Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 18, 2018
    100
    Now a eight-year-old game, Limbo is still one of the flagships of the indie productions. Its stunning visuals, the clever game design and the gloomy flavor it displays make it an instant classic, which can now be enjoyed for the first time on a Nintendo hardware, the all-in-one Switch.
  2. Jul 10, 2018
    90
    Limbo remains a brilliantly moody and expertly poised platform-puzzler a full eight years on from its original release. It might be a little stark, but it's dense with ingenious physics puzzles and weighty platforming challenges. It's the perfect cut-price companion piece to Inside, and a brilliant game in its own right.
  3. Jul 5, 2018
    90
    Eight years later, Limbo is still a great game to play.
  4. Jul 3, 2018
    90
    Rarely have I played a game (multiple times on various platforms, I might add) that so thoroughly nails the atmosphere.
  5. Jul 2, 2018
    90
    Limbo is a classic, it’s definitely on the list of top indie games of all time, and you should 100% pick it up for the Switch. It may be a short run through but it will definitely be one that sticks with you.
  6. 90
    The game’s powerful double-team of uniqueness and wonderful execution means one thing: Limbo demands to be played. It is more than worth your time.
  7. Jun 28, 2018
    90
    Gamers who have not yet played Limbo but are fans of puzzle platformers should definitely pick up this title on Nintendo Switch.
  8. Jul 15, 2018
    85
    Limbo is the living proof you don’t need 4K nor huge open-world to create a great game. And it still great today, in 2018, on Nintendo Switch. But beware of the light’s reflections on its screen.
  9. Jul 8, 2018
    85
    Limbo is an artwork made video game, which makes us travel between heaven and hell thanks to its peculiar audiovisual style and some ingenious and challenging puzzles. It’s really a pity that it’s so short, because the experience leaves a great taste in our mouths that leaves us asking for more hours of play.
  10. Jul 2, 2018
    85
    Limbo is certainly worth your time, but whether it’s worth the price is a point for somewhat serious debate.
  11. Jul 2, 2018
    83
    Limbo is probably the perfect dark, side scrolling puzzle-platformer.
  12. Jul 14, 2018
    80
    Limbo, after eight years, has stood the test of time, coming in excellent shape. Landing on Nintendo Switch is the worthy conclusion of a journey started on the right foot.
  13. Jul 9, 2018
    80
    It may only last for an hour or so, but that will prove to be one of the most enjoyable hours of your life, as LIMBO truly lives up to the hyped title of being a real classic. Playdead's intricate puzzle-led 2D platform romp will infuriate many, but keep them coming back for more until those crafty situations have been overcome. It really does prove to be addictive and works marvellously in both handheld and docked mode on Nintendo Switch.
  14. Jul 12, 2018
    78
    For a game of this age, it still delivers on all levels, especially with the simplistic yet challenging gameplay and the gorgeous presentation and clever puzzles. Even though you are given very few details as far as plot is concerned you can’t help but invest yourself in the plight of the young boy. For a challenging adventure, and some giant ass spiders, you can’t look past Limbo on the Nintendo Switch, especially if you haven’t played it on another platform.
  15. Jul 18, 2018
    70
    While it might not seem as amazing now as it did 8 years ago, Playdead’s iconic platformer is more than worth playing through once. If you haven’t yet had that chance – like I did – I don’t see any reason why your introduction to the game shouldn’t be on Nintendo Switch, too.
  16. 70
    Its striking monochrome art style and juxtaposition of atmospheric peacefulness with wince-inducing violence lends to a dreamlike quality that is utterly entrancing. The first few hours of this game had me terrified, wondering how the environment was going to turn against me in ever more creative and depraved ways. I loved the graphics and music which still manage to feel unique despite the game’s age. For the puzzles and atmosphere alone, Limbo is worth a try. Once the ordeal is over however, I found myself wishing for a larger narrative to delve into, or a deeper exploration of themes that the game teased but never fully committed to.
  17. 70
    Whether you end up enjoying your brief journey through the world of Limbo will be subjective. It’s a akin to an expressionist painting, for some it will come across as beautiful experience greater than what you can see, while for the rest it may just seem boring and relying too heavily on artistic impression. I fall somewhere in the middle, I enjoyed the experience but as a video game, it was just a bit too simple for me.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 3, 2018
    9
    If you like solving puzzle in a 2d game, then Limbo is the game for you. the environment is this game is something special. I played it onIf you like solving puzzle in a 2d game, then Limbo is the game for you. the environment is this game is something special. I played it on Xbox one and loved it . with switch you can bring this game anywhere you want to. when you done with this 6-8 hours game, try to complete it without dying ! Full Review »
  2. Jul 1, 2018
    10
    This has to be my favorite way to play yet. Now the story is short being 3-4 hours, but the experience you get is some of the best on switch.This has to be my favorite way to play yet. Now the story is short being 3-4 hours, but the experience you get is some of the best on switch. I have played this game on IOS, XBOX 360, and WINDOWS 10 but this is the best one yet! The controls are great, the way they display it is something to be framed, and the ending leaves you questioning and theorizing. This is a must have for Switch owners!

    Controls: 10
    Style: 10
    Music: (None (But none needed))
    Ending: 10
    Overall : 10
    Full Review »