User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 136
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2018
    8
    If you have a Switch and you're a Diablo fan, then this game is well worth it. Being able to take Diablo with you, and play offline is great. This is the full-fledged game, with great graphics, sound and full frame rate. Online play works well, but has no communication or trading between players. You can just zerg together until you hit the highest level content where communication becomesIf you have a Switch and you're a Diablo fan, then this game is well worth it. Being able to take Diablo with you, and play offline is great. This is the full-fledged game, with great graphics, sound and full frame rate. Online play works well, but has no communication or trading between players. You can just zerg together until you hit the highest level content where communication becomes essential. Disappointing neither Nintendo nor Blizzard has a solution for this, so you'll have to look to a 3rd party app if possible. The game is also a battery killer, my Switch gets about 4 hours of mixed on-line and off-line play taking the battery from 100-0%.

    If you've never played Diablo before and enjoy an interesting story action RPG, with lots of variety in classes and equipment, along with endless dungeon crawling, then you'll probably enjoy this game a lot. It's definitely fun and I can recommend it.
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2018
    10
    Having previously owned the PC and PS4 edition of Diablo 3 I must admit that I am literally perplexed at how incredibly well this game runs on Nintendo's little machine. It also looks and plays wonderful in undocked mode and is quite frankly a perfect game for gaming on the go.

    Unless you already are bored to death with Diablo 3, you cannot go wrong with this game.
  3. Nov 5, 2018
    10
    An amazing adaptation and feat to get this game to run so buttery smooth on the machine. An amazing, amazing port.
  4. Nov 8, 2018
    9
    Let's get this out of the way... the Switch is simply not the graphical peer of its other console and PC versions. And I would contend it actually looks WORSE when docked than in handheld. There are definitely some rough edges graphically.

    Another problem is the lack of cross-play, but that was something I knew going in, so I can't be TOO irked about it. Still would have liked to
    Let's get this out of the way... the Switch is simply not the graphical peer of its other console and PC versions. And I would contend it actually looks WORSE when docked than in handheld. There are definitely some rough edges graphically.

    Another problem is the lack of cross-play, but that was something I knew going in, so I can't be TOO irked about it. Still would have liked to carry my PC characters and jump in, though.

    That said, I still think it has quickly become my platform of choice for the game. Diablo 3 wasn't exactly known for its stunning visuals to begin with, and if you're coming from previous games in the series, you shouldn't be terribly turned off by it.

    Because most importantly, it keeps game performance up. It didn't matter how crazy the action got, I don't recall even the slightest hiccup in frame rate or processing. Blizzard clearly valued frame rate over fidelity, and it was absolutely the right choice.

    Meanwhile, coming from the PC version, I was honestly surprised how much smoother and more intuitive this game was to play from a controller over the PC's mouse and keyboard controls. It felt infinitely more natural, and I haven't felt compelled to touch the PC version in the last week.

    If you don't have Diablo 3 yet, this is the version you should get. Even if you HAVE another version, this is worth double dipping for.
    Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2018
    10
    Simply Tight controls, slick visuals, and engaging combat systems. Overall 10/10 Hidden Gem of the Year -IGN
  6. Nov 11, 2018
    10
    I originally had this game on PS4 but could not get into it. The portability of the switch allows you to jump in and out dungeons.

    The graphics are more than good enough and although the resolution can take a hit, the game runs at a steady 60fps. The only negative is that this is a full price release (Dark Souls was only £30). There is enough game content to justify the price but it
    I originally had this game on PS4 but could not get into it. The portability of the switch allows you to jump in and out dungeons.

    The graphics are more than good enough and although the resolution can take a hit, the game runs at a steady 60fps.

