Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. 90
    I was blown away by Subnautica. What initially appeared to be a knee-high kiddie pool worth of depth, suddenly gives way to a literal ocean of gameplay opportunities.
  2. Dec 4, 2018
    90
    Subnautica is a perfect example an open world survival game that doesn’t rely on action, horror or combat elements to excite. Whilst these classic gaming features are involved to an extent, they take a back seat compared to the story, crafting and surviving elements. And this is what sets Subnautica apart from other survival experiences out there. Don’t let this be the one that got away.
  3. 85
    A survival game that manages to balance a driving plot without sacrificing player agency. Constantly balanced on the knife edge of life and watery death. Subnautica is a game with hidden depths, both literally and figuratively.
  4. 85
    Subnautica is a survival game worthy of competing with the most noble titles of the same genre. The PS4 version has a bunch of technical issues (loading times and frame rate above all), but nothing that can undermine the gaming experience.
  5. 80
    Even after four years of early access limbo, Subnautica remains as one of the quintessential examples of its genre. The uniquely beautiful and terrifying world is fantastic to explore, while the goal based narrative keeps things interesting beyond the usual plate spinning mechanics of other survival games.
  6. Dec 17, 2018
    80
    Subnautica sees you submerged in a vast and utterly breathtaking underwater world, teeming with secrets and polished off with an unsettling atmosphere that instigates a real sense of thrill as you play. The game has a rewarding crafting system that encourages exploration. Furthermore, the story is full of endearing twists and turns that will take you to the deepest, darkest parts of the alien planet, even against your better judgement. Whether survival adventure is your genre of choice or you’re just a sucker for a gorgeous open world begging to be explored, Subnautica truly is a must-play.
  7. Dec 7, 2018
    80
    Subnautica is an inspired survival game with a great atmosphere and a surprising narrative. On PS4, however, the game is not as smooth as we had hoped and suffers from sometimes cumbersome controls.
  8. 80
    A survival game that isn’t out just to punish its players, but to entertain; with an impressive mix of exploration, crafting, and survival horror.
  9. Dec 4, 2018
    80
    Performance problems aside, Subnautica will rekindle your faith in the overcrowded survival genre, and scare you senseless.
  10. Dec 18, 2018
    70
    On PlayStation 4, Subnautica has maintained loyalty to its original spirit, but has not corrected some technical limits and issues. In any case, it's an interesting first person survival, with a strong identity and a good balance between exploration and storytelling.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    Very polished. Lots of fun. Picked it up last night, was still playing at 4am. Feels like what I expected No Man's Sky to offer when it wasVery polished. Lots of fun. Picked it up last night, was still playing at 4am. Feels like what I expected No Man's Sky to offer when it was released, but didn't. I hesitated at paying full price, just before the sales, but don't fear, it's entirely worth it. Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2018
    2
    Fantastic game, I really love it. That being said, the game is a broken mess on PS4. Crashing every couple hours I can handle, but when I saveFantastic game, I really love it. That being said, the game is a broken mess on PS4. Crashing every couple hours I can handle, but when I save multiple times in order to prevent losing data, it either doesn't save, or loses saves. I had a file I literally saved, a couple minutes later crashed. When I reloaded, it was an hour earlier and all of my exploration in the lost river was gone. Tons of nickle ore gone. I love the game, but I'm done playing until this kind of stuff is fixed. Full Review »
  3. Dec 19, 2018
    6
    Allthough SN is a gripping experience (I've been playing preview since February 2018) the enormous amount of bugs and performance issues takeAllthough SN is a gripping experience (I've been playing preview since February 2018) the enormous amount of bugs and performance issues take the whole game down. Immersion is constantly and completely broken due to those 2. Still I keep on playing. I want this game to be good so much. But alas the developer chose to put their time into DLC instead of fixing the problems Full Review »