User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    Very polished. Lots of fun. Picked it up last night, was still playing at 4am. Feels like what I expected No Man's Sky to offer when it was released, but didn't. I hesitated at paying full price, just before the sales, but don't fear, it's entirely worth it.
  2. Dec 9, 2018
    2
    Fantastic game, I really love it. That being said, the game is a broken mess on PS4. Crashing every couple hours I can handle, but when I save multiple times in order to prevent losing data, it either doesn't save, or loses saves. I had a file I literally saved, a couple minutes later crashed. When I reloaded, it was an hour earlier and all of my exploration in the lost river was gone.Fantastic game, I really love it. That being said, the game is a broken mess on PS4. Crashing every couple hours I can handle, but when I save multiple times in order to prevent losing data, it either doesn't save, or loses saves. I had a file I literally saved, a couple minutes later crashed. When I reloaded, it was an hour earlier and all of my exploration in the lost river was gone. Tons of nickle ore gone. I love the game, but I'm done playing until this kind of stuff is fixed. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2018
    9
    What should i say? Subnautica changed my attitude on survival games.
    This is a diamond in an ocean of typical unfinished start ups. And a breath of fresh air after all those franchise based "ball of booty 9" and "aladeen creed 10" games... =)
    Atmosphere, graphics, plot and MUSIC!
    This is a true masterpiece.
    So far i'm enjoying playing it with my wife on a big screen. Peace!
    Must buy.
  4. Dec 15, 2018
    9
    EDIT: [Crashes seem to be fixed from latest update 1.05. They also added a feedback button. I know I rated the game as it came out... but now that its fixed, it deserves its better score of a... 9!!!] Original review --> Sigh...Great game but has some severe issues. The devs are aware of the issues and are working on them according to their web page. I have updated to 1.04 andEDIT: [Crashes seem to be fixed from latest update 1.05. They also added a feedback button. I know I rated the game as it came out... but now that its fixed, it deserves its better score of a... 9!!!] Original review --> Sigh...Great game but has some severe issues. The devs are aware of the issues and are working on them according to their web page. I have updated to 1.04 and started a new game after the update. Seems the game crashes more now then before. Crashes alot during saving as well. It's a shame because if there was no crashes, the game would be an 8 or 9. (Maybe add auto save every 5 minutes?) Fix the framerate issues and occasional missing textures in the world and it would be a 10. The reason I say that is because the game itself is AMAZING. The fear of the deep, the progression, the blueprints, the soundtrack, the story.. omg.. there's so much to love about this game.. it is a masterpiece. BUT.. not when the framerate is slowing down and definitely not when it constantly crashes.. I've had a 3 day weekend to really get into the game, and I've had at least 6-8 crashes per day. Unacceptable!!! The game is just a 4 right now and I'm being VERY generous. Like I said before, after they fix the crashes and help with the framerate, the score will rise on an otherwise great game. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2018
    6
    Allthough SN is a gripping experience (I've been playing preview since February 2018) the enormous amount of bugs and performance issues take the whole game down. Immersion is constantly and completely broken due to those 2. Still I keep on playing. I want this game to be good so much. But alas the developer chose to put their time into DLC instead of fixing the problems
  6. Dec 6, 2018
    6
