Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Aug 17, 2018
    100
    For all the time that has passed, Limbo remains a benchmark of the genre that few other games have come within sniffing distance of. It’s nearly unparalleled in terms of presentation and design, and this latest port to Switch has maintained everything about the game that makes it special. While some might lament the lack of any additional content, I wholeheartedly beg to differ. Limbo is a game that doesn’t need a single bit added, removed, or rearranged. It’s a classic in every sense and deserves to be played by as many people as possible.
  2. Jul 18, 2018
    100
    Now a eight-year-old game, Limbo is still one of the flagships of the indie productions. Its stunning visuals, the clever game design and the gloomy flavor it displays make it an instant classic, which can now be enjoyed for the first time on a Nintendo hardware, the all-in-one Switch.
  3. Jul 23, 2018
    95
    Even eight years after its release, Limbo is a small, subtle masterpiece of smart puzzle-platformer design and haunting show-don’t-tell storytelling. Every self-respecting gamer should play this one, and a portable version on Switch is definitely worth a purchase even if you own the game on another platform.
  4. Aug 21, 2018
    90
    Despite the short length it's easy to recommend LIMBO to anyone who enjoys puzzle games, especially given the way the game expertly crafts a foreboding atmosphere with a minimum of graphics and sounds. If you played the game when it was originally released, you'll find that it has aged well and is still wholly capable of sucking you back in the way it did when you first played it. If you're new to LIMBO, then it's about time you played this classic indie game.
  5. Jul 21, 2018
    90
    Limbo on Nintendo Switch is a great porting for one of the greatest independent video games ever.
  6. Jul 10, 2018
    90
    Limbo remains a brilliantly moody and expertly poised platform-puzzler a full eight years on from its original release. It might be a little stark, but it's dense with ingenious physics puzzles and weighty platforming challenges. It's the perfect cut-price companion piece to Inside, and a brilliant game in its own right.
  7. Jul 5, 2018
    90
    Eight years later, Limbo is still a great game to play.
  8. Jul 3, 2018
    90
    Rarely have I played a game (multiple times on various platforms, I might add) that so thoroughly nails the atmosphere.
  9. Jul 2, 2018
    90
    Limbo is a classic, it’s definitely on the list of top indie games of all time, and you should 100% pick it up for the Switch. It may be a short run through but it will definitely be one that sticks with you.
  10. 90
    The game’s powerful double-team of uniqueness and wonderful execution means one thing: Limbo demands to be played. It is more than worth your time.
  11. Jun 28, 2018
    90
    Gamers who have not yet played Limbo but are fans of puzzle platformers should definitely pick up this title on Nintendo Switch.
  12. Aug 6, 2018
    85
    Limbo is a perfect fit for the Switch since it’s easy to pick up and put down, the shadowy aesthetics empowered feelings of loneliness and desperation, and even though I didn’t appreciate the spikes in difficulty, I won’t forget the immersive journey that Limbo took me on.
  13. Jul 30, 2018
    85
    Limbo is still as atmospheric as it was eight years ago, due to its reduced graphic style. An indie treasure that everyone should play.
  14. Jul 15, 2018
    85
    Limbo is the living proof you don’t need 4K nor huge open-world to create a great game. And it still great today, in 2018, on Nintendo Switch. But beware of the light’s reflections on its screen.
  15. Jul 8, 2018
    85
    Limbo is an artwork made video game, which makes us travel between heaven and hell thanks to its peculiar audiovisual style and some ingenious and challenging puzzles. It’s really a pity that it’s so short, because the experience leaves a great taste in our mouths that leaves us asking for more hours of play.
  16. Jul 2, 2018
    85
    Limbo is certainly worth your time, but whether it’s worth the price is a point for somewhat serious debate.
  17. Jul 2, 2018
    83
    Limbo is probably the perfect dark, side scrolling puzzle-platformer.
  18. Jul 14, 2018
    80
    Limbo, after eight years, has stood the test of time, coming in excellent shape. Landing on Nintendo Switch is the worthy conclusion of a journey started on the right foot.
  19. Jul 9, 2018
    80
    It may only last for an hour or so, but that will prove to be one of the most enjoyable hours of your life, as LIMBO truly lives up to the hyped title of being a real classic. Playdead's intricate puzzle-led 2D platform romp will infuriate many, but keep them coming back for more until those crafty situations have been overcome. It really does prove to be addictive and works marvellously in both handheld and docked mode on Nintendo Switch.
  20. Jul 12, 2018
    78
    For a game of this age, it still delivers on all levels, especially with the simplistic yet challenging gameplay and the gorgeous presentation and clever puzzles. Even though you are given very few details as far as plot is concerned you can’t help but invest yourself in the plight of the young boy. For a challenging adventure, and some giant ass spiders, you can’t look past Limbo on the Nintendo Switch, especially if you haven’t played it on another platform.
