User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    Very polished. Lots of fun. Picked it up last night, was still playing at 4am. Feels like what I expected No Man's Sky to offer when it was released, but didn't. I hesitated at paying full price, just before the sales, but don't fear, it's entirely worth it.
  2. Dec 9, 2018
    2
    Fantastic game, I really love it. That being said, the game is a broken mess on PS4. Crashing every couple hours I can handle, but when I save multiple times in order to prevent losing data, it either doesn't save, or loses saves. I had a file I literally saved, a couple minutes later crashed. When I reloaded, it was an hour earlier and all of my exploration in the lost river was gone.Fantastic game, I really love it. That being said, the game is a broken mess on PS4. Crashing every couple hours I can handle, but when I save multiple times in order to prevent losing data, it either doesn't save, or loses saves. I had a file I literally saved, a couple minutes later crashed. When I reloaded, it was an hour earlier and all of my exploration in the lost river was gone. Tons of nickle ore gone. I love the game, but I'm done playing until this kind of stuff is fixed. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2019
    10
    I really can't rate this game highly enough. I'm typically a casual gamer that usually only plays the odd weekend or so, but despite it somewhat slower nature, something about this title had me glued to the screen for 6 an entire weekend. I'm already thinking about how I can sneak extra time in during the week without neglecting my household. It's been 15 years since a game has captured meI really can't rate this game highly enough. I'm typically a casual gamer that usually only plays the odd weekend or so, but despite it somewhat slower nature, something about this title had me glued to the screen for 6 an entire weekend. I'm already thinking about how I can sneak extra time in during the week without neglecting my household. It's been 15 years since a game has captured me like this (Morrowind). So much so that I felt the need to write a review, which I've never done before.

    The environment is beautiful and at times, deeply unsettling as you discover hints of just how diverse, vast, and terrifying the environment can be. More often than not, it's what you can't see that gets the heart racing. An incredible music score goes with each of the individual environments and adds to the sense of awe as you discover new locations. Legitimate challenges are balanced nicely with the rewards received for exploring - the pace of the game is as slow or as fast as you'd like it to be.

    I've been tempted to read guides online but I think that discovering on your own is one of the greatest delights of this game and frankly, when it comes to certain areas, ignorance might be bliss.

    I've seen some folks write about bugs and issues with graphics - while I've definitely encountered some slow environment loading when moving quickly, I haven't experienced any bugs that I know of.