    I really like the concept and gameplay mechanics. This is what I expected from No Man's Sky. I like the game and atmosphere. It's scary and yet entertaining. Unfortunately, game is not ported well. Even on my PS4 Pro, I have huge FPS drops. After travelling long distance, game sometimes drops to like 2 - 3 FPS and almost completely freezes. It needs to be restarted to work fine again.I really like the concept and gameplay mechanics. This is what I expected from No Man's Sky. I like the game and atmosphere. It's scary and yet entertaining. Unfortunately, game is not ported well. Even on my PS4 Pro, I have huge FPS drops. After travelling long distance, game sometimes drops to like 2 - 3 FPS and almost completely freezes. It needs to be restarted to work fine again. Also, assigning items to quickslot menu is a pain. You can not simply assign tool to specific slot or even remove it. You can only add it on first place, while rest of items is moved one position further and last is removed. Hopefully they resolve performance issues soon so I can improve the score. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2018
    8
    Subnautica gibt es bereits länger für den PC, jetzt erscheint das ambitionierte Indiespiel auch auf Konsolen – und wer sich über die Feiertage völlig verlieren will, taucht tief ein ins vielleicht beste Unterwasserabenteuer seit Bioshock. Der Start verläuft ähnlich wie beim Genrekollegen The Solus Project: Ihr stürzt auf einem einsamen Alienplaneten ab, sucht nach einem Weg nach Hause undSubnautica gibt es bereits länger für den PC, jetzt erscheint das ambitionierte Indiespiel auch auf Konsolen – und wer sich über die Feiertage völlig verlieren will, taucht tief ein ins vielleicht beste Unterwasserabenteuer seit Bioshock. Der Start verläuft ähnlich wie beim Genrekollegen The Solus Project: Ihr stürzt auf einem einsamen Alienplaneten ab, sucht nach einem Weg nach Hause und optional nach Nahrung und Wasser. Das derweil gibt es zuhauf – denn die Spielwelt besteht zu 99 Prozent daraus. Während Ihr anfangs noch nervig oft auftaucht, craftet Ihr Euch mithilfe natürlicher Ressourcen bald bessere Schwimmflossen und Sauerstoffflaschen, dann ein schnelles U-Boot, später ganze Basen. Bis dahin aber ist es ein langer Weg, der durch etwas späte Storytrigger auch noch steinig ist. Dennoch ist Subnautica nie langweilig – denn die virtuelle Tiefsee ist gleichsam wunderschön wie furchterregend. So taucht Ihr im einen Moment auf der Suche nach Erz in einen sonnendurchfluteten Algenwald, im anderen mit letzter Luft durch ein klaustrophobisches Schiffswrack – und längst nicht jeder Bewohner ist ein putziges Fischchen. Obendrein punktet Subnautica mit komplexen, aber intuitiven Spielmechaniken und einer spannenden, nur über Audiologs und Textkästchen erzählten Story nebst Twist. Expand
  8. Dec 11, 2018
    8
    Was intrigued with this game from the beginning. My fear of heights also translate to deep water, like the Ocean. What is down there below me ? How far down can i go ? What is lurking in the shadows ? So this could a horror survival for peeps like me.
    If your into the survival crafting genre then you will love this title. Unique alien ocean setting is very cool. Im only about 8 hours in
    Was intrigued with this game from the beginning. My fear of heights also translate to deep water, like the Ocean. What is down there below me ? How far down can i go ? What is lurking in the shadows ? So this could a horror survival for peeps like me.
    If your into the survival crafting genre then you will love this title. Unique alien ocean setting is very cool. Im only about 8 hours in but having a blast. So many different machines for travel and shelter to build for survival.
    Many interesting creatures so far and not even able to dive below 200 meters yet ? Story is good so far, seeking out other survivors of the your huge, crashed spacecraft. Help is on the way early but something has to give. Is that a island out there ? Who's there.
    Lots of mystery. Reminds me of the updated version of No Mans Sky but I like this game much better so far.
    Expand
  9. Dec 13, 2018
    5
    I really was anticipating for this game to come out on PS4, but sadly cannot enjoy playing Subnautica. Firstly, this is because of performance issues and secondly, some problems I have with the actual content of the game.

