User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 57
  2. Negative: 8 out of 57
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    Very polished. Lots of fun. Picked it up last night, was still playing at 4am. Feels like what I expected No Man's Sky to offer when it was released, but didn't. I hesitated at paying full price, just before the sales, but don't fear, it's entirely worth it.
  2. Mar 1, 2019
    9
    totally engrossing. I've not been that taken with base building games before but this has a combination of accessibility and difficulty that makes it really easy to get in to.
    Great story and superb sound design, managed to make be genuinely creeped out with little but darkness and sound effects. Superb.
  3. Dec 13, 2018
    8
    The game is great, gameplay is well balanced for a survival game it is original too. The graphics are okay since they didnt remaster or go over them again since the pc version so they are a little bit outdated but still look good no worries. The small horror aspect of the game is exciting too and for people that dont like horror normally this is a good starter since its not all horror butThe game is great, gameplay is well balanced for a survival game it is original too. The graphics are okay since they didnt remaster or go over them again since the pc version so they are a little bit outdated but still look good no worries. The small horror aspect of the game is exciting too and for people that dont like horror normally this is a good starter since its not all horror but but more stressing i would say! Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2018
    2
    Fantastic game, I really love it. That being said, the game is a broken mess on PS4. Crashing every couple hours I can handle, but when I save multiple times in order to prevent losing data, it either doesn't save, or loses saves. I had a file I literally saved, a couple minutes later crashed. When I reloaded, it was an hour earlier and all of my exploration in the lost river was gone.Fantastic game, I really love it. That being said, the game is a broken mess on PS4. Crashing every couple hours I can handle, but when I save multiple times in order to prevent losing data, it either doesn't save, or loses saves. I had a file I literally saved, a couple minutes later crashed. When I reloaded, it was an hour earlier and all of my exploration in the lost river was gone. Tons of nickle ore gone. I love the game, but I'm done playing until this kind of stuff is fixed. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2019
    10
    I really can't rate this game highly enough. I'm typically a casual gamer that usually only plays the odd weekend or so, but despite it somewhat slower nature, something about this title had me glued to the screen for 6 an entire weekend. I'm already thinking about how I can sneak extra time in during the week without neglecting my household. It's been 15 years since a game has captured meI really can't rate this game highly enough. I'm typically a casual gamer that usually only plays the odd weekend or so, but despite it somewhat slower nature, something about this title had me glued to the screen for 6 an entire weekend. I'm already thinking about how I can sneak extra time in during the week without neglecting my household. It's been 15 years since a game has captured me like this (Morrowind). So much so that I felt the need to write a review, which I've never done before.

    The environment is beautiful and at times, deeply unsettling as you discover hints of just how diverse, vast, and terrifying the environment can be. More often than not, it's what you can't see that gets the heart racing. An incredible music score goes with each of the individual environments and adds to the sense of awe as you discover new locations. Legitimate challenges are balanced nicely with the rewards received for exploring - the pace of the game is as slow or as fast as you'd like it to be.

    I've been tempted to read guides online but I think that discovering on your own is one of the greatest delights of this game and frankly, when it comes to certain areas, ignorance might be bliss.

    I've seen some folks write about bugs and issues with graphics - while I've definitely encountered some slow environment loading when moving quickly, I haven't experienced any bugs that I know of.

