User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 96
  2. Negative: 31 out of 96
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2019
    8
    I play this game with my 7 yr old son as mulitplayer, we never had Wii U so its all pretty much new to us.
    I can see why and understand why people wouldnt want this if they already had similar game before.
    I always think nintendo switch games are over priced, if it wasnt for my son i would'ave waited until it got bit cheaper. On difficult levels i noticed you get a green exclamation
    I play this game with my 7 yr old son as mulitplayer, we never had Wii U so its all pretty much new to us.
    I can see why and understand why people wouldnt want this if they already had similar game before.
    I always think nintendo switch games are over priced, if it wasnt for my son i would'ave waited until it got bit cheaper.
    On difficult levels i noticed you get a green exclamation mark, where luigi will show u how to finish the level and at the end, u can choose to proceed to next level without finishing it yourself or you can retry to do it again.
    Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2019
    6
    NSMB U Deluxe is a soulless rehash of an already underwhelming game. Also, what happened to Boost Rush mode? Also, why is the air spin the same button as the jump? Also, why can't you port the data from the Wii U version if you already owned it? This means I have to pay $60 for basically the same game. Also, Peachette? Seriously Nintendo?
  3. Jan 12, 2019
    8
    I have played the original version of this game on the Wii U and enjoyed it then. And playing it again years later is still fun. If you owned just New Super Mario Bros U and not the Luigi one, this is worth it for you but double dipping in this game is worth it for me. There are other platformers that are more worth it like Celeste and Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze but this isI have played the original version of this game on the Wii U and enjoyed it then. And playing it again years later is still fun. If you owned just New Super Mario Bros U and not the Luigi one, this is worth it for you but double dipping in this game is worth it for me. There are other platformers that are more worth it like Celeste and Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze but this is still a casual experience but rewards veterans of the series like myself. I would say its worth it for people that didn't get the original and somewhat worth it if you already owned it. Expand
  4. Jan 17, 2019
    3
    If you have the wii u version DO NOT GET THIS GAME. It literally is the same game as the wii u counter part with what feels like little to no effort in this port. It looks and feels exactly the same as the wii u title and they add toadette as an easy mode in an already easy game. The lack of quality is especially noticable when you compare it to donkey kong tropical freeze. Its literally aIf you have the wii u version DO NOT GET THIS GAME. It literally is the same game as the wii u counter part with what feels like little to no effort in this port. It looks and feels exactly the same as the wii u title and they add toadette as an easy mode in an already easy game. The lack of quality is especially noticable when you compare it to donkey kong tropical freeze. Its literally a cashgrab. Its a mediocre mario game as best and at worst its a souless cashgrab. Id say get mario odyssey instead at least your getting your moneys worth and its a way better mario game. I think this one is a big skip Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2019
    9
    Este juego es excelente, quien dice lo contrario perdio la magia de jugar videojuegos o ni siquiera lo ha jugado, es muy entrenido y pienso que a todos los que como yo no compraron la Wii U deben darnos la oportunidad de jugar todos los grandes lanzamientos de esa consola que nunca me acabo de convencer. El proximo que espero es Super Mario 3D World.
  6. Jan 11, 2019
    10
    It is a clear 10/10 game. Lets be honest players did not have the chance to play it on Wii U, and man... on switch playing it anywhere is really lovable! Great 2d Mario, great instant buy
  7. Jan 11, 2019
    10
    It's a wonderful option if you didn't play this game before. Great platformer, lots of secrets, different environments, great for multiplayer because it's really fun.
  8. Jan 11, 2019
    8
    New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe is a most have for all those who skipped the Wii U version. Played it with my friends. This game is one of the best 2D platformers for Nintendo Switch. RIP Bowsette.

    8/10
  9. Jan 13, 2019
    4
    I loved the original on the Wii U and this is pretty much the same, except for one new character and the "Luigi" DLC already being included. Seeing Nintendo charge full price for a game released in 2012 is scummy though, especially when you can still get the Wii U version for 1/3 of the price.

