User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 139
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2018
    5
    I do really enjoy the story and some of the levels are super engaging. However I find some of the levels, especially the bridge levels of Crash 1 to be extremely hard. Lucky me, I haven't gotten to Stormy Ascent... Yet. Otherwise, the one thing I hate is that the controls are so slippery or won't input. In multiple levels, I've clicked the B button and when I go to jump and it doesn'tI do really enjoy the story and some of the levels are super engaging. However I find some of the levels, especially the bridge levels of Crash 1 to be extremely hard. Lucky me, I haven't gotten to Stormy Ascent... Yet. Otherwise, the one thing I hate is that the controls are so slippery or won't input. In multiple levels, I've clicked the B button and when I go to jump and it doesn't register, I get pretty pissed off. One screw up off any platforming, your dead. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2018
    10
    One of the best Ports to The Nintendo Switch, as many people complain about Crash's Difficultly I didn't run into parts why it was to difficult, I am glad that the creators decided to change somethings that many people found annoying in the original PS4 release such as Longer Load Times which now don't take their time to load, certain lighting effects like why Cortex is Speak to you inOne of the best Ports to The Nintendo Switch, as many people complain about Crash's Difficultly I didn't run into parts why it was to difficult, I am glad that the creators decided to change somethings that many people found annoying in the original PS4 release such as Longer Load Times which now don't take their time to load, certain lighting effects like why Cortex is Speak to you in Crash 2 and 3 his head now clashes well with the background. Even though the Switch Port isn't as powerful as the PS4 release it is still a must buy for any Switch Owner the Trilogy's Three Games are all amazing and play well Docked and Portable the N Sane Trilogy was a great choice for Switch, Now we can only hope that Spyro get's a release on Switch or Crash Joins the Battle in the Smash Ultimate. Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2018
    9
    After many years of disappointing games and being left alone in the shadows, Crash was finally back in 2017 with an incredible remaster of his original trilogy that took the gaming world by storm in the 90s. And now, one year after his amazing comeback, the world's favorite marsupial crashes the Nintendo Switch. But, does the hybrid console manages to run the game well?

    The answer is
    After many years of disappointing games and being left alone in the shadows, Crash was finally back in 2017 with an incredible remaster of his original trilogy that took the gaming world by storm in the 90s. And now, one year after his amazing comeback, the world's favorite marsupial crashes the Nintendo Switch. But, does the hybrid console manages to run the game well?

    The answer is yes. Crash Bandicoot N.Sane Trilogy is a well-made port that runs in a good resolution and a stable 30 fps, with absolutely no frame drops. Sure, some things such as the lightnings in some levels and the textures are quite toned down, but it's not a huge difference, as the game still looks beautiful on the TV and when playing on the go. The developers did a great job at porting this game to Nintendo's newest console.

    Now, speaking aside from the port's quality and such, is the remaster really that good?

    It's best to say that "good" is not enough to describe N.Sane Trilogy. This remaster keeps everything that the original Crash games had in terms of gameplay, level design, story, characters and such, but also improves on everything it has the chance to, such as the graphics, animations, and voice acting. Doing that, it not only creates a sense of familiarity and nostalgia by playing the three original Crash Bandicoot games remastered, but also gives us a feeling of "freshness", by being faithful to the original trilogy. To say it short, this is a remaster made with so much passion that will satisfy every fan of Crash Bandicoot.

    Of course, that doesn't mean N.Sane Trilogy is absolutely perfect. By being faithful to the original games, the remaster also brings back a few problems that the original trilogy had, and doesn't try to fix them. Some things such as the controls at some levels and how it can become frustrating in a few moments are still there. These are things that long-time fans of the series won't have any problem with, but new players might not be ready to face a few of those problems and the big difficult these games bring. That doesn't mean it's impossible to adapt yourself to the game if you're a newcomer, though.

