User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 64
  2. Negative: 7 out of 64
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would say its a great platforming game. 100% a must own.

    The positives

    + Nice characters design
    +Nice environment design.
    + Challenging in some places
    + Lots of puzzles
    + nice map to ensure you can collect most of the collectibles
    + Good length took around 40 hours to complete by going for 100%..
    + good level design.
    + Opening and closing sound track.

    Negatives

    Races with certain non player character (annoying for people with disabilities cause reaction time it slightly slower reaction times.
    Skeleton annoying you at end of trial by stunning you. When collecting relics.
    Ice armor is for the most part more useful than gold armor (the best armor in game).
    Not enough anime cut scenes (1 at start one at end).
    40 minutes of farming gold coins required at castle entrance and hurting penguins.
    No fighting mystic cat.
    Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2019
    8
    I wanted to love this game more than I did. I still had a good time with it but I can't say it's a must-play. I keep seeing people call this a MetroidVania and I don't think that's quite right... The structure is actually much closer to a Zelda game than a MetroidVania. There's a village in the middle of the map and you venture out in different directions to tackle a long list ofI wanted to love this game more than I did. I still had a good time with it but I can't say it's a must-play. I keep seeing people call this a MetroidVania and I don't think that's quite right... The structure is actually much closer to a Zelda game than a MetroidVania. There's a village in the middle of the map and you venture out in different directions to tackle a long list of self-contained dungeons. You constantly acquire new gear and monster-transformations that allow you to traverse new areas and solve more puzzles. There are secrets everywhere and the main quest could take you upwards of 20 hours to finish. That somewhat makes up for the 40 dollar price tag but compared to some indie games, Monster Boy falls short. Blossom Tales is a better Zelda clone, with a grander sense of adventure and Hollow Knight is a far better MetroidVania with better combat and infinitely superior level design and both games are much cheaper than Monster Boy. It delivers some good puzzles and platforming but the linearity and weak combat dragged it down for me.

    One major flaw that almost ruined the game for me is the health system. It is just impossible to get your health back. Enemies will drop health occasionally but it's nowhere near enough to compensate for the damage they'll do to you. The platforming and puzzles can also drain your health in a hurry. You can buy and upgrade shields and armor but it never seemed to make much of a difference. By my count, there are 3 ways around the health system. You can go back to a store to purchase a health potion, which is often very out of your way and will waste a lot of time. However, you actually keep all of your progress when you die so you can usually just brute force it until you win (frustrating), or kill yourself after using your potion to get it back (tedious and immersion-breaking). All 3 of these strategies are a pain in the butt and easily could have been remedied by enemies simply dropping more health. I'm all for challenge, I already recommended you play Hollow Knight instead of this game. The important difference is that this game's challenge comes from tedium. Another user review mentioned the Volcano dungeon and this was the exact moment where the game fell apart for me too, almost entirely because of the health system.

    I know it seems ridiculous for me to spend half my review talking about health but it really turned the game into a slog in the second half and made me question how good the first half had actually been. It never stops your progress outright but it's always a lingering annoyance. Monster Boy is a Nintendo-style side-scrolling adventure that has a lot going for it but can never quite reach the heights of the big N.
    Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2019
    9
    Jogo incrível!

    Mapa bem grande com uma excelente variedade, inclusive de inimigos! Dificuldade elevada... Não é qualquer "gamer" que irá conseguir zerar. Gráficos 2D bem bonitos! A cada novo personagem desbloqueado é quase como se um novo jogo estivesse surgindo! Ou seja, você não vai enjoar tão cedo! Trilha sonora incrível, sem palavras! Acredito que o único ponto
    Jogo incrível!

    Mapa bem grande com uma excelente variedade, inclusive de inimigos!

    Dificuldade elevada... Não é qualquer "gamer" que irá conseguir zerar.

    Gráficos 2D bem bonitos!

    A cada novo personagem desbloqueado é quase como se um novo jogo estivesse surgindo! Ou seja, você não vai enjoar tão cedo!