  21. NF Magazine
    Sep 5, 2018
    70
    Odds are you've already experienced it for yourself in the past eight years, but just in case you haven't, it might be worth a shot. [Issue #35 – September/October 2018, p. 21]
  22. Jul 30, 2018
    70
    LIMBO presents itself with a unique art style which has a beauty of its own. Thanks to its style, high quality puzzles and challenging difficulty, LIMBO is a marvel of a game, which could be even better if its experience lasted longer and did not really as much on trial and error as it does.
  23. Jul 23, 2018
    70
    Limbo runs perfectly fine on the Switch and still looks great, even in handheld. It is even already very reasonably priced. If you’ve somehow missed this notable indie title now is a great time to see what you’ve been missing. At the very least it would hopefully encourage you to buy Inside afterward.
  24. Jul 18, 2018
    70
    While it might not seem as amazing now as it did 8 years ago, Playdead’s iconic platformer is more than worth playing through once. If you haven’t yet had that chance – like I did – I don’t see any reason why your introduction to the game shouldn’t be on Nintendo Switch, too.
  25. 70
    Its striking monochrome art style and juxtaposition of atmospheric peacefulness with wince-inducing violence lends to a dreamlike quality that is utterly entrancing. The first few hours of this game had me terrified, wondering how the environment was going to turn against me in ever more creative and depraved ways. I loved the graphics and music which still manage to feel unique despite the game’s age. For the puzzles and atmosphere alone, Limbo is worth a try. Once the ordeal is over however, I found myself wishing for a larger narrative to delve into, or a deeper exploration of themes that the game teased but never fully committed to.
  26. 70
    Whether you end up enjoying your brief journey through the world of Limbo will be subjective. It’s a akin to an expressionist painting, for some it will come across as beautiful experience greater than what you can see, while for the rest it may just seem boring and relying too heavily on artistic impression. I fall somewhere in the middle, I enjoyed the experience but as a video game, it was just a bit too simple for me.
  27. Aug 10, 2018
    50
    Limbo’s idea of a challenge is to lure you into false solutions until you happen upon the one that works, that is to say, if it works within the parameters of your limited movement. But the harsh truth is that trial and error is actually quite easy once you accept its inevitability. In fact, at that point it even manages to be minimally frustrating. The real issue is that it’s just so overwhelmingly dull, so mentally unstimulating, akin to floating in some kind of... limbo. Hm.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Jul 3, 2018
    9
    If you like solving puzzle in a 2d game, then Limbo is the game for you. the environment is this game is something special. I played it onIf you like solving puzzle in a 2d game, then Limbo is the game for you. the environment is this game is something special. I played it on Xbox one and loved it . with switch you can bring this game anywhere you want to. when you done with this 6-8 hours game, try to complete it without dying ! Full Review »
  2. Jul 1, 2018
    10
    This has to be my favorite way to play yet. Now the story is short being 3-4 hours, but the experience you get is some of the best on switch.This has to be my favorite way to play yet. Now the story is short being 3-4 hours, but the experience you get is some of the best on switch. I have played this game on IOS, XBOX 360, and WINDOWS 10 but this is the best one yet! The controls are great, the way they display it is something to be framed, and the ending leaves you questioning and theorizing. This is a must have for Switch owners!

    Controls: 10
    Style: 10
    Music: (None (But none needed))
    Ending: 10
    Overall : 10
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 12, 2018
    8
    Limbo is minimalistic in its design, offers limited guidance and is shrouded in an unnerving sense of dread and mystery. You are dropped intoLimbo is minimalistic in its design, offers limited guidance and is shrouded in an unnerving sense of dread and mystery. You are dropped into a forest playing a young boy who seemingly must escape or progress through the unwinding labyrinth before you.

    The sound design is fantastic with audio cues sometimes the only thing giving you a hint to what lies ahead and the aesthetic is suitably gloomy and foreboding. The gameplay mechanics are simple, intuitive and don't outstay their welcome in this short but worthwhile adventure.

    Even though this is a short game, it is often challenging and occasionally left me stumped as to how to progress. If you are after a short game with fantastic art and a bleak horror setting to take on the go this is for you. I can't wait to sink my teeth into the teams follow up 'Inside' which is next on my hit list.
    Full Review »