User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 134
  2. Negative: 36 out of 134
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2019
    8
    Let me just say, this game is a blast and a half. I haven’t beaten the game in a while, but I played it again today and just wanted to write a positive review on it.

    I really like the level design a lot. Complain all you want about it being too linear, but it’s a 2D platformer. There’s not really a way to make it NOT linear. Platforming is what Mario is all about, and these levels make
    Let me just say, this game is a blast and a half. I haven’t beaten the game in a while, but I played it again today and just wanted to write a positive review on it.

    I really like the level design a lot. Complain all you want about it being too linear, but it’s a 2D platformer. There’s not really a way to make it NOT linear. Platforming is what Mario is all about, and these levels make the platforming the most fun I’ve played in a long time. The levels are crafted in a way that makes it not too easy, but not frustratingly difficult either. The Star Coins are all hiding or require skilled jumps to reach. The water levels are Hitler’s favorite.

    The multiplayer is so much fun in this game. You can work cooperatively with your friends to complete levels easier or make it five times harder by fighting your friends all the way to the finish to see who can finish the game with the most lives. It’s just such a blast to play this game with your friends.

    The brand new HD graphics are absolutely splendid. 2D Mario has never looked this good before. Some of the levels just look so amazing. The first underground level with the crystal moving blocks just couldn’t have possibly looked any better, the water levels that aren’t actually underwater are some of the most beautiful Mario levels I’ve ever seen, that one level that’s a painting, this list goes on and on. Sure it’s nothing in comparison to Mario Kart 8, but is great nonetheless.

    Mario’s controls could use some improving, but are still excellent. The New Super Mario games made the controls feel exactly how you would expect the godsend that are Mario’s 3D to feel in 2D. The triple jump is so nice to land trying to get that flagpole 1-UP and I can barely even remember 2D Mario without the ground pound. When using a Wii Remote I don’t have to hit all the buttons on the controller if I forgot a button because everything just makes sense. I love moving around in this game.

    There aren’t many new power ups, but the power ups we do have are some pretty great stuff. In Super Mario Galaxy they absolutely butchered the Fire Flower making it a timed power up, so I’m glad to say that it’s back in action, killing Koopas better than ever. The Ice Flower is a great alternative that doesn’t instantly kill the enemy, but can kill those pesky Dry Bones you might be having trouble with. The brand new Acorn power up gives you the ability to transform into Flying Squirrel Mario. It gives you the ability to glide and do a huge second jump. Oh yeah, it can also cling to walls for a short period of time. There’s also the penguin power up, which is just the Ice Flower but you can slide on your stomach.

    The story is nothing much, as the tradition goes with Mario games, but it has more depth than the rest of the 2D Mario games. Once again Bowser kidnaps Princess Peach, but this time Bowser takes over Peach’s Castle and sends Mario flying all the way to Peach’s Castle to save her. Over time Kamek enshrouds the castle with fog, and it is cover in a tornado of fog by the time you get there. When you go into the fog the water surrounding the castle is now lava and the music is a remixed Peach’s Castle Theme from Mario 64 which is a nice touch. The bosses are the Koopalings once again and are set up in the same order as Super Mario Bros 3, Boom Boom and all. It even plays a remix of the Fortress Battle Theme from Mario 3.

    I know what you’re thinking. “If you liked the game so much, why did you give it an 8 instead of a 10?” Well, there are still things I dislike about it. World 1 is just full of boring grass levels that look the same, it has the same style as the last three 2D Marios (albeit with HD graphics this time), it has the same bubbly music, a similar lackluster story, and only brought a small amount of new content from the Wii Mario. I really wish this wasn’t the case because I like this game so much, but sadly, it was. This game could’ve improved so much if it had some new style, but otherwise it’s still a great game and you should definitely give it a shot if you enjoy 2D platformers.
    Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2019
    8
    While 60$ might turn you away, the game is a blast to play. The controls are tight, the level design is great, and the inclusion of Super Luigi U is a nice bonus. I say it easily worth it's 60$.
  3. Feb 7, 2019
    8
    TLDR; This is a Mario game and I'm a sucker for Mario. If you have kids this is a great buy. If you are looking for nostalgia its a great buy. Looking for more after Mario Odyssey.... keep waiting