    This game is an absolute pleasure to play.
    Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2019
    0
    I challenge the gaming community to find a game that runs this poorly on any console. One has to seriously question the morality of the people making money off of this port. Did anyone think to see if the game worked before charging people their hard earned money? Is it really forgivable to put us through this? I want people to know that i spent over 100 hours with this game before writingI challenge the gaming community to find a game that runs this poorly on any console. One has to seriously question the morality of the people making money off of this port. Did anyone think to see if the game worked before charging people their hard earned money? Is it really forgivable to put us through this? I want people to know that i spent over 100 hours with this game before writing this review and tried to reinstall multiple times etc. I platinumed this POS and believe I could have done so in less than 10 hours without performance issues. The game all out crashed 30-40 times. Saves failed to actually save my progress around 5 times and lost me about 50 hours of my life. Objects often don’t render until you are inside them and you will get stuck countless (100s) times because of this. The game half freezes every time you come to the surface and will generally do this regardless of where u are or what u are doing about every 5 seconds. The performance is directly linked to the size of your save file so it takes time for all of this to come to fruition. Like 15 minutes at least before it all falls to bloody hell. Objects get stuck inside your base and sub, sometimes breaking the game. Pet “fish” dissappear every time you leave the base regardless of what you do to protect them. The frame rate is legit 3 FPS for the latter half of the game. I’m infuriated and truly can’t believe you got away with this. How in the actual **** does this game get approved for release. Sure it’s one of the best game ideas ever conceived if it runs well but it hardly runs at all. This game struggles to perform on
    pc. It’s a complete joke on PS4. Sooooo many more bugs I cant fit in this space that are practically game breaking in their own right. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2018
    9
    What should i say? Subnautica changed my attitude on survival games.
    This is a diamond in an ocean of typical unfinished start ups. And a breath of fresh air after all those franchise based "ball of booty 9" and "aladeen creed 10" games... =)
    Atmosphere, graphics, plot and MUSIC!
    This is a true masterpiece.
    So far i'm enjoying playing it with my wife on a big screen. Peace!
    Must buy.
  6. Dec 15, 2018
    9
    EDIT: [Crashes seem to be fixed from latest update 1.05. They also added a feedback button. I know I rated the game as it came out... but now that its fixed, it deserves its better score of a... 9!!!] Original review --> Sigh...Great game but has some severe issues. The devs are aware of the issues and are working on them according to their web page. I have updated to 1.04 andEDIT: [Crashes seem to be fixed from latest update 1.05. They also added a feedback button. I know I rated the game as it came out... but now that its fixed, it deserves its better score of a... 9!!!] Original review --> Sigh...Great game but has some severe issues. The devs are aware of the issues and are working on them according to their web page. I have updated to 1.04 and started a new game after the update. Seems the game crashes more now then before. Crashes alot during saving as well. It's a shame because if there was no crashes, the game would be an 8 or 9. (Maybe add auto save every 5 minutes?) Fix the framerate issues and occasional missing textures in the world and it would be a 10. The reason I say that is because the game itself is AMAZING. The fear of the deep, the progression, the blueprints, the soundtrack, the story.. omg.. there's so much to love about this game.. it is a masterpiece. BUT.. not when the framerate is slowing down and definitely not when it constantly crashes.. I've had a 3 day weekend to really get into the game, and I've had at least 6-8 crashes per day. Unacceptable!!! The game is just a 4 right now and I'm being VERY generous. Like I said before, after they fix the crashes and help with the framerate, the score will rise on an otherwise great game. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2018
    6
    Allthough SN is a gripping experience (I've been playing preview since February 2018) the enormous amount of bugs and performance issues take the whole game down. Immersion is constantly and completely broken due to those 2. Still I keep on playing. I want this game to be good so much. But alas the developer chose to put their time into DLC instead of fixing the problems
  8. Dec 6, 2018
    6
    I really like the concept and gameplay mechanics. This is what I expected from No Man's Sky. I like the game and atmosphere. It's scary and yet entertaining. Unfortunately, game is not ported well. Even on my PS4 Pro, I have huge FPS drops. After travelling long distance, game sometimes drops to like 2 - 3 FPS and almost completely freezes. It needs to be restarted to work fine again.I really like the concept and gameplay mechanics. This is what I expected from No Man's Sky. I like the game and atmosphere. It's scary and yet entertaining. Unfortunately, game is not ported well. Even on my PS4 Pro, I have huge FPS drops. After travelling long distance, game sometimes drops to like 2 - 3 FPS and almost completely freezes. It needs to be restarted to work fine again. Also, assigning items to quickslot menu is a pain. You can not simply assign tool to specific slot or even remove it. You can only add it on first place, while rest of items is moved one position further and last is removed. Hopefully they resolve performance issues soon so I can improve the score. Expand
  9. Dec 18, 2018
    8
    Subnautica gibt es bereits länger für den PC, jetzt erscheint das ambitionierte Indiespiel auch auf Konsolen – und wer sich über die Feiertage völlig verlieren will, taucht tief ein ins vielleicht beste Unterwasserabenteuer seit Bioshock. Der Start verläuft ähnlich wie beim Genrekollegen The Solus Project: Ihr stürzt auf einem einsamen Alienplaneten ab, sucht nach einem Weg nach Hause undSubnautica gibt es bereits länger für den PC, jetzt erscheint das ambitionierte Indiespiel auch auf Konsolen – und wer sich über die Feiertage völlig verlieren will, taucht tief ein ins vielleicht beste Unterwasserabenteuer seit Bioshock. Der Start verläuft ähnlich wie beim Genrekollegen The Solus Project: Ihr stürzt auf einem einsamen Alienplaneten ab, sucht nach einem Weg nach Hause und optional nach Nahrung und Wasser. Das derweil gibt es zuhauf – denn die Spielwelt besteht zu 99 Prozent daraus. Während Ihr anfangs noch nervig oft auftaucht, craftet Ihr Euch mithilfe natürlicher Ressourcen bald bessere Schwimmflossen und Sauerstoffflaschen, dann ein schnelles U-Boot, später ganze Basen. Bis dahin aber ist es ein langer Weg, der durch etwas späte Storytrigger auch noch steinig ist. Dennoch ist Subnautica nie langweilig – denn die virtuelle Tiefsee ist gleichsam wunderschön wie furchterregend. So taucht Ihr im einen Moment auf der Suche nach Erz in einen sonnendurchfluteten Algenwald, im anderen mit letzter Luft durch ein klaustrophobisches Schiffswrack – und längst nicht jeder Bewohner ist ein putziges Fischchen. Obendrein punktet Subnautica mit komplexen, aber intuitiven Spielmechaniken und einer spannenden, nur über Audiologs und Textkästchen erzählten Story nebst Twist. Expand
  10. Dec 11, 2018
    8
    Was intrigued with this game from the beginning. My fear of heights also translate to deep water, like the Ocean. What is down there below me ? How far down can i go ? What is lurking in the shadows ? So this could a horror survival for peeps like me.
    If your into the survival crafting genre then you will love this title. Unique alien ocean setting is very cool. Im only about 8 hours in
    Was intrigued with this game from the beginning. My fear of heights also translate to deep water, like the Ocean. What is down there below me ? How far down can i go ? What is lurking in the shadows ? So this could a horror survival for peeps like me.
    If your into the survival crafting genre then you will love this title. Unique alien ocean setting is very cool. Im only about 8 hours in but having a blast. So many different machines for travel and shelter to build for survival.
    Many interesting creatures so far and not even able to dive below 200 meters yet ? Story is good so far, seeking out other survivors of the your huge, crashed spacecraft. Help is on the way early but something has to give. Is that a island out there ? Who's there.
    Lots of mystery. Reminds me of the updated version of No Mans Sky but I like this game much better so far.
    Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2018
    5
    I really was anticipating for this game to come out on PS4, but sadly cannot enjoy playing Subnautica. Firstly, this is because of performance issues and secondly, some problems I have with the actual content of the game.