    This game is an absolute pleasure to play.
    Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2019
    0
    I challenge the gaming community to find a game that runs this poorly on any console. One has to seriously question the morality of the people making money off of this port. Did anyone think to see if the game worked before charging people their hard earned money? Is it really forgivable to put us through this? I want people to know that i spent over 100 hours with this game before writingI challenge the gaming community to find a game that runs this poorly on any console. One has to seriously question the morality of the people making money off of this port. Did anyone think to see if the game worked before charging people their hard earned money? Is it really forgivable to put us through this? I want people to know that i spent over 100 hours with this game before writing this review and tried to reinstall multiple times etc. I platinumed this POS and believe I could have done so in less than 10 hours without performance issues. The game all out crashed 30-40 times. Saves failed to actually save my progress around 5 times and lost me about 50 hours of my life. Objects often don’t render until you are inside them and you will get stuck countless (100s) times because of this. The game half freezes every time you come to the surface and will generally do this regardless of where u are or what u are doing about every 5 seconds. The performance is directly linked to the size of your save file so it takes time for all of this to come to fruition. Like 15 minutes at least before it all falls to bloody hell. Objects get stuck inside your base and sub, sometimes breaking the game. Pet “fish” dissappear every time you leave the base regardless of what you do to protect them. The frame rate is legit 3 FPS for the latter half of the game. I’m infuriated and truly can’t believe you got away with this. How in the actual **** does this game get approved for release. Sure it’s one of the best game ideas ever conceived if it runs well but it hardly runs at all. This game struggles to perform on
    pc. It’s a complete joke on PS4. Sooooo many more bugs I cant fit in this space that are practically game breaking in their own right. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2019
    10
    Great. Probably the best exploration game I've ever played. It was constantly interesting and surprising. The moderate survival/horror elements were perfect for me. One of my favorite games of all time in spite of a few minor bugs.
  8. Feb 21, 2019
    8
    How long can you hold your breath? Subnautica is a unique take on the whole survival/crafting adventure. There's a story, goals to be achieved, and an ending. There is also a decided lack of weapons. That's right--you crash on an alien ocean planet full of creatures trying to eat you armed only with your wits...and eventually a knife. The remainder of the gadgets at your disposal areHow long can you hold your breath? Subnautica is a unique take on the whole survival/crafting adventure. There's a story, goals to be achieved, and an ending. There is also a decided lack of weapons. That's right--you crash on an alien ocean planet full of creatures trying to eat you armed only with your wits...and eventually a knife. The remainder of the gadgets at your disposal are almost strictly defensive or supportive, and you will need them to survive long enough to discover the fates of the rest of the crew (and other, less mundane mysteries.)

    You'll build subs, bases, and eventually a means of escape--after you explore the murky depths and recover the blueprints/materials to construct them. Just watch out for the leviathans...and your all-important oxygen supply.

    The sublime tension involved in traversing this aquatic world is only marred by technical issues readily apparent on PC, but compounded by the limited power of consoles and the team's utilization of the Unity engine (which isn't known for its efficiency or speed.) Objects pop in, frame rates stutter and hitch,, and bugs/crashes are more frequent than expected for a game with three years of early access and a full year as a final release (on PC.) The console visuals are a mixed bag of muddy textures, poor lighting, and short view distance.

    The essence of Subnautica survives the port, but the technical execution and quality-of-life aspects need some serious attention. Still, the game manages to draw you into the deep with good sound design, intriguing plot, and rewarding exploration. Come on in--the water's fine.
    Expand
  9. Dec 4, 2018
    9
    What should i say? Subnautica changed my attitude on survival games.
    This is a diamond in an ocean of typical unfinished start ups. And a breath of fresh air after all those franchise based "ball of booty 9" and "aladeen creed 10" games... =)
    Atmosphere, graphics, plot and MUSIC!
    This is a true masterpiece.
    So far i'm enjoying playing it with my wife on a big screen. Peace!
    Must buy.
  10. May 24, 2019
    9
    This review score is based on the creepy, very fun, underwater crafting/survival adventure game I just could not put down and not the soul-crushing, game-breaking bug-filled mess that warrants a review score of 1. No game has pissed me off more. I absolutely loved it, but paying money for it (which would normally be a great deal) in the state it is in makes me feel like my nuts areThis review score is based on the creepy, very fun, underwater crafting/survival adventure game I just could not put down and not the soul-crushing, game-breaking bug-filled mess that warrants a review score of 1. No game has pissed me off more. I absolutely loved it, but paying money for it (which would normally be a great deal) in the state it is in makes me feel like my nuts are nothing but a kicking bag. Expand
  11. Dec 15, 2018
    9
    EDIT: [Crashes seem to be fixed from latest update 1.05. They also added a feedback button. I know I rated the game as it came out... but now that its fixed, it deserves its better score of a... 9!!!] Original review --> Sigh...Great game but has some severe issues. The devs are aware of the issues and are working on them according to their web page. I have updated to 1.04 andEDIT: [Crashes seem to be fixed from latest update 1.05. They also added a feedback button. I know I rated the game as it came out... but now that its fixed, it deserves its better score of a... 9!!!] Original review --> Sigh...Great game but has some severe issues. The devs are aware of the issues and are working on them according to their web page. I have updated to 1.04 and started a new game after the update. Seems the game crashes more now then before. Crashes alot during saving as well. It's a shame because if there was no crashes, the game would be an 8 or 9. (Maybe add auto save every 5 minutes?) Fix the framerate issues and occasional missing textures in the world and it would be a 10. The reason I say that is because the game itself is AMAZING. The fear of the deep, the progression, the blueprints, the soundtrack, the story.. omg.. there's so much to love about this game.. it is a masterpiece. BUT.. not when the framerate is slowing down and definitely not when it constantly crashes.. I've had a 3 day weekend to really get into the game, and I've had at least 6-8 crashes per day. Unacceptable!!! The game is just a 4 right now and I'm being VERY generous. Like I said before, after they fix the crashes and help with the framerate, the score will rise on an otherwise great game. Expand
  12. May 9, 2019
    7
    One of the best underwater games ever made and one of the best survival games ever made. A masterpiece of world-building, storytelling, game progression, and balance.