    Trilha sonora incrível, sem palavras!

    Acredito que o único ponto negativo do jogo é que quantidade de horas para zerar passou um pouco do ponto... Perto do final você se sente meio "cansado"... Se o jogo tivesse umas 5h a menos, seria perfeito...

    De qualquer forma, é um dos melhores jogos da biblioteca do Switch!

    Com certeza vale a pena jogar! A diversão é garantida!
    Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    A superb Metroidvania style platformer and an absolute blast for fans of Wonderboy. This was a long time coming. The devs knocked this one out of the park!
  5. Dec 30, 2018
    10
    A true revival of a platforming legend, Monster Boy does for the Wonder Boy saga what Sonic Mania did for Sonic, but to a much greater and deeper extent. Rendered in amazing, 1080p hand-drawn, perfectly animated visuals and with a memorable, if upbeat and perhaps too modern soundtrack, this game does not only get a technical update, but a much deeper gameplay update where gameplay is nowA true revival of a platforming legend, Monster Boy does for the Wonder Boy saga what Sonic Mania did for Sonic, but to a much greater and deeper extent. Rendered in amazing, 1080p hand-drawn, perfectly animated visuals and with a memorable, if upbeat and perhaps too modern soundtrack, this game does not only get a technical update, but a much deeper gameplay update where gameplay is now less about repeated fighting against the same kinds of enemies in the same situations, but a combination of simpler and more complex puzzles requiring strategy, precision, speed and, most often, careful exploitation of different character traits and perks. On top of this, the game is huge, accounting for about 6 times the size of the MegaDrive games, and has more secrets and collectibles than ever.

    Wonder Boy has grown up, and it did so masterfully at the hands of people that very clearly played and loved the original games. You can tell the amount of love this team put into this project, which is clearly an "I want to create the perfect game"-type project, not a "let's sell another hedgehog thing to random kids; add swords, whatever, just get it done, it will sell anyways"-type business. There's no shortage of fan service and references to the previous games too!
    Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2019
    5
    Pros

    Detailed 2D graphics, bright and vivid Good soundtrack Cons Frustratingly difficult at times Pro controller recommended I have never seen a game more unfairly given praise than this game, Monster Boy is honestly a complete mixed bag. I honestly think bl1rt review is fairly accurate, Monster Boy is a brutally punishing game that rewards the patient player rather than
    Pros

    Detailed 2D graphics, bright and vivid
    Good soundtrack

    Cons

    Frustratingly difficult at times
    Pro controller recommended

    I have never seen a game more unfairly given praise than this game, Monster Boy is honestly a complete mixed bag. I honestly think bl1rt review is fairly accurate, Monster Boy is a brutally punishing game that rewards the patient player rather than charging head on into all the outlandish and often, frustrating puzzles.

    There are literally respawn points all over the place, and seemly few during difficult and downright frustrating puzzle or pixel perfect platforming scenes where dying is all too easy and some areas are so difficult that they require exceptionally fast reflexes to change form/jump/special/change form/special etc etc to get through some puzzles and again honestly.... The stock controller makes it even more frustrating, this is totally best played with a pro controller, just to save on some of the more frustrating areas.

    Boss battles are really easy, yes you might die once or twice but once you figure out the pattern they become a literally a cakewalk, which is a shame because you could die 500 times trying to reach the boss battle.

    I would be wary of this title, even for Metroidvania and fans of Wonderboy series in general, this requires patience rather than skill, and more importantly requires a cool head because it will frustrate you quite often as several areas are down right evil in terms of difficulty.

    Some monster forms like pig are annoying, and it takes a fair while before you start to unlock other forms. Enemies often are placed in areas where they can spring out of thin air to instantly damage you with giving you absolutely no chance to react, unless you already died to them and know they are there! This aspect is unfortunate because the early sequences of the game are exceptionally difficult due to limited form options, once the game opens up more it does get better until later in the game where a few more areas become frustrating again.
    Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2019
    10
    This game is a dream come true for me, I've been waiting a long time for a game with Wonder Boy III style gameplay.

