User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 7 out of 43

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 1, 2018
    8
    A nice, very polished game.

    The gameplay is a very satisfying mix of exploration and combat. In addition to a sword and various guns and grenades, you have a dash move, which makes combat quite interesting. For example, having a shotgun gets a lot more fun when you can dash right up to an enemy before shooting them. There are lots of cleverly hidden areas which mean that travelling the
    A nice, very polished game.

    The gameplay is a very satisfying mix of exploration and combat. In addition to a sword and various guns and grenades, you have a dash move, which makes combat quite interesting. For example, having a shotgun gets a lot more fun when you can dash right up to an enemy before shooting them. There are lots of cleverly hidden areas which mean that travelling the overworld and dungeons is never boring. Finding these rewards you with various ability upgrades that keep the game fresh throughout.

    On a small number of occasions the combat felt frustratingly sluggish. I'm not sure if this was because of the console struggling, or if that's just how it is. This is rare though. I disagree that the game is particularly hard. It's challenging enough to be entertaining, but it isn't punishing, and it doesn't feel unfair.

    Something to make the game easier to 100% in the final stages would have been welcome. Instead, all you can do is retread the entire game world trying to find secrets you missed, which is tedious, and I don't think there's any final reward for doing it. In the end I didn't try to 100% the game, and I don't recommend anybody else does.

    The art and music are great. There are barely any words or dialogue in the game; the story is all visual, and as a result is impressionistic and ambiguous. Apart from some minor confusions, it's an effective approach.

    Overall, certainly recommended.
    Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2018
    10
    Wow, what a great game. I was a little afraid that it's one of those "Hipster graphic look" games that don't amount to much of a game, but I was wrong. Great gameplay, great graphics, interesting worlds to explore... I love the "no words" approach, it doesn't make things easier, but hey...makes it all the more mysterious. Love it!
  3. Nov 11, 2018
    9
    Reverb duck, original version was 30fps on all platforms... now theyve been updated and the worst drops on switch are 40-50fps, which is FINE, the game basically runs just as well on switch as anything else but its portable too... switch is the best platform to play this game on for that reason
  4. Sep 14, 2018
    7
    To start off the art and atmosphere of this game is fantastic. You traverse through a world filled with new items and enemies to discover and the lack of hand holding really pushes the atmosphere and amplifies the feeling of discovering something new. However, where this game really falls short is its difficulty. I love challenging games, but Hyper Light Drifters challenge seems to beTo start off the art and atmosphere of this game is fantastic. You traverse through a world filled with new items and enemies to discover and the lack of hand holding really pushes the atmosphere and amplifies the feeling of discovering something new. However, where this game really falls short is its difficulty. I love challenging games, but Hyper Light Drifters challenge seems to be artificial and unfair. There were many points in the game where i had no idea why i died or what i died too which was really frustrating after dying multiple times on a given area having no idea what to do differently. After being hit you character is also stunned for a short period by certain attacks leaving him opened to get pummeled and essentially die in one hit. This type of difficulty is only made worse by the lack of tools you have to make quick in puts. After attacking with your sword, your character has serious lag before being able to attack or dash out of the way of an incoming attack. Furthermore, the difficulty spikes seem completely random. The first part of the game can contain areas much more difficult than the proceeding areas. It feels random whether the next room or boss will be difficult or not. (spoilers) An example of this is that the first boss of the game was very challenging compared to the second boss of the game which can easily be beaten on the first attempt. Overall, the atmosphere and theme of the game saves it from its lack of fair, fast paced gameplay Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    This game is powerful in almost all areas. The combat, art, music, and visual storytelling are just amazing. Most people may not agree with the wordless storytelling. In fact, it can kind of be troubling as to figuring out what certain upgrades do when a player wants to purchase one as it is all done with visuals. But to some, it's great to just let your imagination fill in the blanks.This game is powerful in almost all areas. The combat, art, music, and visual storytelling are just amazing. Most people may not agree with the wordless storytelling. In fact, it can kind of be troubling as to figuring out what certain upgrades do when a player wants to purchase one as it is all done with visuals. But to some, it's great to just let your imagination fill in the blanks. As for the music I can say without a single doubt that this is disasterpeace's best work. The synthy tracks just add to the layer of mystery surrounding this destroyed sci-fi world. All in all, it is a definite buy! Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2018
    10
    the art, the music, the scenery, the atmosphere, the story : everything is WoW !|
    its racefully paced in combat and its a contemplative experience when exploring or encounter new things.
    i've never experienced a game that says so much but there is not a single word written in this game. You never read or hear someone speaking to you. You have to figure it out by yourself. I have goose
    the art, the music, the scenery, the atmosphere, the story : everything is WoW !|
    its racefully paced in combat and its a contemplative experience when exploring or encounter new things.

    i've never experienced a game that says so much but there is not a single word written in this game. You never read or hear someone speaking to you. You have to figure it out by yourself.
    I have goose bump just writing this short review.
    Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2018
    0
    Waste of time. Just play Dark Souls for 8 more hours.

