User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 86
  2. Negative: 9 out of 86

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2018
    9
    First time playing Inside for me was just last night on the Switch, and I absolutely plan to return to it at least once or twice in the near future. I dont know what to make of this bizarre, Cronenberg meets David Lynch plot yet, but it's worth experiencing for the incredible art direction alone. Every image is unsettling, and makes absolutely brilliant use of lighting and framing. TheFirst time playing Inside for me was just last night on the Switch, and I absolutely plan to return to it at least once or twice in the near future. I dont know what to make of this bizarre, Cronenberg meets David Lynch plot yet, but it's worth experiencing for the incredible art direction alone. Every image is unsettling, and makes absolutely brilliant use of lighting and framing. The puzzle solving is somewhat engaging, but these puzzles do more to convey thematic ideas over presenting much of a challenge. But, the way thematic ideas are being conveyed so well through the puzzle solving itself is a testament to the artistic power and potential for videogames as an art form. Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2018
    5
    INSIDE is definitely a good game, but I can't say that it's great. The design and captivating story of the game really is up there with the best of them. Having said that, I found this to be more of an interactive story telling simulator than a fun puzzle game. Personally most of the puzzles in the game were too easy and in short supply. It often felt that my objective was to travel fromINSIDE is definitely a good game, but I can't say that it's great. The design and captivating story of the game really is up there with the best of them. Having said that, I found this to be more of an interactive story telling simulator than a fun puzzle game. Personally most of the puzzles in the game were too easy and in short supply. It often felt that my objective was to travel from end of Puzzle A to beginning of Puzzle B rather than actually solving puzzles.

    Final Recommendation:
    If given the option to go back in time and not buy the game then I would. I felt for 3-4 hours of clever but not overly challenging puzzles did not match the $20 price point. However, for gamers looking for a quick game that is visually stunning accompanied by a great story then this might be right up your alley.
    Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2018
    8
    It's a good game, no doubt. Yet, it is rather overrated. I enjoyed Little Nightmares much better.
  4. Sep 14, 2018
    2
    much like limbo you can hardly call this game a puzzle game or a platformer it's more like a walk left and right simulator with good narration, over all watching the game be played is more fun then playing it.
  5. Aug 20, 2018
    8
    One of the best games of 2016 and now of 2018, and also the best "Limbo" clone of all time!! Highly recommend!
  6. Jul 12, 2018
    8
    Excellent game. Mileage vary but I'd say it would take 3 - 4 hours for first timers to complete the game so it is on the short side. The difficulty rises gradually in the beginning but ramps up exponentially in the latter parts of the game with some fiendishly tricky puzzles.

    It's moody, it's different, it's disturbingly serene. i couldn't put the game down once I got started - but the
    Excellent game. Mileage vary but I'd say it would take 3 - 4 hours for first timers to complete the game so it is on the short side. The difficulty rises gradually in the beginning but ramps up exponentially in the latter parts of the game with some fiendishly tricky puzzles.

    It's moody, it's different, it's disturbingly serene. i couldn't put the game down once I got started - but the difficulties of the later stages kinda "forced" me to take a break especially when the developers string together many hard puzzles in sequence. Which is a good thing - otherwise most gamers would just breeze through and not breathe in the atmosphere and design of the game. Personally I do not believe there is much replay value given that it is a puzzle based game and the enjoyment is in cracking the conundrums. Once that is spent the thrill is gone, for me at least. I will replay once again but hard to imagine I would go on to a third play. With that in mind I still maintain that the game is worth your time.
    Expand
  7. Jul 12, 2018
    9
    This may be the closest that games have yet come to an artistic experience. The visual design, the animation, the sound and music, and the presentation of the story -- all are technically and aesthetically masterful and work together to create an overpowering surreal and nightmarish atmosphere.

    The gameplay does not suffer at the expense of artistry. It's not really focused on a unique
    This may be the closest that games have yet come to an artistic experience. The visual design, the animation, the sound and music, and the presentation of the story -- all are technically and aesthetically masterful and work together to create an overpowering surreal and nightmarish atmosphere.

    The gameplay does not suffer at the expense of artistry. It's not really focused on a unique mechanic; rather it's an assortment of miscellaneous puzzles. But it's extremely well-polished, the puzzles often really make you think, and I was almost never bored. My one criticism is that I wish there were a few more puzzles throughout its playtime, which could have taken some of the more interesting concepts a bit further.

    Overall, unique and unforgettable.
    Expand
  8. Jul 25, 2018
    10
    Absolutely incredible game. The art direction and atmosphere of the game are about as good as it gets, the puzzles are elegant, the story fresh and interesting.

    Multiple times during the game you think you've got the game figured out and then it just completely surprises you. The journey of discovery is almost as entertaining as the game itself. If you own a Nintendo switch, you are
    Absolutely incredible game. The art direction and atmosphere of the game are about as good as it gets, the puzzles are elegant, the story fresh and interesting.