    The only negative is that this is a full price release (Dark Souls was only £30). There is enough game content to justify the price but it is available much cheaper on other systems (Swirch tax).
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    After playing the DOOM, Fortnite, and Paladins ports i had given up on high resolution, high frame rate games coming to the Switch, But boy was i surprised by Diablo 3, They ported this game right and the performance shows, A must have on the console
  8. Nov 3, 2018
    9
    I didn't like D3 at launch (probably the worst launch i ever seen)

    Friends of mine played a lot after ROS in seasonal HC, and i came back to play with them, i enjoyed it. Now the Switch version isn't the best looking visually (mostly the characters). Outside that it's the most enjoyable version of D3 i've seen by far. Local MP, on the go MP are an absolute blast, Offline seasonal
    I didn't like D3 at launch (probably the worst launch i ever seen)

    Friends of mine played a lot after ROS in seasonal HC, and i came back to play with them, i enjoyed it.

    Now the Switch version isn't the best looking visually (mostly the characters).
    Outside that it's the most enjoyable version of D3 i've seen by far.

    Local MP, on the go MP are an absolute blast, Offline seasonal HC is great for farming. The game is perfect for short on the go session. You take the train, you pot the switch, you launch a rift or a bounty, you don't even the the time of the travel pass.

    Regarding the control, i feel like console control are better than PC controls, directly controlling with the stick feel a lot better.

    Overall, it's imo the ultimate version of D3.
    Expand
  9. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    Its very surprising to see Diablo 3 a Blizzard IP on the switch, But its even more surprising to see it run at 60 fps constantly and a good resolution! If you are a fan of loot based games, RPGs, or online multiplayer, This is the game for you! As a PC gamer, i gladly say this is the best way to play Diablo 3 without a doubt.
  10. Nov 2, 2018
    9
    The best way to play Diablo 3. Period. Its just unfortunate that the game is near the end of its life span, But if you have not played Diablo 3 yet, There is no excuse. You can easily get hundreds of hours on this game. Smooth and stable 60 fps throughout, tons of content, and online multiplayer make Diablo 3 on the switch, a exciting ride.
  11. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    Played the game before, but this is the ultimate version for me. Truly excellent!
  12. Nov 5, 2018
    9
    My girlfriend and I have been playing this together and it's a really really fun co op game. 60 fps and no stuttering at all, great addition to the Switch library, especially for someone like me who has never played Diablo.
  13. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    A great RPG that consumes the player with a vast amount of class, armor, and weapon variety. Fight your way through dungeons alone or with friends. A dark and mystical story isnt much, but its enough to give you a reason for the grind, and the world around you. Would HIGHLY recommend!.
  14. Nov 2, 2018
    9
    Really good like the first one only problem I have is the style and the camera might not be for everyone but if you forgot about that its a really good game if you have the money definitely try to get it.
  15. Nov 6, 2018
    10
    best diablo 3 ever, in all the systems this is the best of the best. carlos styles me la pela
  16. Nov 3, 2018
    5
    Don't buy the hype and the fanboy 10/10 scores. There is nothing about this which is 10 out of 10 except for portability. It is objectively the worst modern console version of Diablo 3: 960p while docked, frame rate drops, particle effects and enemy density at low (if not lowest) settings, online coop behind Nintendo's half-assed Switch Online service, the list goes on.

    First Skyrim,
    Don't buy the hype and the fanboy 10/10 scores. There is nothing about this which is 10 out of 10 except for portability. It is objectively the worst modern console version of Diablo 3: 960p while docked, frame rate drops, particle effects and enemy density at low (if not lowest) settings, online coop behind Nintendo's half-assed Switch Online service, the list goes on.

    First Skyrim, now Diablo - 6 year old ports that are the worst versions of each but charging full $60 MSRP and inexplicably getting 10/10 reviews simply because you can play them "on the go". There's more to playing a game then being able to play it on my lunch break and I'm not willing to sacrifice quality for portability. Limited portability at that, given the Switch's lousy battery life.

