User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 56
  2. Negative: 5 out of 56
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2019
    9
    Jogo incrível!

    Mapa bem grande com uma excelente variedade, inclusive de inimigos! Dificuldade elevada... Não é qualquer "gamer" que irá conseguir zerar. Gráficos 2D bem bonitos! A cada novo personagem desbloqueado é quase como se um novo jogo estivesse surgindo! Ou seja, você não vai enjoar tão cedo! Trilha sonora incrível, sem palavras! Acredito que o único ponto
    Jogo incrível!

    Mapa bem grande com uma excelente variedade, inclusive de inimigos!

    Dificuldade elevada... Não é qualquer "gamer" que irá conseguir zerar.

    Gráficos 2D bem bonitos!

    A cada novo personagem desbloqueado é quase como se um novo jogo estivesse surgindo! Ou seja, você não vai enjoar tão cedo!

    Trilha sonora incrível, sem palavras!

    Acredito que o único ponto negativo do jogo é que quantidade de horas para zerar passou um pouco do ponto... Perto do final você se sente meio "cansado"... Se o jogo tivesse umas 5h a menos, seria perfeito...

    De qualquer forma, é um dos melhores jogos da biblioteca do Switch!

    Com certeza vale a pena jogar! A diversão é garantida!
    Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    A superb Metroidvania style platformer and an absolute blast for fans of Wonderboy. This was a long time coming. The devs knocked this one out of the park!
  3. Jan 8, 2019
    10
    This game is a dream come true for me, I've been waiting a long time for a game with Wonder Boy III style gameplay.

    This game blew away all my expectations and delivered awesome platforming gold. The graphics are amazingly detailed, the music is phenomenal and the world is nicely fleshed out more than previous Wonder Boy games. The obvious criticism is that it is a bit too hard,
    This game is a dream come true for me, I've been waiting a long time for a game with Wonder Boy III style gameplay.

    This game blew away all my expectations and delivered awesome platforming gold. The graphics are amazingly detailed, the music is phenomenal and the world is nicely fleshed out more than previous Wonder Boy games.

    The obvious criticism is that it is a bit too hard, it's easy to get lost or confused about what to do next. I embarrassingly got stuck for 30 minutes in the church trying to figure out what to do in there to progress the game. I spent another 40 minutes trying to find an optional hidden room in one of the dungeons. I also encountered a puzzle where I had a solution that should have worked, but the game seemed to not accept my solution and wanted me to find its intended solution. I think some of these puzzles should have more clues to help the player if they get stuck or there should be more than one solution to some of them.

    Also starting over with just 3 hearts from the last checkpoint is kind of a joke, it's very difficult to progress with just 3 hearts from a checkpoint, especially later in the game like in the fire area where there is fire everywhere. Yes there is a time-comsuming way to heal yourself that I won't get into due to spoilers, but I think if you started with more hearts - maybe half your max hearts (if that's greater than 3) at checkpoints it would make a lot more sense. Or just space out the checkpoints more and make more of them fully heal you. Or have Zeke deliver a potion to you after respawning too many times. Or make an easy mode where all the checkpoints heal you perhaps.