    Multiple times during the game you think you've got the game figured out and then it just completely surprises you. The journey of discovery is almost as entertaining as the game itself.

    If you own a Nintendo switch, you are really missing out if you don't play this game.
    Expand
  9. Oct 3, 2018
    10
    This is the best game of its genre, hands down. It doesn't technically deserve a 10, but since it's at least a 9 and the best of its genre, in a genre that is lately overdone, it must have a bonus. Definitely recommended to anyone liking some atmospheric platformer.
  10. Aug 22, 2018
    10
    Este juego es un verdadero JUEGAZO, durante mi larga experiencia como gamer he visto pocos juegos con una atmosfera tan inmersiva y con un diseño de niveles tan intelegente y bien pensado, es un juego que debes de jugar, sus graficos y su sonido son de lo mejor creando un ambiente bastante depresivo acorde al tema del juego. Es una obra maestra.
  11. Sep 10, 2018
    3
    Such simple puzzles for children 5-7 years. The main deception of this game is the plot. You solve simple puzzles in the hope of an interesting end to the story and an explanation of what is happening. However, at the end you are spit in the face
  12. Aug 25, 2018
    10
    INSIDE is both highly minimalist in its design, and meticulously detailed in its presentation. The sound design, background art, camera movement, and animations are all highlights. After playing through 4 times I am still finding new details, and I still have questions about the intriguing and haunting story told without any dialogue. The puzzles are engaging, but not as difficult asINSIDE is both highly minimalist in its design, and meticulously detailed in its presentation. The sound design, background art, camera movement, and animations are all highlights. After playing through 4 times I am still finding new details, and I still have questions about the intriguing and haunting story told without any dialogue. The puzzles are engaging, but not as difficult as those in LIMBO. I found myself hardly caring about the game play as I was completely sucked into the world. It really does feel like an interactive piece of art.

    There are some great videos on YouTube from GDC presentations that go into the sound and world design of the game (search 'inside gdc'). After you finish the game they are definitely worth checking out if you have any interest in the technical aspects of the design :)
    Expand
  13. Oct 27, 2018
    10
    시작부터 마음을 사로잡게 만드는 무언가가 있다. 어두운 분위기에서 시작되는 시작부분은 마지막까지 의심의 의심을 불러일으키고 어느샌가. 엔딩에 도달한다. 퍼즐도 그렇게 막히지 않고 조금만 생각하면 풀어갈수 있다. 좀더 배경과 제작자가 만들어준 세계관에 몰입하게 만들어주고, 캐릭터도 너무 맘에 든다. 마지막 부분에서는 충격을 주면서도 어느샌가 플레이의 마지막에 도달해 크레딧이 올라오는데, 살면서 크레딧다본 게임은 처음이다. 어둡고 비밀스러운 세계관은 내가 좋아하는 SF물에 극을 달하기에 말로 표현하기보다는 직접해봐야한다. 유일한 단점은 너무 몰입해서 엔딩까지 너무 짧게 느껴진다는거. 짧은데 돈이 하나도 안아깝다. 그냥 10점만점에 10점 유일하게 크레딧 다본 게임.시작부터 마음을 사로잡게 만드는 무언가가 있다. 어두운 분위기에서 시작되는 시작부분은 마지막까지 의심의 의심을 불러일으키고 어느샌가. 엔딩에 도달한다. 퍼즐도 그렇게 막히지 않고 조금만 생각하면 풀어갈수 있다. 좀더 배경과 제작자가 만들어준 세계관에 몰입하게 만들어주고, 캐릭터도 너무 맘에 든다. 마지막 부분에서는 충격을 주면서도 어느샌가 플레이의 마지막에 도달해 크레딧이 올라오는데, 살면서 크레딧다본 게임은 처음이다. 어둡고 비밀스러운 세계관은 내가 좋아하는 SF물에 극을 달하기에 말로 표현하기보다는 직접해봐야한다. 유일한 단점은 너무 몰입해서 엔딩까지 너무 짧게 느껴진다는거. 짧은데 돈이 하나도 안아깝다. 그냥 10점만점에 10점 유일하게 크레딧 다본 게임.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. NF Magazine
    Sep 5, 2018
    85
    As many people as possible should have the opportunity to experience Inside. [Issue #35 – September/October 2018, p. 21]
  2. Aug 30, 2018
    90
    Like Limbo, Inside is short, mechanically addictive and emotionally haunting. It’s the perfect addition to the Switch’s growing library of now-portable indie hits.
  3. Aug 17, 2018
    85
    Inside is an awesome game that is even more horrifying than Limbo. The best thing about this game is the mode and the way everything in this world wants to kill you. The adventure is a bit short but you will definitely love it if you enjoyed Limbo.