User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 112
  2. Negative: 34 out of 112
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 8, 2018
    5
    Onrush is a mix of small bits speed induced euphoria and not much else, the first couple of hours of game-play is pretty fun but after a while it looses its touch and turns into a shallow game with nothing else to offer. The game modes are pretty samey, the overdrive game mode is personally the funniest because it's what i perceive is the "raw" onrush experience, theirs no crappy gimmickOnrush is a mix of small bits speed induced euphoria and not much else, the first couple of hours of game-play is pretty fun but after a while it looses its touch and turns into a shallow game with nothing else to offer. The game modes are pretty samey, the overdrive game mode is personally the funniest because it's what i perceive is the "raw" onrush experience, theirs no crappy gimmick like "overdrive but you have to stand in a circle" or "overdrive but its gun game", in summary the game is fun for a bit then just "eh" Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2018
    3
    Boring gameplay: Everything feels scripted, cant even use the R3 button. Online is a joke.
  3. Dec 23, 2018
    0
    This Game IS GARBAGE so is everyone who thinks its a good game, peace boiss.
  4. Dec 23, 2018
    0
    This Game IS GARBAGE so is everyone who thinks its a good game, peace boiss. - Onrush smurf out.
  5. Jan 1, 2019
    3
    After getting the platinum on ps4 I can definitely say that the game is fun, at least for the first couple of hours. After that, there is really nothing new to add to the experience, the game lacks depth and is extremely repetitive. On top of that, the game design is terrible, with obstacles being barely visible and most takedowns being luck-based. And don't even get me started on theAfter getting the platinum on ps4 I can definitely say that the game is fun, at least for the first couple of hours. After that, there is really nothing new to add to the experience, the game lacks depth and is extremely repetitive. On top of that, the game design is terrible, with obstacles being barely visible and most takedowns being luck-based. And don't even get me started on the pricing for this game... a new level of EA right here. Overall was very disappointed with quite literally everything. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2018
    1
    Bills itself as an EXTREME racer, complete with a wannabe 90s colorful aesthetic; but what it really is an EXTREME disappointment. The fact this game came from the same devs as Motorstorm on PS3 is shocking. They could have remade Motorstorm with a just few new tracks and barely any improvements and it would have been a better game than this.
    A hollowed out experience that cant even be
    Bills itself as an EXTREME racer, complete with a wannabe 90s colorful aesthetic; but what it really is an EXTREME disappointment. The fact this game came from the same devs as Motorstorm on PS3 is shocking. They could have remade Motorstorm with a just few new tracks and barely any improvements and it would have been a better game than this.
    A hollowed out experience that cant even be called a racing game, more of a "ramming" game. The game lacks any sort of the excitement or even sense of speed that can be found in titles like Motorstorm or DIRT. Playing with my roommate we were bored and felt the game was stale after the first night of gaming, beers didn't help.
    Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2018
    2
    i can believe people give so much support on a game like this . where the hell are we stepping any more , what future gaming might has when the people have no sence wether if a game is good or not . it is a discrace for a studio wich has released dirt 4 , propably the best rally game ever and now this one ? and still they take so much support about it ? what the hell men what where youi can believe people give so much support on a game like this . where the hell are we stepping any more , what future gaming might has when the people have no sence wether if a game is good or not . it is a discrace for a studio wich has released dirt 4 , propably the best rally game ever and now this one ? and still they take so much support about it ? what the hell men what where you thinking ? do you care if the game has any point at all or the only thing you care is that is online like overwatch and frekin Lol ? Expand
  8. Jun 12, 2018
    6
    Excellent and fun idea that needs a lot of fixes before it can keep me playing. All the problems with balancing not just for the cars but the game modes themselves have frustrated me more than been fun. Level 45 in full game. 40 somethin in Beta. Love the game. It still needs work. Once the first fun impression is past, the game is more frustrating than fun.
  9. Jun 8, 2018
    2
    Gets real boring real fast. Not worth the price tag for such a shallow experience.
  10. Jun 5, 2018
    5
    Onrush
    No rush
    Onrush is an arcade racer that’s less about racing and more about car combat. This isn’t every racer for themselves, this game is all about team work. In onrush you can choose your own character, all with different skins and you race through an 8 hour long campaign with your 8 different vehicles all of which have their own skins as well, really making your arsenal of
    Onrush
    No rush
    Onrush is an arcade racer that’s less about racing and more about car combat.
    This isn’t every racer for themselves, this game is all about team work.
    In onrush you can choose your own character, all with different skins and you race through an 8 hour long campaign with your 8 different vehicles all of which have their own skins as well, really making your arsenal of vehicles feel yours.
    There is no customizing or tuning outside of this.. as again this isn’t about racing this is about combat in team based modes.. this game features 12 different tracks that can be played at different times of the day and at different seasons, all of which are decently designed.. nothing really memorable here though
    but you go through a 6 v 6 match out of 4 possible match types,
