Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Nov 5, 2018
    90
    Disgaea 1 Complete is an incredible remake of 2003's uncompromisingly idiosyncratic JRPG breakout hit. Hundreds of hours await, endlessly toiling at copious dungeons and enemy encounters, and the sheer delight that battles manage to produce is never lost on you.
  2. 90
    Disgaea 1 is the one least likely to overwhelm people who aren't deeply familiar with tactics JRPGs and complex JRPG systems. For this reason, this remaster is the perfect entry point for the curious, and anyone interested in the history and heritage of Nippon Ichi's premier franchise will get a kick out of it too.
  3. Oct 9, 2018
    85
    This is easily the best version of the Disgaea bringing in all the improvements and enhancements from other versions with a lot of polish. The only problem is the asking price.
  4. Oct 5, 2018
    81
    If you're an existing fan or want to get into the series then Disgaea 1 Complete is a must-buy remake. Its gameplay, humour, and vast amount of content hold up impressively well 15 years after its debut and it looks better than ever, too.
  5. Nov 1, 2018
    80
    Overall, Disgaea 1 Complete is a sufficient reminder of what made the series such a cult hit that continues even today, but the recent release of the more feature-filled and modernized Disgaea 5 puts it at stiff competition. For anyone looking for a fix after 5, or is hankering to go through the series’ roots either for the first time or the fourth time, there’s still plenty to love in this classic re-release.
  6. Oct 19, 2018
    80
    I’m happy I got a chance to see this longrunning series’ early history with Disgaea 1 Complete, and I look forward to seeing where the games go next.
  7. Oct 17, 2018
    80
    The first Disgaea game is back in a great HD remake. All assets are rebuilt from zero and the game now features all the additions of the Nintendo DS and PSP versions. If you never played the first chapter of this funny jRPG series, this is the perfect chance to remedy, and it comes in a retail version too.
  8. 80
    I very much enjoyed Disgaea 1 Complete, but I don’t feel it’s for everybody. On the surface, there’s a great strategy game full of interesting and unique takes on the genre. But it’s also grind-heavy, with a learning curve that can be extremely daunting. If you have a lot of time to spare, this is easily one of the better strategy RPGs released on the Switch thus far.
  9. Oct 4, 2018
    80
    The first Disgaea is still today a work not to be missed for any reason.
  10. Oct 2, 2018
    80
    Disgaea 1 Complete blows raspberries at po-faced, self-serious strategy games by mixing complex systems with comedy to delightful effect. This remaster is a great introduction for series newcomers, provided you can forgive the odd mismatching texture and an inflexible camera. Veteran fans who have assimilated years of iterative refinements and additions may have a tougher time, but an abundance of charm helps paper over any quality-of-life deficiencies. This cult classic has never looked better and the Switch version makes dipping in and out a breeze.
  11. Oct 10, 2018
    79
    Even if the game grew old not very well, Disgaea 1 is one of the most significant exponent of this genre. Despite of the PC version, there are no significant differences.
  12. 70
    Still one of the best strategy role-playing games ever made and a great place for newcomers to the franchise to start – assuming they’ve got the dedication necessary.
  13. Oct 2, 2018
    70
    Disgaea 1 Complete is a somewhat lazy port that adds nothing relevant to the original experience you probably played already when it was released again on PC a couple years ago, except for the revamped sprites and animations that admittely look quite good.
  14. Oct 2, 2018
    70
    Disgaea was and still is a great game with solid mechanics and an enjoyable cast of characters, but this remaster will mainly be for those with the deepest of nostalgia for the original.
  15. Oct 2, 2018
    70
    The cheesy story and over-the-top characters are as funny and entertaining in the last chapter as they are in the first - but without dedication, experimentation, grinding, and probably some help from other sources, this can be a tough game to get through. With great strategic gameplay full of crazily exaggerated moves and all sorts of options and content to unlock, though, there is plenty of reason to stick with it and spend countless hours in the Netherworld. Aside from some major crash bugs and a couple of other niggling faults, portable Disgaea is right at home on Switch.
  16. Oct 2, 2018
    70
    Depending on your taste, Disgaea 1 Complete can offer hours upon hours of gameplay filled with team building and grinding. With its gorgeous graphics and updated animations, this is hands down the best and “complete” version of the first game.
  17. Oct 2, 2018
    70
    Japan-based developer Nippon Ichi’s Disgaea 1 Complete, an HD re-release of 2003’s Disgaea: Hour of Darkness, presents grinding as a spectacle of artful, sometimes comical, excess.
  18. Nov 8, 2018
    60
    If you enjoy tactic RPGs it’s definitely worth a look in, and there is plenty to enjoy despite its roughness. If you like RPGs but aren’t sure about tactic based games I recommend playing the Disgaea 5 demo to get an idea if this is a game for you.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Oct 13, 2018
    1
    As a Fan of the complete Disgaea Saga, i' m so sad to have to put this score to this game. But it is what it deserves.