    Tip to indie action developers: reward better but less dodges. Reward skilled risk play rather than safer play. Reward fast fingers not exploitable tricks. Enemies and bosses are wayyyy to fast compared to player. I want to heal while shooting while healing while mending I want to do everything at the same time. I can't you can
    Waste of time. Just play Dark Souls for 8 more hours.

    Tip to indie action developers: reward better but less dodges. Reward skilled risk play rather than safer play. Reward fast fingers not exploitable tricks.

    Enemies and bosses are wayyyy to fast compared to player. I want to heal while shooting while healing while mending I want to do everything at the same time. I can't you can only do 1 action at a time and it takes blooody years. I mean by the time the player drinks a potion I might as well have read a shakespeare play.

    Bosses have the same problem a lot of indie bosses have: they're dodge DDR bosses. Dodge dodge dodge dodge dodge dodge dodge dodge dodge dodge dodge dodge 1 single attack wheel another 50 hours of dodging until it's safe to attack again. No don't do this, because then you literally BORE the player to death. Make bosses pacing slower and reward good dodges not reward more dodges by allowing consistent in-between attack strategies. If boss does X and my only option is to press the dodge button, remove X from the game and redesign go back to the drawing board.

    Many indie actions have this problem, so shouldn't be too hard to HSD alone. Fix it and improve this is not good enough.
    Expand
  8. Sep 16, 2018
    3
    I really love this game - I played through the whole thing on PS4 and was excited to try the Switch version as it was advertised (and often reviewed) as smooth 60FPS. This is very much not the case. Even walking around with no enemies on the screen is slightly jerky and in combat with lots going on the slowdowns are awful. I'm very disappointed. I've tried restarting my Switch as someI really love this game - I played through the whole thing on PS4 and was excited to try the Switch version as it was advertised (and often reviewed) as smooth 60FPS. This is very much not the case. Even walking around with no enemies on the screen is slightly jerky and in combat with lots going on the slowdowns are awful. I'm very disappointed. I've tried restarting my Switch as some have mentioned but it made no difference. I find it very odd that some people report no slowdowns at all and a lot of other people say it's stuttering all over the place. I would avoid this version. Expand
  9. Dec 29, 2018
    7
    I liked the atmosphere of Hyper Light Drifter a lot, and it is amazing how the games manages to tell its story in images only.
    Unfortunately, the controls are a bit clunky, forcing timeouts on the player after screwing up a move, which often leads to additional damage. This makes the game noticeably harder than it needs to be, and it does not pay off.
    I still like the game a lot though
  10. Feb 10, 2019
    6
    Ich find’s sehr gut, aber viiiel zu schwer. Zumindest die Bosskämpfe. Schaffe nichtmal den Ersten. Vermutlich hätte ich erst mehr tests lesen sollen, aber ich denke meins wird nie fertig gespielt und ich habe Geld versenkt. Habe keine Zeit für 200 Versuche
  11. Mar 8, 2019
    10
    Superb game, passionate soundtrack, and unique style. My only complaint is that it is not longer! I couldn't be more pleased. One of the best on Switch! Can't wait for a sequel (hopefully).
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. NF Magazine
    Oct 29, 2018
    95
    A near-perfect dayglow samurai dream. [Issue #36 – November/December 2018, p. 20]
  2. Oct 22, 2018
    90
    If you groan every time you see another 2D action-RPG on the Nintendo eShop, don’t be dissuaded by Hyper Light Drifter: Special Edition. While it borrows from the Zelda blueprint and games that have followed, it is packaged so perfectly that it stands above the rest. The depth of its vivid world goes beyond what you see on your screen. There’s more lurking there, and you’ll want to discover it all.
  3. Oct 8, 2018
    90
    Hyper Light Drifter is a jaw-dropping experience no matter the platform you play it on. What started as an engaging masterpiece in 2016 continues to be just as rewarding and worthwhile of a video game in 2018. With the Nintendo Switch you get the valuable bonus of being able to take this journey with you anywhere you want and believe me when I say this is a journey you will not want to step away from once you start it.