    In the end, it's safe to say that Crash Bandicoot N.Sane Trilogy is one of the finest examples of how to make a remaster right, keeping everything important the original games had while tweaking everything it possibly can. This means that some common problems are brought back, but it's nothing the player cannot get used to. At the same time, the port for the Nintendo Switch is absolutely great, with no huge difference to the other versions. But, the greatest thing we all get from the remaster, is that Crash's finally back, and better than ever.
    Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2018
    9
    Poor resolution ahead but the switch version is awesome! The portability inherent in the nature of the console - to put the marsupial in his pocket and play in his company on every occasion, all in all, Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy is a ruthlessly faithful recreation of some of the earliest successes in 3D platforming. Levels are slick, gorgeous to look at, and recreate the feel of thePoor resolution ahead but the switch version is awesome! The portability inherent in the nature of the console - to put the marsupial in his pocket and play in his company on every occasion, all in all, Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy is a ruthlessly faithful recreation of some of the earliest successes in 3D platforming. Levels are slick, gorgeous to look at, and recreate the feel of the originals superbly. However, newcomers to the series may be put off by the steep difficulty spikes and little to no explanation of some of the finer mechanics. This is definitely worth a look if you're a fan of 3D platformers, but just as was the case back in the '90s, Crash isn't in quite the same league as Mario when it comes to playability, inventiveness and entertainment. Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2018
    10
    As someone who had Crash Bandicoot 1 and Warped on the Playstation 1, when the Switch version came out I had to buy it. I had it on PS4 and completed Warped, but never got around to the other 2 games. With the switch I have already completed 1 and am trying Crash 2 for the first time. The originals were 10/10 and the switch version is the same with nicer graphics and its portable!
    A must
    As someone who had Crash Bandicoot 1 and Warped on the Playstation 1, when the Switch version came out I had to buy it. I had it on PS4 and completed Warped, but never got around to the other 2 games. With the switch I have already completed 1 and am trying Crash 2 for the first time. The originals were 10/10 and the switch version is the same with nicer graphics and its portable!
    A must buy if you like platformers! 10/10
    Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2018
    8
    I remember playing all three of these Crash games back in the 90s when I had better hair and reflexes. I bought this game on PS4 last year and was hesitant to plop another 30-40 bucks on a technically inferior Switch version. But one of the Switch's selling points is its portability and that makes one's 'definitive' version of a cross-platform the Switch version one can take anywhere.I remember playing all three of these Crash games back in the 90s when I had better hair and reflexes. I bought this game on PS4 last year and was hesitant to plop another 30-40 bucks on a technically inferior Switch version. But one of the Switch's selling points is its portability and that makes one's 'definitive' version of a cross-platform the Switch version one can take anywhere.

    First, the graphics are noticeably worse than the PS4 version. No fancy hair effects on Crash, poorer shadows, and less vegetation are all easily recognized with a point of comparison. After playing for a few hours on a proper monitor though, those differences become less and less important. The resolution is a bummer however, I really wish they could have hit 1080p on docked. The frame-rate is solid and I haven't noticed any slowdown at all so far. The 30fps target isn't stellar but that's all this port had to aim for. ONE HUGE IMPROVEMENT comes with the load times. Holy cow! One of the main reasons I didn't like booting up or playing this game on PS4, was the obscene loadtimes for the games themselves and every level in and out. That hasn't been patched out as far as I know. On Switch everything loads quickly and is no longer an annoyance.

    As far as the games themselves, they are still a blast if you like more old-school platformers. I've read some reviews that pain these games as out-dated or otherwise showing their age with regards to gameplay. I think that's an absurd argument. Certainly, these games are harder than a lot of more modern games, especially certain sections of Crash 1. The mechanics are more simple but they are tight and pushed to the hilt. The games challenge relies on precision jumping in both time and space.

    I personally enjoy this style of gameplay. The levels are varied aesthetically and filled with secrets. For completionists there are plenty of very challenging activities in nearly every level.

    It's not like Switch is hurting for platformers, but, if you like them this is definitely worth looking into because with 3 whole games in the package, you're getting some serious bang for your bucks.
    Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2018
    10
    It's a remaster not a remake. So if it's hard to play for you go play something else. Oryginal crash was hard - the part one especially. Its great to see crash on switch. Great games
  8. Jul 3, 2018
    10
    Crash en portatil una maravilla, quema todas las demás copias de ps4 y xbox o pc que la de switch es la mejor de todas!! un gran acierto para poder disfrutar de la mascota de sony en nintendo :D ah! y por cierto es muy divertido :)
  9. Jul 7, 2018
    10
    For a port pf a PS4 game, it's absolutely wonderful, looks great (especially while docked) and the games themselves are fantastic. This is my entry point to the Crash Bandicoot series, and I'm not disappointed at all. You get three games for 39.99$ with some of the best platforming levels I've seen (like Slippery Climb, Future Tense, Hang em High and much more!) and the games have a uniqueFor a port pf a PS4 game, it's absolutely wonderful, looks great (especially while docked) and the games themselves are fantastic. This is my entry point to the Crash Bandicoot series, and I'm not disappointed at all. You get three games for 39.99$ with some of the best platforming levels I've seen (like Slippery Climb, Future Tense, Hang em High and much more!) and the games have a unique cartoonish charm, great cutscenes and it overall runs really well. Expand
  10. Jul 8, 2018
    1
    720p y 480p en portátil. En 2018. Nintendo Switch sigue haciendo el ridículo.
  11. Jul 2, 2018
    9
    The Switch version is nearly identical to the other versions with the exception of a few graphical downgrades, although they are barely noticeable and the game still looks gorgeous despite them.

    The same fun seen in the original PS4 version is back and is arguably even better with the perk of playing this on the go and whenever or wherever you want. If you missed out on the PS4
    The Switch version is nearly identical to the other versions with the exception of a few graphical downgrades, although they are barely noticeable and the game still looks gorgeous despite them.

    The same fun seen in the original PS4 version is back and is arguably even better with the perk of playing this on the go and whenever or wherever you want.

    If you missed out on the PS4 version, then I cannot recommend this version enough.

