Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jul 9, 2018
    82
    Shining Resonance Refrain plays like a pretty standard yet extremely solid JRPG. Despite the slow beginning, the story is interesting and extremely well thought out. The characters are likable and the graphics are beautiful.
  2. Jul 11, 2018
    80
    A sweet and relaxing experience based on the Super Mario universe with Toad as our main character. Each level is a puzzle by itself and it requires tons of patience and the ability to play with prospective.
  3. Jul 9, 2018
    80
    Its smaller scale and relatively simpler structure makes it easier to sink some time into than an even more massive JRPG like the Xenoblade titles, which may be more intimidating as a result of their scope. As for its minor setbacks, they are easily offset by its other intrinsic qualities, chiefly the loveable cast of main characters. Fans of the JRPG genre in its more classical form, but also of manga/anime style adventure stories, should find plenty to enjoy here.
  4. Jul 9, 2018
    80
    Its systems are top-notch, its action is uniquely its own, and lord knows we need more solid JRPGs back in the West.
  5. Jul 11, 2018
    75
    It’s not gonna trouble the most complex and tactical JRPG’s fans, but Shining Resonance Refrain deserves to be played and enjoyed.
  6. Jul 16, 2018
    70
    Shining Resonance Refrain is a decent action RPG. While the story doesn’t really tread any new ground, the characters are likeable enough to want to see it through. The combat gameplay is fun if you enjoy a fast-paced battle, and the musical elements add a neat feature on top of the usual mechanics. And it’s all playable on a portable device. While it’s harder to recommend this over more recent games of this genre, If you can’t get enough of action RPG’s then Shining Resonance has something to offer.
  7. 70
    Apart from the dated combat, Shining Resonance seemed to have the right elements to be a success but just missed a certain chemistry to really hook me in. Fans of previous titles in the series and seasoned RPG players may find the enjoyment that alluded me. I wouldn’t tell you to avoid this game, but there’s a whole lot I would recommend before it.
  8. Jul 9, 2018
    70
    Shining Resonance Refrain is the kind of game that can put on a solid performance, but it’s also abundantly clear that it doesn’t quite have the pipes to hit the high notes; it’s a good game, but not a great one.
  9. Jul 10, 2018
    65
    Shining Resonance Refrain isn’t a terrible game, it’s just riddled with incredibly poor decisions which almost overshadow a great combat system.
  10. 65
    A good story hampered by clunky controls at times, a lack of variety in monsters to battle, and borderline useless sidequests. If you enjoy grinding and maxing everything out in your JRPGs, then this title will get you by. While the story is good, it’s nothing mind-blowing, and the repetitive gameplay, lack of variety, and frustrating lack of travel options might turn some gamers off.
  11. Jul 11, 2018
    60
    Well, why did Sega decides to port Shining Resonance to our European consoles instead of Valkyria Chronicles or Phantasy Star Online 2, no one will ever know. However, what we do know is that Shining Resonance is your average J-RPG with your average team of anime-looking main protagonists fighting with the power of songs and friendship. An enjoyable but quite forgettable experience.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 54
  2. Negative: 9 out of 54
  1. Jul 10, 2018
    10
    Shining Resonance Refrain is pretty incredible on Switch: beautiful visuals in 720P / 30FPS, good characters, fun battles and nice soundtrack.Shining Resonance Refrain is pretty incredible on Switch: beautiful visuals in 720P / 30FPS, good characters, fun battles and nice soundtrack. It's a Tales Of game but without the name :)
    An excellent RPG to buy alongside Octopath Traveler.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 11, 2018
    10
    Absolutely amazed by this game. Very deep and intuitive battle system and character relationships. Solid story with English voiceAbsolutely amazed by this game. Very deep and intuitive battle system and character relationships. Solid story with English voice localization. Visually it’s top shelf with a smooth frame rate. I also preordered Octopath Traveler but it will have to wait until I play this into the ground first. Highly recommend if your a fan of the genre. Instant classic. Full Review »
  3. Jul 15, 2018
    10
    I love this game. Graphics and combat are great, and the characters and story captivating. It runs smoothly on Switch both on TV and handheld.I love this game. Graphics and combat are great, and the characters and story captivating. It runs smoothly on Switch both on TV and handheld. If you like story/quest driven games and JRPGs go for it. Full Review »