    Anyway, despite the difficult sections, the large majority of the game is platforming bliss and I'm really sad that it's over. I really hope that we see a sequel in the future! I'm giving this a 10 since it is such an over-the-top joy to play this game.
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    As a long time fan of the Wonder Boy/Monster World series, I was surely not going to miss the first official new entry in the series in decades, but Monster Boy has blown away my expectations. While it does manage to tickle all the nostalgia you would expect, with tons of references to the past games both big and small, classic music tracks, familiar enemies, etc, I'm also really impressedAs a long time fan of the Wonder Boy/Monster World series, I was surely not going to miss the first official new entry in the series in decades, but Monster Boy has blown away my expectations. While it does manage to tickle all the nostalgia you would expect, with tons of references to the past games both big and small, classic music tracks, familiar enemies, etc, I'm also really impressed with what a great game it is on its own merits. This one packs a ton of mechanics -- almost everything from the past games and then some -- and exploits them all with a lot of polished and clever level design. Dungeons are packed with puzzles, and they're well designed and smart, but never frustrating. While Metroidvania comparisons are apt, this game is really almost like a side-scrolling Zelda, with a focus on clever puzzles and simple hack-and-slash combat. It's similar to other WB-influenced games like Shantae, but honestly, this game is better than the Shantae series. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2018
    10
    A true revival of a platforming legend, Monster Boy does for the Wonder Boy saga what Sonic Mania did for Sonic, but to a much greater and deeper extent. Rendered in amazing, 1080p hand-drawn, perfectly animated visuals and with a memorable, if upbeat and perhaps too modern soundtrack, this game does not only get a technical update, but a much deeper gameplay update where gameplay is nowA true revival of a platforming legend, Monster Boy does for the Wonder Boy saga what Sonic Mania did for Sonic, but to a much greater and deeper extent. Rendered in amazing, 1080p hand-drawn, perfectly animated visuals and with a memorable, if upbeat and perhaps too modern soundtrack, this game does not only get a technical update, but a much deeper gameplay update where gameplay is now less about repeated fighting against the same kinds of enemies in the same situations, but a combination of simpler and more complex puzzles requiring strategy, precision, speed and, most often, careful exploitation of different character traits and perks. On top of this, the game is huge, accounting for about 6 times the size of the MegaDrive games, and has more secrets and collectibles than ever.

    Wonder Boy has grown up, and it did so masterfully at the hands of people that very clearly played and loved the original games. You can tell the amount of love this team put into this project, which is clearly an "I want to create the perfect game"-type project, not a "let's sell another hedgehog thing to random kids; add swords, whatever, just get it done, it will sell anyways"-type business. There's no shortage of fan service and references to the previous games too!
    Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    The game provides an excellent challenge and while it is fun, it gives to the players some hard times, but never frustrating. It makes the game feel more substantial and provides a feeling of accomplishment. The form swapping complaints come from people who do not know that you can toggle settings to become able to change forms on the fly, without having to pause every single time. OneThe game provides an excellent challenge and while it is fun, it gives to the players some hard times, but never frustrating. It makes the game feel more substantial and provides a feeling of accomplishment. The form swapping complaints come from people who do not know that you can toggle settings to become able to change forms on the fly, without having to pause every single time. One thing that I really liked was the innovative and fresh, yet still wonderboy escue level design. I cannot see how the reviewer thinks that the level design is "BAD". The work and devotion to perfection are evident. Being a wonderboy fan I would give a 9.5 out of 10. As an unbiased reviewer, who has never played/heard the old games my scores would be: Graphics: 9.8 out of 10, Music/Sounds: 9.3 out of 10, Controls: 9 out of 10, Level Design: 8.8 out of 10, Pace/Addiction: 9 out of 10, VERDICT: 9 OUT OF 10 Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2018
    10
    Best platformer game ever! Inspired of the classic with a new take. Extremly fun with great game play!
  8. Dec 29, 2018
    3
    I have fond memories of playing the game on Master System with my brother, and I enjoyed the remake a lot, so I had high hopes for this. And in regards to animation and artwork, the game delivers - it looks gorgeous. But the game mechanics are so bad, I dropped it after few hours.
    Many of its flaws seem like botched features from the original. For example, in the original, enemy movement
    I have fond memories of playing the game on Master System with my brother, and I enjoyed the remake a lot, so I had high hopes for this. And in regards to animation and artwork, the game delivers - it looks gorgeous. But the game mechanics are so bad, I dropped it after few hours.
    Many of its flaws seem like botched features from the original. For example, in the original, enemy movement is challenging - here it is unfair. But for me, it all boils down to one thing: the game does not rely on skill, but on patience. Most challenges you fail because you grew impatient at the third or fourth repetition, and the game punishes you by setting you back to zero. It is mind-numbing.
    Ultimately, I wonder who this game is for. It is too hard for children, but too linear and simplistic for adults. I wanted to like this, but I thoroughly didn't.
    Expand
  9. Ypp
    Jan 16, 2019
    6
    I came in expecting a successor to 'Wonderboy : the dragon's trap' that I enjoyed a lot. And in some aspects this game really delivers : the soundtrack is nice, the character design and animations are flawless. The scenario is pretty conventional and without surprises, and the cutscenes a bit too "talky" to my tastes but still fine.