    The visuals are often stunningly rich and beautiful textured and lit. Also fantastic audio - both the soundtrack, and the environmental sounds, made for the best sonic experience of any game I have ever played and this
    One of the best underwater games ever made and one of the best survival games ever made. A masterpiece of world-building, storytelling, game progression, and balance.

    The visuals are often stunningly rich and beautiful textured and lit. Also fantastic audio - both the soundtrack, and the environmental sounds, made for the best sonic experience of any game I have ever played and this made a big difference to the emotional impact and sense of being alone in hostile waters. Use a 5.1 HT if you possibly can and crank up the sub-woofer.

    It would be a 10/10 but read on.

    Subnautica is let down by immersion-breaking graphical glitches (clipping, framerate, and pop-in are all problematic). And there are couple of horribly game-breaking bugs. Those bugs might be okay on PC, but not on console where there's no workaround or remedy. Don't even bother playing on Hardcore mode, and backup your saves once an hour. The PS4 release needed a lot more polish so 7/10 is the best I can do.
    Expand
  13. Dec 19, 2018
    6
    Allthough SN is a gripping experience (I've been playing preview since February 2018) the enormous amount of bugs and performance issues take the whole game down. Immersion is constantly and completely broken due to those 2. Still I keep on playing. I want this game to be good so much. But alas the developer chose to put their time into DLC instead of fixing the problems
  14. Dec 6, 2018
    6
    I really like the concept and gameplay mechanics. This is what I expected from No Man's Sky. I like the game and atmosphere. It's scary and yet entertaining. Unfortunately, game is not ported well. Even on my PS4 Pro, I have huge FPS drops. After travelling long distance, game sometimes drops to like 2 - 3 FPS and almost completely freezes. It needs to be restarted to work fine again.I really like the concept and gameplay mechanics. This is what I expected from No Man's Sky. I like the game and atmosphere. It's scary and yet entertaining. Unfortunately, game is not ported well. Even on my PS4 Pro, I have huge FPS drops. After travelling long distance, game sometimes drops to like 2 - 3 FPS and almost completely freezes. It needs to be restarted to work fine again. Also, assigning items to quickslot menu is a pain. You can not simply assign tool to specific slot or even remove it. You can only add it on first place, while rest of items is moved one position further and last is removed. Hopefully they resolve performance issues soon so I can improve the score. Expand
  15. Dec 18, 2018
    8
    Subnautica gibt es bereits länger für den PC, jetzt erscheint das ambitionierte Indiespiel auch auf Konsolen – und wer sich über die Feiertage völlig verlieren will, taucht tief ein ins vielleicht beste Unterwasserabenteuer seit Bioshock. Der Start verläuft ähnlich wie beim Genrekollegen The Solus Project: Ihr stürzt auf einem einsamen Alienplaneten ab, sucht nach einem Weg nach Hause undSubnautica gibt es bereits länger für den PC, jetzt erscheint das ambitionierte Indiespiel auch auf Konsolen – und wer sich über die Feiertage völlig verlieren will, taucht tief ein ins vielleicht beste Unterwasserabenteuer seit Bioshock. Der Start verläuft ähnlich wie beim Genrekollegen The Solus Project: Ihr stürzt auf einem einsamen Alienplaneten ab, sucht nach einem Weg nach Hause und optional nach Nahrung und Wasser. Das derweil gibt es zuhauf – denn die Spielwelt besteht zu 99 Prozent daraus. Während Ihr anfangs noch nervig oft auftaucht, craftet Ihr Euch mithilfe natürlicher Ressourcen bald bessere Schwimmflossen und Sauerstoffflaschen, dann ein schnelles U-Boot, später ganze Basen. Bis dahin aber ist es ein langer Weg, der durch etwas späte Storytrigger auch noch steinig ist. Dennoch ist Subnautica nie langweilig – denn die virtuelle Tiefsee ist gleichsam wunderschön wie furchterregend. So taucht Ihr im einen Moment auf der Suche nach Erz in einen sonnendurchfluteten Algenwald, im anderen mit letzter Luft durch ein klaustrophobisches Schiffswrack – und längst nicht jeder Bewohner ist ein putziges Fischchen. Obendrein punktet Subnautica mit komplexen, aber intuitiven Spielmechaniken und einer spannenden, nur über Audiologs und Textkästchen erzählten Story nebst Twist. Expand
  16. Dec 11, 2018
    8
    Was intrigued with this game from the beginning. My fear of heights also translate to deep water, like the Ocean. What is down there below me ? How far down can i go ? What is lurking in the shadows ? So this could a horror survival for peeps like me.
    If your into the survival crafting genre then you will love this title. Unique alien ocean setting is very cool. Im only about 8 hours in
    Was intrigued with this game from the beginning. My fear of heights also translate to deep water, like the Ocean. What is down there below me ? How far down can i go ? What is lurking in the shadows ? So this could a horror survival for peeps like me.
    If your into the survival crafting genre then you will love this title. Unique alien ocean setting is very cool. Im only about 8 hours in but having a blast. So many different machines for travel and shelter to build for survival.
    Many interesting creatures so far and not even able to dive below 200 meters yet ? Story is good so far, seeking out other survivors of the your huge, crashed spacecraft. Help is on the way early but something has to give. Is that a island out there ? Who's there.
    Lots of mystery. Reminds me of the updated version of No Mans Sky but I like this game much better so far.
    Expand
  17. Dec 13, 2018
    5
    I really was anticipating for this game to come out on PS4, but sadly cannot enjoy playing Subnautica. Firstly, this is because of performance issues and secondly, some problems I have with the actual content of the game.