    Full Review; I like this game. Its a fun 2d Mario with some extras to make it relevant in this age. There are two new characters. Nabbit and Toadette. Nabbit is completely immune to enemies
    TLDR; This is a Mario game and I'm a sucker for Mario. If you have kids this is a great buy. If you are looking for nostalgia its a great buy. Looking for more after Mario Odyssey.... keep waiting

    Full Review; I like this game. Its a fun 2d Mario with some extras to make it relevant in this age. There are two new characters. Nabbit and Toadette. Nabbit is completely immune to enemies and doesn't take power ups. This makes it a great character for a new gamer. Toadette is an "easier" character as she has a double jump to get her out of tricky situations. Think Girlfriend/Boyfriend who isn't good at video games. These twists make it an enjoyable 2D Mario Experience. One final note. Luigi mode. This is a more advanced cut throat mode for super skilled players. Levels are the same but time is shorten and coins are in different areas. It gives the game.... a little spice. A spicy meatball

    #JonTonReview
    Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2019
    8
    Never had a Wii U so got a chance to play New Super Mario Bros U Deluxe on my Switch. Played coop with my wife on the Mario levels and solo on Luigi.

    Pros: - Classic 2D Mario with everything you'd expect - Includes both Mario and Luigi (DLC) levels - Luigi - had fun getting 3 coins on all levels and the shorter levels were interesting Cons: - Mario - the coop was frustrating
    Never had a Wii U so got a chance to play New Super Mario Bros U Deluxe on my Switch. Played coop with my wife on the Mario levels and solo on Luigi.

    Pros:
    - Classic 2D Mario with everything you'd expect
    - Includes both Mario and Luigi (DLC) levels
    - Luigi - had fun getting 3 coins on all levels and the shorter levels were interesting

    Cons:
    - Mario - the coop was frustrating playing with a casual gamer, lots of deaths by coop
    - Didn't really make good use of powerups or add anything new gameplay wise
    - Ability to save only after beating a castle is dumb
    Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2019
    10
    This is great, just like the other classic games in tradition, it is a good game for casual entertainment
  6. Jan 30, 2019
    8
    I was honestly expecting a literal NEW Super Mario Bros. for the Switch, but I guess this will do. I haven't finished the Wii U version so I thought I might as well buy this game, plus it's a standard Mario game I can play while on the toilet taking a dump. I can see why the price is high and why they ported this game, many people think the game isn't worth 60$ but they don't understandI was honestly expecting a literal NEW Super Mario Bros. for the Switch, but I guess this will do. I haven't finished the Wii U version so I thought I might as well buy this game, plus it's a standard Mario game I can play while on the toilet taking a dump. I can see why the price is high and why they ported this game, many people think the game isn't worth 60$ but they don't understand it's a two in one deluxe port, New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe, and New Super Luigi U. They ported this game because it is very underrated and deserves more attention and it did so. It's a great game for the family! It's one of my favorite 2D linear platform games, but I'm not a big fan of linear games, I'd rather explore a 3D world like Mario Odyssey. Also, the title for this game sucks, but it's funny, my friend and I always make jokes about it. Another complaint is that even though you have Mario, Luigi, and Yellow Toad with a pallet swap with Blue Toad, there are also Toadette and Nabbit which makes the game easier and unfair for the people playing, because you can't do normal difficulty with 4 people because only one person can be Toad with a choice of any color along with Mario and Luigi but that last person gets the unlucky pick with being an "easier" character. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2019
    10
    Un port Precioso, si NO te lo pillaste para la wii u esta vercion switch tienes que tenerla, si lo jugaste en wii u la misma switch te ofrece la opción portable que le agrega mucho esta vercion.
  8. Jan 23, 2019
    10
    I speedrunned this on my YouTube channel. I enjoyed every single minute of it. I'm so glad that they kept everything from the original. The controls are amazing and definitely the best 2D controls of the New Series. I'm glad you can finally start the game with Nabbit, which makes it much easier to speedrun. Best 2D game of all time, for me that is. Thank you, Nintendo.
  9. Jan 31, 2019
    8
    the game is cute as hell and pretty fun. It was about time we got a sidescroller Mario game on the switch even if its just a Wii u port.
  10. Jan 12, 2019
    8
    I have played the original version of this game on the Wii U and enjoyed it then. And playing it again years later is still fun. If you owned just New Super Mario Bros U and not the Luigi one, this is worth it for you but double dipping in this game is worth it for me. There are other platformers that are more worth it like Celeste and Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze but this isI have played the original version of this game on the Wii U and enjoyed it then. And playing it again years later is still fun. If you owned just New Super Mario Bros U and not the Luigi one, this is worth it for you but double dipping in this game is worth it for me. There are other platformers that are more worth it like Celeste and Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze but this is still a casual experience but rewards veterans of the series like myself. I would say its worth it for people that didn't get the original and somewhat worth it if you already owned it. Expand
  11. Jan 15, 2019
    8
    This was one of the few WiiU titles I did not play and I have to say that I'm enjoying it, it does not have anything mindblowing or spectacular but it's enjoyable. Sometimes that's all I really need to enjoy a game.
  12. Jan 11, 2019
    8
    New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe is a most have for all those who skipped the Wii U version. Played it with my friends. This game is one of the best 2D platformers for Nintendo Switch. RIP Bowsette.