    This game blew away all my expectations and delivered awesome platforming gold. The graphics are amazingly detailed, the music is phenomenal and the world is nicely fleshed out more than previous Wonder Boy games. The obvious criticism is that it is a bit too hard,
    This game is a dream come true for me, I've been waiting a long time for a game with Wonder Boy III style gameplay.

    This game blew away all my expectations and delivered awesome platforming gold. The graphics are amazingly detailed, the music is phenomenal and the world is nicely fleshed out more than previous Wonder Boy games.

    The obvious criticism is that it is a bit too hard, it's easy to get lost or confused about what to do next. I embarrassingly got stuck for 30 minutes in the church trying to figure out what to do in there to progress the game. I spent another 40 minutes trying to find an optional hidden room in one of the dungeons. I also encountered a puzzle where I had a solution that should have worked, but the game seemed to not accept my solution and wanted me to find its intended solution. I think some of these puzzles should have more clues to help the player if they get stuck or there should be more than one solution to some of them.

    Also starting over with just 3 hearts from the last checkpoint is kind of a joke, it's very difficult to progress with just 3 hearts from a checkpoint, especially later in the game like in the fire area where there is fire everywhere. Yes there is a time-comsuming way to heal yourself that I won't get into due to spoilers, but I think if you started with more hearts - maybe half your max hearts (if that's greater than 3) at checkpoints it would make a lot more sense. Or just space out the checkpoints more and make more of them fully heal you. Or have Zeke deliver a potion to you after respawning too many times. Or make an easy mode where all the checkpoints heal you perhaps.

    Anyway, despite the difficult sections, the large majority of the game is platforming bliss and I'm really sad that it's over. I really hope that we see a sequel in the future! I'm giving this a 10 since it is such an over-the-top joy to play this game.
    Expand
  8. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    As a long time fan of the Wonder Boy/Monster World series, I was surely not going to miss the first official new entry in the series in decades, but Monster Boy has blown away my expectations. While it does manage to tickle all the nostalgia you would expect, with tons of references to the past games both big and small, classic music tracks, familiar enemies, etc, I'm also really impressedAs a long time fan of the Wonder Boy/Monster World series, I was surely not going to miss the first official new entry in the series in decades, but Monster Boy has blown away my expectations. While it does manage to tickle all the nostalgia you would expect, with tons of references to the past games both big and small, classic music tracks, familiar enemies, etc, I'm also really impressed with what a great game it is on its own merits. This one packs a ton of mechanics -- almost everything from the past games and then some -- and exploits them all with a lot of polished and clever level design. Dungeons are packed with puzzles, and they're well designed and smart, but never frustrating. While Metroidvania comparisons are apt, this game is really almost like a side-scrolling Zelda, with a focus on clever puzzles and simple hack-and-slash combat. It's similar to other WB-influenced games like Shantae, but honestly, this game is better than the Shantae series. Expand
  9. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    The game provides an excellent challenge and while it is fun, it gives to the players some hard times, but never frustrating. It makes the game feel more substantial and provides a feeling of accomplishment. The form swapping complaints come from people who do not know that you can toggle settings to become able to change forms on the fly, without having to pause every single time. OneThe game provides an excellent challenge and while it is fun, it gives to the players some hard times, but never frustrating. It makes the game feel more substantial and provides a feeling of accomplishment. The form swapping complaints come from people who do not know that you can toggle settings to become able to change forms on the fly, without having to pause every single time. One thing that I really liked was the innovative and fresh, yet still wonderboy escue level design. I cannot see how the reviewer thinks that the level design is "BAD". The work and devotion to perfection are evident. Being a wonderboy fan I would give a 9.5 out of 10. As an unbiased reviewer, who has never played/heard the old games my scores would be: Graphics: 9.8 out of 10, Music/Sounds: 9.3 out of 10, Controls: 9 out of 10, Level Design: 8.8 out of 10, Pace/Addiction: 9 out of 10, VERDICT: 9 OUT OF 10 Expand
  10. Ypp
    Jan 16, 2019
    6
    I came in expecting a successor to 'Wonderboy : the dragon's trap' that I enjoyed a lot. And in some aspects this game really delivers : the soundtrack is nice, the character design and animations are flawless. The scenario is pretty conventional and without surprises, and the cutscenes a bit too "talky" to my tastes but still fine.

