Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 5, 2018
    82
    If you miss Castlevania or you can’t wait to play Bloodstained, this is a great choice. A good homage at a good price.
  2. May 30, 2018
    82
    The prospect of playing such a lovingly crafted tribute to the vintage heyday of Konami's seemingly abandoned Castlevania series more than makes up for a few out-of-place boss fights and a slightly too punitive death penalty. Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon delivers a brief but effective burst of nostalgia, and thanks to its many creative modifiers it contains enough replay value to engage (and challenge) anyone who pines for gaming's bygone days.
  3. Jun 11, 2018
    80
    More than a retro-inspired mini-game, Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon takes influence from the classic Castlevania NES titles and adds many quality-of-life improvements (and a few surprises) to the 8-bit, nostalgia-driven gameplay.
  4. May 31, 2018
    80
    Bloodstained: Curse Of The Moon is undoubtedly aimed at a very specific audience, and you’ll know if you’re part of that just by looking at the screenshots. If those, combined with words such as these, make your heart sing, however, it’s definitely worth your time. It’s like Castlevania just decided to come soaring back into all our lives, and how can that ever be a bad thing? Exactly.
  5. 80
    Curse of the Moon is a very enjoyable old-school Castlevania homage that’s well worth the price of admission—as long as you have nostalgia for those games. Those of you who have no patience for the first three Castlevania games in particular may want to give Curse a wide berth, but I daresay there are systems in place here that may tickle your fancy.
  6. May 25, 2018
    80
    It might not blaze the trail on anything new like a few other recent Inti Creates projects have, but it does exactly what it needs to do, and helps bolster the new legacy of Bloodstained proper before it's even out.
  7. May 24, 2018
    78
    Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon brings back the essence of the 8-bit Castlevania games in a masterful way. Even though it's short and has its frustrating moments, long-time fans of the series will find a lot to love here.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 5, 2018
    The game is only a few hours long, though, and the levels are winding and secret-filled enough to support that kind of repeated exploration. And while the developers may not have figured out how to mercifully handle losing a party member, they did put a lot of effort into creating varied difficulty options that can appeal to different kinds of players.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. May 24, 2018
    10
    An absolute must-have for any fan of the classic Castelvania games. The soundtrack is phenomenal, the game has a lot of replayability, and theAn absolute must-have for any fan of the classic Castelvania games. The soundtrack is phenomenal, the game has a lot of replayability, and the difficulty is just right. Full Review »
  2. May 29, 2018
    7
    It's a pretty fun game.

    as an outsider to the castlevania series I've enjoyed myself well enough but it's not a game I see myself coming
    It's a pretty fun game.

    as an outsider to the castlevania series I've enjoyed myself well enough but it's not a game I see myself coming back to again and again in the future... nor would I eagerly recommend it to people outside the niche.
    Full Review »
  3. May 25, 2018
    10
    Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon brings back the classic style of Castlevania that we didn't know we've been missing for so long. Inspired fromBloodstained: Curse of the Moon brings back the classic style of Castlevania that we didn't know we've been missing for so long. Inspired from the past and with features from current technology, it's a pretty solid game for its low price. The additional characters and extra difficulty modes allow some backtracking and replay value. Full Review »