    Theres overdrive , which is a score chasing mode, you get points by doing tricks, driving fast, and taking enemies down, and youre able to drive fast with the boost you collect by hitting jumps, doing tricks, take downs and pick ups.. theres countdown mode where your teams are driving through checkpoints trying to keep the timer going, lockdown where you’re trying to stay in a zone with the most amount of team members for 5 seconds to win a round, and my least favorite of the modes switch, where everyone has 4 lives.. but for some reason they decided to let your team stay in after all lives are lost really dragging this match type out longer than it needs to be…
    to spice the gameplay up there are again 8 different vehicles all with their own unique balance of offense and defense, some will drop boost for teammates to pick up, others can offer a shield, some will drain boost.. leave a smoke cloud behind while on rush is activated, which Is done by filling a meter by boosting…
    thanks to this mix of abilities by the different vehicles types this offers different strategy for different match types…
    And you can play these matches in campaign as well as online which match and ranked…
    as you play youll earn xp to level up which will give you a box of cosmetic items with different rarities each time… cosmetics can also be earned with cash earned from completing matches and challenges..
    all of this looks and sounds great..
    But onrush just wasn’t fun to me…
    I got no thrill out of just being a cog in the machine team, no matter what mode it was I felt like I was just going through the motions of fill up my boost, get some take downs, while occasionally having to drive through some gates, the strategy is offered but completely unnecessary…
    one bad person cant ruin a team which is good.. but one good person cant make a team either..
    which makes this competitive play just feel pointless…
    Onrush is a great looking game with a great soundtrack
    but the experience is so numbing…
    I stopped having fun once the tutorial was over and I got to experience the actual game.
    crashing is ridiculously easy, respawns take forever.
    its just not fun.
    I give Onrush
    a 5.5/10
    Expand
  11. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    Excellent game for those looking for fun and speed, simple and good. Simple but enjoyable graphics, smooth fps and excellent gameplay.
  12. Jul 7, 2018
    3
    Senseless "racing", no Motorstrom, you just hold "accelerate" and "boost" all the time. No "goal" other then mindless crashing of AI controlled "bots" that are only there to regenerate your boost, then followed by an opposing team that you need to "takedown". You drive on some sort of race track wih jumps and some "shortcuts" that are useless due to there being no goal in racing, there isSenseless "racing", no Motorstrom, you just hold "accelerate" and "boost" all the time. No "goal" other then mindless crashing of AI controlled "bots" that are only there to regenerate your boost, then followed by an opposing team that you need to "takedown". You drive on some sort of race track wih jumps and some "shortcuts" that are useless due to there being no goal in racing, there is no winner or number of tracks, all there is is the stupid "takedown the other team"... that's all there is - but not the fun part with weapons etc. ... just bumping and more or less useless special "attacks" after you used your boost long enough to fill it up.
    Character and vehicle customization is just one weird costume and all others are just reskins of the original if you do not want to go to the real money shop...
    Expand
  13. Sep 13, 2018
    3
    The game looked exciting in the demos and previews but when you actually lay hands on it it’s all, well, a bit meh. It’s the motor `racing’ equivalent of a hamster roll ball that’s been fitted with go faster stripes and neon lights as there’s no finish line per se and the limited loop like nature of the game quickly becomes apparent.
    OnRush is solely about holding down the go fast button
    The game looked exciting in the demos and previews but when you actually lay hands on it it’s all, well, a bit meh. It’s the motor `racing’ equivalent of a hamster roll ball that’s been fitted with go faster stripes and neon lights as there’s no finish line per se and the limited loop like nature of the game quickly becomes apparent.
    OnRush is solely about holding down the go fast button and crashing into your opponents in order to well, keep the cage turning, It is not long before” like the aforesaid hamster, fatigue and ennui set in from the lack of any any real engagement once you you stop admiring the the flashy presentation .
    Unlike the hamster, I had the ability to walk away from this and took it, grateful that I had borrowed a friends copy to try this out so no buyers remorse for me although I did buy my mate a couple of beers to compensate him for the money he wasted buying this.
    Expand
  14. Jun 29, 2018
    7
    It's a very fun and entertaining game but it tends to get old after awhile, this is not a shoot for 1st place racing game but more of a battle to finish objectives battle royale type game... One of my gripes is racing at night in the snow becomes very difficult to even see which causes you to wreck a lot and can be very frustrating... This game is fun but definitely not worth the $60 priceIt's a very fun and entertaining game but it tends to get old after awhile, this is not a shoot for 1st place racing game but more of a battle to finish objectives battle royale type game... One of my gripes is racing at night in the snow becomes very difficult to even see which causes you to wreck a lot and can be very frustrating... This game is fun but definitely not worth the $60 price tag, let it simmer down and get to a decent price before you buy it... Expand
  15. Dec 10, 2018
    5
    Total disappointment. Full disclosure up front. I downloaded this with PS Plus for “free”. Few games go “free” on PS Plus in the same year they launch. This is a sign of the quality of the game itself. In truth, Onrush was a misguided waste of any Codemaster’s resources. The game is a shallow, almost random experience where the only additions to better car battling games are holding downTotal disappointment. Full disclosure up front. I downloaded this with PS Plus for “free”. Few games go “free” on PS Plus in the same year they launch. This is a sign of the quality of the game itself. In truth, Onrush was a misguided waste of any Codemaster’s resources. The game is a shallow, almost random experience where the only additions to better car battling games are holding down “X” and sometimes tapping the triangle.