    Here are the performance issues: -The biggest problem is that approximately 40% of the time the game will crash when I save, making me repeat 45 minutes of progress
    I really was anticipating for this game to come out on PS4, but sadly cannot enjoy playing Subnautica. Firstly, this is because of performance issues and secondly, some problems I have with the actual content of the game.

    Here are the performance issues:

    -The biggest problem is that approximately 40% of the time the game will crash when I save, making me repeat 45 minutes of progress multiple times.
    -The game freezes for 2 seconds when I pop-up to breath some air.
    - When I travel faster through the water the frames will drop to single digits or even freeze occasionally.
    - When I dive down from the water surface and look down at a seafloor that is more than 150m deep, there will not be a seafloor at all, but just darkness. Then as I swim closer, the surface will be loaded in with square surfaces at a time (this looks real ugly).
    - Pop-in is reliably immersion-breaking in areas with vines and mushroom-like statures.
    - Sometimes a square surface won't be loaded and you can look through the bottom of the map.

    Now I can imagine the game would be pretty beautiful and enjoyable if it actually functioned, but there are some problems I have with the game's design. First of, I do not like to read in a game. Most information about the game-mechanics are in your menu which you just have to read through. Explain the game to me in a cutscene or dialogue that I actually enjoy listening to. I already found this annoying with Breath of the Wild, so this might be a personal issue.
    However, if you don't read anything there isn't much to do. You go through the water and scan everything to build cool vehicles or a base, but there is no real purpose for the game it seems. There are no characters you'll meet, water and food isn't a real problem, and after a while you have found most of the mechanical parts and it gets kinda grindy to find the ones you haven't.
    Also I have to look up multiple things on the internet as certain aspects are never explained to me. Why can't I recharge my submarine? Where do I find Cave Sulfur? Why can't I build the primary chamber of my base?
    Inventory management is also pretty annoying, because in the first place the inventory is small and secondly you only have 5 hotkeys and 10 tools you'll need. Just give me a wheel where I can select tools from just like any other game? :l

