User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 79
  2. Negative: 14 out of 79

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 31, 2018
    9
    As a FTL fan I wanted to play this game for a while but I don't have a PC so no can do.
    It came as a total surprise that this game released for switch and I bought it in an instant.
    I've now played trough it a couple times with the first mechs and it's really brilliant, every level is like a small strategy puzzle that you have to solve, there is little to no luck involved because you can
    As a FTL fan I wanted to play this game for a while but I don't have a PC so no can do.
    It came as a total surprise that this game released for switch and I bought it in an instant.
    I've now played trough it a couple times with the first mechs and it's really brilliant, every level is like a small strategy puzzle that you have to solve, there is little to no luck involved because you can see the enemy movement in advance and anticipate on that.
    The controls work really good on the switch, while entering my name I missed the touchscreen but the game works extremely well with the controller.
    If you like strategy/puzzle games! buy it you won't regret it.
    Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2018
    10
    A perfect turn based strategy game. The combination of short levels and replayability due to the mech squads is really well done. Beat Into the Breach with 6 of the 10 squads.

    Pros: - The turn based gameplay was the perfect amount of challenge (on normal mode) - The mech squads I played with were all unique and well balanced - Nice upgrade system were weapon upgrades or power or
    A perfect turn based strategy game. The combination of short levels and replayability due to the mech squads is really well done. Beat Into the Breach with 6 of the 10 squads.

    Pros:
    - The turn based gameplay was the perfect amount of challenge (on normal mode)
    - The mech squads I played with were all unique and well balanced
    - Nice upgrade system were weapon upgrades or power or movement all seemed viable to win

    Cons:
    - Again a switch con, but I would have beaten the game with each squad if there were achievements
    - Wish they had a buy back, I accidentally sold some weapons I didn't mean to
    Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2018
    9
    Being a huge tactical rpg and roguelike fan I wasn’t sure what to expect after the months of hype around this game. With it’s surprise drop last Tuesday during the Nintendo direct.

    Let’s see if this mech vs bug battle, truly lives up to the hype. Taking place in the future, you are commanding a three mech team trying to clear a group of islands of deadly overgrown creatures known as
    Being a huge tactical rpg and roguelike fan I wasn’t sure what to expect after the months of hype around this game. With it’s surprise drop last Tuesday during the Nintendo direct.

    Let’s see if this mech vs bug battle, truly lives up to the hype.

    Taking place in the future, you are commanding a three mech team trying to clear a group of islands of deadly overgrown creatures known as Veks. Beginning at one of four islands with a number of procedurally generated regions that you must recapture from the gigantic creepy crawlies. Each region is an isometric grid with buildings used to maintain your power grid and varying per level objectives, such as defend the power plant or kill 7 Veks. These objectives aren’t required but give you additional power or reputation points if you can complete them.

    These reputations points can be spent between islands to purchase different weapons or upgrades for your mechs, adding some tools to your repertoire to make you that much more of a formidable foe.

    Keeping the Vek away from your buildings can prove quite the challenging task as they will spawn from the ground every turn, when they do get destroyed it feels devastating as civilians die from your wrong decision. When actually getting a game over, you lose your progression but can keep one pilot for your next run, so if that pilots level up a bit you come into the next game with a little bit of an advantage.

    As you progress through the game you unlock new islands, which once unlocked can be played through in any order and scale difficulty depending how many islands have been defeated beforehand. As you defeat more islands or special objectives you earn coins which unlock new TROOPS of mechs for your to command. Each class being very different, really forcing you to learn and adapt in this brutal environment and I mean brutal.

    In the beginning of Into the Breach be prepared to die and die ALOT. Getting a solid understanding of this game will only come with many deaths, even as a seasoned tactical rpg player I have had my butt handed to me unexpectedly on many occasions. The moment you let your guard down be prepared to lose power, your mechs, and even your life.

    Acceptable losses
    Some of the decisions that i’ve made during a run of into the breach have taken so much time and thought that I’ve often caught myself just staring at my screen for ten minute periods of time. Weighing each option greatly as the consequences will affect you as such. If you carelessly make your decisions your run will be over before you know it. However, if you take your time and strategically chip away at the Vek, before you know you’ll be onto your next island and one step closer to your goal.

