot seat. You can only play multi-player if you have multiple switches. I boughtI have day one buyers regret for my first Civ game. Civ 1 was great, but I really got into the game when hot seat was introduced in Civ 2 Gold. Playing hot seat with friends and family is an expected feature on Civ games. 2K should have let people know that this game was missing all multi-player, including hot seat. You can only play multi-player if you have multiple switches. I bought this game so I could play it hot seat with friends and family and that possibility isn't there with this game. At $60 this game is a rip off. It doesn't have Rise and Fall, it has day one DLC, doesn't include multi-player; I wonder if Nintendo should pull this incomplete game from their store. Even the iPad version of the game has hot seat. Expand
  14. Nov 17, 2018
    2
    EDIT: Con el tiempo te acostumbras a la posición de la cámara, las civilizaciones con sus propias personalidades es un punto a favor, lo controles funcionan pero son mejorables, sobretodo la información de recursos ya que es molesto poder verlo al tener que tocar, hasta que te lo aprendas por lo menos en mi experiencia es incomodo, se podría poner con algún botón esa información y seríaEDIT: Con el tiempo te acostumbras a la posición de la cámara, las civilizaciones con sus propias personalidades es un punto a favor, lo controles funcionan pero son mejorables, sobretodo la información de recursos ya que es molesto poder verlo al tener que tocar, hasta que te lo aprendas por lo menos en mi experiencia es incomodo, se podría poner con algún botón esa información y sería bastante más cómodo.
    El porque de mi puntuación: DLC'S día 1, al precio que sale ( al que hay en PC ) valorando si vale la pena, hay falta de MODS ( obviamente en pc los hay y esto le da MUCHA vida al juego, no esperaba que estuviera en SWITCH ), falta de online, otro punto que le da mucha vida al juego, y lo ponen a precio completo y sin añadir los dlc's que pusieron de día 1, creo que por todo esto, el precio es demasiado alto sobretodo teniendo en cuenta lo de los DLC's y son aspectos ha valorar importantes.
    Expand
  15. Nov 24, 2018
    9
    i have been playing the Civ series for almost 13 years now, after the release of CIV:Revolutioni thought i wont see a good civilization game on home consoles. a civ game that is complex as all the original civ games. but here we are, Firaxis games did it and they released a full port of CIV VI on switch. not only they included all the features and didnt remove anything from the base game,i have been playing the Civ series for almost 13 years now, after the release of CIV:Revolutioni thought i wont see a good civilization game on home consoles. a civ game that is complex as all the original civ games. but here we are, Firaxis games did it and they released a full port of CIV VI on switch. not only they included all the features and didnt remove anything from the base game, the game runs very smoothly too. so smooth that it shocked me. the controls are pretty good, i dont even use any of the touch abilities and only play with joy cons. the only problem is that they didnt release the Rise and fall expansion pack but hopefully it will come to switch too. the final problem is the multiplayer mode, although i play CIv games always in single player, i think its a huge problem for a lot of fans. Expand
  16. Dec 1, 2018
    10
    Civ on the go whats not to like!Civ on the go whats not to like!Civ on the go whats not to like!Civ on the go whats not to like!Civ on the go whats not to like!Civ on the go whats not to like!Civ on the go whats not to like!Civ on the go whats not to like!Civ on the go whats not to like!Civ on the go whats not to like!
  17. Jan 5, 2019
    8
    Very surprised it is NOT some watered down, kiddy crap like they did on PS3. It’s an actual Civilization game on a console. I’m enjoying it very much, and have little to complain about.
    I have had the game crash on me a couple times though, which means something isn’t quite right, but it’s not happening a lot. It auto saves every 3 turns anyway so the damage was minimal.
    Civ IV is
    Very surprised it is NOT some watered down, kiddy crap like they did on PS3. It’s an actual Civilization game on a console. I’m enjoying it very much, and have little to complain about.
    I have had the game crash on me a couple times though, which means something isn’t quite right, but it’s not happening a lot. It auto saves every 3 turns anyway so the damage was minimal.
    Civ IV is still my favourite; V was a game I just wasn’t feeling as much, and VI is somewhere above V, but slightly below IV in my opinion overall.
    I only play single player, so my score is based on that. If you’re buying this for multiplayer, I wouldn’t recommend it based on what other people are saying here.
    This one is hard to put down. I’ve gone into work like a bag of dogs**t all week from staying up too late with this one. It’s a total time warp situation, the hours just fly by. Single player is a total blast, so if that’s what you’re after and you know what kind of game this is, them go for it.
    Expand
  18. Jan 7, 2019
    8
    Cant understand why people give those very low grades on their reviews, like 2, just to devastate the overall grade. You need to get laid fellows, guess this is your problem!
    Great game, logics, intelligence, complexity, historically intelligent, interesting features, I am a first time player.
    Guess it is not a 10 cause I intended my wife to play with me in portuguese or other language,
    Cant understand why people give those very low grades on their reviews, like 2, just to devastate the overall grade. You need to get laid fellows, guess this is your problem!
    Great game, logics, intelligence, complexity, historically intelligent, interesting features, I am a first time player.
    Guess it is not a 10 cause I intended my wife to play with me in portuguese or other language, but my version is only in english, even though, fantastic, kept me playing.
    07 jan 2019, realized the game is a little slow when really advanced.
    Expand
  19. Mar 8, 2019
    9
    Would have given it 10/10 if it came with the xpacs. This is the standard game with minimal DLC. The two major DLC/xpac for the game have not been ported yet. Still an amazing time and well worth the money for the amount of hours you can put into it.
  20. Jan 18, 2019
    10
    Long time fans of Civ who don't own top tier phones and tablets, should be really juiced a the chance to play a fully fledged Civ game on the go.