    First off, this sold as a racing game where you don’t really race and there are no rules. It may not be a racing game, but the only option is to drive forward until the match is over. There might not be rules, but there are out of bounds that will wreck your car. It is not a racing game and it is not a car battle game like Twisted metal. What makes this so sad is that games like Burnout: Takedown had this right way back in the days of PS2. (I would pay $60 for a remaster of that game.)

    What you do in this game is go as fast as possible to wreck into other cars. You get a boost by holding “X” and doing jumps and wrecking cars gets you more boost. Boost long enough and you can tap triangle to get a super boost that helps you wreck cars. Unfortunately, neither the boost nor super boost helps you chase down enemies cars because they are also boosting and super boosting. Everyone is always going as fast as they can. You can’t turn around and take down cars. I tried. Hitting a car head on only works if you go in the one direction the game tells you to go. The only viable strategy is to stay a little behind the other cars at the start and hope to catch them in the rare moments they run out of boost.

    The lack of a racing line or even a finish line is troublesome. Battle racers often have a “get ahead, stay ahead” problem. But chaotic, nonsensical placement of cars in Onrush is the worst possible solution. Track location and speed are meaningless. Skill is meaningless. I could see this game as a game mode in a competent racer, not as a AAA game.

    The worst of this game isn’t the poor game mechanics, however. The worst is the obvious copying of Overwatch and its loot boxes. You can earn a loot box from so many matches like in Overwatch. You can also buy loot with real money like Overwatch. Also like Overwatch, everything is cosmetic. Unlike Overwatch, none of it matters. The drivers and cars have no personality. There is no D.Va or Soldier 76 to trick out with new skins and play of the game videos. This is lazy execution of a bad concept.

    In a twist of irony, I was interested in this game at launch but was turned off by the lack of split screen. For me, lack of split screen in a racing game is non-negotiable. Little did I know that the game itself was a dumpster fire. In a way, Codemasters saved me $40.
    Expand
  16. Dec 14, 2018
    4
    No tiene nada qu eenganche, ni historia, empieza todo muy rápido y no te da tiempo a asimilar nada, no hay nada novedoso ni mecánica ni visualmente.
  17. Nov 26, 2018
    5
    [RESEÑA DEL MODO CAMPAÑA]

    OnRush es un juego bastante simplón, que no innova en nada en el género de juegos de carrera arcade y que se queda a medio fuelle de destacar. Su estética está bien, pero se nota que las diferentes skins de los coches y los conductores están un poco descuidadas y hechas rápidamente, variando simplemente los colores. En cuanto a circuitos encontramos 4 por
    [RESEÑA DEL MODO CAMPAÑA]

    OnRush es un juego bastante simplón, que no innova en nada en el género de juegos de carrera arcade y que se queda a medio fuelle de destacar.

    Su estética está bien, pero se nota que las diferentes skins de los coches y los conductores están un poco descuidadas y hechas rápidamente, variando simplemente los colores.

    En cuanto a circuitos encontramos 4 por torneo. Por otro lado, en cuanto a modos de juego, tenemos siempre los mismos 4, independientemente del torneo: Overdrive (generas puntos consumiendo el turbo y el primer equipo en llegar a la puntiación máxima gana), Countdown (tienes que pasar por unos checkpoints para ganar tiempo extra: el primer equipo en quedarse sin tiempo pierde), Lockdown (salen áreas constantemente en la pista y el equipo que la domine gana) y Switch (cuentas con 3 vidas cambiando de vehículo cada vez que te destruyen y el equipo que se quede sin pierde).

