Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 100
    Bury Me, My Love is a remarkable exercise in building empathy. It’s a simple game, but so much more razor focused and successful at creating authenticity than most games that have budgets of a hundred million. Most importantly, however, is that no game is telling a story of greater importance to the world at the moment than Bury Me, My Love. The games industry and those who play games keep arguing that there's the potential for video games to have the emotional power and potential to be the next great art form. Here’s your proof.
  2. Jan 9, 2019
    83
    Rather than focusing on the political or militant side of war like many games do, Bury Me, My Love's humanistic approach is refreshing. This window into war never feels heavy handed or disingenuous; it's grounded in its storytelling, and kept me glued to the screen until Nour's journey concluded.
  3. Jan 17, 2019
    80
    Bury me, my Love offers an imaginative window into today’s shadow world.
  4. Jan 10, 2019
    80
    Bury me, my Love‘s very real, genuine sense of storytelling…feels contemporary and in tune with the events shaping our times.
  5. Jan 10, 2019
    80
    Using only text messages, Bury me, my Love develops two relatable main characters and tells the engaging story of a Syrian woman’s search for refuge in Europe after her sister is killed in a bombing. The game rewards multiple playthroughs with its compelling writing and interesting storylines, though replaying the same passages can be tedious.
  6. 80
    A very successful attempt to address real world news events in a video game that always feels realistic but never manipulative.
  7. Jan 8, 2019
    80
    That the story it tells is so engaging and believable, with wonderfully well-rounded characters, only elevates its exploration of the realities of war, and it manages to successfully elicit a genuine human connection.
  8. Jan 18, 2019
    70
    Bury Me My Love offers some nice art and a good, realistic story with some technical problems. It locks up sometimes but if you can forgive it's flaws there is much enjoyment to be had. Mostly because of how relevant the story is in this day and age.
  9. Jan 10, 2019
    70
    A very human story that is narrated in an effective and contemporary way, although the controls of the game have not been well adapted to Nintendo Switch.
  10. Jan 9, 2019
    70
    Bury Me, My Love isn’t always an easy trek, perhaps reflecting its subject matter, and it’s still better suited to mobile phones. But it’s so emotionally engaging that, despite multiple, doomed playthroughs, you won’t leave Nour’s side until you’ve guided her to safety.
  11. Jan 10, 2019
    60
    Bury Me, My Love is an ambitious game with a great premise. I just wish it didn't feel so disingenuous so much of the time.
  12. Jan 21, 2019
    57
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. 55
    I applaud Bury me, my Love for shedding light on the horrific and traumatic situation faced by refugees as they leave their lives behind in search of safety and salvation. As a narrative experience, it tells a meaningful and powerful tale, but the form and delivery on Switch simply don’t lend themselves to being player-friendly or engaging.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 10, 2019
    A devastating story unfolds across text messages in this unforgettable piece of interactive fiction. [Eurogamer Recommended]
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Jan 17, 2019
    0
    This isn't a game.

    The critics are too cowardly - given the sensitive subject matter - to call it what it is. It's a smart phone visual
    This isn't a game.

    The critics are too cowardly - given the sensitive subject matter - to call it what it is.

    It's a smart phone visual novel. Visual novels are big in Japan. Personally, I've never understood why. It's a game without any gameplay... How is that a game?

    This sucks.
    It's awful.

    Avoid.
    Full Review »