User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 5 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2018
    9
    First time playing Inside for me was just last night on the Switch, and I absolutely plan to return to it at least once or twice in the near future. I dont know what to make of this bizarre, Cronenberg meets David Lynch plot yet, but it's worth experiencing for the incredible art direction alone. Every image is unsettling, and makes absolutely brilliant use of lighting and framing. TheFirst time playing Inside for me was just last night on the Switch, and I absolutely plan to return to it at least once or twice in the near future. I dont know what to make of this bizarre, Cronenberg meets David Lynch plot yet, but it's worth experiencing for the incredible art direction alone. Every image is unsettling, and makes absolutely brilliant use of lighting and framing. The puzzle solving is somewhat engaging, but these puzzles do more to convey thematic ideas over presenting much of a challenge. But, the way thematic ideas are being conveyed so well through the puzzle solving itself is a testament to the artistic power and potential for videogames as an art form. Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2018
    8
    Excellent game. Mileage vary but I'd say it would take 3 - 4 hours for first timers to complete the game so it is on the short side. The difficulty rises gradually in the beginning but ramps up exponentially in the latter parts of the game with some fiendishly tricky puzzles.

    It's moody, it's different, it's disturbingly serene. i couldn't put the game down once I got started - but the
    Excellent game. Mileage vary but I'd say it would take 3 - 4 hours for first timers to complete the game so it is on the short side. The difficulty rises gradually in the beginning but ramps up exponentially in the latter parts of the game with some fiendishly tricky puzzles.

    It's moody, it's different, it's disturbingly serene. i couldn't put the game down once I got started - but the difficulties of the later stages kinda "forced" me to take a break especially when the developers string together many hard puzzles in sequence. Which is a good thing - otherwise most gamers would just breeze through and not breathe in the atmosphere and design of the game. Personally I do not believe there is much replay value given that it is a puzzle based game and the enjoyment is in cracking the conundrums. Once that is spent the thrill is gone, for me at least. I will replay once again but hard to imagine I would go on to a third play. With that in mind I still maintain that the game is worth your time.
    Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2018
    9
    This may be the closest that games have yet come to an artistic experience. The visual design, the animation, the sound and music, and the presentation of the story -- all are technically and aesthetically masterful and work together to create an overpowering surreal and nightmarish atmosphere.

    The gameplay does not suffer at the expense of artistry. It's not really focused on a unique
    This may be the closest that games have yet come to an artistic experience. The visual design, the animation, the sound and music, and the presentation of the story -- all are technically and aesthetically masterful and work together to create an overpowering surreal and nightmarish atmosphere.

    The gameplay does not suffer at the expense of artistry. It's not really focused on a unique mechanic; rather it's an assortment of miscellaneous puzzles. But it's extremely well-polished, the puzzles often really make you think, and I was almost never bored. My one criticism is that I wish there were a few more puzzles throughout its playtime, which could have taken some of the more interesting concepts a bit further.

    Overall, unique and unforgettable.
    Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2018
    8
    It's a good game, no doubt. Yet, it is rather overrated. I enjoyed Little Nightmares much better.
  5. Jul 18, 2018
    5
    INSIDE is definitely a good game, but I can't say that it's great. The design and captivating story of the game really is up there with the best of them. Having said that, I found this to be more of an interactive story telling simulator than a fun puzzle game. Personally most of the puzzles in the game were too easy and in short supply. It often felt that my objective was to travel fromINSIDE is definitely a good game, but I can't say that it's great. The design and captivating story of the game really is up there with the best of them. Having said that, I found this to be more of an interactive story telling simulator than a fun puzzle game. Personally most of the puzzles in the game were too easy and in short supply. It often felt that my objective was to travel from end of Puzzle A to beginning of Puzzle B rather than actually solving puzzles.

    Final Recommendation:
    If given the option to go back in time and not buy the game then I would. I felt for 3-4 hours of clever but not overly challenging puzzles did not match the $20 price point. However, for gamers looking for a quick game that is visually stunning accompanied by a great story then this might be right up your alley.
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jul 18, 2018
    90
    With a rich atmosphere, solid puzzles, good platforming, and a story that unravels in your mind as you play Inside is one of indie gaming's best titles. It's short and sweet, and it should be experienced by everyone who loves atmospheric and dystopian narratives.
  2. Jul 18, 2018
    100
    In 2016, Playdead has delivered a masterpiece of a game to the world. Most accomplished and thrilling than Limbo, Inside can now be enjoyed everywhere on the Nintendo Switch. Basically, it's the same game, which is certainly not a fault. We're now anticipating what will come next from the brilliant minds of the Danish studio.
  3. Jul 16, 2018
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.