    Here are the performance issues: -The biggest problem is that approximately 40% of the time the game will crash when I save, making me repeat 45 minutes of progress
    I really was anticipating for this game to come out on PS4, but sadly cannot enjoy playing Subnautica. Firstly, this is because of performance issues and secondly, some problems I have with the actual content of the game.

    Here are the performance issues:

    -The biggest problem is that approximately 40% of the time the game will crash when I save, making me repeat 45 minutes of progress multiple times.
    -The game freezes for 2 seconds when I pop-up to breath some air.
    - When I travel faster through the water the frames will drop to single digits or even freeze occasionally.
    - When I dive down from the water surface and look down at a seafloor that is more than 150m deep, there will not be a seafloor at all, but just darkness. Then as I swim closer, the surface will be loaded in with square surfaces at a time (this looks real ugly).
    - Pop-in is reliably immersion-breaking in areas with vines and mushroom-like statures.
    - Sometimes a square surface won't be loaded and you can look through the bottom of the map.

    Now I can imagine the game would be pretty beautiful and enjoyable if it actually functioned, but there are some problems I have with the game's design. First of, I do not like to read in a game. Most information about the game-mechanics are in your menu which you just have to read through. Explain the game to me in a cutscene or dialogue that I actually enjoy listening to. I already found this annoying with Breath of the Wild, so this might be a personal issue.
    However, if you don't read anything there isn't much to do. You go through the water and scan everything to build cool vehicles or a base, but there is no real purpose for the game it seems. There are no characters you'll meet, water and food isn't a real problem, and after a while you have found most of the mechanical parts and it gets kinda grindy to find the ones you haven't.
    Also I have to look up multiple things on the internet as certain aspects are never explained to me. Why can't I recharge my submarine? Where do I find Cave Sulfur? Why can't I build the primary chamber of my base?
    Inventory management is also pretty annoying, because in the first place the inventory is small and secondly you only have 5 hotkeys and 10 tools you'll need. Just give me a wheel where I can select tools from just like any other game? :l