    8/10
  13. Jan 11, 2019
    8
    What can I say, if you played the Wii U version, than you know what this is all about. I have played it on the Wii U and I played about 5 hours of it today on the Switch. Same game, but still fun for the most part. Some levels are easy and some levels are challenging especially if you try to collect the 3 big coins. I do kind of wish the 2D Mario games would disappear, but I am aWhat can I say, if you played the Wii U version, than you know what this is all about. I have played it on the Wii U and I played about 5 hours of it today on the Switch. Same game, but still fun for the most part. Some levels are easy and some levels are challenging especially if you try to collect the 3 big coins. I do kind of wish the 2D Mario games would disappear, but I am a sucker for Mario, so I had to get it again. I cannot justify the $60 price tag. This game should've been $40 since it is pretty much a port of a 7 year old game. The challenges are probably the best part of the game (speed run, coin collector, etc.). If you love Mario and are a fan of side scrollers, and if you never played it on the Wii U, then play this game. If you have already played it and aren't a fan of Mario and side scrollers, then skip it. Simple enough. Expand
  14. Jan 19, 2019
    8
    I play this game with my 7 yr old son as mulitplayer, we never had Wii U so its all pretty much new to us.
    I can see why and understand why people wouldnt want this if they already had similar game before.
    I always think nintendo switch games are over priced, if it wasnt for my son i would'ave waited until it got bit cheaper. On difficult levels i noticed you get a green exclamation
    I play this game with my 7 yr old son as mulitplayer, we never had Wii U so its all pretty much new to us.
    I can see why and understand why people wouldnt want this if they already had similar game before.
    I always think nintendo switch games are over priced, if it wasnt for my son i would'ave waited until it got bit cheaper.
    On difficult levels i noticed you get a green exclamation mark, where luigi will show u how to finish the level and at the end, u can choose to proceed to next level without finishing it yourself or you can retry to do it again.
    Expand
  15. Jan 11, 2019
    6
    NSMB U Deluxe is a soulless rehash of an already underwhelming game. Also, what happened to Boost Rush mode? Also, why is the air spin the same button as the jump? Also, why can't you port the data from the Wii U version if you already owned it? This means I have to pay $60 for basically the same game. Also, Peachette? Seriously Nintendo?
  16. Jan 11, 2019
    10
    It's a wonderful option if you didn't play this game before. Great platformer, lots of secrets, different environments, great for multiplayer because it's really fun.
  17. Jan 13, 2019
    8
    This is another Switch port of a Wii U game (I do hope that this is the last one, as it's getting a bit excessive in my opinion). Thankfully, it's also another port of a good game.