    There are no new levels added and the graphics aren't exactly impressive enough for people to
    I loved the original on the Wii U and this is pretty much the same, except for one new character and the "Luigi" DLC already being included. Seeing Nintendo charge full price for a game released in 2012 is scummy though, especially when you can still get the Wii U version for 1/3 of the price.

    There are no new levels added and the graphics aren't exactly impressive enough for people to upgrade to 1080p (The original was 720p). The only 3D models are the characters themselves and a few objects, the rest is in 2D. If you want Wii U ports that actually add new stuff to the games, get "Pokken Tournament DX", "Captain Toad" or "Mario Kart Deluxe". This and the Donkey Kong game are just lazy ports made to get a quick buck.

    And no, just because a lot of people never had a Wii U doesn't excuse it for being "new to them". It's still an old game and should be sold for at least half the price.
    Expand
  10. Jan 13, 2019
    8
    This is another Switch port of a Wii U game (I do hope that this is the last one, as it's getting a bit excessive in my opinion). Thankfully, it's also another port of a good game.

    New Super Mario Bros. U remains a great platformer, and this "deluxe" release re-affirms that. This version includes the New Super Luigi U DLC, as well as new playable character Toadette. The new Super Crown
    This is another Switch port of a Wii U game (I do hope that this is the last one, as it's getting a bit excessive in my opinion). Thankfully, it's also another port of a good game.

    New Super Mario Bros. U remains a great platformer, and this "deluxe" release re-affirms that. This version includes the New Super Luigi U DLC, as well as new playable character Toadette. The new Super Crown power-up can be exclusively used on her, transforming her into "Peachette", who can float, use an extra midair jump, and more.

    Both Toadette and Nabbit (the latter also being playable in the New Super Mario Bros. U story mode levels for the first time) seem to be aimed at new players. Nabbit in particular doesn't take damage from enemies and is only knocked back by stronger ones.

    The extras (where Miis are playable) are nice if you're looking for something different from the main story.

    New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe is not the best Switch platformer, but it's still great and some fun can be had. If you haven't got the original, it's great value for money.

    ...I just hope that there won't be any more Wii U games ported to Switch. The ones I've played are fun, but more new ideas would be beneficial.
    Expand
  11. Jan 11, 2019
    10
    While it may not quite have as much as it needs to truly quality as "Deluxe", that doesn't change the fact this is easily the best NSMB to date, as the beefy amount of content, great level design, charming music, awesome boss battles, and overall package makes this one of the best 2D platformers Nintendo has ever made in recent memory, which makes this an absolute no-brainer for SwitchWhile it may not quite have as much as it needs to truly quality as "Deluxe", that doesn't change the fact this is easily the best NSMB to date, as the beefy amount of content, great level design, charming music, awesome boss battles, and overall package makes this one of the best 2D platformers Nintendo has ever made in recent memory, which makes this an absolute no-brainer for Switch owners who were not able to play the original, as this is the same great game that has everything included, and all of this on the go is just fantastic. Expand
  12. Jan 11, 2019
    3
    This is a port of an easy and boring game made for children from a series that panders to the 2D nostalgia fanboys 'nuff said.
    What's more insulting is the fact it's a damn port instead of being a new game. Also since we got two new uninteresting playable characters, why can't we get Wario, Daisy, Waluigi or even DK? Even Super Mario Run the mobile app has more playable characters and it
    This is a port of an easy and boring game made for children from a series that panders to the 2D nostalgia fanboys 'nuff said.
    What's more insulting is the fact it's a damn port instead of being a new game. Also since we got two new uninteresting playable characters, why can't we get Wario, Daisy, Waluigi or even DK? Even Super Mario Run the mobile app has more playable characters and it includes Peach as a playable character.
    Avoid at all costs!
    Expand
  13. Jan 11, 2019
    2
    - the game is "open world" and uses pipe cannons to travel between different worlds.
    - for some reason you can select the world you are currently in in the pipe cannon and it will shoot you to the same spot https://i.am-a.ninja/611c49.mp4
    - to travel between worlds, you can no longer hit a button and select a world, no you either have to walk it or go to a pipe at the start of each world
    - the game is "open world" and uses pipe cannons to travel between different worlds.
    - for some reason you can select the world you are currently in in the pipe cannon and it will shoot you to the same spot https://i.am-a.ninja/611c49.mp4
    - to travel between worlds, you can no longer hit a button and select a world, no you either have to walk it or go to a pipe at the start of each world to fast travel to another world