    If you already have this on PS4, XBO or PC, there's no reason to spend yet another $60 on this.
    Expand
  17. Dec 3, 2018
    5
    The best description for this game is: basic and dumb. I passed the first hours of the game going from one boring place to another, holding the attack button down till all the dumb cannon-fodder enemies were killed, gathering the loot, equipping the new items, watching some uninteresting badly-written dialogue about the return of evil and basic dark fantasy stuff and repeat. Most of theThe best description for this game is: basic and dumb. I passed the first hours of the game going from one boring place to another, holding the attack button down till all the dumb cannon-fodder enemies were killed, gathering the loot, equipping the new items, watching some uninteresting badly-written dialogue about the return of evil and basic dark fantasy stuff and repeat. Most of the time you don't even have to dodge anything or make any planning about how to tackle large enemy groups, what items or skills to equip, it's just so brainless and bland altogether. I will raise the difficulty to extra hard to see if that improves anything but even if it makes the game more challenging i doubt it will become any more interesting because the setting is just meh, been there, done that, million times better in other games. Expand
  18. Nov 19, 2018
    10
    No esperaba menos de parte de Blizzard es un gran juego muchas horas de diversión y de jugarlo con las temporadas, muy buenos retos.
  19. Nov 19, 2018
    10
    I am addicted to this game on switch. It's something about being able to play it undocked late at night smashing all the enemies and feeling glorious. Also adventure mode is unlocked from the start and it makes the game even more awesome! Must buy
  20. Nov 25, 2018
    8
    como comentarios previos: ya tenia esta versión para mi PC y le he dedicado horas y horas. pero como siempre digo, me vuelvo a comprar algunos juegos que tengo en otras consolas o PC en la switch por que viajo mucho y la verdad el plus de la portabilidad es lo mejor. ahora en cuanto al juego el port es verdaderamente bueno tiene unos gráficos que la verdad no quedan muy lejos de lo quecomo comentarios previos: ya tenia esta versión para mi PC y le he dedicado horas y horas. pero como siempre digo, me vuelvo a comprar algunos juegos que tengo en otras consolas o PC en la switch por que viajo mucho y la verdad el plus de la portabilidad es lo mejor. ahora en cuanto al juego el port es verdaderamente bueno tiene unos gráficos que la verdad no quedan muy lejos de lo que salieron en otras versiones de consolas. eh visto algunas caídas muy pequeñas de FPS cuando hay muchisimos enemigos en pantalla en modo portatil pero nada de que espantarse. trae todo el contenido que ya conocemos y el plus de las armaduras de ganandorf le da un toque nintendero como cualquier otro juego donde meten cosas iconicas de nintendo.
    como recomendación si no hay jugado diablo 3 (que ya tiene muchos años desde su salida y seria raro que no lo hayas jugado) creo que esta versión te gustara muchísimo. los botones son perfectos por si alguien les ha dicho que un juego así se juega solo en PC. como recomendación final jugar con tus amigos este juego es una delicia.
    Expand
  21. Jan 9, 2019
    9
    I played on the computer and now I'm playing this portable version. And it's a good version, the same good experience I had on PC, with good graphics, good music, nice quests, and a important feature: a lot of languages - subtitled and dubbed - you can download by DLC from e-shop.
  22. Nov 22, 2018
    9
    I think that this is truly a unique game and I would recommend that if you are a fan of this type of genre then I think you should give this game a try.
  23. Dec 31, 2018
    9
    If you’ve never played a diablo game before, get ready for hours of incredible combat, looting, and character progression.

    When beginning the game you choose from one of 7 classes, each with very different play styles. As you play through the campaign your unlock new skills as you level up. Each skill having five modifiers that you can use to your advantage depending on your play
    If you’ve never played a diablo game before, get ready for hours of incredible combat, looting, and character progression.

    When beginning the game you choose from one of 7 classes, each with very different play styles. As you play through the campaign your unlock new skills as you level up. Each skill having five modifiers that you can use to your advantage depending on your play style. The customization only goes deeper as you collect loot throughout the game to upgrade your skill set, until five minutes later when you find something better and better, and that loop continues until you are one badass demon slayer.