    New Super Mario Bros. U remains a great platformer, and this "deluxe" release re-affirms that. This version includes the New Super Luigi U DLC, as well as new playable character Toadette. The new Super Crown
    This is another Switch port of a Wii U game (I do hope that this is the last one, as it's getting a bit excessive in my opinion). Thankfully, it's also another port of a good game.

    New Super Mario Bros. U remains a great platformer, and this "deluxe" release re-affirms that. This version includes the New Super Luigi U DLC, as well as new playable character Toadette. The new Super Crown power-up can be exclusively used on her, transforming her into "Peachette", who can float, use an extra midair jump, and more.

    Both Toadette and Nabbit (the latter also being playable in the New Super Mario Bros. U story mode levels for the first time) seem to be aimed at new players. Nabbit in particular doesn't take damage from enemies and is only knocked back by stronger ones.

    The extras (where Miis are playable) are nice if you're looking for something different from the main story.

    New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe is not the best Switch platformer, but it's still great and some fun can be had. If you haven't got the original, it's great value for money.

    ...I just hope that there won't be any more Wii U games ported to Switch. The ones I've played are fun, but more new ideas would be beneficial.
    Expand
  18. Jan 11, 2019
    10
    It is a clear 10/10 game. Lets be honest players did not have the chance to play it on Wii U, and man... on switch playing it anywhere is really lovable! Great 2d Mario, great instant buy
  19. Jan 17, 2019
    10
    Ignore the "bad ratings". People are just complaining to complain.

    The game is perfectly fine, great side scroller and amazingly fun with Couch Co-Op up to 4 people.
  20. Jan 14, 2019
    9
    Este juego es excelente, quien dice lo contrario perdio la magia de jugar videojuegos o ni siquiera lo ha jugado, es muy entrenido y pienso que a todos los que como yo no compraron la Wii U deben darnos la oportunidad de jugar todos los grandes lanzamientos de esa consola que nunca me acabo de convencer. El proximo que espero es Super Mario 3D World.
  21. Jan 13, 2019
    8
    New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe is a quite decent game with a good amount of levels (more than 160) that have good designs, and a lot of secrets to be found. However, it's a port of a game that didn't innovate much when it was released in Wii U a few years ago, and it doesn't include enough changes to deserve the name "Deluxe". The best thing about the game is that it includes the levelsNew Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe is a quite decent game with a good amount of levels (more than 160) that have good designs, and a lot of secrets to be found. However, it's a port of a game that didn't innovate much when it was released in Wii U a few years ago, and it doesn't include enough changes to deserve the name "Deluxe". The best thing about the game is that it includes the levels from New Super Luigi U, which is an amazing game, quite challenging and with very fast-paced and well-made levels. But again, you could already get the Wii U version with it, and at a much lower price.

    Still, it's a good platform experience in a portable console; and quite recommended for those that didn't own a Wii U.
    Expand
  22. Feb 9, 2019
    6
    NSMBUD is absolutely a video game.

    I think there's something detrimental about a studio that pioneered the 2D platformer using their number one mascot to make games that come across as so unambitious. The game works perfectly. There is a wide variety of levels and elements that definitely make it a video game. I just hope that all the talent and experience that goes into making these
    NSMBUD is absolutely a video game.

    I think there's something detrimental about a studio that pioneered the 2D platformer using their number one mascot to make games that come across as so unambitious. The game works perfectly. There is a wide variety of levels and elements that definitely make it a video game. I just hope that all the talent and experience that goes into making these titles can be given something different to work on.

    If you've played a Mario platformer, this game is another one. Nothing screams "Look at this!" or "Are we having a blast yet?" There are plenty of secrets, most of which are just hidden behind fake walls meaning you'll spend a good amount of time running into every surface if you want to 100% everything.
    Otherwise, the levels are all forgettable and straightforward. The only one that really stands out is the Van Gogh one, in part because its just frustrating to see an idea with potential to actually make this stand out tossed away after a single level. That level in particular was shown off in all kinds of advertisements, and while it's technically not false advertising to show it alongside the other level themes you'll be seeing so much more of, it does feel duplicitous to include it in the marketing. It also feels like the team marketing the game realized how generic it would all look if they didn't show off that level. Maybe there's a deeper problem there.

