Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 13, 2018
    85
    Fortnite on the Switch is still Fornite, albeit with a few graphical concessions. And Fortnite is good.
  2. Jun 15, 2018
    80
    Epic has delivered the full fat Fortnite: Battle Royale experience on the ‘homeheld’. The omission of Save the World is disappointing, and you’re sure to notice the framerate difference if you’re coming from other consoles, but performance-wise, it’s steady and perfectly playable. There’s room for improvement – motion-assisted aiming should be top of the patch list – but ultimately, that just-one-more feeling survives the transition intact. Before you know it, you’ll be eyeing the clock at 3:56 am thinking ‘hmm, that’s not a round number’. The heart-pounding suspense of making it to the final two may not be healthy, but it sure is addictive.
  3. Jun 14, 2018
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Jun 13, 2018
    80
    Fortnite is a free game that is already one of the Switch's best shooters. No reason not to jump in and play.
  5. Jun 14, 2018
    78
    Fortnite is not a masterpiece, yet it is one of the most important games in the current videogame panorama. If you are wondering why this happened, you just have to hold the joycons and spend a few minutes in the company of ninety-nine other players, whether you are at home or at lunch at work. Warning: it could be addictive.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 13, 2018
    Fortnite works fine on the Nintendo Switch, but it also fails to take advantage of the system's unique aspects... so far.
  2. Jun 14, 2018
    The Switch feels like a completely new way to play Fortnite, at least in handheld mode. It’s the exact same game under the graphical downgrades, and it still looks pretty good on the portable screen. Fortnite’s cartoony, colorful art style goes a long way to flatter technical deficiencies. But with the Switch, you can play full-on Fortnite with proper controls anywhere you have internet access.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 74
  2. Negative: 26 out of 74
  1. Jun 16, 2018
    10
    Fortnite on a Handheld console is great. Ive been wanting this port for ages and its finally here! A few things that need to be fixed, but i'mFortnite on a Handheld console is great. Ive been wanting this port for ages and its finally here! A few things that need to be fixed, but i'm sure it will be fixed in updates in the future. Also if you are thinking of buying a Switch just for Fortnite, go ahead because its that good. Also it looks a lot better than Mobile and the controls are way better as well. Go download it now if you haven't already because it's a free game. 10/10 Great Port Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2018
    9
    As a first time player of Fortnite due to South East Asia PS Store not having it, I downloaded this FREE game as it launched. It runs superblyAs a first time player of Fortnite due to South East Asia PS Store not having it, I downloaded this FREE game as it launched. It runs superbly on the Nintendo and is great fun. Very little time waiting to enter the battles which was really surprising after the time it takes to matchmake on Rocket League.
    Fortnite does not force you to pay for anything, as the in-game currency which can be purchased is good for aesthetics only and doesn’t make any difference to performance.
    Again it’s Free, so if you don’t like it, don’t worry, it’s cost you nothing. For me it’s a must-have entry on the Switch.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 16, 2018
    8
    This is overall a good port for Switch. The 30fps dosn't bother me that much and it's still Fortnite. Now all we have to do is wait for saveThis is overall a good port for Switch. The 30fps dosn't bother me that much and it's still Fortnite. Now all we have to do is wait for save the world. Full Review »