    Here are the performance issues: -The biggest problem is that approximately 40% of the time the game will crash when I save, making me repeat 45 minutes of progress
    I really was anticipating for this game to come out on PS4, but sadly cannot enjoy playing Subnautica. Firstly, this is because of performance issues and secondly, some problems I have with the actual content of the game.

    Here are the performance issues:

    -The biggest problem is that approximately 40% of the time the game will crash when I save, making me repeat 45 minutes of progress multiple times.
    -The game freezes for 2 seconds when I pop-up to breath some air.
    - When I travel faster through the water the frames will drop to single digits or even freeze occasionally.
    - When I dive down from the water surface and look down at a seafloor that is more than 150m deep, there will not be a seafloor at all, but just darkness. Then as I swim closer, the surface will be loaded in with square surfaces at a time (this looks real ugly).
    - Pop-in is reliably immersion-breaking in areas with vines and mushroom-like statures.
    - Sometimes a square surface won't be loaded and you can look through the bottom of the map.

    Now I can imagine the game would be pretty beautiful and enjoyable if it actually functioned, but there are some problems I have with the game's design. First of, I do not like to read in a game. Most information about the game-mechanics are in your menu which you just have to read through. Explain the game to me in a cutscene or dialogue that I actually enjoy listening to. I already found this annoying with Breath of the Wild, so this might be a personal issue.
    However, if you don't read anything there isn't much to do. You go through the water and scan everything to build cool vehicles or a base, but there is no real purpose for the game it seems. There are no characters you'll meet, water and food isn't a real problem, and after a while you have found most of the mechanical parts and it gets kinda grindy to find the ones you haven't.
    Also I have to look up multiple things on the internet as certain aspects are never explained to me. Why can't I recharge my submarine? Where do I find Cave Sulfur? Why can't I build the primary chamber of my base?
    Inventory management is also pretty annoying, because in the first place the inventory is small and secondly you only have 5 hotkeys and 10 tools you'll need. Just give me a wheel where I can select tools from just like any other game? :l

    In the end, I have quite playing Subnautica after 15 hours of playtime as my immersion was continually broken by the pop-in and I kept losing saves and apart from all that I didn't feel pushed by the game to progress. This all makes it hard for me to give the game more than a 5.
    Expand
  10. Dec 13, 2018
    8
    The game is great, gameplay is well balanced for a survival game it is original too. The graphics are okay since they didnt remaster or go over them again since the pc version so they are a little bit outdated but still look good no worries. The small horror aspect of the game is exciting too and for people that dont like horror normally this is a good starter since its not all horror butThe game is great, gameplay is well balanced for a survival game it is original too. The graphics are okay since they didnt remaster or go over them again since the pc version so they are a little bit outdated but still look good no worries. The small horror aspect of the game is exciting too and for people that dont like horror normally this is a good starter since its not all horror but but more stressing i would say! Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2018
    4
    I really wanted to like this game, I’m a HUGE fan of the concept and content. This in theory was a beautifully designed survival game or if you play in creative mode a beautiful exploration game. Except that it becomes unplayable after about an hour or two, it’ll crash at random despite it seemingly working fine, or it’ll stop rendering the sea floor at all, you’ll suddenly lose a bunch ofI really wanted to like this game, I’m a HUGE fan of the concept and content. This in theory was a beautifully designed survival game or if you play in creative mode a beautiful exploration game. Except that it becomes unplayable after about an hour or two, it’ll crash at random despite it seemingly working fine, or it’ll stop rendering the sea floor at all, you’ll suddenly lose a bunch of resources. If you managed to save before it crashes there isn’t a guarantee it actually saved, it deletes save files left and right, if the developers manage to release a decent patch I would love to rate this much higher but at its current state unfortunately I can only give it a 4 at most. It feels like I’m playing a game that’s still in its beta stage and not a game that’s been out for several years (I am aware that it’s a new release to ps4 but it’s been out on pc for a while). Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 18, 2018
    70
    On PlayStation 4, Subnautica has maintained loyalty to its original spirit, but has not corrected some technical limits and issues. In any case, it's an interesting first person survival, with a strong identity and a good balance between exploration and storytelling.
  2. 80
    Even after four years of early access limbo, Subnautica remains as one of the quintessential examples of its genre. The uniquely beautiful and terrifying world is fantastic to explore, while the goal based narrative keeps things interesting beyond the usual plate spinning mechanics of other survival games.
  3. Dec 17, 2018
    80
    Subnautica sees you submerged in a vast and utterly breathtaking underwater world, teeming with secrets and polished off with an unsettling atmosphere that instigates a real sense of thrill as you play. The game has a rewarding crafting system that encourages exploration. Furthermore, the story is full of endearing twists and turns that will take you to the deepest, darkest parts of the alien planet, even against your better judgement. Whether survival adventure is your genre of choice or you’re just a sucker for a gorgeous open world begging to be explored, Subnautica truly is a must-play.