    The story doesn't matter, the music is bouncy but unremarkable, the gameplay is fine. It's a very accessible game, offering in additional easy mode characters for this port and including the Luigi U levels to offer an extra challenge to players who want to put their Mario skills to the test. Still, even with the 'second' game offered in this release, I felt like the 60 dollar price was too steep, not because I don't want to pay full price for a port, but because this experience didn't feel as valuable as almost any of the dozens of other full price titles I bought for the switch.

    If you want a Mario game to just sit back and veg out with, enjoy. If you want to have fun with the multiplayer, it's fine and reasonably chaotic to put a little more life into the gameplay. If you're wondering if this game is worth buying, it probably isn't. It is, however, I cannot deny, a video game.
    Expand
  23. Feb 8, 2019
    6
    This is a good game however it feels a bit dull compared to the many platformers that have been released these couple of years. I'm also a bit angry because they advertised the Luigi u expansion as new levels. They are however the exact same levels as the main game only a bit more difficult. For me that feels like false advertising.

    The frustrating part with this game are the ghost
    This is a good game however it feels a bit dull compared to the many platformers that have been released these couple of years. I'm also a bit angry because they advertised the Luigi u expansion as new levels. They are however the exact same levels as the main game only a bit more difficult. For me that feels like false advertising.

    The frustrating part with this game are the ghost levels. To beat them you have to find all the hidden doors and that is the problem. Most of these doors are placed at such stupid places like invissible walls. After a while its so boring. The new power upgrade is lazy. The controls for baby yoshi are just annoying, and therefore I rarely used them. Overall I didn't like the game that much. If feels a bit blant after playing donkey kong tropical freeze, which had far better gameplay, music, bosses and backgrounds.
    Expand
  24. Jan 12, 2019
    2
    It's just the same thing all over again.

    There's not anything that makes the title look like "Deluxe", it's only that it's the same New Super Mario Bros. U, only that it includes 2 new characters, Toadette and Nabbit, who is a playable character in New Super Luigi. U. And that the game is adapted to the Switch mechanics, which is good. But otherwise, it's the same thing, nothing is
    It's just the same thing all over again.

    There's not anything that makes the title look like "Deluxe", it's only that it's the same New Super Mario Bros. U, only that it includes 2 new characters, Toadette and Nabbit, who is a playable character in New Super Luigi. U.

    And that the game is adapted to the Switch mechanics, which is good.
    But otherwise, it's the same thing, nothing is changed.

    To be honest, Nintendo has to stop with this Deluxe thing, the only good Deluxe game is Mario Kart 8, the rest is ****, make new ideas, instead of making lazy remakes of games that were popular before the console died.

    Oh and to add, this is like the Super Mario All-Stars port to the Wii, it's the same goddamm thing, except for the new characters and the control mechanics.
    Expand
  25. Jan 11, 2019
    3
    This is a port of an easy and boring game made for children from a series that panders to the 2D nostalgia fanboys 'nuff said.
    What's more insulting is the fact it's a damn port instead of being a new game. Also since we got two new uninteresting playable characters, why can't we get Wario, Daisy, Waluigi or even DK? Even Super Mario Run the mobile app has more playable characters and it
    This is a port of an easy and boring game made for children from a series that panders to the 2D nostalgia fanboys 'nuff said.
    What's more insulting is the fact it's a damn port instead of being a new game. Also since we got two new uninteresting playable characters, why can't we get Wario, Daisy, Waluigi or even DK? Even Super Mario Run the mobile app has more playable characters and it includes Peach as a playable character.
    Avoid at all costs!
    Expand
  26. Jan 11, 2019
    2
    - the game is "open world" and uses pipe cannons to travel between different worlds.
    - for some reason you can select the world you are currently in in the pipe cannon and it will shoot you to the same spot https://i.am-a.ninja/611c49.mp4
    - to travel between worlds, you can no longer hit a button and select a world, no you either have to walk it or go to a pipe at the start of each world
    - the game is "open world" and uses pipe cannons to travel between different worlds.
    - for some reason you can select the world you are currently in in the pipe cannon and it will shoot you to the same spot https://i.am-a.ninja/611c49.mp4
    - to travel between worlds, you can no longer hit a button and select a world, no you either have to walk it or go to a pipe at the start of each world to fast travel to another world

