User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 68
  2. Negative: 19 out of 68
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2018
    6
    Excellent and fun idea that needs a lot of fixes before it can keep me playing. All the problems with balancing not just for the cars but the game modes themselves have frustrated me more than been fun. Level 45 in full game. 40 somethin in Beta. Love the game. It still needs work. Once the first fun impression is past, the game is more frustrating than fun.
  2. Jul 7, 2018
    3
    Senseless "racing", no Motorstrom, you just hold "accelerate" and "boost" all the time. No "goal" other then mindless crashing of AI controlled "bots" that are only there to regenerate your boost, then followed by an opposing team that you need to "takedown". You drive on some sort of race track wih jumps and some "shortcuts" that are useless due to there being no goal in racing, there isSenseless "racing", no Motorstrom, you just hold "accelerate" and "boost" all the time. No "goal" other then mindless crashing of AI controlled "bots" that are only there to regenerate your boost, then followed by an opposing team that you need to "takedown". You drive on some sort of race track wih jumps and some "shortcuts" that are useless due to there being no goal in racing, there is no winner or number of tracks, all there is is the stupid "takedown the other team"... that's all there is - but not the fun part with weapons etc. ... just bumping and more or less useless special "attacks" after you used your boost long enough to fill it up.
    Character and vehicle customization is just one weird costume and all others are just reskins of the original if you do not want to go to the real money shop...
    Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2018
    1
    Bills itself as an EXTREME racer, complete with a wannabe 90s colorful aesthetic; but what it really is an EXTREME disappointment. The fact this game came from the same devs as Motorstorm on PS3 is shocking. They could have remade Motorstorm with a just few new tracks and barely any improvements and it would have been a better game than this.
    A hollowed out experience that cant even be
    Bills itself as an EXTREME racer, complete with a wannabe 90s colorful aesthetic; but what it really is an EXTREME disappointment. The fact this game came from the same devs as Motorstorm on PS3 is shocking. They could have remade Motorstorm with a just few new tracks and barely any improvements and it would have been a better game than this.
    A hollowed out experience that cant even be called a racing game, more of a "ramming" game. The game lacks any sort of the excitement or even sense of speed that can be found in titles like Motorstorm or DIRT. Playing with my roommate we were bored and felt the game was stale after the first night of gaming, beers didn't help.
    Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2018
    5
    Onrush
    No rush
    Onrush is an arcade racer that’s less about racing and more about car combat. This isn’t every racer for themselves, this game is all about team work. In onrush you can choose your own character, all with different skins and you race through an 8 hour long campaign with your 8 different vehicles all of which have their own skins as well, really making your arsenal of
    Onrush
    No rush
    Onrush is an arcade racer that’s less about racing and more about car combat.
    This isn’t every racer for themselves, this game is all about team work.
    In onrush you can choose your own character, all with different skins and you race through an 8 hour long campaign with your 8 different vehicles all of which have their own skins as well, really making your arsenal of vehicles feel yours.
    There is no customizing or tuning outside of this.. as again this isn’t about racing this is about combat in team based modes.. this game features 12 different tracks that can be played at different times of the day and at different seasons, all of which are decently designed.. nothing really memorable here though
    but you go through a 6 v 6 match out of 4 possible match types,
    Theres overdrive , which is a score chasing mode, you get points by doing tricks, driving fast, and taking enemies down, and youre able to drive fast with the boost you collect by hitting jumps, doing tricks, take downs and pick ups.. theres countdown mode where your teams are driving through checkpoints trying to keep the timer going, lockdown where you’re trying to stay in a zone with the most amount of team members for 5 seconds to win a round, and my least favorite of the modes switch, where everyone has 4 lives.. but for some reason they decided to let your team stay in after all lives are lost really dragging this match type out longer than it needs to be…
    to spice the gameplay up there are again 8 different vehicles all with their own unique balance of offense and defense, some will drop boost for teammates to pick up, others can offer a shield, some will drain boost.. leave a smoke cloud behind while on rush is activated, which Is done by filling a meter by boosting…
    thanks to this mix of abilities by the different vehicles types this offers different strategy for different match types…
    And you can play these matches in campaign as well as online which match and ranked…
    as you play youll earn xp to level up which will give you a box of cosmetic items with different rarities each time… cosmetics can also be earned with cash earned from completing matches and challenges..
    all of this looks and sounds great..
    But onrush just wasn’t fun to me…
    I got no thrill out of just being a cog in the machine team, no matter what mode it was I felt like I was just going through the motions of fill up my boost, get some take downs, while occasionally having to drive through some gates, the strategy is offered but completely unnecessary…
    one bad person cant ruin a team which is good.. but one good person cant make a team either..
    which makes this competitive play just feel pointless…
    Onrush is a great looking game with a great soundtrack
    but the experience is so numbing…
    I stopped having fun once the tutorial was over and I got to experience the actual game.
    crashing is ridiculously easy, respawns take forever.
    its just not fun.
    I give Onrush
    a 5.5/10
    Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2018
    2
    i can believe people give so much support on a game like this . where the hell are we stepping any more , what future gaming might has when the people have no sence wether if a game is good or not . it is a discrace for a studio wich has released dirt 4 , propably the best rally game ever and now this one ? and still they take so much support about it ? what the hell men what where youi can believe people give so much support on a game like this . where the hell are we stepping any more , what future gaming might has when the people have no sence wether if a game is good or not . it is a discrace for a studio wich has released dirt 4 , propably the best rally game ever and now this one ? and still they take so much support about it ? what the hell men what where you thinking ? do you care if the game has any point at all or the only thing you care is that is online like overwatch and frekin Lol ? Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2018
    2
    Gets real boring real fast. Not worth the price tag for such a shallow experience.
  7. Jun 5, 2018
    4
    Pésimo en todos los sentidos. Simplona y aburrida propuesta indie a precio de Triple A donde no haces más que dar vueltas y chocar. Casual total. Para colmo con mediocre factura técnica, pésimo rendimiento en consola y a 70€ de salida. No tienen fe. En vez de hacer estas mierdas deberían ponerse con un Motorstorm Apocalypse 2, que aquello si era calidad de conducción Arcade de primer nivelPésimo en todos los sentidos. Simplona y aburrida propuesta indie a precio de Triple A donde no haces más que dar vueltas y chocar. Casual total. Para colmo con mediocre factura técnica, pésimo rendimiento en consola y a 70€ de salida. No tienen fe. En vez de hacer estas mierdas deberían ponerse con un Motorstorm Apocalypse 2, que aquello si era calidad de conducción Arcade de primer nivel y no esta porquería. Expand
  8. Jun 5, 2018
    9
    I played the Beta, which had me hooked from the start! Amazing visuals, although I expected nothing less from the team behind it.