    Este factor de que solo cuente con 4 simples modos de juego hace que se haga muy repetitivo.

    Aún así, OnRush es divertido, hace que desates adrenalina y el sistema de progreso digamos que es decente. Voy a dar mi nota confiando en que jugando al modo online contra otros jugadores el juego gane sustancia.

    Poco recomendado, hay juegos del género mucho mejores.
    Expand
  18. Dec 15, 2018
    1
    Fantastic game, but it's absolutely broken. At least from a multiplayer perspective, every time I try to find a match, it will act as if the match is gonna start, say players joining at the bottom of the screen, then match starting, then it displays a message saying match ended and sends me back to the menu. This happens 90% of the time, when this isn't happening, and I can find the match,Fantastic game, but it's absolutely broken. At least from a multiplayer perspective, every time I try to find a match, it will act as if the match is gonna start, say players joining at the bottom of the screen, then match starting, then it displays a message saying match ended and sends me back to the menu. This happens 90% of the time, when this isn't happening, and I can find the match, the game tends to bug out at the end of the match, and you get left in an endless loop that displays your score, but won't proceed to the next screen to collect XP and go back to the lobby, you are forced to close application and restart. When this doesn't happen, it will display a message about connection issues and send you back to the title screen with no XP earned. Fix your game, or quit selling it too people. Expand
  19. Jun 5, 2018
    4
    Pésimo en todos los sentidos. Simplona y aburrida propuesta indie a precio de Triple A donde no haces más que dar vueltas y chocar. Casual total. Para colmo con mediocre factura técnica, pésimo rendimiento en consola y a 70€ de salida. No tienen fe. En vez de hacer estas mierdas deberían ponerse con un Motorstorm Apocalypse 2, que aquello si era calidad de conducción Arcade de primer nivelPésimo en todos los sentidos. Simplona y aburrida propuesta indie a precio de Triple A donde no haces más que dar vueltas y chocar. Casual total. Para colmo con mediocre factura técnica, pésimo rendimiento en consola y a 70€ de salida. No tienen fe. En vez de hacer estas mierdas deberían ponerse con un Motorstorm Apocalypse 2, que aquello si era calidad de conducción Arcade de primer nivel y no esta porquería. Expand
  20. Jun 6, 2018
    9
    After 17hrs with the beta and 6hrs with the full game i can honestly say i love the hell out of this game. Sure at the moment the game does not have a lot of meat on it's bones, which pits a very good argument against it's full $60 price tag for sure. However what is there is very good and fun as hell!

    Arcade racers like this are the love of my life, and there has been nothing but a
    After 17hrs with the beta and 6hrs with the full game i can honestly say i love the hell out of this game. Sure at the moment the game does not have a lot of meat on it's bones, which pits a very good argument against it's full $60 price tag for sure. However what is there is very good and fun as hell!

    Arcade racers like this are the love of my life, and there has been nothing but a void in that regard since the generation started. Let me just start by saying this is sort of a game that's as fun as you make it. yes you can just drive and hit things, and yeah after a while that will get boring. The game really shines when you fully understand all the mechanics and variations between the cars, and you utilize those fully to try and keep the tides in your favor by contributing to the objective. Plan A of taking foes out with a titan to stifle their points not working anymore? quickly switch to plan B and equip a blade to get boost faster by avoiding enemies and just pulling off tricks. It's when you learn the game this well and adapt to the situation that it really gets satisfying. Can't tell you how good it feels to be just moments away from defeat, switch cars and go ham on that objective just to win by a hair.

    Driving feels great and VERY responsive given the 60FPS (30FPS on standard xbox one sadly) and pulling off barrel rolls and crush takedowns never gets old. Every car feels different with each end of the spectrum almost feeling like two different games IMO between the fast, agile and precise blade(motorcycle) and the big, car crushing, wide turning Titan(big hummer) sometimes crashes can feel a bit unfair or out of your control, but they are very few and not that frustrating as getting back into the race is very painless.

    there are about 12 cars each with different feel and perks, and about 12 maps/courses with i think 3 game modes. Like i said it doesn't have much meat on its bones as of now, maybe they plan on adding to it over time (i sure hope so) the un-selectable "ranked" mode on the menu certainly suggests they will.

    Then there's the style, HOLY CRAP does this game have style, i love how expressive and vibrant it is with it's zany presentation. Reminds me of the in your face attitude Jet Set Radio had. i crack a smile every match end when the characters do silly dances. the music does A LOT to add to that feeling, though if you really hate dubstep it may rub you the wrong way. Can't say i'm a huge fan but i definitely like how it's used in this game for sure.

