Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jul 18, 2018
    100
    In 2016, Playdead has delivered a masterpiece of a game to the world. Most accomplished and thrilling than Limbo, Inside can now be enjoyed everywhere on the Nintendo Switch. Basically, it's the same game, which is certainly not a fault. We're now anticipating what will come next from the brilliant minds of the Danish studio.
  2. 100
    Playdead’s Inside is a masterpiece from beginning to end, and its Switch port is as good as you could hope for. It’s another must-play title on Nintendo’s hybrid, and is unlike anything I’ve ever played before.
  3. Jul 12, 2018
    100
    Inside is a masterclass in minimalist design. Enthralling and enjoyable.
  4. Jul 2, 2018
    100
    Playdead has once again struck gold with this game and hit all the right notes for another classic. If you only download one non-AAA game this year, make it Inside.
  5. Jun 28, 2018
    100
    Inside very clearly builds upon what made Limbo great, and in fact builds something greater. Its unimaginable twist may leave you dumbfounded, confused, and quite possibly speechless, but it will fuel heated discussion with your friends about its meaning, its message, and its intentions. It’s a short ride, but one I felt compelled to take again – including a search for its mysterious hidden orb collectibles. Play it soon before anyone spoils a single big moment for you.
  6. Jul 15, 2018
    95
    Two years after its first release, Inside is still one of the best games ever made on this generation. Dark and oppressive, it’s full of well crafted puzzles that always show more diversity.
  7. Jul 6, 2018
    95
    Inside succeeds on the strength of the powerful mood that Playdead builds using crisp, clean audio work and the visual design of its oppressive but seductively mysterious world. That power hasn’t been lessened in the port to the Nintendo Switch — and in fact, I imagine that Inside’s horrors are perhaps even more potent when played in the claustrophobic cram of a subway, or in the human clot of an airplane.
  8. Jul 5, 2018
    95
    Inside arrives on Nintendo Switch a game as remarkable as it was in 2016.
  9. 95
    Don't miss this brilliant, story-driven platformer that's as much art as game.
  10. Jul 18, 2018
    90
    With a rich atmosphere, solid puzzles, good platforming, and a story that unravels in your mind as you play Inside is one of indie gaming's best titles. It's short and sweet, and it should be experienced by everyone who loves atmospheric and dystopian narratives.
  11. Jul 11, 2018
    90
    Inside is another amazing game from Playdead and I’ll be picking up everything they have to offer in the future. If you love atmospheric games that play more like beautifully crafted films than Inside is for you. I would recommend this to anyone as it’s one of the best looking games you can get your hands on.
  12. Jul 8, 2018
    90
    With a strong narrative, an excellent atmosphere that perfectly combines ingenious puzzles and moments of tension and a superb staging, Inside is a real wonder that no self-respecting player should miss, because despite its short duration you can enjoy it from beginning to end.
  13. Jul 5, 2018
    90
    Inside is a grimly beautiful platform-puzzler that, while brief, is packed full of jaw-dropping highlights. While its dark tone won't be for everyone, it's all been executed brilliantly, with gently taxing physics-based conundrums woven into a haunting wordless narrative.
  14. Jul 3, 2018
    90
    It doesn't matter when or where you play INSIDE: it will always be a masterpiece. Switch's portability makes this version one to be taken into account if you've never played it before. And if you love Playdead's game, the ability to play it wherever you want is tempting, to say the least.
  15. 90
    While the game is short, the journey is worth it. The art is breathtaking and the gameplay is fun and unique, with some puzzles and enemy encounters that might make you think for a minute before a successful solution or escape.
  16. Jul 4, 2018
    88
    A deeply thought-provoking experience with a mystery that begs to be explored and is faithfully ported to the Switch.
  17. Jul 9, 2018
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  18. Jul 9, 2018
    83
    The game is short and let down by some noticeable issues, but beyond that, it’s a beautifully strange experience many will at least find interesting, with a fair few probably considering it brilliant.
  19. Jul 16, 2018
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  20. Jul 5, 2018
    70
    The Switch port of INSIDE is very solid and runs excellently, looking comparable to all existing versions. This is one of the better adventure style platformers that emphasises the visuals to get its point across. It always feels like Playdead could have done a bit more with the gameplay by making it longer and having more complexity to some of the puzzles. Most people will feel completely bewildered when it is all over.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 5 out of 42
  1. Jun 29, 2018
    9
    First time playing Inside for me was just last night on the Switch, and I absolutely plan to return to it at least once or twice in the nearFirst time playing Inside for me was just last night on the Switch, and I absolutely plan to return to it at least once or twice in the near future. I dont know what to make of this bizarre, Cronenberg meets David Lynch plot yet, but it's worth experiencing for the incredible art direction alone. Every image is unsettling, and makes absolutely brilliant use of lighting and framing. The puzzle solving is somewhat engaging, but these puzzles do more to convey thematic ideas over presenting much of a challenge. But, the way thematic ideas are being conveyed so well through the puzzle solving itself is a testament to the artistic power and potential for videogames as an art form. Full Review »
  2. Jul 18, 2018
    5
    INSIDE is definitely a good game, but I can't say that it's great. The design and captivating story of the game really is up there with theINSIDE is definitely a good game, but I can't say that it's great. The design and captivating story of the game really is up there with the best of them. Having said that, I found this to be more of an interactive story telling simulator than a fun puzzle game. Personally most of the puzzles in the game were too easy and in short supply. It often felt that my objective was to travel from end of Puzzle A to beginning of Puzzle B rather than actually solving puzzles.

    Final Recommendation:
    If given the option to go back in time and not buy the game then I would. I felt for 3-4 hours of clever but not overly challenging puzzles did not match the $20 price point. However, for gamers looking for a quick game that is visually stunning accompanied by a great story then this might be right up your alley.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 15, 2018
    8
    It's a good game, no doubt. Yet, it is rather overrated. I enjoyed Little Nightmares much better.