    - the music in the overworld is super repetitive and doesn't actually change per-world like previous games. just the instruments change. real original. https://i.am-a.ninja/18aefc.mp4

    - pressing the JUMP button in the air now does a twirl for some reason and it's bloody annoying. one example of its obnoxiousness is when you're trying to walljump and you accidentally press jump a *bit* too early, mario will twirl instead of walljumping which can lead to death in a LOT of situations. https://i.am-a.ninja/03a5a5.mp4

    - there are now 5 ways to twirl: a, b, shake joycon, r and zr. sakurai's been outplayed with his default 3 jump methods (x button, y button, tap stick up)

    - with that new rippoff cape item, which the game has not actually stated the proper name for so i will be referencing it like that, to glide you must hold jump, however, the jump button is ALSO the "twirl" button, meaning before gliding you MUST twirl completely destroying mario's momentum before mario will start to glide. so if you let go of glide so you can fall for a second, you'll have to twirl before being able to glide again, really making it painful to stop and resume gliding. why. https://i.am-a.ninja/d09fd6.mp4

    - now i think the reason why jump also twirls now is because R, ZR, and shake joycon now do this weird jumpy thing with the new ripoff cape item that gives mario more height, but this new move with this new item means that R, ZR and shake joycon can no longer be used to twirl only while using this item. to still allow twirling, i think nintendo made the jump button twirl with this item, and to keep the game consistent, they allow the jump button to also twirl.

    - these gliding racoon things are literally the worst thing ever. they just fly in at the speed of sound and destroy you. no audio or visual cue, just less than half a second later after appearing on the screen whilst running one will fly into you and hit you. now you might say, "oh boy how fast can they be?" FASTER THAN MARIO HIMSELF. YOU CAN'T CHASE THEM EVEN WHILE SPRINTING. and even if one of them just *happens* to hit a wall and slow down, once you bonk one and put it out of its misery, it will drop the item and it'll just roll away and probably off of a cliff because this game is FULL OF THEM. also not to mention they rarely spawn with an item anyway so good luck. (too lazy to record proof but just take my word for it)

    - now in mario bros wii, there would be obstacles in the overworld, and that was entirely fine. albeit a bit annoying, but not rigged. they were simple: pop all of the balloons while avoiding goombas and stuff. but in this game ohohohohoho you're in for it. that's right the VERY FIRST overworld obstacle in the game puts you in a small level, with 3 piranha plants, about 50 seconds on the clock... and nothing else. that's right you have to KILL 3 piranha plants, and if you don't have an item, well it becomes a lot harder. after a few seconds a floating item box will fly past the screen, but be careful, if you miss the item box, you'll have to wait for it to come back again! inside this floating item box is a STAR. you have roughly 10 seconds to kill piranha plants that will go in and out of those pipes, if you don't kill them all before your star runs out then you have to wait for the item box, again, and pray that time doesn't run out while you wait. https://i.am-a.ninja/1779cf.mp4
    - if you do actually manage to beat the piranha plants, a reward chest will spawn, yay! but guess whatif you take like more than 30 seconds or so to collect the items from the chest, guess what happens? NABBIT COMES IN AND STEALS THEM FORCIBLY ENDING THE LEVEL WITH NO REWARDS. IM NOT JOKING WHATSOEVER. https://i.am-a.ninja/4ba803.mp4
    Expand
  14. Jan 12, 2019
    2
    It's just the same thing all over again.

