User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 62
  2. Negative: 7 out of 62
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 5, 2018
    10
    Game runs amazingly smooth. Occasional slow downs when walking around the hub city and slightly longer loading times compared to PS4 or PC, but the combat is a smooth 60 fps. Perfect way to take DBFZ on the road.
  2. Oct 13, 2018
    10
    Picked this gem up a week ago. Spectacular game! Many abilities to learn and master with each character. Reminds be of Final Bout and Ultimate Battle 22 two decades ago for the PS1. Artwork and graphics are also unique and designed from scratch, unlike many seemingly copy and paste Dragon Ball games, This game shines brightly and will be a challenge for me for years to come!
  3. Dec 31, 2018
    9
    Fighting games aren’t usually my cup of tea, but this one caught my attention and I’m glad it did. The gameplay is highly engaging and very very tight. I love the aggressive and fast-paced action, and the different move sets of each character add enough variance to keep it interesting for hours on end. The campaign is excellent, the story is fun, the characters are.. well it’s DBZ soFighting games aren’t usually my cup of tea, but this one caught my attention and I’m glad it did. The gameplay is highly engaging and very very tight. I love the aggressive and fast-paced action, and the different move sets of each character add enough variance to keep it interesting for hours on end. The campaign is excellent, the story is fun, the characters are.. well it’s DBZ so what’s not to love there.

    I got this game just a week or so before Smash Ultimate came out so I’ve been sort of playing both off and on. While I tend to play Smash more because more of my friends have it, I tend to enjoy this game more when I do play it. It feels more rewarding.

    Not quite a 10/10 in my opinion, but I also don’t think any fighting game is 10/10, so maybe that’s just my genre preference bias. With that said, I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2018
    3
    Could be the best ever but it's so fast you miss the action and fun of the fight . then you find out most of the game is DLC ! No not Down Loadable Content . No now it's - Developer Locked Content ! You have to pay more to get the fighters that are already on the disk witch you already payed for . They make you pay more for Goku etc ?
  5. Oct 5, 2018
    9
    ya lo tenia para PS4 pero la razón por la que hago este review es por que la calidad de este port es perfecta. corre de una manera hermosa el juego y siendo honesto no le veo mucha diferencia en cuanto a calidad con sus otras versiones. la ventaja de esta versión a las otras como siempre lo diré es la portabilidad de la consola. siempre he dicho que la switch es la consola perfecta paraya lo tenia para PS4 pero la razón por la que hago este review es por que la calidad de este port es perfecta. corre de una manera hermosa el juego y siendo honesto no le veo mucha diferencia en cuanto a calidad con sus otras versiones. la ventaja de esta versión a las otras como siempre lo diré es la portabilidad de la consola. siempre he dicho que la switch es la consola perfecta para juegos de peleas por que puede llevartela y jugar con tus amigos en cualquier rato una reta de SF o en este caso Fighterz. el online he jugado muy poco pero en lo general si mi rival tiene buena conexión el juego corre muy bien. hasta el momento solo tuve una pelea llena de lag de las 10 que he jugado. Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2019
    8
    Dragon Ball FighterZ is the the best Dragon Ball game I have played. It faithfully captures the look, feel, and sound of the series while offering balanced combat that is both accessible and deep.

    Gameplay 8 - The gameplay is mostly excellent, each character has a wide array of moves that are fun to use. While most can be performed with relative ease there is a high level of skill in
    Dragon Ball FighterZ is the the best Dragon Ball game I have played. It faithfully captures the look, feel, and sound of the series while offering balanced combat that is both accessible and deep.

    Gameplay 8 - The gameplay is mostly excellent, each character has a wide array of moves that are fun to use. While most can be performed with relative ease there is a high level of skill in using specials and combos effectively and in exciting ways. I think almost anyone can pick up this game and have a good time playing it but there is a huge range of skill and many different aspects of the game to master for more serious players. Even after months of play I was discovering new things about the game and I know I am far from the peak of skill. Each character has enough different abilities that I felt there was a lot of incentive to try all of them and almost every character was fun to play as and could be effectively with enough practice. For example, I found Captain Ginyu was one of the weaker characters but using his body swap technique was just so much fun that it was often worth the risk to try playing as him.

