User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 84
  2. Negative: 18 out of 84
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    A great time for fans of the series. Excellent soundtrack and really enjoyable character interactions for people who love the series
  2. Dec 4, 2018
    8
    It should be noted that someone is exploiting Metacritic's user score. The number of negatives keeps rising gradually and its the same on the page for the other game. They're at the same number and rise at the same incrimates and have been for hours now. Also the negatives for P4D rose by 100+ overnight even though that game is much older than these.
  3. Dec 4, 2018
    8
    If this game interests you, it will certainly be worth it... simply because these 2 games are love letters to fans. Fun interactions between characters, beautiful graphics and EXTREMELY good soundtracks. If you aren't interested in Persona... why buy these? I suppose as a music game it still stands up decently well but... it's pretty clear who these games are made for, so as a fan, I'd sayIf this game interests you, it will certainly be worth it... simply because these 2 games are love letters to fans. Fun interactions between characters, beautiful graphics and EXTREMELY good soundtracks. If you aren't interested in Persona... why buy these? I suppose as a music game it still stands up decently well but... it's pretty clear who these games are made for, so as a fan, I'd say these are quality games... if not a bit short. There's plenty of interactions to move through, and achievements to unlock (not trophies)

    Here, I'll make it simple, if seeing these characters in newly unlocked costumes excites you, buy this game. Otherwise, think twice. There's a very specific audience.
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    @soss Hey kid, don't know why you're so butthurt. You didn't play all three games and even if you did, you just wrote the same review. It'll get better little baby. :)
  5. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    Enjoyable, I lost track of time playing it. Naturally, you have to enjoy Persona to enjoy it, in particular the music.

    I'm fine paying full price for it, but I'm definitely a P4, P5 fan. Considering it comes with no story, which is the one disappointment I can think of- wait until it drops considerably in price unless you have been dying for P4D with new music. No question, if you
    Enjoyable, I lost track of time playing it. Naturally, you have to enjoy Persona to enjoy it, in particular the music.

    I'm fine paying full price for it, but I'm definitely a P4, P5 fan. Considering it comes with no story, which is the one disappointment I can think of- wait until it drops considerably in price unless you have been dying for P4D with new music.

    No question, if you have a Vita (or are willing to buy the CE), P4D is the best of the three.
    Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2018
    7
    1. The game doesn't really have a story driving force like P4D did and feels a bit lacking because of it.
    2. Ultimately though, the lack of rating comes from performance issues. Playing on a PS4 Pro and I still get framerate issues on some parts of specific songs regardless of difficulty and ramping up to the hard difficulties the game starts to chunk when too much is going on.
    3. From a
    1. The game doesn't really have a story driving force like P4D did and feels a bit lacking because of it.
    2. Ultimately though, the lack of rating comes from performance issues. Playing on a PS4 Pro and I still get framerate issues on some parts of specific songs regardless of difficulty and ramping up to the hard difficulties the game starts to chunk when too much is going on.
    3. From a design perspective, it doesn't carry over to a large tv as well as a vita. There's notes on interchanging beats that I have no idea what the timing is because they're staggered. On a smaller vita screen I have no issue, but suddenly it's such a hassle to play on a ps4. Using remote play to play it on a vita seems like a better choice which is unfortunate considering the ps4 version costs more...
    It's a simple game that I enjoyed but I can't tell if I enjoyed it because it is in the Persona universe. Strip out the Persona and I would not be interested in the game anymore.

    Knowing the size of the game, and getting this on PS4, both games could have been released on one disc in one game with a storyline to actually tie them together. Unfortunately they were broken into two less fulfilling games with the business knowledge that fans will buy the games regardless.
    Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2018
    5
    Using ATLUS Strategy (copying P3 Dancing In Moonlight review and reusing it):

    This (and P3Dancing In Moonlight) made me very sad, they are the same game as P4 Dancing All Night, there is no new elements, just new songs and characters (dancing in the background), i would even dare to say it is the same engine, just ported to the ps4, i really suggest to get both (with or without P4DAN)
    Using ATLUS Strategy (copying P3 Dancing In Moonlight review and reusing it):

    This (and P3Dancing In Moonlight) made me very sad, they are the same game as P4 Dancing All Night, there is no new elements, just new songs and characters (dancing in the background), i would even dare to say it is the same engine, just ported to the ps4, i really suggest to get both (with or without P4DAN) as digital and later on, they are overpriced right now and the special edition is not even worth the around 80-90 dollars, BUT if you loved P4DAN and just want to play more of the same (and you are desperate) you might be the target for both of this games
    Expand
  8. Dec 5, 2018
    7
    The songs are great and the core gameplay is solid, but overall P3D and P5D are bare-bones releases in a way that P4D was not. Perhaps because of the backlash from P4D being canon Atlus has given up on trying to incorporate a meaningful solo mode in the Persona rhythm games. There is a lot of irony in the fact that P4D is bundled as an "extra" with P3D & P5D yet is actually the mostThe songs are great and the core gameplay is solid, but overall P3D and P5D are bare-bones releases in a way that P4D was not. Perhaps because of the backlash from P4D being canon Atlus has given up on trying to incorporate a meaningful solo mode in the Persona rhythm games. There is a lot of irony in the fact that P4D is bundled as an "extra" with P3D & P5D yet is actually the most substantial game of the lot. These are still worth playing for a chance to revisit your favorite characters but I am disappointed overall. Hopefully a Persona 3 remake is released with these assets. Expand
  9. Jan 7, 2019
    6
    As a Persona 5 fan, I love it
    As someone who enjoys beat games I don't
    The main issues being the soundtrack. I think persona 5 has an awesome ost dont get me wrong, but there are maybe six actual songs and everything else is made up of remixes of those six songs. The gameplay is...a'ight I loved seeing the p5 cast again- the character interactions are always charming and make me happy,
    As a Persona 5 fan, I love it
    As someone who enjoys beat games I don't
    The main issues being the soundtrack. I think persona 5 has an awesome ost dont get me wrong, but there are maybe six actual songs and everything else is made up of remixes of those six songs.
    The gameplay is...a'ight
    I loved seeing the p5 cast again- the character interactions are always charming and make me happy, but it's way overpriced for what it has to offer!
    Maybe get this used way down the line, wouldnt recommend buying it new.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 8, 2019
    65
    Putting aside the fact that I find it incredibly weird that Dancing in Moonlight and Dancing in Starlight are being sold as two separate, full-priced games (they’re too similar in concept and execution for it to make sense) it’s neat fanservice for those who wish to spend more time with the Tartarus SEES and Phantom Thieves crew. Ultimately, though, I wish that the devs had tried just a little harder to carve out a new and exciting rhythm game, rather than something that fits squarely into established genre norms and coasts by on the charm of its characters.
  2. Dec 4, 2018
    75
    Despite the gameplay not being the best, the game is charming enough with its music and music videos to still be a fun time.
  3. Dec 3, 2018
    80
    Those who simply love music rhythm games and haven’t got much experience with the Persona series, though, should probably just dip their toes in with Persona 3: Dancing in Moonlight to test the water. And maybe wait for it to go on sale before they do so. Persona 3: Dancing in Moonlight and Persona 5: Dancing in Starlight are both very good, but they don’t quite feel like they’re worth their asking price.