    It’s the same fun, but this time it is easily accessible anytime.
    Expand
  12. Jul 2, 2018
    9
    crash bandicoot n-sane trilogy is a good game for the nintendo switch, for me the best version is the nintendo switch because you can take it everywhere, it has some not very noticeable graphic differences, it could go unnoticed easily as a version of ps4 but if it has notable differences such as shadows, lighting and the most notable is the crash coat that is not well defined in thecrash bandicoot n-sane trilogy is a good game for the nintendo switch, for me the best version is the nintendo switch because you can take it everywhere, it has some not very noticeable graphic differences, it could go unnoticed easily as a version of ps4 but if it has notable differences such as shadows, lighting and the most notable is the crash coat that is not well defined in the version of nintendo switch, it is a very good purchase since it gives you three great games by $ 40, a very good price if you ask me, the game is fantastic, but if you have some failures especially in the first bandicoot crash that for the newest will be difficult this crash, for people who have never played any of the three crash bandicoot I would recommend playing the third bandicoot crash that is warped. a very good game 100% recommended Expand
  13. Jul 3, 2018
    0
    Terrible Controls. Terrible Hitboxes. Terrible Gameplay. Terrible Game. Waste of Money. Waste of Time.
  14. Jul 4, 2018
    0
    If all you can say is "oh it's portable" that's not actually a case for the game itself. The controls are EVEN worse than the PS4 version, Crash is the touchiest character I've used in my life via these remakes. The old games were better controlled, but at least the PS4 game looked outstanding, this; THIS looks like dog poop. The Switch version is a total waste of time and money.
  15. Jun 30, 2018
    0
    Some games do age well, others do not. Crash Bandicoot most certainly does not. Especially the first part of the trilogy is from a time where lack of content was simply made up for by a very high difficulty.
    And whilst you die a lot from your own mistakes and bad timing, the worst part is that you very often die for something that was simply not your fault, such as the fixed camera making
    Some games do age well, others do not. Crash Bandicoot most certainly does not. Especially the first part of the trilogy is from a time where lack of content was simply made up for by a very high difficulty.
    And whilst you die a lot from your own mistakes and bad timing, the worst part is that you very often die for something that was simply not your fault, such as the fixed camera making precise jumps close to impossible or you having killed an enemy or broke a crate that you need to advance.

    I guess the level making this the most obvious is "The high road", where you already have a hard time to do precise jumps due to the camera behind your back, but it also contains sections where you need a certain enemy to advance. An enemy you can kill. And if you die often enough, the game now gives you a protective mask, which makes things worse because not only does that not help with falling down, it also makes killing these enemies you need by accident a lot more likely.

    Everybody who loved the original Crash Bandicoot games and wants to go through the frustration again: it's a great port with lovely graphics and attention paid to detail.

    Everybody else: hands off that game. It is frustrating, very repetitive in level design, graphics and music and you simply notice that it was from the very early time of 3d jump and runs. You can get better ones for the Swich easily.
    Expand
  16. Jul 10, 2018
    9
    An excellent switch port. Runs great on both handheld and docked mode, although I would like it to be less blury on handheld mode. I've never played Crash games before so this is my first time jumping onto the series. Just amazing. A solid platformer game for switch owners.
  17. Jul 13, 2018
    10
    Crash Bandicoot is the first game I ever played on Playstation. this is on of my favorite 3d parkour game that remind me childhood memory. I'm so glad that I can play crash anywhere I go on Nintendo Switch.
    Graphic are so much better but I only wish to be able to switch between new and old graphic to see how much work they put into. Overall I really think this game worth his price if you
    Crash Bandicoot is the first game I ever played on Playstation. this is on of my favorite 3d parkour game that remind me childhood memory. I'm so glad that I can play crash anywhere I go on Nintendo Switch.
    Graphic are so much better but I only wish to be able to switch between new and old graphic to see how much work they put into. Overall I really think this game worth his price if you are a true fan
    Expand
  18. Jul 12, 2018
    9
    Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy is one of the best made ports to the Switch so far. Very good quality and enjoyable games with a few kinks of the past still lingering like the controls being a little bit slippery and trouble with depth perception. However, it does not take away from how fun and classic these games feel even in a high definition polish. Three games definitely worth $40.
  19. Jul 16, 2018
    7
    Although the game is good, the switch port kinda sucks. If you look at games like Zelda Botw or Super Mario Odyssey you can see how good a switch game can look. Crash looks like a 2008 IPhone game in comparison.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jul 16, 2018
    80
    While the game suffers in performance in docked mode, the pleasures gained in handheld mode more than make up for it. Even with the technical issues, this is a fine collection, and well worth the investment of both time and money.
  2. Jul 13, 2018
    90
    Crash Bandicoot N.Sane Trilogy can be compared to a good, old Chardonnay. It gives players the ability to enjoy an excellent remaster of three classic platformers and the adventures of an iconic character in one, single package. This is a collection that all Switch owners should be looking forward to.
  3. Jul 12, 2018
    90
    Crash Bandicoot is back, and hopefully now for good. The original Naughty Dog trilogy are the best in the series, and not only does this collection see their debut on a Nintendo platform, but it's the best version possible of the games. Willy the Wombat is reborn,and with Vicarious Visions at the helm I now have high hopes for the future, especially considering Crash has become the fastest selling game on Switch in 2018.