    In conclusion, yeah it may lack content right now, but if you ever loved arcade racers as much as i do there's really nothing else on PS4/XBox one that even comes close to scratching that itch like this does. It certainly has a permanent spot in my library as something i will keep gong back to when i'm in the mood simply because it feels good, just like Spiderman 2's web swinging, F.E.A.R.'s instant action mode, and Batman Arkham Knights combat challenges.
    Expand
  21. Jul 19, 2018
    9
    I am horrible at racing games. I struggle to win races on Lego games. I avoid racing games in general. The only racers I have ever liked are Kart racers and Test Drive Off-Road Wide Open for the PS2.

    That being said, Onrush is damn near perfect for me. This game is so much fun. I haven't stopped playing it since I got it and I see myself playing it for years to come honestly. This
    I am horrible at racing games. I struggle to win races on Lego games. I avoid racing games in general. The only racers I have ever liked are Kart racers and Test Drive Off-Road Wide Open for the PS2.

    That being said, Onrush is damn near perfect for me.

    This game is so much fun. I haven't stopped playing it since I got it and I see myself playing it for years to come honestly.
    This is a team racer that is objective based and doesn't have finish lines.
    Yup. Team racer with objectives and no finish line.
    I don't get it either but it is one hell of a ride.
    There are several different game modes that have different kinds of winning conditions. Whether it's racing through gates to add time to your clock so the opponents' clock runs out first, or catching a moving circle and trying to stay in it to capture the objective, all while trying to crash your opponents and stay uncrashed yourself. I saw one review that called this the Overwatch racing game. I can see that as a pretty fair descriptor.
    You have several different kinds of vehicles to utilize and they each have different abilities and uses.

    The ONLY complaint I have about this game is there is no local multiplayer. I would love to fire up a match, co-op or vs., with my wife or kids and race around laughing and enjoying it all as a family.
    The developer said they're looking into it, but I won't hold my breath. Adding something like that after launch has to be a huge ordeal or else they would have done it before.

    Nonetheless I'm still racing my heart out and loving every single minute of it.

    This is my new racing game and I don't see that changing for a very long time. Heck Test Drive was out back in 2001 and it lasted 17 years as my favorite.

    Update: A month later and I'm still playing this game almost every day. I love this game!!!
    Expand
  22. Jun 5, 2018
    8
    OnRush – a new twist on the driving game genre. Not a racer at all. Part King of the Hill, part death match, part survival – if you go into this expecting a racer, you will come out of it disappointed. It took me several hours to adjust to this way of thinking, but when it clicked, the enjoyment multiplied exponentially.
    Knowing when to take the risk and slam into an opponent to capture
    OnRush – a new twist on the driving game genre. Not a racer at all. Part King of the Hill, part death match, part survival – if you go into this expecting a racer, you will come out of it disappointed. It took me several hours to adjust to this way of thinking, but when it clicked, the enjoyment multiplied exponentially.
    Knowing when to take the risk and slam into an opponent to capture the zone or gate, or perhaps take out one of their last remaining cars, or knowing when to pull off that front flip to earn the extra boost – these things take lots of good judgement and a whole heap of guts.
    The solo campaign is over 10 hours long if you want to ace it and get the max ranking on all courses – some of the later stages have side tasks which are VERY difficult, ensuring you return to the campaign time and time again.
    Online is where OnRush excels. The team play is superb. Never has there been such emphasis on team play in a vehicular game as there is in OnRush.
    There’s a tonne of unlockables, including cute Micro Machines retro throwback ones, a delight to any retro gamer. The accompanying soundtrack is a delight too, from UK Hip Hop (Roots Manuva) to Dubstep and everything in between. The in game sound design is wonderful too – very well done transitions when you crash out of the game.
    Most impressive are the graphics. Whilst not as realistic as the latest batch of racers and the like, this excels in ability. Having +20 vehicles on screen at the same time, all causing chaos, whilst the snow is battering down, with explosions and dust flying all around, all at a solid 60fps is absolutely incredible.
    Well done Codies/Evo. Amazing.
    Expand
  23. Jun 5, 2018
    9
    I played the Beta, which had me hooked from the start! Amazing visuals, although I expected nothing less from the team behind it.

    It's an absolute riot online, there's so much happening ALL the time, that much in fact, you sometimes have to hold your breath, and guess where the gaps are and then either come out the other side in one piece, or get wrecked! There are plenty of tracks,
    I played the Beta, which had me hooked from the start! Amazing visuals, although I expected nothing less from the team behind it.

    It's an absolute riot online, there's so much happening ALL the time, that much in fact, you sometimes have to hold your breath, and guess where the gaps are and then either come out the other side in one piece, or get wrecked!