    There's not anything that makes the title look like "Deluxe", it's only that it's the same New Super Mario Bros. U, only that it includes 2 new characters, Toadette and Nabbit, who is a playable character in New Super Luigi. U. And that the game is adapted to the Switch mechanics, which is good. But otherwise, it's the same thing, nothing is
    It's just the same thing all over again.

    There's not anything that makes the title look like "Deluxe", it's only that it's the same New Super Mario Bros. U, only that it includes 2 new characters, Toadette and Nabbit, who is a playable character in New Super Luigi. U.

    And that the game is adapted to the Switch mechanics, which is good.
    But otherwise, it's the same thing, nothing is changed.

    To be honest, Nintendo has to stop with this Deluxe thing, the only good Deluxe game is Mario Kart 8, the rest is ****, make new ideas, instead of making lazy remakes of games that were popular before the console died.

    Oh and to add, this is like the Super Mario All-Stars port to the Wii, it's the same goddamm thing, except for the new characters and the control mechanics.
    Expand
  15. Jan 17, 2019
    10
    Ignore the "bad ratings". People are just complaining to complain.

    The game is perfectly fine, great side scroller and amazingly fun with Couch Co-Op up to 4 people.
  16. Jan 11, 2019
    8
    What can I say, if you played the Wii U version, than you know what this is all about. I have played it on the Wii U and I played about 5 hours of it today on the Switch. Same game, but still fun for the most part. Some levels are easy and some levels are challenging especially if you try to collect the 3 big coins. I do kind of wish the 2D Mario games would disappear, but I am aWhat can I say, if you played the Wii U version, than you know what this is all about. I have played it on the Wii U and I played about 5 hours of it today on the Switch. Same game, but still fun for the most part. Some levels are easy and some levels are challenging especially if you try to collect the 3 big coins. I do kind of wish the 2D Mario games would disappear, but I am a sucker for Mario, so I had to get it again. I cannot justify the $60 price tag. This game should've been $40 since it is pretty much a port of a 7 year old game. The challenges are probably the best part of the game (speed run, coin collector, etc.). If you love Mario and are a fan of side scrollers, and if you never played it on the Wii U, then play this game. If you have already played it and aren't a fan of Mario and side scrollers, then skip it. Simple enough. Expand
  17. Jan 14, 2019
    2
    Mediocre game and not worth the cost, this is really getting old. This is nothing more than a port from the original Wii U game and comes back at full price no less which is insane. Nintendo is really going all in for gouging people for ports/remasters in order to supplement their library, lack of AAA games available for the switch and full price remaster/ports are going to hurt them inMediocre game and not worth the cost, this is really getting old. This is nothing more than a port from the original Wii U game and comes back at full price no less which is insane. Nintendo is really going all in for gouging people for ports/remasters in order to supplement their library, lack of AAA games available for the switch and full price remaster/ports are going to hurt them in the long run. Expand
  18. Jan 11, 2019
    3
    It's a port from a 6 year old WiiU game that's just a refined version of a 12 year old NDS/9 year old Wii game. It's not bad but hardly the best platformer on the Switch and not worth $60. I highly recommend DKC: Tropical Freeze over this. Even though it's also a port, it offers far more variety, is not annoyingly sugary cute, has much better music, and overall it seems like they put a lotIt's a port from a 6 year old WiiU game that's just a refined version of a 12 year old NDS/9 year old Wii game. It's not bad but hardly the best platformer on the Switch and not worth $60. I highly recommend DKC: Tropical Freeze over this. Even though it's also a port, it offers far more variety, is not annoyingly sugary cute, has much better music, and overall it seems like they put a lot more effort into it. I would have much preferred they ported Super Mario 3D World, retired NSMB, and make a whole new 2D Mario for Switch, taking inspiration from better platformers (like DKC). But Nintendo is a business and porting old games is a lot cheaper, especially if they know their fans will buy whatever they release at full price. Expand
  19. Jan 13, 2019
    8
    New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe is a quite decent game with a good amount of levels (more than 160) that have good designs, and a lot of secrets to be found. However, it's a port of a game that didn't innovate much when it was released in Wii U a few years ago, and it doesn't include enough changes to deserve the name "Deluxe". The best thing about the game is that it includes the levelsNew Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe is a quite decent game with a good amount of levels (more than 160) that have good designs, and a lot of secrets to be found. However, it's a port of a game that didn't innovate much when it was released in Wii U a few years ago, and it doesn't include enough changes to deserve the name "Deluxe". The best thing about the game is that it includes the levels from New Super Luigi U, which is an amazing game, quite challenging and with very fast-paced and well-made levels. But again, you could already get the Wii U version with it, and at a much lower price.

