User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 52
  2. Negative: 4 out of 52
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2018
    10
    A great 2D fighting game. Fantastic visuals and addictive gameplay. The Switch port is an outstanding result which is almost identical to the other versions.
  2. Oct 5, 2018
    10
    Game runs amazingly smooth. Occasional slow downs when walking around the hub city and slightly longer loading times compared to PS4 or PC, but the combat is a smooth 60 fps. Perfect way to take DBFZ on the road.
  3. Oct 13, 2018
    10
    Picked this gem up a week ago. Spectacular game! Many abilities to learn and master with each character. Reminds be of Final Bout and Ultimate Battle 22 two decades ago for the PS1. Artwork and graphics are also unique and designed from scratch, unlike many seemingly copy and paste Dragon Ball games, This game shines brightly and will be a challenge for me for years to come!
  4. Sep 30, 2018
    3
    Could be the best ever but it's so fast you miss the action and fun of the fight . then you find out most of the game is DLC ! No not Down Loadable Content . No now it's - Developer Locked Content ! You have to pay more to get the fighters that are already on the disk witch you already payed for . They make you pay more for Goku etc ?
  5. Oct 5, 2018
    9
    ya lo tenia para PS4 pero la razón por la que hago este review es por que la calidad de este port es perfecta. corre de una manera hermosa el juego y siendo honesto no le veo mucha diferencia en cuanto a calidad con sus otras versiones. la ventaja de esta versión a las otras como siempre lo diré es la portabilidad de la consola. siempre he dicho que la switch es la consola perfecta paraya lo tenia para PS4 pero la razón por la que hago este review es por que la calidad de este port es perfecta. corre de una manera hermosa el juego y siendo honesto no le veo mucha diferencia en cuanto a calidad con sus otras versiones. la ventaja de esta versión a las otras como siempre lo diré es la portabilidad de la consola. siempre he dicho que la switch es la consola perfecta para juegos de peleas por que puede llevartela y jugar con tus amigos en cualquier rato una reta de SF o en este caso Fighterz. el online he jugado muy poco pero en lo general si mi rival tiene buena conexión el juego corre muy bien. hasta el momento solo tuve una pelea llena de lag de las 10 que he jugado. Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2018
    10
    An incredible masterpiece. The best game of the Dragon Ball franchise, and one of the best fighting games ever. Adittionaly, this port is perfect.

    Simply stunning!
  7. Nov 6, 2018
    9
    My first Dragon Ball game and certainly it will not be the last. I liked this game very much so that I started reading the manga. It is one of the best games to play in the handheld mode. Simple but deep fighting mechanics, funny characters, beautiful graphics and not bad story mode...
  8. Nov 16, 2018
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A excellent game, yo need to prove this. Agood number of fighterz, good mechanics. The only problem is that you need to buy some fighterz. Expand
  9. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Incontables hora divirtiéndome con este juego! me encanta y al principio no creía mucho en él... pero al comprarlo me enamoré, es muy divertido y tiene un arte impresionante, para mi tiene un mejor dibujo que el mismo Animé, los personajes están bien equilibrados y las secuencias de poderes y golpes son maravillosas... me encantó este juego y estoy seguro que lo jugaré por muchísimoIncontables hora divirtiéndome con este juego! me encanta y al principio no creía mucho en él... pero al comprarlo me enamoré, es muy divertido y tiene un arte impresionante, para mi tiene un mejor dibujo que el mismo Animé, los personajes están bien equilibrados y las secuencias de poderes y golpes son maravillosas... me encantó este juego y estoy seguro que lo jugaré por muchísimo tiempo...Muchas gracias a todos los que han desarrollado tal obra maestra. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Dec 17, 2018
    98
    The Switch version performs identically to the PS4 and Xbox One versions, running smooth as silk, sharp as ever and with no input lag when playing with Joy-Cons, the Pro Controller, in docked or in handheld mode. Surprisingly, online battles (no Nintendo Online subscription needed) work flawlessly, absent of even a hint of lag or stutter. And even at odd hours (yeah, I was playing at 4am, what of it?), I never had any issue finding an opponent to battle against. Dragon Ball FighterZ is a AAA port of a AAA game, and the Switch version is definitely the one to get.
  2. NF Magazine
    Oct 29, 2018
    80
    This is the long sought-after bridge that links fans of the anime with hardcore virtual pugilists, and it deserves to serve as the template for all future Dragon Ball fighting games. [Issue #36 – November/December 2018, p. 88]
  3. Oct 22, 2018
    80
    Dragon Ball FighterZ is an incredibly fun fighter for both beginners and veterans. Its utterly gorgeous visuals truly capture the look and feel of the Dragon Ball anime, and its streamlined mechanics make for a remarkable gameplay experience. The tutorial leaves a lot to be desired, and the difficulty curve in the story mode is a bit too flat, but if you can get past that, this is the perfect game for fans of both Dragon Ball and the fighter genre.