    There are plenty of tracks, vehicles and game modes already available and i'm sure as time ticks by, there will be a whole host of additional DLC to come.

    The photomode is stunning, very reminiscent of DRIVECLUB, which I spent countless hours perfecting photos!

    OnRush's soundtrack is also fantastic, very modern, electronic and energetic. The games chaotic nature and it's soundtrack is the perfect combination to keep your heart rate up, and wanting more!

    The only criticism so far is that apart from 'Lockdown' which is very tightly packed and requires a good range of vehicles and tactics to get the best from it, it doesn't really seem that much of a team effort to me. I rather just feel that I'm trying to get a good score for 'myself' rather than the team, and never really feel that without the other team members, I wouldn't have done well. This being said I have yet to try a 'custom match' where you actually know the team, this maybe a different story then.

    All in all though this is a minor nag for me and I am thoroughly enjoying the game and can't wait to see where it goes!
    Expand
  24. Jun 5, 2018
    10
    Don't understand why people are whinging that this isn't Motorstorm, your right its not, its Onrush! and its not trying to be anything else. Its a different beast and unlike any other game I've played.... Its trying to be something new and fresh and that's why i like it, Its also a game that my kids love and can actually play. It looks like there is a lot of skill to be learned in thisDon't understand why people are whinging that this isn't Motorstorm, your right its not, its Onrush! and its not trying to be anything else. Its a different beast and unlike any other game I've played.... Its trying to be something new and fresh and that's why i like it, Its also a game that my kids love and can actually play. It looks like there is a lot of skill to be learned in this game but its also great for casual gamers like me. Ignore the reviews from people who can't understand this game....You don't buy F1 and expect Mario Kart. P.S. Photomode is stunning, Good Job guys. Expand
  25. Jun 7, 2018
    0
    Half-assed arcade game and sadly no Motorstorm at all. It's not even a real racing game..more of a senseless ramming game..fun for an hour but gets boring real quick.
  26. Jun 5, 2018
    10
    Fantastic! I've been playing this all night, can't get enough of it. Looks amazing especially at 60Hz and in HDR too. Can't wait to get a proper team together and start using those abilities as a group. I can see this being a very deep game tactically.
  27. Jun 5, 2018
    9
    Onrush is a blast once you accept that it has its own unique spin on arcade racing, played the beta and bought the game a 9 out of 10 for me
  28. Jun 5, 2018
    10
    I played the beta and wasn't fully sold, it was fun but wasn't too sure of the overall concept, but now that I've played the full game, i can easily say without doubt this game is kick ass, its so much fun and is a blast to play.
  29. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    Game runs very smooth, looks great and is really damn fun. The gameplay is simple, but very satisfying.
  30. Jul 11, 2018
    6
    Onrush is a fun Arcade racer / car combat game that will get you hooked for a few hours, until 2 things become increasingly clear:

    1/ It is a frustrating and random game. Some "quest" require you lose on purpose, to allow enough playtime to achieve the required conditions. Even when you try to lose, you can win (and obviously vice-versa). The balance of skill to luck needs to be vastly
    Onrush is a fun Arcade racer / car combat game that will get you hooked for a few hours, until 2 things become increasingly clear:

    1/ It is a frustrating and random game. Some "quest" require you lose on purpose, to allow enough playtime to achieve the required conditions. Even when you try to lose, you can win (and obviously vice-versa). The balance of skill to luck needs to be vastly improved as it does limit the enjoyment.

    2/ The game has no progression. You're first race will feel the same as your 100th race. The content you unlock as you progress is limited to skins / banners etc. Absolutely NOTHING to deepen the gameplay. The number of tracks is limited also. Very soon, you get a sense that you have seen all the good bits and that you can move on to the next game on your list.