    Civ 6 brings in a lot of new ideas and bright and clear art style that suits it all very well. The new district system and the options for diplomacy are a cut about what any previous Civ game offered in their initial releases. They allow for
    Long time fans of Civ who don't own top tier phones and tablets, should be really juiced a the chance to play a fully fledged Civ game on the go.

    Civ 6 brings in a lot of new ideas and bright and clear art style that suits it all very well. The new district system and the options for diplomacy are a cut about what any previous Civ game offered in their initial releases. They allow for more personal and customized cities. I always felt that in 4 and 5 that most of my cities would end up with all the same buildings, cause there wasn't much keeping you from just building every possible upgrade. This made each city in previous games feel less unique.

    The Switch manages to run the game quite well. My experience with Civ 4 and 5 was on a laptop that could run the games, but very choppily. This Switch version does really fine job of staying playable despite running a bit slower once you've hit turn 400 on a Huge map.

    I just hope the game gets the rest of the DLC.

    Never played Civ in multiplayer so its lack of online has no bearing on my enjoyment.

    I've clocked in 85 hours already and will undoubtedly continue to pop this sucker in over the next year. You want deep city world simulation. Get on it.
    Expand
  21. Nov 27, 2018
    9
    Это лучшая Цива из всх Цив ! Поставил 9 , потому что дипломатия трешовая , как всегда.
  22. Dec 27, 2018
    9
    in my opinion this is the definitive civilization game it takes all the good fun and all the funny moments cough cough nuclear gondee cough cough all the good tech tree additions new leaders and almost all of the past leaders all the units all the stuff not to mention this game looks great on the switch and anything else if you have ever played a civilization game and loved it as so muchin my opinion this is the definitive civilization game it takes all the good fun and all the funny moments cough cough nuclear gondee cough cough all the good tech tree additions new leaders and almost all of the past leaders all the units all the stuff not to mention this game looks great on the switch and anything else if you have ever played a civilization game and loved it as so much to go just one more turn all the time this game is a well rounded fun civilization game if you like civilization game you need to get this game it is so addictive you will lose all of your free afternoons cause you will be playing this game overall a really fun and addictive game Expand
  23. Feb 3, 2019
    9
    I really like this game, but for some reason they are not announcing the DLC for Switch, only PC. This makes me upset as I enjoy the game and want new content.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jan 23, 2019
    80
    Overall, Civilization VI is an excellent addition to the Switch's library. Turn-based-strategy fans will love this very gratifying portable gem.
  2. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    Lack of several DLCs can be overlooked, impossibility to buy the big Rise & Fall expansion less so, and the butchered multiplayer options are downright annoying. Still, this is a good port of a brilliant game which is a perfect fit for Nintendo Switch.
  3. Dec 16, 2018
    86
    The perfect turn based strategy game on the go. Civilization 6 feels at home on the switch.