    This is not a
    As a Fan of the complete Disgaea Saga, i' m so sad to have to put this score to this game. But it is what it deserves.

    This is not a Remake, is just a ReSkin. It won't be a great deal if the price wasn't near like a new game (49€).

    There is a list of the problems:
    - No QoL improvements. Everything is like the first game in every aspect, even in the negative things.
    You can't Skip animation skills by pushing a button.
    You can't make the geochanges go faster.
    You can't gain exp by healing.
    Item world still with imposible rooms.
    The innocents in item world problem from the first game comes back.
    No Machichange.
    Changing voices to characters.
    Continue in the same battle if you die.
    Canceling just the attack or the movement or moving until ending the action.
    Nothing comes with the game.

    - The Re-skin is REALLY lazy. They just use assets from the new games and put them on the characters. But they don't change the old ones from the story, so you have a mix of New sprites in battles and old sprites in the reading.

    - Some old monsters, where they didn't came in the other games are gone and changed by the new ones, just to use that skins. So, wingeds, Galactic demons... They are gone. They didn't even tried to make new skins for them. This adds to the lazyness.

    Yes, the story is good, but that's not an excuse as it's been there for more than 10 years.. If i just wanted to play Disgaea as before, i could just buy the old one on Steam for 14,99€ instead of 49,99€. Don't buy the game. It doesn't cost this price at this moment. It's just a cash grab.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 16, 2018
    2
    The game is good, however it is too lazy and not a remake, they brought no gameplay improvements.
    Also asking price to steep.
  3. Oct 24, 2018
    8
    When I found out the original Disgaea was coming out on Nintendo Switch I was overjoyed, after playing through Disgaea 5 complete I knew thatWhen I found out the original Disgaea was coming out on Nintendo Switch I was overjoyed, after playing through Disgaea 5 complete I knew that I was in for another game packed with chaos and fun.

    Since I had never played the original this game was completely new to me (I will review this game accordingly), if you don't count listening to the OST and seeing footage online. The game instantly grabbed me with it's aesthetic (something that wasn't as prominent in D5) and threw me into the story. Disgaea 1's story isn't the best there is, but I don't mind, it doesn't take away the fun.

    As for gameplay the game was limited compared to D5 and I would have liked it modernised, though I can also understand that Nippon Ichi went for the original battle system to keep it more akin to the original game.

    The OST is absolutely awesome, it does what it needs to do and more. It pumps you up in a battle, sets the mood when it needs to and is enjoyable to listen to even outside the game.

    The characters work very well with the story, their personalities are clear and expressive, that makes sure that you actually care about the characters or take them lightly (comic relief). Simple as these may be, I think that's not hindering.

    The story is more than decent, I won't spoil anything but just know that this is much much much better than D5's story. I find it interesting that the original is one of the first to really shake up the strategy RPG / JRPG genre with its setting and characters, so if you're interested in things like that or are interested in how they implemented this diversion in the game you should really get it.

    The artstyle is great, I think the original designs of the characters are better than the modern designs, a little more dark, for some reason that resonates with me more in this instance. I have to say that some sprites aren't modernised like the rest, I think that's a weird choice to make, keeping some as they are and updating others.

    There is one major disappointment though, this is not really a remake. This game is a reskin with improvements in the sprites and OST. This does not make it not worth playing, especially on Nintendo Switch (though I think the pricetag could've been more friendly to our wallets). Disgaea is an amazing series to play on the go, therefore I think it is worth buying, maybe even if you do have the original on PS2.

    Overall I think this is a great game, especially for people who have not played the original yet, and the Nintendo Switch is truly the best console to play this game on in my opinion.
    The Disgaea series has quickly become my favourite franchise through Disgaea 5, and with Disgaea 1 complete I can keep on enjoying this series all the more.

    Don't miss out if you haven't played Disgaea 1!!!

    (Art)style: 10 (original) 9 (modern)
    OST: 10
    Gameplay: 6.5
    Characters: 9
    Remake quality: 3
    Story: 8
    Pricetag: 5.5
    Full Review »