Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 95
    Overall, Guacamelee! 2 feels like a beefed up version of the original game. And I don’t mean that in a derogatory sense, as the original Guacamelee! is a masterclass of game design. This sequel offers rock-solid platforming, funny dialogue, and addicting-as-ever Metroidvania mechanics. It’s challenging, rewarding and full of spunk. I recommend it as a must play for anyone who likes platformers, co-op titles, and of course, Metroidvania games.
  2. Jan 11, 2019
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Dec 28, 2018
    90
    Guacamelee! 2 feels just as good as its predecessor overall. Some of the hardest sections can be even more frustrating than the hardest challenges found in the original, but this is somewhat counterbalanced by the fact that it does streamline a lot of things that were more complicated than they really needed to be.
  4. Dec 27, 2018
    90
    Guacamelee! 2 is a brilliant continuation of Juan's story. It's largely more of the same, but when the gameplay and visual design is this good, there's little need to change it. Yet another fine example of the Metroidvania genre.
  5. Dec 20, 2018
    90
    Guacamelee! 2 improves on the original in a few key ways but it isn't the revolutionary next step that every gamer must play.
  6. Dec 18, 2018
    90
    Guacamelee! 2 is a fantastic metroidvania with a clever level design and funny combat system.
  7. Dec 17, 2018
    90
    If you’ve not yet played Guacamelee! 2 on PS4, it’s an utter necessity to pick this up on the Switch. It plays so well, and the splendid mix of smooth gameplay, lovely art style, and everything in between make this a definite purchase.
  8. Dec 11, 2018
    90
    As its primary criticism, Guacamelee! 2 could very well be deemed as more of the same. In any case, the attention to incredible level design and gameplay value proves that DrinkBox Studios had plenty more tricks to show with the old tools in hand. As for first-timers, if you don’t mind being spoiled by the final goings-on of the first adventure, then this sequel is definitely approachable enough for you to dive straight into it blindly. Either way, both games are fantastic games in their own right, but Guacamelee! 2 stands prouder with its chest out as a worthy sequel that should not be overlooked by anyone with a Nintendo Switch.
  9. 90
    When Guacamelee 2 does so many things right, from the wonderfully tight and responsible gameplay to the downright gorgeous look and feel of the Mexiverse, it’s hard to not talk about it without gushing. But it’s earned that right, delivering a top-tier experience across the board. It captures the essence of multiple genres and blends them brilliantly within a visually stunning world that’s equally as fun to explore as it is to stare at.
  10. Dec 5, 2018
    90
    Guacamelee! 2 is a great sequel that manages to carry over everything that worked in the first game while offering a fun, zany new story for players to discover.
  11. 88
    Guacamelee! 2 is colorful, crunchy, sweet and spicy even on Switch, just like a good Mexican taco.
  12. Dec 11, 2018
    86
    Fun, addictive and very replayable. Guacamelee! 2 is better than the first game in some aspects and in others it is just as good as it. A great metroidvania platform title that will delight those who played the first game and new players.
  13. Dec 18, 2018
    80
    Guacamelee! 2 is a fun metroidvania, with wonderful gameplay choices, a lot of irony and beautiful music. It’s not a surprise, because everything in the game improves the already good Guacamelee! Playing this title in portable mode will give you a lot of satisfaction.
  14. Dec 10, 2018
    80
    Guacamelee! 2 may share a lot of aspects with its predecessor but that doesn't stand in the way of improving in several ways. Even better, this is a gem of a game, with a delightful sense of humour and an addictive Metroidvania-style gameplay that becomes even more fun when making use of its upgraded-to-four-player co-op mode.
  15. Dec 10, 2018
    80
    Well, there you have it. Guacamelee! 2 is a good time, but it’s not without its faults. Speaking frankly, though, my complaints are mostly just long-winded nit-picks. If you liked the first one, you’ll like this one. It’s as simple as that. I honestly can’t think of anything that this game doesn’t do as well or better than its predecessor.
  16. Dec 9, 2018
    80
    A dazzling, thrilling action-platformer with a potent cocktail of combat and platforming components, all set in one of the most appealing game worlds around. It's not a massive progression from the original, and its sheer relentlessness can prove tiresome, but Guacamelee! 2 is a real celebration of a sequel.
  17. Dec 6, 2018
    80
    Guacamelee 2 is a fun, lighthearted game that incorporates intense platforming and fast-paced Luchador fights. The sequel doesn’t bring many new ideas to the table, and veterans of the original may want to hold off for a while unless they’re craving more of the Mexiverse. Otherwise, if you’re looking for a tight Metroidvania with vibrant colors and a great sense of humor, then it’s an easy recommendation to dip your chips into Guacamelee 2.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Dec 20, 2018
    9
    Guacamelee 2 takes the tight mechanics, abilities, and controls from the first game and ups everything into a more complete package. This gameGuacamelee 2 takes the tight mechanics, abilities, and controls from the first game and ups everything into a more complete package. This game is even more hilarious, making me pause the game so I could finish laughing and get back to the combat. The story is even more understandable in this game, with clear objectives and goals. Enemies are more difficult than the first, but makes for a great challenge, with the same challenging parkour returning as well.