    - the music in the overworld is super repetitive and doesn't actually change per-world like previous games. just the instruments change. real original. https://i.am-a.ninja/18aefc.mp4

    - pressing the JUMP button in the air now does a twirl for some reason and it's bloody annoying. one example of its obnoxiousness is when you're trying to walljump and you accidentally press jump a *bit* too early, mario will twirl instead of walljumping which can lead to death in a LOT of situations. https://i.am-a.ninja/03a5a5.mp4

    - there are now 5 ways to twirl: a, b, shake joycon, r and zr. sakurai's been outplayed with his default 3 jump methods (x button, y button, tap stick up)

    - with that new rippoff cape item, which the game has not actually stated the proper name for so i will be referencing it like that, to glide you must hold jump, however, the jump button is ALSO the "twirl" button, meaning before gliding you MUST twirl completely destroying mario's momentum before mario will start to glide. so if you let go of glide so you can fall for a second, you'll have to twirl before being able to glide again, really making it painful to stop and resume gliding. why. https://i.am-a.ninja/d09fd6.mp4

    - now i think the reason why jump also twirls now is because R, ZR, and shake joycon now do this weird jumpy thing with the new ripoff cape item that gives mario more height, but this new move with this new item means that R, ZR and shake joycon can no longer be used to twirl only while using this item. to still allow twirling, i think nintendo made the jump button twirl with this item, and to keep the game consistent, they allow the jump button to also twirl.

    - these gliding racoon things are literally the worst thing ever. they just fly in at the speed of sound and destroy you. no audio or visual cue, just less than half a second later after appearing on the screen whilst running one will fly into you and hit you. now you might say, "oh boy how fast can they be?" FASTER THAN MARIO HIMSELF. YOU CAN'T CHASE THEM EVEN WHILE SPRINTING. and even if one of them just *happens* to hit a wall and slow down, once you bonk one and put it out of its misery, it will drop the item and it'll just roll away and probably off of a cliff because this game is FULL OF THEM. also not to mention they rarely spawn with an item anyway so good luck. (too lazy to record proof but just take my word for it)

    - now in mario bros wii, there would be obstacles in the overworld, and that was entirely fine. albeit a bit annoying, but not rigged. they were simple: pop all of the balloons while avoiding goombas and stuff. but in this game ohohohohoho you're in for it. that's right the VERY FIRST overworld obstacle in the game puts you in a small level, with 3 piranha plants, about 50 seconds on the clock... and nothing else. that's right you have to KILL 3 piranha plants, and if you don't have an item, well it becomes a lot harder. after a few seconds a floating item box will fly past the screen, but be careful, if you miss the item box, you'll have to wait for it to come back again! inside this floating item box is a STAR. you have roughly 10 seconds to kill piranha plants that will go in and out of those pipes, if you don't kill them all before your star runs out then you have to wait for the item box, again, and pray that time doesn't run out while you wait. https://i.am-a.ninja/1779cf.mp4
    - if you do actually manage to beat the piranha plants, a reward chest will spawn, yay! but guess whatif you take like more than 30 seconds or so to collect the items from the chest, guess what happens? NABBIT COMES IN AND STEALS THEM FORCIBLY ENDING THE LEVEL WITH NO REWARDS. IM NOT JOKING WHATSOEVER. https://i.am-a.ninja/4ba803.mp4
    Expand
  27. Jan 13, 2019
    4
    I loved the original on the Wii U and this is pretty much the same, except for one new character and the "Luigi" DLC already being included. Seeing Nintendo charge full price for a game released in 2012 is scummy though, especially when you can still get the Wii U version for 1/3 of the price.

    There are no new levels added and the graphics aren't exactly impressive enough for people to
    I loved the original on the Wii U and this is pretty much the same, except for one new character and the "Luigi" DLC already being included. Seeing Nintendo charge full price for a game released in 2012 is scummy though, especially when you can still get the Wii U version for 1/3 of the price.