    Still, it's a good platform experience in a portable console; and quite recommended for those that didn't own a Wii U.
    Expand
  20. Jan 18, 2019
    0
    Another awful Nintendo game! Seems to be a trend for the past 15 years for Nintendone
  21. Jan 13, 2019
    7
    Graphics are inconsistent, sometimes it looks good, sometimes rather ugly. Like a flash game like some people have mentioned. Multiplayer with over 2 people is very unplayable. There is a small sweet spot in the middle of the screen where you want to be, but when everyone is there you just bump each other to death. It's just not designed for more than 1-2 player.

    The game save system I
    Graphics are inconsistent, sometimes it looks good, sometimes rather ugly. Like a flash game like some people have mentioned. Multiplayer with over 2 people is very unplayable. There is a small sweet spot in the middle of the screen where you want to be, but when everyone is there you just bump each other to death. It's just not designed for more than 1-2 player.

    The game save system I don't comprehend. The need to limit saves to just after boss levels makes no sense at all. Adds nothing except the opportunity to lose progress. I thought this kind of thinking went extinct decades ago.

    Overall a rather disappointing Mario game. $60 for a 6 year old game is rather steep.
    Expand
  22. Jan 17, 2019
    1
    of course this game isn't really as bad as a 1/10, but it is simply unacceptable for Nintendo to release a port of a game from 2012 at full price - without so much as a tweak to the already outdated visuals, I mean, they looked dated back when the game released over 6 yrs ago, like a Wii game with a new coat of paint.

    I for one will NOT support Nintendo's lazyness & greed by buying
    of course this game isn't really as bad as a 1/10, but it is simply unacceptable for Nintendo to release a port of a game from 2012 at full price - without so much as a tweak to the already outdated visuals, I mean, they looked dated back when the game released over 6 yrs ago, like a Wii game with a new coat of paint.

    I for one will NOT support Nintendo's lazyness & greed by buying this, and I'd advise others to stay away from it as well.
    Expand
  23. Jan 11, 2019
    4
    This game is just like every other new super mario bros game: bland. There is just nothing special about this game, terrible art and bland music make it ugly, and none of the gameplay is new or unique.
  24. Jan 15, 2019
    8
    This was one of the few WiiU titles I did not play and I have to say that I'm enjoying it, it does not have anything mindblowing or spectacular but it's enjoyable. Sometimes that's all I really need to enjoy a game.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Jan 17, 2019
    70
    For those who already own New Super Mario Bros U, this upgrade is really not worth full price. However, it does not take away the fact that it's still one of the absolute best experiences for four players.
  2. Jan 16, 2019
    85
    Thanks to Nintendo's new technology in Switch, we have the chance to play New Super Mario Bros U Deluxe anywhere we like. It also supports up to 4 players, so just imagine how fun it would be to play Mario on a camping trip with your friends while you share your childhood Mario memories with each other.
  3. Jan 16, 2019
    90
    New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe is a must-play for 2D Mario fans and is the best in the 2D line of games since Super Mario World.