    In the end, I have quite playing Subnautica after 15 hours of playtime as my immersion was continually broken by the pop-in and I kept losing saves and apart from all that I didn't feel pushed by the game to progress. This all makes it hard for me to give the game more than a 5.
    Expand
  18. Jan 29, 2019
    8
    This game deserves a at lest 9.5 IF the devs put in a bit more effort to optimize for consoles. I finished the game and I love it. No games ever make me feel so immersive as Subnautica. I do not know how to describe but ill tell you that, the night after i finished the game and went to bed, i had a very sweet, satisfying dream where i was diving and exploring in a deep, blue and clearThis game deserves a at lest 9.5 IF the devs put in a bit more effort to optimize for consoles. I finished the game and I love it. No games ever make me feel so immersive as Subnautica. I do not know how to describe but ill tell you that, the night after i finished the game and went to bed, i had a very sweet, satisfying dream where i was diving and exploring in a deep, blue and clear ocean. I woke up feeling a bit upset because i knew it was a dream and a game that had ended. Expand
  19. Dec 13, 2018
    4
    I really wanted to like this game, I’m a HUGE fan of the concept and content. This in theory was a beautifully designed survival game or if you play in creative mode a beautiful exploration game. Except that it becomes unplayable after about an hour or two, it’ll crash at random despite it seemingly working fine, or it’ll stop rendering the sea floor at all, you’ll suddenly lose a bunch ofI really wanted to like this game, I’m a HUGE fan of the concept and content. This in theory was a beautifully designed survival game or if you play in creative mode a beautiful exploration game. Except that it becomes unplayable after about an hour or two, it’ll crash at random despite it seemingly working fine, or it’ll stop rendering the sea floor at all, you’ll suddenly lose a bunch of resources. If you managed to save before it crashes there isn’t a guarantee it actually saved, it deletes save files left and right, if the developers manage to release a decent patch I would love to rate this much higher but at its current state unfortunately I can only give it a 4 at most. It feels like I’m playing a game that’s still in its beta stage and not a game that’s been out for several years (I am aware that it’s a new release to ps4 but it’s been out on pc for a while). Expand
  20. Jan 2, 2019
    1
    Potential to be an amazing game. wonderful graphics, great premise and setting with in depth exploration and worldbuilding. however this is undercut by constant graphical errors and failure to load textures making exploring in the game a nightmare as your never sure if a wall or leviathan will spawn around you. the save system is terrible as there is no autosave feature and the game willPotential to be an amazing game. wonderful graphics, great premise and setting with in depth exploration and worldbuilding. however this is undercut by constant graphical errors and failure to load textures making exploring in the game a nightmare as your never sure if a wall or leviathan will spawn around you. the save system is terrible as there is no autosave feature and the game will occasionally delete your save file. this is further undercut by the game consistently crashing every few hours to minutes. this game has so much potential but is ultimately a buggy unplayable mess. Expand
  21. Jan 20, 2019
    8
    I picked this up because 2 colleagues at work can't stop talking about it. Very engaging and i haven't had any real problems when playing though I do have a PS4 pro. There have been a couple of glitches with scenery but mostly it's a gorgeous world to explore. Later on there are clues but unlike the PC game there is no compass or co-ordinates which makes some of the navigation even moreI picked this up because 2 colleagues at work can't stop talking about it. Very engaging and i haven't had any real problems when playing though I do have a PS4 pro. There have been a couple of glitches with scenery but mostly it's a gorgeous world to explore. Later on there are clues but unlike the PC game there is no compass or co-ordinates which makes some of the navigation even more challenging. I've played almost 6 hours straight and my weekend has disappeared already. Expand
  22. Jan 23, 2019
    9
    This is one of the best games on the market, truly original. You can ignore the low score reviews, the game has been patched right after release and runs fine, no crashes after 20+ hours of play. If you like survival type games this is a must get. Very suspenseful and a intriguing story/setting. The controls are very intuitive and easy to pick up. The real fun part of this game isThis is one of the best games on the market, truly original. You can ignore the low score reviews, the game has been patched right after release and runs fine, no crashes after 20+ hours of play. If you like survival type games this is a must get. Very suspenseful and a intriguing story/setting. The controls are very intuitive and easy to pick up. The real fun part of this game is exploring and crafting. The world is huge and you must figure it out. Very rewarding process. If you like games that make you think and plan, you will love this game! Expand
  23. Feb 20, 2019
    8
    Suuuuch a good game. I've been a playstation player my whole life and I remember seeing videos of this game in it's early life on PC and thinking it looked amazing. Well... Now we have it and the good news is it's really quite fascinating. This and The Forest are the two survival games on PS4 that actually seem to function as well as they should since we all know most survival games,Suuuuch a good game. I've been a playstation player my whole life and I remember seeing videos of this game in it's early life on PC and thinking it looked amazing. Well... Now we have it and the good news is it's really quite fascinating. This and The Forest are the two survival games on PS4 that actually seem to function as well as they should since we all know most survival games, whether on PC or console, are buggy pieces of garbage haha. You've crash-landed on an alien planet and your goal is to escape the planet, but to do so you'll have to explore, develop technologies and brave the deepest depths of this foreign world in the pursuit of the materials needed to get home.