    Blasting through hordes of enemies in Diablo 3 has never felt better. Such a grindy game is perfect for this portable system. Leveling my character up for hours during my daily commute then plugging in the same character to run rifts with my buddies when I get home, is the what the Switch was made for. Finding a perfect balance of online and offline gameplay, which I have been dying for since the Switch was released. Especially playing a seasonal character, if you create the character and begin playing online, you can grind that character when offline and on the go, earning that coveted seasonal loot all the faster.

    Diablo 3: Eternal Collection on Switch has non-wifi required couch co-op and some special Zelda loot, including Ganondorf’s armor. Which is only cosmetic and quite expensive, allowing you to change the look of your existing armor, not acquire a special set.

    When playing D3 in handheld mode it looks fantastic and it certainly takes its toll as just under two hours of gameplay had my Switch at 30%, so make sure to pack your charger. Before playing handheld I was a bit worried that given the nature of the game, with so much going on, that it would be overwhelming, but that was quickly laid to rest. It feels great grinding through cave after cave of monster mayhem on the go. Even with enemies filling up my entire screen the frame rate didn’t drop, not once.

    Diablo 3: Eternal Collection is absolutely incredible on the Nintendo Switch. If you’ve never played Diablo 3 before, this is the perfect chance to jump into a game that will give you hundreds of hours of gameplay. With the amazing postgame, seasonal support, and addictive polished gameplay it's well worth the buy.
    Expand
  24. Nov 28, 2018
    9
    Really comes out nice on Switch. A bit old content otherwise 10. Looking forward to Diabolo 4 on switch!
  25. Jan 8, 2019
    10
    If you have not played for a decade since burning out on D1 and D2 like me, this is a fantastic return to Sanctuary. I travel for work and to have this portable on the Switch is the perfect solution! If you've never played it is great 'leveling' fun. If you have had a lot of time away from the Diablo universe, D3 on Switch may scratch that 'one more Rift' itch. It may be described asIf you have not played for a decade since burning out on D1 and D2 like me, this is a fantastic return to Sanctuary. I travel for work and to have this portable on the Switch is the perfect solution! If you've never played it is great 'leveling' fun. If you have had a lot of time away from the Diablo universe, D3 on Switch may scratch that 'one more Rift' itch. It may be described as repetitive by some, but for those of us that 'get it', this is a great solution. Seasons and endless Rifts add to the replay value, if you are into that as well. Expand
  26. Jan 11, 2019
    9
    Absolutely brilliant port of D3 over to the switch. Performs brilliantly on the console in either portable or docked mode. In my opinion this is another must have game due to the endless content and ease of pickupability. The offline play is super handy and makes this game exceptionally versatile. As a very long term PC player of the franchise, I am somewhat stunned at how well it playsAbsolutely brilliant port of D3 over to the switch. Performs brilliantly on the console in either portable or docked mode. In my opinion this is another must have game due to the endless content and ease of pickupability. The offline play is super handy and makes this game exceptionally versatile. As a very long term PC player of the franchise, I am somewhat stunned at how well it plays on the Switch. Expand
  27. Feb 6, 2019
    10
    Very good game i had it for my birthday and i was proud how good was the game so many RPG elements it's just great. I have more than 2 hours of gameplay and it's just a great RPG game.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Mar 5, 2019
    90
    Diablo 3 being portable, makes the Switch version the definitive one. Whether you like to play it in short bursts or in long sessions, the portability of the Switch makes anything possible. It really feels great either way. With a stable framerate and graphics that look awesome for a portable console, Diablo 3 gets a new life on the latest Nintendo console. And it rocks once again!
  2. NF Magazine
    Feb 26, 2019
    90
    Diablo III veterans looking to return to the fray will want to give the Switch iteration a try, and for newcomers, this is the ideal entry point. [Issue #37 – January/February 2019, p. 72]
  3. CD-Action
    Feb 6, 2019
    80
    The best and the most complete of all console editions of Diablo III – and you can play it anywhere. Who needs Diablo Immortal? [01/2019, p.65]