    There are no new levels added and the graphics aren't exactly impressive enough for people to upgrade to 1080p (The original was 720p). The only 3D models are the characters themselves and a few objects, the rest is in 2D. If you want Wii U ports that actually add new stuff to the games, get "Pokken Tournament DX", "Captain Toad" or "Mario Kart Deluxe". This and the Donkey Kong game are just lazy ports made to get a quick buck.

    And no, just because a lot of people never had a Wii U doesn't excuse it for being "new to them". It's still an old game and should be sold for at least half the price.
    Expand
  28. Jan 17, 2019
    3
    If you have the wii u version DO NOT GET THIS GAME. It literally is the same game as the wii u counter part with what feels like little to no effort in this port. It looks and feels exactly the same as the wii u title and they add toadette as an easy mode in an already easy game. The lack of quality is especially noticable when you compare it to donkey kong tropical freeze. Its literally aIf you have the wii u version DO NOT GET THIS GAME. It literally is the same game as the wii u counter part with what feels like little to no effort in this port. It looks and feels exactly the same as the wii u title and they add toadette as an easy mode in an already easy game. The lack of quality is especially noticable when you compare it to donkey kong tropical freeze. Its literally a cashgrab. Its a mediocre mario game as best and at worst its a souless cashgrab. Id say get mario odyssey instead at least your getting your moneys worth and its a way better mario game. I think this one is a big skip Expand
  29. Jan 14, 2019
    2
    Mediocre game and not worth the cost, this is really getting old. This is nothing more than a port from the original Wii U game and comes back at full price no less which is insane. Nintendo is really going all in for gouging people for ports/remasters in order to supplement their library, lack of AAA games available for the switch and full price remaster/ports are going to hurt them inMediocre game and not worth the cost, this is really getting old. This is nothing more than a port from the original Wii U game and comes back at full price no less which is insane. Nintendo is really going all in for gouging people for ports/remasters in order to supplement their library, lack of AAA games available for the switch and full price remaster/ports are going to hurt them in the long run. Expand
  30. Jan 11, 2019
    3
    It's a port from a 6 year old WiiU game that's just a refined version of a 12 year old NDS/9 year old Wii game. It's not bad but hardly the best platformer on the Switch and not worth $60. I highly recommend DKC: Tropical Freeze over this. Even though it's also a port, it offers far more variety, is not annoyingly sugary cute, has much better music, and overall it seems like they put a lotIt's a port from a 6 year old WiiU game that's just a refined version of a 12 year old NDS/9 year old Wii game. It's not bad but hardly the best platformer on the Switch and not worth $60. I highly recommend DKC: Tropical Freeze over this. Even though it's also a port, it offers far more variety, is not annoyingly sugary cute, has much better music, and overall it seems like they put a lot more effort into it. I would have much preferred they ported Super Mario 3D World, retired NSMB, and make a whole new 2D Mario for Switch, taking inspiration from better platformers (like DKC). But Nintendo is a business and porting old games is a lot cheaper, especially if they know their fans will buy whatever they release at full price. Expand
  31. Jan 13, 2019
    7
    Graphics are inconsistent, sometimes it looks good, sometimes rather ugly. Like a flash game like some people have mentioned. Multiplayer with over 2 people is very unplayable. There is a small sweet spot in the middle of the screen where you want to be, but when everyone is there you just bump each other to death. It's just not designed for more than 1-2 player.

    The game save system I
    Graphics are inconsistent, sometimes it looks good, sometimes rather ugly. Like a flash game like some people have mentioned. Multiplayer with over 2 people is very unplayable. There is a small sweet spot in the middle of the screen where you want to be, but when everyone is there you just bump each other to death. It's just not designed for more than 1-2 player.

    The game save system I don't comprehend. The need to limit saves to just after boss levels makes no sense at all. Adds nothing except the opportunity to lose progress. I thought this kind of thinking went extinct decades ago.