    Enjoyable experience, but not deep enough the asking price.
    Expand
  31. Jun 11, 2018
    10
    finally something original and different but beware this not a racing game its an arcade game with a lot of fun!!a little expensive i agree but if they support the game it ll be okay!!
  32. Jun 7, 2018
    10
    'Oh no this isn't a racing game...' Get over it. Onrush is exhilarating, its is truly a fun and exciting new game that brings a refreshing take on what an arcade racer can be.
  33. Jun 14, 2018
    8
    Onrush is an absolute ride and a half. Not your typical racer, many game modes change it up. Very much like Burnout but without the race. Your race is like an online FPS. You have different game modes, achieve the most points, king of the hill type mode and others there is a lot of choices. Talking about choice, you get a lot of customization in this so no car is the same. While theOnrush is an absolute ride and a half. Not your typical racer, many game modes change it up. Very much like Burnout but without the race. Your race is like an online FPS. You have different game modes, achieve the most points, king of the hill type mode and others there is a lot of choices. Talking about choice, you get a lot of customization in this so no car is the same. While the graphics aren't the greatest it's a whole heck of fun. Expand
  34. Jun 5, 2018
    10
    This is a really new and innovative arcade racer. Finally Racing has a new approach which is fun, fun, fun!!! Well done to the creators.
  35. Jun 14, 2018
    8
    Evolution Studios has always had a good curriculum for racing games at Sony, first with the WRC on PS2, then with the Motorstorm on PS3, and finally DriveClub on PS4. However, in 2016, Sony made changes to its internal studios and in the process, decided to close Evolution Studios, marking the end of the production. But this was a good example of "a door is closed and a window is opened".Evolution Studios has always had a good curriculum for racing games at Sony, first with the WRC on PS2, then with the Motorstorm on PS3, and finally DriveClub on PS4. However, in 2016, Sony made changes to its internal studios and in the process, decided to close Evolution Studios, marking the end of the production. But this was a good example of "a door is closed and a window is opened". Shortly after his departure from Sony, the former members of Evolution Studios were hired by the British company Codemasters. But then, what do we have here, you ask? A recipe called Onrush, which features the Motorstorm and Burnout mixed into an action packed package.

    Onrush is an arcade racing game, but it is also a fighting game with vehicles. Sometimes the player can choose the class they want to use in an offline event, all of them have different characteristics and abilities from each other. We have several events with certain objectives to do at Onrush, but none of them says to stay in 1st place, something that may be strange for some, but that is a result of a style more focused on teamwork and combat, and not so much on performance individual. This means that we have to get organized to get points and making takedowns to the opponents in order to get the team to victory.

    In terms of game modes, in Overdrive we have to make 10000 points as fast as possible in a round (5 rounds maximum) through boost or Rush Ultimate, jumps and takedowns. Countdown mode has the general objective of trying to prevent the countdown of our team from running out and getting to the checkpoints as quickly as possible. Lockdown mode is a kind of Capture the zone. The goal is to capture the zones and for this we have to have more members of our team within that zone than the opposing team and hold 5 seconds. Finally, in switch mode we always start with bikes, we have to avoid Wrecks and knock down as many opponents as possible. Every time we take with a Wreck, we change vehicles.

    The first time I played Onrush, it reminded me no doubt of the Motorstorm series due to the scenarios used and in terms of gameplay, reminded me of the Burnout. What I can say is that despite its drawbacks, such as the fact that Takedowns and Wrecks are somewhat inconsistent (a hard knock sometimes does nothing, but a slight knock can cause the car to be destroyed), I thought that the vehicle's steering could be slightly lighter. This is particularly noticeable on tight corners. In addition, it should be noted that there is no local multiplayer mode via splitscreen. On the positive side, the action of the game is frantic and appealing thanks to 60 super-stable FPS. Never lose the joke to see the vehicles, either ours or those of the opponent, keep the pieces flying every time a Takedown happens.

    In addition to what I had previously mentioned, there is something called Rush Ultimate, which is a boost slightly more powerful than the normal boost. And when the vehicle uses this Rush Ultimate, in addition to the speed increase, depending on the vehicle, you can use a special movement on your opponents or partners. An example of this, is the Enforcer car, which makes opposing vehicles on its track temporarily blind.

    Whenever we complete an event, we are rewarded with experience, stars, if we have completed a challenge in that event, and coins to buy items, accessories and clothing, among other things. And no, fortunately there are no microtransactions in Onrush. When we level up, we are rewarded with a Crate Gear that contains three items, which can be paintings for our vehicles, clothing, celebrations or tricks for our characters, or tombstones. As you may have guessed, this means we can customize our vehicles, choose our character and personalize it, as well as choose our Tombstone and Crashtag.

    In graphical terms, they are visually not perfect, but this is completely supplanted thanks to the fluidity obtained with the 60 FPS. Onrush also has a good soundtrack, able to create a good atmosphere in both the menus and during the races, which features songs by artists such as Amon Tobin and Coldcut. In short, it is true that the gameplay of Onrush will not please everyone, especially those who wanted a true spiritual successor to Motorstorm, but despite their flaws, I confess that the game conquered me with its original and constant action on track.

    Verdict: Despite their flaws, former Evolution Studios did a good job of creating an original product that is packed with action.
    Expand
  36. Dec 10, 2018
    9
    This was the free game this month on PS4. While I generally don't really delve into the new games, this one was on my list.