    In the end, I have quite playing Subnautica after 15 hours of playtime as my immersion was continually broken by the pop-in and I kept losing saves and apart from all that I didn't feel pushed by the game to progress. This all makes it hard for me to give the game more than a 5.
    Expand
  12. Jan 29, 2019
    8
    This game deserves a at lest 9.5 IF the devs put in a bit more effort to optimize for consoles. I finished the game and I love it. No games ever make me feel so immersive as Subnautica. I do not know how to describe but ill tell you that, the night after i finished the game and went to bed, i had a very sweet, satisfying dream where i was diving and exploring in a deep, blue and clearThis game deserves a at lest 9.5 IF the devs put in a bit more effort to optimize for consoles. I finished the game and I love it. No games ever make me feel so immersive as Subnautica. I do not know how to describe but ill tell you that, the night after i finished the game and went to bed, i had a very sweet, satisfying dream where i was diving and exploring in a deep, blue and clear ocean. I woke up feeling a bit upset because i knew it was a dream and a game that had ended. Expand
  13. Dec 13, 2018
    8
    The game is great, gameplay is well balanced for a survival game it is original too. The graphics are okay since they didnt remaster or go over them again since the pc version so they are a little bit outdated but still look good no worries. The small horror aspect of the game is exciting too and for people that dont like horror normally this is a good starter since its not all horror butThe game is great, gameplay is well balanced for a survival game it is original too. The graphics are okay since they didnt remaster or go over them again since the pc version so they are a little bit outdated but still look good no worries. The small horror aspect of the game is exciting too and for people that dont like horror normally this is a good starter since its not all horror but but more stressing i would say! Expand
  14. Dec 13, 2018
    4
    I really wanted to like this game, I’m a HUGE fan of the concept and content. This in theory was a beautifully designed survival game or if you play in creative mode a beautiful exploration game. Except that it becomes unplayable after about an hour or two, it’ll crash at random despite it seemingly working fine, or it’ll stop rendering the sea floor at all, you’ll suddenly lose a bunch ofI really wanted to like this game, I’m a HUGE fan of the concept and content. This in theory was a beautifully designed survival game or if you play in creative mode a beautiful exploration game. Except that it becomes unplayable after about an hour or two, it’ll crash at random despite it seemingly working fine, or it’ll stop rendering the sea floor at all, you’ll suddenly lose a bunch of resources. If you managed to save before it crashes there isn’t a guarantee it actually saved, it deletes save files left and right, if the developers manage to release a decent patch I would love to rate this much higher but at its current state unfortunately I can only give it a 4 at most. It feels like I’m playing a game that’s still in its beta stage and not a game that’s been out for several years (I am aware that it’s a new release to ps4 but it’s been out on pc for a while). Expand
  15. Jan 2, 2019
    1
    Potential to be an amazing game. wonderful graphics, great premise and setting with in depth exploration and worldbuilding. however this is undercut by constant graphical errors and failure to load textures making exploring in the game a nightmare as your never sure if a wall or leviathan will spawn around you. the save system is terrible as there is no autosave feature and the game willPotential to be an amazing game. wonderful graphics, great premise and setting with in depth exploration and worldbuilding. however this is undercut by constant graphical errors and failure to load textures making exploring in the game a nightmare as your never sure if a wall or leviathan will spawn around you. the save system is terrible as there is no autosave feature and the game will occasionally delete your save file. this is further undercut by the game consistently crashing every few hours to minutes. this game has so much potential but is ultimately a buggy unplayable mess. Expand
  16. Jan 20, 2019
    8
    I picked this up because 2 colleagues at work can't stop talking about it. Very engaging and i haven't had any real problems when playing though I do have a PS4 pro. There have been a couple of glitches with scenery but mostly it's a gorgeous world to explore. Later on there are clues but unlike the PC game there is no compass or co-ordinates which makes some of the navigation even moreI picked this up because 2 colleagues at work can't stop talking about it. Very engaging and i haven't had any real problems when playing though I do have a PS4 pro. There have been a couple of glitches with scenery but mostly it's a gorgeous world to explore. Later on there are clues but unlike the PC game there is no compass or co-ordinates which makes some of the navigation even more challenging. I've played almost 6 hours straight and my weekend has disappeared already. Expand
  17. Jan 23, 2019
    9
    This is one of the best games on the market, truly original. You can ignore the low score reviews, the game has been patched right after release and runs fine, no crashes after 20+ hours of play. If you like survival type games this is a must get. Very suspenseful and a intriguing story/setting. The controls are very intuitive and easy to pick up. The real fun part of this game isThis is one of the best games on the market, truly original. You can ignore the low score reviews, the game has been patched right after release and runs fine, no crashes after 20+ hours of play. If you like survival type games this is a must get. Very suspenseful and a intriguing story/setting. The controls are very intuitive and easy to pick up. The real fun part of this game is exploring and crafting. The world is huge and you must figure it out. Very rewarding process. If you like games that make you think and plan, you will love this game! Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 27, 2019
    80
    Few games are this consistently surprising, let alone this well designed. [Issue#158, p.88]
  2. Jan 15, 2019
    65
    I have rarely seen a game go from being absolutely sublime to absolutely awful, but Subnautica manages to pull it off. The first 25-30 hours are a superb sci-fi survival experience that I would happily recommend to anyone, and I’ll cherish that time under the waves for years to come. But the endgame? It really does ruin a good thing. If the first chunk of the adventure were scored on its own, it would rate much higher. But as a complete experience? The issues are too large to ignore.
  3. Jan 10, 2019
    65
    I felt that Subnautica could do with a little more work to iron out these performance problems to make it even more fluid and seamless, which would then make it then a top contender in the survival genre.