    However, when in Wonderboy the level design felt hard
    I came in expecting a successor to 'Wonderboy : the dragon's trap' that I enjoyed a lot. And in some aspects this game really delivers : the soundtrack is nice, the character design and animations are flawless. The scenario is pretty conventional and without surprises, and the cutscenes a bit too "talky" to my tastes but still fine.

    However, when in Wonderboy the level design felt hard but rewarding, there are lots of time where I felt that MonsterBoy was actively punishing me for playing it. From ennemies that remove 2/3 of your life bar in one hit to ennemies that respawn without warning ON THE CHARACTER, there are a lot of times where I was about to throw my console on the ground. Some parts of the game lit a pure and undistilled rage in my heart until I unlocked a specific power, by which time it becomes trivial. In general, past the first dungeon, there's really no in-between in this game : either you die a thousand times on the same screen or it is totally trivial.

    Most checkpoints don't refill your lifebar, and you restart at the last checkpoint with only a small portion of your hearts, which means most of the time you're chain-dying and reloading only to get one-shot a few screens down the road.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Hollow Knight and Wonderboy. I can handle a hard game. But *this* is not hard. This is *pain*.
    Expand
  11. Dec 18, 2018
    10
    Best platformer game ever! Inspired of the classic with a new take. Extremly fun with great game play!
  12. Feb 24, 2019
    3
    I have fond memories of playing the game on Master System with my brother, and I enjoyed the remake a lot, so I had high hopes for this. And in regards to animation and artwork, the game delivers - it looks gorgeous. But the game mechanics are so bad, I dropped it after few hours.
    Many of its flaws seem like botched features from the original. For example, in the original, enemies
    I have fond memories of playing the game on Master System with my brother, and I enjoyed the remake a lot, so I had high hopes for this. And in regards to animation and artwork, the game delivers - it looks gorgeous. But the game mechanics are so bad, I dropped it after few hours.
    Many of its flaws seem like botched features from the original. For example, in the original, enemies sometimes reappeared from outside the screen - here, they just pop up out of thin air, right next to you. Or the "puzzles", where it pretty much tells you which form you need to change to next: In the original, you could instantly change form only towards the end of the game, which allowed you to explore freely. Here, it is a core mechanic of the game, and half of your time is spent switching to the next form in a sequence the game shows you - become snake to enter hole, become frog to leap upwards, become snake again to exit through hole. Since it takes a bit of time to change form (there even is a noticeable lag when you change using the menu), it is just tedious.
    Overall it feels like the game does not rely on skill, but on patience. You fail a lot of challenges because you grew impatient at the third or fourth repetition, and the game punishes you by setting you back to zero. It is mind-numbing.
    Ultimately, I wonder who this game is for. It is too hard for children, but too linear and simplistic for adults. I wanted to like this, but I thoroughly didn't.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Apr 13, 2019
    70
    Monster Boy and the Cursed Kingdom is a rather surprising and very enjoyable 2D platformer that openly dresses the skin of a metroidvania-style of game, with a well-structured experience, a high quality cartoon-like art style and well implemented gameplay mechanics. It does not reinvent the wheel when it comes to 2D platformers but it certainly does a very good job at delivering a quality metroidvania type of game.
  2. Mar 5, 2019
    95
    It is a game that reminds you how some titles earned their legendary status in the history of video games, and teaches you how it can be possible to implement that epic old school essence into the modern age of gaming. A truly superb and rewarding gem you should not let slip unnoticed.
  3. Jan 25, 2019
    85
    The beautiful platform exploration of Wonder Boy transcends into the present with Wonder Boy adding clever puzzle elements.