    I love the fact, no finish line, just knock out your opponents. Add your own music to the mix, and you have a non-stop adrenaline rush. I am enjoying this game. Play a few hours of it a night, just trying to master the tricks and other features of the game.
    This was the free game this month on PS4. While I generally don't really delve into the new games, this one was on my list.

    I love the fact, no finish line, just knock out your opponents. Add your own music to the mix, and you have a non-stop adrenaline rush. I am enjoying this game. Play a few hours of it a night, just trying to master the tricks and other features of the game.

    Simple but loads of fun! I gave it a 9 out of 10, hopefully more maps come out, then I'll bump up the rating to 10.
    Expand
  37. Jan 2, 2019
    0
    Probably the worst "racing game" of the last 5-10 years.

    1st - Style: The style of the game is very hard to bear for people over 14 years. These embarrassing figures, the horrible music, these stupid dances, you could think that this is satire. 2nd - Pacing: Pacing in the game is horrible. The makers absolutely didn't understand why the Crashcam was cool in Burnout. Here I have to
    Probably the worst "racing game" of the last 5-10 years.

    1st - Style: The style of the game is very hard to bear for people over 14 years. These embarrassing figures, the horrible music, these stupid dances, you could think that this is satire.
    2nd - Pacing: Pacing in the game is horrible. The makers absolutely didn't understand why the Crashcam was cool in Burnout. Here I have to watch forever how I crash due to a small stone in 4/5 cases due to mediocre physics. After that I can watch another timer ticking down and hope that I don't get placed unfavourably in a curve during respawn and crash instantly. But the worst thing is this completely irrelevant statistics presentation at the end of a race. For minutes I see idiotic AI riders who have done something supposedly great and therefore present their stupid dance. Click away? No way, go to the toilet, or make a coffee, or make a Power Nap.
    3rd - Game Design: A racing game without real races and then there are "races" you don't even have to win. If the task is to make 3 barrel rolls, then it doesn't matter at all whether I or my team pursue the racing goal at all.
    4th - AI: Sometimes okay, sometimes the worst racing games have ever seen.
    5th - Balancing: Completely broken. Some tasks are impossible to accomplish in a race/tournament, which is why some of these extremely boring races have to be driven several times.
    6th - WTF moments: I was just back in a race where you didn't give a damn about the mode/goal. Since I had fulfilled the task, I simply placed the controller next to me to wait until the AI won the race. Good idea? Not really. I was kicked because of inactivity...from a single player match? What were the developers thinking? Of course I was allowed to fulfill all the tasks again, after all I was kicked out of my own game and didn't finish it.

    Blind fanboys might say "ItS nOt A rAcInG gAmE". Yeah it might be a racing car combat whatsoever. But the "combat" aspect is even worse than the racing part. This game is neither worse your money nor your time. Even if you got it for free, DON'T waste your time with this digital rubbish.
    Expand
  38. Dec 29, 2018
    7
    Onrush is a game that I LOVED while playing, but reflecting upon it leaves me underwhelmed. There are some things that it does *really* well, such as the game types and how genuinely fun the experience is. Some other things, such as the emphasis on "Gear Crates," annoying dances, crash cams, and the overwhelming party-vibe really decrease the experience either during or between games.Onrush is a game that I LOVED while playing, but reflecting upon it leaves me underwhelmed. There are some things that it does *really* well, such as the game types and how genuinely fun the experience is. Some other things, such as the emphasis on "Gear Crates," annoying dances, crash cams, and the overwhelming party-vibe really decrease the experience either during or between games. (Note: I went for the Platinum trophy, so ignoring trophies may allow you to overlook some of the things I began to dislike) If you have a choice to play Onrush or Rocket League (car mayhem games centered around fun and short experiences), I'd go Rocket League every time. But, I am glad that I gave Onrush a chance because I truly had a blast playing it. I just wish parts of it were different, and there was more to love. Expand
  39. Jun 7, 2018
    7
    If you're looking for a fanatically high paced racer with a twist then look no further than Onrush. You won’t be disappointed I can tell you that and let's face it you can always make friends through the game.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 31, 2018
    40
    Onrush takes the most interesting elements of its older brothers but at the same time it tries to be its own game. However, the game can´t decide what it wants to be and the result corresponds with it. [Issue#287]
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Sep 26, 2018
    69
    What OnRush needs is tighter controls and physics. While you can get some impressive smash-downs, they’re mostly random, instead of being the result of planning and skill. [Issue#231, p.66]
  3. Aug 26, 2018
    70
    ONRUSH tries a number of new things with its team-based driving mechanics, and some aspects of this gamble pay off better than others. Its speed and mechanics are sound, but those looking for something a bit more traditional best approach with caution.