    This might be one of my favorite franchises on the Switch and I can't wait for Guacamelee 3.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2019
    8
    I quite liked the first Guacamelee!, so this was a day 1 purchase for me. The first game offered good brawling mechanics, fun skills thatI quite liked the first Guacamelee!, so this was a day 1 purchase for me. The first game offered good brawling mechanics, fun skills that opened up exploration, and light hearted story with tons of memes. I liked the memes. It took me about 12-13 hours to finish on 100%.

    5 years, Guacamelee! 2 comes out, and it's pretty much the same. Less memes this time, however.

    The story is still very light, I mean there's no character development or real story arc, but that's okay. The dialog is usually funny enough to keep me invested.

    The brawling mechanics are largely unchanged, though the new pollo powers are pretty fun. Gameplay-wise, I'd say the platforming is harder than in the first game, but my memory may not serve me well. The battles are a bit easier, the Jaguar Javier fight from the first game was the biggest highlight for me, with the Caverna del Pollo challenges being another. This time, there are no mandatory boss fights that really stand out, and no equivalent to the Caverna, which was disappointing. The best boss fight still involves Jaguar Javier, but it's an optional one, so meh. The final boss is still underwhelming.

    Some of the platforming I've found pretty frustrating, the lava run and the Crucible being 2 notable areas that got me really riled up. I don't remember being this frustrated by the first game, but again, that may be the rose tinted nostalgia goggles. The chupacabras used to piss me off, but they're much more manageable this time.

    The level design is a bit more predictable this time around, with most bonus rooms right besides the main path. There's not much backtracking to do, which is good, but at the same time I didn't feel the excitement of getting a new skill and revisiting all these areas that held secrets, because there aren't that many secrets to be found.

    Still, these shortcomings aside, I quite like Guacamelee! 2. The quirky presentation, interesting combat, exploration, and reasonable length make it an enjoyable game.

    TL;DR : Combat less frustrating than in 1, platforming more frustrating than 1, still good game. Tarzan buy.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 12, 2019
    3
    I really disliked playing this game, and not just because it constantly made me ask, "wait, is this racist? I... I think it might be? I'mI really disliked playing this game, and not just because it constantly made me ask, "wait, is this racist? I... I think it might be? I'm definitely uncomfortable."

    Weird reductionist puns aside, why am I settling for gameplay with such needlessly precise inputs? After a while, with the bright colors and strange combo chains you have to execute to do most of the platforming, you start to realize you're playing that light up Simon Says toy or a Bop-It, not a Metroidvania.

    The gamefeel is clunky, the enemies are not satisfying to combo, and the midair/dodge roll mechanic is poorly implemented.

    Honestly skip this game.
    Full Review »