    Graphics:

    The graphics in this game are super charming right from the get-go, almost looking like a Pixar movie with it's exaggerated proportions on certain items and your character and the bright colors found on all the lifeforms and plants! The water in particular looks absolutely amazing! Despite looking really good one of the few things that bug me about the game is the fact that there's some very noticeable pop-in with assets like vines, and also on occasion I had chunks of the terrain underwater that wouldn't load right away and I'd see this big square patch on the sea floor where I'd see through the map. They never caused me any actual gameplay problems but it was pretty ugly to look at at times, despite it being a rare occurance, at least for me. The different technologies, lifeforms and plants are all exquisitely designed in my opinion. Every new Biome is exciting to explore and research.

    Sound:

    This is really really REALLY well done. The muffled sounds of being underwater feel realistic, as well as the directional audio. The sound of your rubbery suit running around inside your base feels simultaneously depressing and comforting as your feeling of loneliness sets in slowly but surely. The music in this game is also very noteworthy. It always seems to kick in at just the right moment like when you see some monstrous creature for the first time, or when entering a new biome. Some very space techno sounding beats and melodies that fit very well with the theme of space explorer crash landed on an alien planet. Really good stuff.

    Gameplay:

    So gameplay consists of mostly farming. That's something to be aware of when entering this game. You won't spend much time in any kind of combat. It really isn't the point of the game. This is a game of exploration, discovery and survival. You'll spend alot of time scanning the environment which is littered with wreckage from your giant crashed space ship to discover new technologies and blueprints to help make your base better and your chances of survival higher. You can scan and read up on all plants and lifeforms on the planet to learn if they themselves can be used in crafting. There's even differences in the types of fish you'll find and their respective calorie counts. One fish might barely feed you and only be worth taking if you're desperate and dont have immediate access to anything else while another will feed far more than others, giving you a reason to figure out which biomes or caves specific types of fauna tend to hang out. In terms of gameplay I would say the biggest flaw is that the game is really not very challenging, which isn't to say you'll never die because you most certainly will, but maybe not as much as you would like in a survival game. My suggestion is to play on Hardcore mode which is a permadeath mode. Combine that with the 'Filmic' filter in the options and you'll have a game that feels significantly scarier as one dumb mistake like forgetting to keep an eye on your oxygen levels (which can easily happen while exploring wreckage or caves where you will sometimes get completely lost when not using something like the pathfinder tool) or getting a little too friendly with a particularly deadly creature of the deep. I also suggest the Filmic filter in the settings because it makes the game more realistically dark. With the normal filter on it often feels a little too bright while swimming around in the dead of night in deeper waters which really breaks the immersion in my opinion. This also forces you to use tools like flashlights more frequently which means managing batteries becomes a more prominent aspect in the game. I would also suggest looking at as few tutorial videos on youtube as possible as one of the game's biggest strengths is the really palpable sense of discovery. Figuring out that the plant you've been swimming by a hundred times turns out to have a really important part in some higher level crafting material is often really rewarding and gives you these ''AHA!'' moments that feel amazing.

    Verdict: I would say this game is, despite some flaws, a really amazing and fascinating game. The feeling of discovery is unlike anything I've experienced before in a video game in all honesty. Well worth a buy!
    Expand
  24. Apr 18, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. omg this game, omg. i was in love from beginning to end! the visuals are stunning and the audio is mesmerizing, you will loose all track of time in a very good way. its a MUST PLAY!!!!!! theres admittedly a few bugs but the response time from bug submitting to bug fixing update is insanely fast! it shows that they're actively listening and that they care about us, their players. please support the devs, they truly deserve sales and support. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. CD-Action
    Mar 25, 2019
    80
    The PS4 edition of the brilliant survival game has some performance problems (framerate dropping, environment popping up really badly if you travel fast) and navigating in three dimensions is much less intuitive with a controller than with a mouse, which did cost me my life sometimes. These flaws do not disqualify the console port though, so if you can’t enjoy Subnautica on PC, consider giving it a shot on PS4, as there are very few such games nowadays. [02/2019, p.35]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 27, 2019
    80
    Few games are this consistently surprising, let alone this well designed. [Issue#158, p.88]
  3. Jan 15, 2019
    65
    I have rarely seen a game go from being absolutely sublime to absolutely awful, but Subnautica manages to pull it off. The first 25-30 hours are a superb sci-fi survival experience that I would happily recommend to anyone, and I’ll cherish that time under the waves for years to come. But the endgame? It really does ruin a good thing. If the first chunk of the adventure were scored on its own, it would rate much higher. But as a complete experience? The issues are too large to ignore.