    However, when in Wonderboy the level design felt hard
    I came in expecting a successor to 'Wonderboy : the dragon's trap' that I enjoyed a lot. And in some aspects this game really delivers : the soundtrack is nice, the character design and animations are flawless. The scenario is pretty conventional and without surprises, and the cutscenes a bit too "talky" to my tastes but still fine.

    However, when in Wonderboy the level design felt hard but rewarding, there are lots of time where I felt that MonsterBoy was actively punishing me for playing it. From ennemies that remove 2/3 of your life bar in one hit to ennemies that respawn without warning ON THE CHARACTER, there are a lot of times where I was about to throw my console on the ground. Some parts of the game lit a pure and undistilled rage in my heart until I unlocked a specific power, by which time it becomes trivial. In general, past the first dungeon, there's really no in-between in this game : either you die a thousand times on the same screen or it is totally trivial.

    Most checkpoints don't refill your lifebar, and you restart at the last checkpoint with only a small portion of your hearts, which means most of the time you're chain-dying and reloading only to get one-shot a few screens down the road.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Hollow Knight and Wonderboy. I can handle a hard game. But *this* is not hard. This is *pain*.
    Expand
  10. Jan 14, 2019
    5
    Pros

    Detailed 2D graphics, bright and vivid Good soundtrack Cons Frustratingly difficult at times Pro controller recommended I have never seen a game more unfairly given praise than this game, Monster Boy is honestly a complete mixed bag. I honestly think bl1rt review is fairly accurate, Monster Boy is a brutally punishing game that rewards the patient player rather than
    Pros

    Detailed 2D graphics, bright and vivid
    Good soundtrack

    Cons

    Frustratingly difficult at times
    Pro controller recommended

    I have never seen a game more unfairly given praise than this game, Monster Boy is honestly a complete mixed bag. I honestly think bl1rt review is fairly accurate, Monster Boy is a brutally punishing game that rewards the patient player rather than charging head on into all the outlandish and often, frustrating puzzles.

    There are literally respawn points all over the place, and seemly few during difficult and downright frustrating puzzle or pixel perfect platforming scenes where dying is all too easy and some areas are so difficult that they require exceptionally fast reflexes to change form/jump/special/change form/special etc etc to get through some puzzles and again honestly.... The stock controller makes it even more frustrating, this is totally best played with a pro controller, just to save on some of the more frustrating areas.

    Boss battles are really easy, yes you might die once or twice but once you figure out the pattern they become a literally a cakewalk, which is a shame because you could die 500 times trying to reach the boss battle.

    I would be wary of this title, even for Metroidvania and fans of Wonderboy series in general, this requires patience rather than skill, and more importantly requires a cool head because it will frustrate you quite often as several areas are down right evil in terms of difficulty.

    Some monster forms like pig are annoying, and it takes a fair while before you start to unlock other forms. Enemies often are placed in areas where they can spring out of thin air to instantly damage you with giving you absolutely no chance to react, unless you already died to them and know they are there! This aspect is unfortunate because the early sequences of the game are exceptionally difficult due to limited form options, once the game opens up more it does get better until later in the game where a few more areas become frustrating again.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jan 25, 2019
    85
    The beautiful platform exploration of Wonder Boy transcends into the present with Wonder Boy adding clever puzzle elements.
  2. Jan 24, 2019
    100
    So overall Monster Boy and the Cursed Kingdom is a retro inspired platformer and shows the genre at its finest. Not to mention it feels right at home on the Switch despite being a multiplatform release. If you’ve never played a Monster Boy game but have been looking for anything to scratch that Metroid or Castlevania itch then this is for you. And if you’re a Monster Boy fan wondering if this installment is any good then you should probably already own it. But if you don’t then take it from me you won’t regret your time with Cursed Kingdom.
  3. Jan 22, 2019
    90
    

If you’re a fan of platformers, adventure games or Metroidvania style games, then this will be a great title for you. With a lengthy playtime, plenty of variety in its gameplay and has so much about it to enjoy, it is a title that does very little wrong and outdoes the game that it set out to emulate. It wasn’t on my radar in the build-up to release, but I love it now. It comes highly recommended.