Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Ōkami is truly one of the most incredible games ever crafted, and you're doing yourself a disservice if you look at it as a "Zelda clone". Look past that and look closely at the story it's telling, the symbology, and where the game got its ideas from. Ōkami is to video games what something like Spirited Away is to film; it's not only beautiful and powerful, but it speaks to the very core of the Japanese soul, and because of that it's hugely educational to anyone that has an interest in the country and its culture.
  2. Aug 8, 2018
    100
    It’s one of my favorite Hideki Kamiya games of all time, and I was very happy to revisit Amaterasu, Issun, and the eclectic cast of characters contained within.
  3. Aug 8, 2018
    100
    An astounding masterpiece that reaches new heights of brilliance thanks to the Nintendo Switch.
  4. Aug 10, 2018
    95
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Aug 8, 2018
    95
    Okami reminds us that video games are an art, and not because they are a product of excellent quality, but because they are an avant-garde proposal, something completely different from what we are used to seeing, a visual and sound show worthy of a AAA, which will keep us on our toes throughout the adventure. Highly recommended for lovers of Japanese culture and art.
  6. Aug 10, 2018
    90
    The Switch version of Okami HD – with its portability, its motion controls, its touchscreen paintbrush and its compact charm – is hands own the definitive version of Okami. If you’ve never played it before, we’re happy to go as far as saying this is an essential purchase for your system. It’s a timeless classic.
  7. Aug 9, 2018
    90
    Another re-release for Ōkami may seem unnecessary, but the variety of options the Switch provides makes it a great fit. The motion controls may be a bit fiddly, but luckily, they’re not the only way to play. They offer a nice alternative for those interested.
  8. Aug 8, 2018
    90
    An old classic that’s never quite gotten the audience it deserves, Okami HD’s gorgeous art style and unique brush mechanic is perfect for Switch. Players looking for an equivalent to Zelda with an appreciation of Japanese myths and aesthetics needn’t look further.
  9. 90
    In spite of a few, mostly minor, dated problems, the raw beauty of the world made me happy to be revisiting this game.
  10. Aug 8, 2018
    90
    Okami HD is an utterly fantastic piece of software, and we feel you’d be doing yourself a disservice to pass on it. For a mere twenty bucks, you can have access to a 40-hour adventure that emulates Zelda wonderfully, adds in plenty of memorable mechanics, features one of the most memorable art styles in gaming, and is completely playable on the go, to boot. Though it may be showing its age a bit visually and its combat is sometimes a little on the easy side, Okami is an important, fun, and notable landmark in gaming history — and one of the easiest recommendations we can make for your Switch library.
  11. 90
    Like a fine wine, Okami has aged wonderfully, and this HD re-release has found a perfect home on the Nintendo Switch, thanks to stellar motion controls and the ability to play on-the-go.
  12. Aug 9, 2018
    89
    If you haven’t played it, you should. Plain and simple. It’s worth your time, though you’ll be feeling how much time you’ve spent with it after it has consumed roughly 40 hours of your time once the credits finally roll.
  13. Aug 8, 2018
    89
    Like the other versions, the improvements in Okami HD for the Nintendo Switch are just audio and video related. But the touch and motion controls make this one the best versions of the original Clover game.
  14. Aug 12, 2018
    88
    Quotation forthcoming.
  15. Aug 9, 2018
    85
    Okami HD is an ode to folklore and Japanese legends. A tale crafted into a video game. An unforgettable adventure.
  16. Aug 8, 2018
    85
    It’s unlikely to bring in many new fans as, despite its grace and beauty, it certainly doesn’t feel like a new game. The stubborn camera is a hangover of yesteryear, as are the occasionally staid enemy encounters. But those are mild complaints compared to Okami’s many positive elements.
  17. Aug 11, 2018
    80
    Ōkami HD comes to another console bringing its stunning graphics and gameplay to the players of Nintendo Switch. Notwithstanding some little technical disappointments, this version of the game still displays its uniqueness as a masterpiece of artistic videogames.
  18. Aug 8, 2018
    80
    The convergence of Japanese folklore and a Sumi-e aesthetic over the blueprint of The Legend of Zelda created a benign opus that, eleven years later, remains unchallenged and unequaled by any scale of competition. Okami, even with its pronounced vulnerabilities, is a singular creation and merits constant preservation.
  19. 80
    Still one of the most beautiful video games ever created, not to mention the best Zelda game that never was.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 8, 2018
    From crisp visuals and flawless performance to the bevy of control options available, it’s a beast of a package. Combining all of that with the ultimate thrill of having Okami on the go thanks to the portability of the Switch, this is a no-brainer grab for anyone who calls themselves a fan of action-adventure games.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Aug 10, 2018
    10
    Okami reminds us that video games are an art, and not because they are a product of excellent quality, but because they are an avant-gardeOkami reminds us that video games are an art, and not because they are a product of excellent quality, but because they are an avant-garde proposal, something completely different from what we are used to seeing, a visual and sound show worthy of a AAA, which will keep us on our toes throughout the adventure. Highly recommended for lovers of Japanese culture and art. Full Review »
  2. Aug 9, 2018
    10
    It's srtteng is japanese.
    OKAMI HD Switch
    Capcom Release Date: Aug 9, 2018 Also On: PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox One Summary
    It's srtteng is japanese.
    OKAMI HD Switch
    Capcom Release Date: Aug 9, 2018 Also On: PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox One
    Summary
    Critic Reviews
    User Reviews
    Details & Credits
    Trailers & Videos
    User Scoretbd
    No user score yet
    Awaiting 3 more ratings

    User score distribution:
    Positive: 1 out of 1
    Mixed:0
    Negative:0
    REVIEW THIS GAME

    Your Score
    10
    10
    There is a 75 character minimum for reviews. If your review contains spoilers, please check the Spoiler box. Please do not use ALL CAPS. There is no linking o
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 14, 2018
    8
    I'd been wanting to play Okami for a long time, but despite all the times it had been ported to numerous different systems over the past fewI'd been wanting to play Okami for a long time, but despite all the times it had been ported to numerous different systems over the past few console generations, I'd just never gotten around to it at any point within the last 12 years, until it came to the Switch. And now, I can see why so many people love this game, and why it's endured for just over a decade, because it is an absolutely gorgeous looking game.

    I've noticed that most reviews for this game focus almost entirely on the artstyle, and there's a reason why, because it's beautiful. Other reviews also mention the music, which again, is gorgeous, and the humorous characters. But I am somewhat disappointed with the actual gameplay itself. The combat is a chore. It amounts to mashing Y and then using the paintbrush to draw a line through the enemy when they're down to defeat them. And the text portions of the game are egregiously drawn out (no pun intended). The dialogue stretches on for an eternity, as do gameplay explanations. There was one point where a character was explaining a new combat technique, and I timed how long it took to get through their explanation, and it literally took 52 seconds for them to explain "mash Y four times." I'm not joking. 52 full seconds of text, just to explain how to push the Y button four times. It was ridiculous. And the game over explains literally everything like this. The handholding is unbelievable. And then, there are frequent points in the game where you simply have no clue where you're supposed to go next or what you're supposed to do. So the game simultaneously holds your hand to never ending extents, while also frequently dropping you off into the middle of a field with no clue as to what you're supposed to be doing.

    While I did find those things incredibly frustrating, I still loved this game due to its gorgeous looking art style and its quirky, humorous characters. I just wish there wasn't so much wandering with no sense of the direction you're supposed to be headed in, and that the dialogue didn't drag on forever to explain incredibly simple things.
    Full Review »