    As there are alot of different systems at work with Into the Breach it will take you some time before everything clicks. Each enemy has a different abilities, attack orders, and passive effects; when taken advantage of properly you can have enemies taking each other out. For you to truly succeed at this game you must understand what’s really important in each level. Yes it would be great to keep all of your mechs at full health, but as long as they survive, keeping your cities intact is really what counts. As you can sometimes get overwhelmed it’s important to keep a level head, take your time, and keep your eye are the goal. I’ve sometimes reminded myself of an old man staring at a chess board, the way I stop and strategize with this game.

    The game runs great on handheld and in docked, getting around 5 hours of battery life in handheld. However, using the joy con joy sticks I found the pointer would occasionally continue traveling when I released the joy stick, causing attacks to execute on the wrong space; and when the stakes are this high that can be quite disheartening.

    Into the Breach is a fantastic experience with life or death decision making that will have you on the edge of your seat as it unfolds. While this game is not for the faint of heart, those whom are willing to invest the time will be rewarded greatly for that effort. With fantastic gameplay, rewarding progression, and emotionally impactful decision making I can happily recommend this roguelike tactical rpg to any fan of the genre.
    Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2018
    10
    An absolute gem, highly recommended to anyone who likes strategy and turn based games.
  5. Nov 6, 2018
    10
    I created an account just to combat the negative reviews for this game as it is just unreasonable to give this game anything below a 6 quite honestly.

    This game is chess meets Advance Wars and is an amazing roguelike turn based strategy game that I have put almost 100hrs into. The game is difficult and you find yourself on your heels most levels trying to stay a step ahead of the bugs.
    I created an account just to combat the negative reviews for this game as it is just unreasonable to give this game anything below a 6 quite honestly.

    This game is chess meets Advance Wars and is an amazing roguelike turn based strategy game that I have put almost 100hrs into. The game is difficult and you find yourself on your heels most levels trying to stay a step ahead of the bugs. Mechs have several upgrade and customization options as well as interchangable pilots with various special abilities and you unlock a wide roster of pilots the more you play and find.

    Graphically the game is a bit pixelated but the strength of the game is in strategy and replayability. Even with only a few enemy types and a fairly easy learning curve, the game keeps you hooked as you push into increasingly unforgiving levels in the later stages of the game.

    I think this is an amazing game for the price. So much so that I bought it 2x, once for PC and once for the Nintendo Switch.
    Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2018
    9
    If you were a big FTL fan this game is for you. Also for fans of: Advance Wars, RTS's, Tactical RPGs, Mech Games, Chess
  7. Nov 6, 2018
    7
    It's ok. However I would argue that it isn't a strategy game. It's a puzzle game. Strategy makes very little difference. Puzzle solving makes all the difference. I would recommend this as a 9 to puzzle gamers and a 6 to strategy gamers. so 7.5 overall?
  8. Sep 14, 2018
    2
    very little content, to such a point that achieving a win on every squad is a chore. because of a massive lack of new enemy and map types evry run feels the same, the mech squads all might as well do the same thing with very slight differences. this game should be sold for less or be free on kongragate
  9. Nov 18, 2018
    6
    the game is ok, very playable. reminds me of advance wars and mario rabbids. the game is finished in one hour and then you're supposed to keep playing to unlock more stuff, which to me is not interesting
  10. Jan 15, 2019
    8
    This is fun, addictive little strategy game. Mario & Rabbids is a way better game, but Breach is definitely worth a try. This is probably the second best strategy game I've played on Switch... I'm not big on turn-based games or strategy games generally. They have to be particularly good to attract my attention in the first place... Not sure how much I was going to play this. I'm surprisedThis is fun, addictive little strategy game. Mario & Rabbids is a way better game, but Breach is definitely worth a try. This is probably the second best strategy game I've played on Switch... I'm not big on turn-based games or strategy games generally. They have to be particularly good to attract my attention in the first place... Not sure how much I was going to play this. I'm surprised by how much time I've sunk into it. I'm not going to 100% it, but I got a fair amount of bang for my buck.