    Overall a rather disappointing Mario game. $60 for a 6 year old game is rather steep.
    Expand
  32. Jan 22, 2019
    4
    New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe ist ein Port über den sich nicht Wii U Besitzer erfreuen werden , anderen die das Original besitzen würde ich empfehlen den Port zu vermeiden. Als Port gesehen gibt es nicht viele Neuerung , was ich komisch finde da andere Deluxe-Ports deutlich mehr zu bieten hatten als das Wii U Original. Außer Peachette (Blöder Name) den Neuen Charakter hat der Port nichtNew Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe ist ein Port über den sich nicht Wii U Besitzer erfreuen werden , anderen die das Original besitzen würde ich empfehlen den Port zu vermeiden. Als Port gesehen gibt es nicht viele Neuerung , was ich komisch finde da andere Deluxe-Ports deutlich mehr zu bieten hatten als das Wii U Original. Außer Peachette (Blöder Name) den Neuen Charakter hat der Port nicht viel neues zu bieten , sei es in der Grafik oder des Inhalt. Für 30 Euro würde ich auch Wii U Besitzern diesen Port Empfehlen , für 60 würde ich aber raten sich eines Neues Switch Spiel zukaufen. Fazit: Gutes Game an sich , aber Schlechter Preis für zu wenig Neues. Expand
  33. Feb 7, 2019
    9
    While it may not quite have as much as it needs to truly qualify as "Deluxe", that doesn't change the fact this is easily the best NSMB to date, as the beefy amount of content, great level design, charming music, awesome boss battles, and overall package makes this one of the best 2D platformers Nintendo has ever made in recent memory, which makes this an absolute no-brainer for SwitchWhile it may not quite have as much as it needs to truly qualify as "Deluxe", that doesn't change the fact this is easily the best NSMB to date, as the beefy amount of content, great level design, charming music, awesome boss battles, and overall package makes this one of the best 2D platformers Nintendo has ever made in recent memory, which makes this an absolute no-brainer for Switch owners who were not able to play the original, as this is the same great game that has everything included, and all of this on the go is just fantastic. Expand
  34. Feb 25, 2019
    4
    This game is just like every other new super mario bros game: bland. Let me explain... This game is often criticized for it's lack of creativity, which is valid, but it's also criticized for being in the 'New' Series. That's not valid. I believe this game deserves a 4 because it has some good gameplay, but has a distinct lack of good or new ideas. The visual style and art is borderlineThis game is just like every other new super mario bros game: bland. Let me explain... This game is often criticized for it's lack of creativity, which is valid, but it's also criticized for being in the 'New' Series. That's not valid. I believe this game deserves a 4 because it has some good gameplay, but has a distinct lack of good or new ideas. The visual style and art is borderline unacceptable for a AAA studio. Looking at a game like Tropical Freeze, we can see just how bad NSMBUD looks. Beyond this, every level in Tropical Freeze tells a story and has a purpose. In NSMBUD, every level feels like a cluster of assets with no rhyme or reason. Basically, every level could be easily created with little though, because of the distinct lack of purpose. There are so many games out there that are simply superior 2d platformers - The Shovel Knight Games (with Co-op); Tropical Freeze (with Co-op); Celeste, and Shovel Knight and Celeste are cheaper as well. If you love NSMB then by all means, enjoy this game, but if you are looking for a good 2d platformer, this is not the place to go. Expand
  35. Jan 22, 2019
    10
    10/10

    Great game to smoke a blunt to a relax, chill man. Game gets the job done, its simple, fun, colorful. If you're gonna **** about buying it again, don't buy it again lol.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 20, 2019
    78
    Classic characters, familiar worlds and epic music – the game is like a portal to 8-bit past of the series. But its strength is also its weakness: New Super Mario doesn't even try to surprise you. [Issue#236, p.48]
  2. Jan 28, 2019
    80
    It’s the best Super Mario 2D experience for more than 25 years and a welcome addition to the Switch’s library. If you’ve not experienced it before then you’ll be in for a treat. Those that purchased this on the Wii U, however, are probably best off avoiding it. For everyone else, it’s a treat.
  3. Jan 25, 2019
    80
    Filled with well over 150 levels between the base game and the New Super Luigi U expansion, there’s more than enough in NSMBU Deluxe to keep players occupied on-the-go or surrounding a big-screen TV.