    One complaint I have is that there aren't enough options to allow lower skill players to battle higher skill ones. I started off playing this game with many friends and coworkers but as I got better I found progressively fewer people wanted to play with me because the game became too one sided. Playing against people at a higher skill level than you is basically a massacre with no gameplay options for evening the playing field. This is a common problem with fighting games but other games, such as Super Smashbros., offer several options for evening the playing field a bit and allowing players of many different levels enjoy the game together. Dragon ball FighterZ is a ton of fun to play when facing opponents of a similar range of skill but I found after playing for a few months only a couple people I knew were willing to play. Online I had to wait long periods of time to find matches and most of the people playing online were of a very high skill level, leading to the opposite problem. Due to the limited number of people playing the Switch version it made that problem particularly bad.

    Visual Style 9 - The visuals of this game are awesome. It looks almost exactly like the anime. Even when the camera changes angles the character models hold up. The animations of moves are almost exactly the same as they are in the show with many moves capturing iconic moments of the show in almost exact detail. Facial expressions and character intros also capture the essence of each character accurately. The special moves are some of the best looking I have seen in any fighting game they are epic and diverse without taking you out of the experience of the fight. Landing finishing blows is very satisfying and chaining together special combos leads to some awe inspiring moments. My only complaint about the visuals is that some of the backgrounds are inconsistent and don't capture the 2D aesthetic as accurately of the characters characters. The menus and lobbies also look dated compared to the rest of the game.

    Sound Design 9 - The sound is just as good as the visuals with almost every character's voice captured accurately in English and Japanese so you can choose which you prefer. The voice work is great and the dialogue takes lines from the show while also introducing new lines between characters that you wouldn't expect. Different teams of characters will say different things to each other so there is some incentive to try different combinations just to hear some of the dialogue options. Some of the comments the characters make are really funny and most of them fit the characters well. There are also a ton of music options to choose from. Sound FX in battle are pitch perfect and capture the intensity of the series. The only weakness I would say is that there is no new memorable soundtracks added.

    Characters 8 - Honestly I wish that there were more characters but what they have is pretty solid and you can get quite a few with the DLC passes (although it costs extra). The number they give you to start with is reasonable though and there are a few unlock-able ones. They did a great job of giving almost every character iconic moves from the show and capturing the look and feel of each. Every character feels true to design.

    Progression/Campaign 5 - The single player campaign is pretty bad. I give them points for trying to make sense of all these characters of wildly different power levels fighting on equal terms but mostly the campaign is a boring a repetitive slog. The plot is bad even by Dragon Ball Super standards. There are some funny dialog moments throughout the story and they make an honest attempt to keep the characters true to their personalities in the shows but most of the writing is bad fan fiction. On the plus I give them credit for making a lot of cutscenes and 3 different story trees.
    Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2019
    10
    En toute franchise, le jeu est une dinguerie. Quel magnifique portage, Bandai a fait du très bon boulot, et cela tourne en [email protected] ! Et quel tour de force, le jeu est ultra simple à prendre en mains et à la fois très complexe... on peut aller très loin dans les combos. Alors oui on pourra lui reprocher 2 principales choses :

    - 1/ des textures de décors très appauvries mais si vous ne
    En toute franchise, le jeu est une dinguerie. Quel magnifique portage, Bandai a fait du très bon boulot, et cela tourne en [email protected] ! Et quel tour de force, le jeu est ultra simple à prendre en mains et à la fois très complexe... on peut aller très loin dans les combos. Alors oui on pourra lui reprocher 2 principales choses :

    - 1/ des textures de décors très appauvries mais si vous ne cherchez pas la petite bête, vous passerez à côté car l'essentiel du jeu se concentre sur la fluidité, le gameplay et théâtralisation des combats !

    - 2/ le roster... seulement 22 personnages (si je ne me trompe pas), ça fait un peu short en 2018. Idem pour les arènes (12 en comptant les doublons)

    Mis à part cela, vous pourrez vous délecter de quelques € si vous voulez rajouter les 8 persos rajoutés dans les DLC. Comptons sur Bandai pour nous en sortir d'autres, mais aux vues du travail réalisé sur les personnages, cela risque de prendre beaucoup de temps !

