Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jun 21, 2018
    90
    They said it wasn't possible on Switch, but now it's here, Nintendo fans won't be able to escape the phenomenon for any longer. It nails the get a little better each time feel, and that's what makes it so addictive. Add in the Save the World mode and it's an equal match for the other systems.
  2. Aug 7, 2018
    85
    Fortnite Battle Royale delivers a perfect balance in gunplay, progression and sandbox elements. No wonder it may be 2018's gaming phenomenon. We even like the way microtransactions allow players to enter new challenges and earn cosmetics for the game, but don´t alter the core mechanics.
  3. Jun 13, 2018
    85
    Fortnite on the Switch is still Fornite, albeit with a few graphical concessions. And Fortnite is good.
  4. Jul 16, 2018
    80
    Fortnite on Nintendo Switch is a well done port despite its graphical downgrades. It contains the same great Battle Royale gameplay the title is known for, and it's just as addictive and exciting as ever. Collecting materials, swapping out guns, and building forts never gets old, even though you are going to be dying a lot. If you have never played the game before, then this is the perfect time to give it a shot, especially since it's free to play.
  5. Jun 15, 2018
    80
    Epic has delivered the full fat Fortnite: Battle Royale experience on the ‘homeheld’. The omission of Save the World is disappointing, and you’re sure to notice the framerate difference if you’re coming from other consoles, but performance-wise, it’s steady and perfectly playable. There’s room for improvement – motion-assisted aiming should be top of the patch list – but ultimately, that just-one-more feeling survives the transition intact. Before you know it, you’ll be eyeing the clock at 3:56 am thinking ‘hmm, that’s not a round number’. The heart-pounding suspense of making it to the final two may not be healthy, but it sure is addictive.
  6. Jun 14, 2018
    80
    Fortnite for Nintendo Switch delivers the same fun, compelling battle royale experience already available on the other platforms.
  7. Jun 13, 2018
    80
    Fortnite is a free game that is already one of the Switch's best shooters. No reason not to jump in and play.
  8. Jun 14, 2018
    78
    Fortnite is not a masterpiece, yet it is one of the most important games in the current videogame panorama. If you are wondering why this happened, you just have to hold the joycons and spend a few minutes in the company of ninety-nine other players, whether you are at home or at lunch at work. Warning: it could be addictive.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 13, 2018
    Fortnite works fine on the Nintendo Switch, but it also fails to take advantage of the system's unique aspects... so far.
  2. Jun 21, 2018
    I'm playing all the time, really...Having a lot of fun. It really is better than PUBG...It's so much more user-friendly, welcoming...It's just a better game.
  3. Jun 14, 2018
    The Switch feels like a completely new way to play Fortnite, at least in handheld mode. It’s the exact same game under the graphical downgrades, and it still looks pretty good on the portable screen. Fortnite’s cartoony, colorful art style goes a long way to flatter technical deficiencies. But with the Switch, you can play full-on Fortnite with proper controls anywhere you have internet access.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 227 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 227
  1. Jul 14, 2018
    0
    I have tried and tried and tried this game based on all the hype. Graphics are average, gameplay is average, controls are terrible compared toI have tried and tried and tried this game based on all the hype. Graphics are average, gameplay is average, controls are terrible compared to similar games. I can't believe the craze. Full Review »
  2. Jul 7, 2018
    3
    I tried this game out as soon as I heard it was on the switch, and.... I’m sorry, but I just didn’t like it. Its not action 52 levels ofI tried this game out as soon as I heard it was on the switch, and.... I’m sorry, but I just didn’t like it. Its not action 52 levels of horrible for sure, but I just don’t get how it got so popular. First off I’d like to mention some of the things I like about the game: it has a nice graphical style. Finding new weapons is satisfying. I’m not against the premise of the game. And that wraps up my list of positives. Now for the things I didn’t like. To start with, I don’t like how your character is randomized for each match. I know it seems like a minor thing, but it really bugs me. Would it have been too much to ask for a charcter select? Or character creator even? Also, the hit detection seems to be really picky with what counts as a hit. Now I admit I’m not the best at shooters that aren’t called splatoon, but seriously, even when I CLEARLY LAND MY BULLETS ON THE OPPONENT, nothing happens, and the opponent dosen’t even take any damage, and when I can’t land any shots in a SHOOTER GAME, thats a major problem. And then theres the storms. Let me be clear here. I hate the storms in fortnite, I hate the storms in fortnite, I HATE! THE STORMS! IN FORTNITE! They do nothing but slow the game down to crawl since you need to stop fighting everyone to get away from it, theres no dash option making trying to get away from the storm all the more annoying, and if you do actually get caught in the storm, if it dosen’t stop moving quickly enough, your **** I apologize the foul language, but the desicion put these storms into this game was such a boneheaded move by epic games. One more thing I don’t like is that when you get knocked down, you have no way of recovering, unless on the off chance someone decides to come heal you, even if you have a health potion on you. But despite all that I have been saying, I don’t hate fortnite, I just think it has a lot of wasted potential. There are a lot of ideas I like about fortnite, but it has too many glaring issues that I can’t overlook, and I feel that the only reason most other people have overlooked these issues is because its free. In fact, I think thats the only reason its so popular! Because its free! I’m certain that if this game was $60, it would be no where NEAR as popular as it is now. If epic games ever releases a patch for this game that fixes or removes all the problems I currently have with this game, I will give fortnite another chance. But as of now, fortnite gets a 4 out of ten. If you want a game on the switch that is similar to this (as in being dropped into a big open world and needing to explore for weapons and gear to survive) and is a million times better than fortnite, go play the legend of zelda: breath of the wild. It will give you a much better experience than fortnite ever will. EDIT: okay, so they recently released a patch for the game on the switch, so I went ahead and installed it and gave the game another shot, hoping all my problems with the game had been fixed. And guess what? THEY DIDN’T FIX A DAMN THING. Hit detection still sucks, characters are still randomized, and the F*CKING STORMS STILL EXIST!!!!!! In fact, all the patch did was make the game worse, since now there are graphical glitches that will cause your character to go backwards when you are trying to go forward (I know it dosen’t sound like a big deal but its super irritating when it happens) and best of all, the controls now randomly lock up during matches! THAT was the last straw! After suffering through a couple of matches, I went ahead and deleted fortnite from my switch, because at this point its just become an unplayable waste of space, and because of that, I’m changing my score from a 4 out of 10 to a 3/10! Avoid this game at ALL COSTS!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  3. Jun 16, 2018
    10
    Fortnite on a Handheld console is great. Ive been wanting this port for ages and its finally here! A few things that need to be fixed, but i'mFortnite on a Handheld console is great. Ive been wanting this port for ages and its finally here! A few things that need to be fixed, but i'm sure it will be fixed in updates in the future. Also if you are thinking of buying a Switch just for Fortnite, go ahead because its that good. Also it looks a lot better than Mobile and the controls are way better as well. Go download it now if you haven't already because it's a free game. 10/10 Great Port Full Review »