    If you like turn based strategy games, this is a no-brainer.
    Expand
  11. Jan 11, 2019
    9
    This game is so satisfying that I got me thinking that it deserved better graphics (I adore pixelart but honestly, Into the Breach looks kind of generic). Hell, get Evangelion rights license and make it the ultimate strategy mecha game! But I digress, the game is amazing as it is.
  12. Sep 13, 2018
    8
    This is a beatiful strategy game that takes it’s gameplay with well designed mechanics. The main reason this is a great game is the amazing gameplay loop that rewards you for completing each island but can bite you in the behind if you don’t plan your upergrades well as in some areas rewards good movement options and abilities, but another can require you to tank loads of damage. It keepsThis is a beatiful strategy game that takes it’s gameplay with well designed mechanics. The main reason this is a great game is the amazing gameplay loop that rewards you for completing each island but can bite you in the behind if you don’t plan your upergrades well as in some areas rewards good movement options and abilities, but another can require you to tank loads of damage. It keeps you on your toes all the way to the final island. But it can be to tougth in some places. A game isn’t good because it’s hard but it’s good for being challenging and creative in the ways of its roadblocks. Take dark souls for example. many of the bosses are big and have massive healthpools, as well as doing tons of damage. But they can be exploited with fast mowement or clever exploits or just a general understanding of its attack patterns. But in into the breach, especially the snow island boss, has good movement and attack, as well as a sizeable health pool. There is almost no room for creativity when fighting these bosses. The only one that really was interesting so far was the blob in island two. But still, this a beautiful strategy game with fun and interesting game mechanics. A gem for shure Expand
  13. Jan 14, 2019
    10
    The best tactics on switch.
    Taking turn based battles to the next level.
    Best interface ever, it is incredible how you can know and control so many things so quickly so easy. Better than chess, better than xcom. I really appreciate that the map is always 8x8. Increasing the size of the maps to increase difficulty is a design that I hate, not happening here. Very replayable, the good
    The best tactics on switch.
    Taking turn based battles to the next level.
    Best interface ever, it is incredible how you can know and control so many things so quickly so easy.
    Better than chess, better than xcom. I really appreciate that the map is always 8x8. Increasing the size of the maps to increase difficulty is a design that I hate, not happening here.
    Very replayable, the good things of good rogue likes.
    One run can go from 40 min to 1h30 but it is divided into small battles so it fits perfectly switch for quick plays.
    Anyway it is not a game for everyone, but for those who like (at least a little) the genre will become crazy (like me).
    Expand
  14. Dec 27, 2018
    10
    Simple but complex, elegant and with massive replayability, like in roguelike-genre games. For people who says there is too little content in this game - every tiny detail matter, putting to much just for stupid "content count" is much easier than combining perfect elements that fit. Absolutely brilliant!
  15. Dec 29, 2018
    10
    Into The Breach gets right what annoyed me about many strategy games: You know exactly what each enemy unit will do in the next turn, in which order, how much damage theirs and your weapons will deal, there is a clear hierarchy of what you should try to archive in each mission, you can undo most decisions to a reasonable extend, yet each decision feels important, and each mission isInto The Breach gets right what annoyed me about many strategy games: You know exactly what each enemy unit will do in the next turn, in which order, how much damage theirs and your weapons will deal, there is a clear hierarchy of what you should try to archive in each mission, you can undo most decisions to a reasonable extend, yet each decision feels important, and each mission is exiting, while not overstaying its welcome.
    With all this, it is a lot of fun to figure out the best moves each round, and it is rewarding if it works out, while you own every oversight.
    The more I played, the more I appreciated how well designed everything is, like the excellent menu structure, or the always-available descriptions boxes.
    One of the best puzzle games ever.
    Expand
  16. Jan 10, 2019
    9
    This game is harder than any strategy game I've played, which is a good thing. It has pretty revolutionary combat system, which really tells us to think before we act, as tiniest amount of miscalculation will affect your future. Just expect to face many failures along the way. Been playing for months and I still don't have enough skill to accomplish (which makes this game always on theThis game is harder than any strategy game I've played, which is a good thing. It has pretty revolutionary combat system, which really tells us to think before we act, as tiniest amount of miscalculation will affect your future. Just expect to face many failures along the way. Been playing for months and I still don't have enough skill to accomplish (which makes this game always on the list to play) Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Nov 19, 2018
    70
    Into The Breach is a challenging turn-based strategy game that features a competent gameplay and a wide variety of levels. While it could certainly use a more elaborate plot and some more weapon tutorials, it's safe to say that this rather orthodox work will appeal to fans of strategy games looking for something that follows the genre's main tenets.
  2. Sep 27, 2018
    80
    Into the Breach is an indispensable game for all lovers of turn-based strategy titles. With a magnificent soundtrack that will accompany us in each battle we will fight against the unstoppable Vek through continuous reboots of the timeline and different Mechas that we will unlock as we play.
  3. Sep 23, 2018
    80
    Into the Breach feels like a board game in which you must control a squad of mech robots to defend the planet. With turn-based combat that is as challenging as it is deep, it offers tons of replay value thanks to its many unique squad layouts.