Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jun 20, 2018
    85
    Beautiful pixel art, good music, well designed levels and several endings to promote replay. Only a few more levels and maybe a more modern controls would have improved what's already a game no Castlevania fan should miss.
  2. Jun 5, 2018
    82
    If you miss Castlevania or you can’t wait to play Bloodstained, this is a great choice. A good homage at a good price.
  3. May 30, 2018
    82
    The prospect of playing such a lovingly crafted tribute to the vintage heyday of Konami's seemingly abandoned Castlevania series more than makes up for a few out-of-place boss fights and a slightly too punitive death penalty. Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon delivers a brief but effective burst of nostalgia, and thanks to its many creative modifiers it contains enough replay value to engage (and challenge) anyone who pines for gaming's bygone days.
  4. Jun 26, 2018
    80
    This 8-bit spin-off of Koji Igarashi’s Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night is at the same time a nostalgic linear sidescroller and a modern game that manages to be accessible to new players.
  5. Jun 11, 2018
    80
    More than a retro-inspired mini-game, Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon takes influence from the classic Castlevania NES titles and adds many quality-of-life improvements (and a few surprises) to the 8-bit, nostalgia-driven gameplay.
  6. May 31, 2018
    80
    Bloodstained: Curse Of The Moon is undoubtedly aimed at a very specific audience, and you’ll know if you’re part of that just by looking at the screenshots. If those, combined with words such as these, make your heart sing, however, it’s definitely worth your time. It’s like Castlevania just decided to come soaring back into all our lives, and how can that ever be a bad thing? Exactly.
  7. 80
    Curse of the Moon is a very enjoyable old-school Castlevania homage that’s well worth the price of admission—as long as you have nostalgia for those games. Those of you who have no patience for the first three Castlevania games in particular may want to give Curse a wide berth, but I daresay there are systems in place here that may tickle your fancy.
  8. May 25, 2018
    80
    It might not blaze the trail on anything new like a few other recent Inti Creates projects have, but it does exactly what it needs to do, and helps bolster the new legacy of Bloodstained proper before it's even out.
  9. May 24, 2018
    78
    Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon brings back the essence of the 8-bit Castlevania games in a masterful way. Even though it's short and has its frustrating moments, long-time fans of the series will find a lot to love here.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 5, 2018
    The game is only a few hours long, though, and the levels are winding and secret-filled enough to support that kind of repeated exploration. And while the developers may not have figured out how to mercifully handle losing a party member, they did put a lot of effort into creating varied difficulty options that can appeal to different kinds of players.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 64
  2. Negative: 4 out of 64
  1. May 24, 2018
    10
    An absolute must-have for any fan of the classic Castelvania games. The soundtrack is phenomenal, the game has a lot of replayability, and theAn absolute must-have for any fan of the classic Castelvania games. The soundtrack is phenomenal, the game has a lot of replayability, and the difficulty is just right. Full Review »
  2. May 25, 2018
    10
    Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon brings back the classic style of Castlevania that we didn't know we've been missing for so long. Inspired fromBloodstained: Curse of the Moon brings back the classic style of Castlevania that we didn't know we've been missing for so long. Inspired from the past and with features from current technology, it's a pretty solid game for its low price. The additional characters and extra difficulty modes allow some backtracking and replay value. Full Review »
  3. May 29, 2018
    9
    Although the Castlevania games of the past, especially from my generation, I can say I was just as surprised that despite the actual teasersAlthough the Castlevania games of the past, especially from my generation, I can say I was just as surprised that despite the actual teasers that I remembered seeing, it took a step back and went to the very beginning, starting with difficulty.

    However, I'm being fair to say that I must deduce a bit from it being a perfect score due to the fact that there were some things I honestly don't understand, let alone the areas that seem to pretty much scream at you that you need to go that way. The so called 'bodies of adventurers past', were not helpful at all, mostly because I wasn't sure how to read them right. (Some were clearly pointing, but there was one that absolutely wasn't. I was very confused by this.) Some enemies I could not get past and the controls were to me at least, sticky. The story didn't exactly make sense, and I could not possibly find any way to enjoy the characters aside from their abilities. (Then again, I'm very picky about that. Like not full biography, but enough to understand them a little.) You can't backtrack in case you missed something.

    Now I've been a long time fan of Castlevania, however the only one I ever beat was SOTN. I have never beaten any other ones due to difficulty and frustrating controls. I hope this is a more honest and up close review that would be heavily considered.
    Full Review »