Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Sep 3, 2018
    100
    Subset Games has delivered one of the tightest strategy games we’ve ever seen.
  2. Aug 30, 2018
    100
    Subset games has achieved a mastery of the microdrama, and as such, Into The Breach is about as essential as indie games get.
  3. Sep 6, 2018
    95
    I came in expecting a lot, and I actually got a lot more than I bargained for. This is one of the more captivating, tactical and rewarding games of 2018.
  4. Sep 6, 2018
    92
    A strategic turn-based sensation. An almost perfect mechanism, assembled with inspiration and brains by a duo of designers who seem not to miss a beat.
  5. Sep 12, 2018
    90
    Into the Breach feels even more at home on the Switch, since it’s not technically demanding and its campaign options cater to both long and short sessions alike. I’m glad I had an excuse to revisit it, because I nearly failed to recognize this gem as one of the year’s best and most addicting releases.
  6. Sep 4, 2018
    90
    Into The Breach is a brutal, uncompromising game of making hard decisions and living with your mistakes, but the short length of battles and endless variety of playthroughs makes for an extremely addictive experience. Though the graphics are nothing special, the gameplay is some of the very best you’ll find in the strategy genre on the Switch, and we can easily recommend this to anybody who’s looking for an in-depth game that’ll make you think. Into The Breach feels right at home on the Switch, and whether you play more at home or on the go, you’re more than likely to get plenty of value out of this release.
  7. 90
    The basic gameplay itself doesn’t really change over the course of each run: guard buildings, kill Vek, and try not to die in the process. The randomized maps and objectives add variety, but you will need to appreciate the subtle changes that the islands undergo in each run. Undoubtedly, one of the best features of the game is unlocking new mechs and creating your own squads, and it is that element that will keep me coming back to the game. Hop into a breach and pick up this game yesterday, soldier. It’s Vek-hunting season.
  8. Aug 31, 2018
    90
    Into The Breach is a fantastic example of how you can play around with an established genre. Taking turn-based strategy and letting you see what is about to happen changes everything about what would normally play out. The feeling of intellectual superiority you feel when you outsmart the aliens is incredible and will keep you playing through every loss you will experience. Best of all the bite-size maps fit onto the Switch so perfectly that the idea of playing it on a PC is absurd. This is a game made for a handheld, and damn is it good.
  9. Aug 30, 2018
    90
    The game's UI and miniature battlefields, both of which scale incredibly well on different monitor resolutions, unsurprisingly make the transition to the Switch's handheld mode flawlessly. The visuals are sharp and readable, the loading times are instantaneous and on-par with the PC version, and the addition of controller rumble to accompany on-screen action serves as an enjoyable touch.
  10. Aug 30, 2018
    90
    An almost perfectly formed strategy game, that hides near infinite variety and depth beneath its deceptively simple presentation.
  11. Aug 29, 2018
    90
    Overall, Into the Breach is a truly stunning strategy game, and it's right at home on Switch. With just three units to control and short matches to contend with, it's easy to pick up and play wherever you are. The strategy mechanics are absolutely sublime, and the shift from outright victory being your objective to simply scraping by will have you scratching your head and questioning every decision. It can be tough going at times, both mentally and due to its high difficulty, but if you invest some time and energy into the game, you're going to get a lot out of it.
  12. Sep 27, 2018
    80
    Into the Breach is an indispensable game for all lovers of turn-based strategy titles. With a magnificent soundtrack that will accompany us in each battle we will fight against the unstoppable Vek through continuous reboots of the timeline and different Mechas that we will unlock as we play.
  13. Sep 23, 2018
    80
    Into the Breach feels like a board game in which you must control a squad of mech robots to defend the planet. With turn-based combat that is as challenging as it is deep, it offers tons of replay value thanks to its many unique squad layouts.
  14. Nov 19, 2018
    70
    Into The Breach is a challenging turn-based strategy game that features a competent gameplay and a wide variety of levels. While it could certainly use a more elaborate plot and some more weapon tutorials, it's safe to say that this rather orthodox work will appeal to fans of strategy games looking for something that follows the genre's main tenets.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 79
  2. Negative: 14 out of 79
  1. Nov 6, 2018
    10
    I created an account just to combat the negative reviews for this game as it is just unreasonable to give this game anything below a 6 quiteI created an account just to combat the negative reviews for this game as it is just unreasonable to give this game anything below a 6 quite honestly.

    This game is chess meets Advance Wars and is an amazing roguelike turn based strategy game that I have put almost 100hrs into. The game is difficult and you find yourself on your heels most levels trying to stay a step ahead of the bugs. Mechs have several upgrade and customization options as well as interchangable pilots with various special abilities and you unlock a wide roster of pilots the more you play and find.

    Graphically the game is a bit pixelated but the strength of the game is in strategy and replayability. Even with only a few enemy types and a fairly easy learning curve, the game keeps you hooked as you push into increasingly unforgiving levels in the later stages of the game.

    I think this is an amazing game for the price. So much so that I bought it 2x, once for PC and once for the Nintendo Switch.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2018
    10
    A perfect turn based strategy game. The combination of short levels and replayability due to the mech squads is really well done. Beat IntoA perfect turn based strategy game. The combination of short levels and replayability due to the mech squads is really well done. Beat Into the Breach with 6 of the 10 squads.

    Pros:
    - The turn based gameplay was the perfect amount of challenge (on normal mode)
    - The mech squads I played with were all unique and well balanced
    - Nice upgrade system were weapon upgrades or power or movement all seemed viable to win

    Cons:
    - Again a switch con, but I would have beaten the game with each squad if there were achievements
    - Wish they had a buy back, I accidentally sold some weapons I didn't mean to
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 9, 2018
    10
    An absolute gem, highly recommended to anyone who likes strategy and turn based games.