Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Jan 10, 2019
    90
    Subnautica achieves with good decisions to build a survival rich in nuances and possibilities, without ever losing any interest, staying true to its objective. A game that opens up little by little showing imagination and finesse. Rarely this genre in its late game has managed to engage so much without trusting in its multiplayer facet.
  2. Jan 9, 2019
    90
    Aside from a few technical issues, Subnautica is one of the best survival games out there. Not only is the world to explore beautiful but the narrative will keep pulling you along,
  3. 90
    I was blown away by Subnautica. What initially appeared to be a knee-high kiddie pool worth of depth, suddenly gives way to a literal ocean of gameplay opportunities.
  4. Dec 4, 2018
    90
    Subnautica is a perfect example an open world survival game that doesn’t rely on action, horror or combat elements to excite. Whilst these classic gaming features are involved to an extent, they take a back seat compared to the story, crafting and surviving elements. And this is what sets Subnautica apart from other survival experiences out there. Don’t let this be the one that got away.
  5. 85
    A survival game that manages to balance a driving plot without sacrificing player agency. Constantly balanced on the knife edge of life and watery death. Subnautica is a game with hidden depths, both literally and figuratively.
  6. 85
    Subnautica is a survival game worthy of competing with the most noble titles of the same genre. The PS4 version has a bunch of technical issues (loading times and frame rate above all), but nothing that can undermine the gaming experience.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 27, 2019
    80
    Few games are this consistently surprising, let alone this well designed. [Issue#158, p.88]
  8. 80
    Even after four years of early access limbo, Subnautica remains as one of the quintessential examples of its genre. The uniquely beautiful and terrifying world is fantastic to explore, while the goal based narrative keeps things interesting beyond the usual plate spinning mechanics of other survival games.
  9. Dec 17, 2018
    80
    Subnautica sees you submerged in a vast and utterly breathtaking underwater world, teeming with secrets and polished off with an unsettling atmosphere that instigates a real sense of thrill as you play. The game has a rewarding crafting system that encourages exploration. Furthermore, the story is full of endearing twists and turns that will take you to the deepest, darkest parts of the alien planet, even against your better judgement. Whether survival adventure is your genre of choice or you’re just a sucker for a gorgeous open world begging to be explored, Subnautica truly is a must-play.
  10. Dec 7, 2018
    80
    Subnautica is an inspired survival game with a great atmosphere and a surprising narrative. On PS4, however, the game is not as smooth as we had hoped and suffers from sometimes cumbersome controls.
  11. 80
    A survival game that isn’t out just to punish its players, but to entertain; with an impressive mix of exploration, crafting, and survival horror.
  12. Dec 4, 2018
    80
    Performance problems aside, Subnautica will rekindle your faith in the overcrowded survival genre, and scare you senseless.
  13. Dec 20, 2018
    70
    Subnautica is a title for those who love to explore.
  14. Dec 18, 2018
    70
    On PlayStation 4, Subnautica has maintained loyalty to its original spirit, but has not corrected some technical limits and issues. In any case, it's an interesting first person survival, with a strong identity and a good balance between exploration and storytelling.
  15. Jan 15, 2019
    65
    I have rarely seen a game go from being absolutely sublime to absolutely awful, but Subnautica manages to pull it off. The first 25-30 hours are a superb sci-fi survival experience that I would happily recommend to anyone, and I’ll cherish that time under the waves for years to come. But the endgame? It really does ruin a good thing. If the first chunk of the adventure were scored on its own, it would rate much higher. But as a complete experience? The issues are too large to ignore.
  16. Jan 10, 2019
    65
    I felt that Subnautica could do with a little more work to iron out these performance problems to make it even more fluid and seamless, which would then make it then a top contender in the survival genre.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    Very polished. Lots of fun. Picked it up last night, was still playing at 4am. Feels like what I expected No Man's Sky to offer when it wasVery polished. Lots of fun. Picked it up last night, was still playing at 4am. Feels like what I expected No Man's Sky to offer when it was released, but didn't. I hesitated at paying full price, just before the sales, but don't fear, it's entirely worth it. Full Review »
  2. Jan 14, 2019
    10
    I really can't rate this game highly enough. I'm typically a casual gamer that usually only plays the odd weekend or so, but despite itI really can't rate this game highly enough. I'm typically a casual gamer that usually only plays the odd weekend or so, but despite it somewhat slower nature, something about this title had me glued to the screen for 6 an entire weekend. I'm already thinking about how I can sneak extra time in during the week without neglecting my household. It's been 15 years since a game has captured me like this (Morrowind). So much so that I felt the need to write a review, which I've never done before.

    The environment is beautiful and at times, deeply unsettling as you discover hints of just how diverse, vast, and terrifying the environment can be. More often than not, it's what you can't see that gets the heart racing. An incredible music score goes with each of the individual environments and adds to the sense of awe as you discover new locations. Legitimate challenges are balanced nicely with the rewards received for exploring - the pace of the game is as slow or as fast as you'd like it to be.

    I've been tempted to read guides online but I think that discovering on your own is one of the greatest delights of this game and frankly, when it comes to certain areas, ignorance might be bliss.

    I've seen some folks write about bugs and issues with graphics - while I've definitely encountered some slow environment loading when moving quickly, I haven't experienced any bugs that I know of.

    This game is an absolute pleasure to play.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 9, 2018
    2
    Fantastic game, I really love it. That being said, the game is a broken mess on PS4. Crashing every couple hours I can handle, but when I saveFantastic game, I really love it. That being said, the game is a broken mess on PS4. Crashing every couple hours I can handle, but when I save multiple times in order to prevent losing data, it either doesn't save, or loses saves. I had a file I literally saved, a couple minutes later crashed. When I reloaded, it was an hour earlier and all of my exploration in the lost river was gone. Tons of nickle ore gone. I love the game, but I'm done playing until this kind of stuff is fixed. Full Review »