    Une fois qu'on s'est dit ça, le jeu est tout juste ouf. C'est LE jeu Dragon Ball que l'on a toujours rêvé. Votre écran explosera tant c'est vif et beau !

    Ce que j'ai aimé (+) :
    - La direction artistique, impossible de faire mieux... vous jouer dans le manga ! 200% fidèle à l'animé.
    - La simplicité de prise en main (combos, déplacements, attaques spéciales)
    - Le Fan Service (que Bandai sait exploiter à 100%)
    - La prouesse technique de la Switch
    - Le mode histoire, très sympa pour un jeu de baston... et un personnage exclusif crée par Akira Toriyama en personne spécifiquement pour le jeu !

    Ce que j'ai moins aimé (-) :
    - Un roster trop petit pour un jeu actuel... extensible toutefois par des DLC
    - Les DLC exploitant le Fan Service. Les musiques de l'animé aurait dûes être intégrées d'office.
    Expand
  8. Dec 24, 2018
    9
    A great 2D fighting game. Fantastic visuals and addictive gameplay. The Switch port is an outstanding result which is almost identical to the other versions.
  9. Oct 20, 2018
    10
    An incredible masterpiece. The best game of the Dragon Ball franchise, and one of the best fighting games ever. Adittionaly, this port is perfect.

    Simply stunning!
  10. Nov 6, 2018
    9
    My first Dragon Ball game and certainly it will not be the last. I liked this game very much so that I started reading the manga. It is one of the best games to play in the handheld mode. Simple but deep fighting mechanics, funny characters, beautiful graphics and not bad story mode...
  11. Nov 16, 2018
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A excellent game, yo need to prove this. Agood number of fighterz, good mechanics. The only problem is that you need to buy some fighterz. Expand
  12. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Incontables hora divirtiéndome con este juego! me encanta y al principio no creía mucho en él... pero al comprarlo me enamoré, es muy divertido y tiene un arte impresionante, para mi tiene un mejor dibujo que el mismo Animé, los personajes están bien equilibrados y las secuencias de poderes y golpes son maravillosas... me encantó este juego y estoy seguro que lo jugaré por muchísimoIncontables hora divirtiéndome con este juego! me encanta y al principio no creía mucho en él... pero al comprarlo me enamoré, es muy divertido y tiene un arte impresionante, para mi tiene un mejor dibujo que el mismo Animé, los personajes están bien equilibrados y las secuencias de poderes y golpes son maravillosas... me encantó este juego y estoy seguro que lo jugaré por muchísimo tiempo...Muchas gracias a todos los que han desarrollado tal obra maestra. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Dec 17, 2018
    98
    The Switch version performs identically to the PS4 and Xbox One versions, running smooth as silk, sharp as ever and with no input lag when playing with Joy-Cons, the Pro Controller, in docked or in handheld mode. Surprisingly, online battles (no Nintendo Online subscription needed) work flawlessly, absent of even a hint of lag or stutter. And even at odd hours (yeah, I was playing at 4am, what of it?), I never had any issue finding an opponent to battle against. Dragon Ball FighterZ is a AAA port of a AAA game, and the Switch version is definitely the one to get.
  2. NF Magazine
    Oct 29, 2018
    80
    This is the long sought-after bridge that links fans of the anime with hardcore virtual pugilists, and it deserves to serve as the template for all future Dragon Ball fighting games. [Issue #36 – November/December 2018, p. 88]
  3. Oct 22, 2018
    80
    Dragon Ball FighterZ is an incredibly fun fighter for both beginners and veterans. Its utterly gorgeous visuals truly capture the look and feel of the Dragon Ball anime, and its streamlined mechanics make for a remarkable gameplay experience. The tutorial leaves a lot to be desired, and the difficulty curve in the story mode is a bit too flat, but if you can get past that, this is the perfect game for fans of both Dragon Ball and the fighter genre.