    It's an absolute riot online, there's so much happening ALL the time, that much in fact, you sometimes have to hold your breath, and guess where the gaps are and then either come out the other side in one piece, or get wrecked! There are plenty of tracks,
    I played the Beta, which had me hooked from the start! Amazing visuals, although I expected nothing less from the team behind it.

    It's an absolute riot online, there's so much happening ALL the time, that much in fact, you sometimes have to hold your breath, and guess where the gaps are and then either come out the other side in one piece, or get wrecked!

    There are plenty of tracks, vehicles and game modes already available and i'm sure as time ticks by, there will be a whole host of additional DLC to come.

    The photomode is stunning, very reminiscent of DRIVECLUB, which I spent countless hours perfecting photos!

    OnRush's soundtrack is also fantastic, very modern, electronic and energetic. The games chaotic nature and it's soundtrack is the perfect combination to keep your heart rate up, and wanting more!

    The only criticism so far is that apart from 'Lockdown' which is very tightly packed and requires a good range of vehicles and tactics to get the best from it, it doesn't really seem that much of a team effort to me. I rather just feel that I'm trying to get a good score for 'myself' rather than the team, and never really feel that without the other team members, I wouldn't have done well. This being said I have yet to try a 'custom match' where you actually know the team, this maybe a different story then.

    All in all though this is a minor nag for me and I am thoroughly enjoying the game and can't wait to see where it goes!
    Expand
  9. Jun 5, 2018
    8
    OnRush – a new twist on the driving game genre. Not a racer at all. Part King of the Hill, part death match, part survival – if you go into this expecting a racer, you will come out of it disappointed. It took me several hours to adjust to this way of thinking, but when it clicked, the enjoyment multiplied exponentially.
    Knowing when to take the risk and slam into an opponent to capture
    OnRush – a new twist on the driving game genre. Not a racer at all. Part King of the Hill, part death match, part survival – if you go into this expecting a racer, you will come out of it disappointed. It took me several hours to adjust to this way of thinking, but when it clicked, the enjoyment multiplied exponentially.
    Knowing when to take the risk and slam into an opponent to capture the zone or gate, or perhaps take out one of their last remaining cars, or knowing when to pull off that front flip to earn the extra boost – these things take lots of good judgement and a whole heap of guts.
    The solo campaign is over 10 hours long if you want to ace it and get the max ranking on all courses – some of the later stages have side tasks which are VERY difficult, ensuring you return to the campaign time and time again.
    Online is where OnRush excels. The team play is superb. Never has there been such emphasis on team play in a vehicular game as there is in OnRush.
    There’s a tonne of unlockables, including cute Micro Machines retro throwback ones, a delight to any retro gamer. The accompanying soundtrack is a delight too, from UK Hip Hop (Roots Manuva) to Dubstep and everything in between. The in game sound design is wonderful too – very well done transitions when you crash out of the game.
    Most impressive are the graphics. Whilst not as realistic as the latest batch of racers and the like, this excels in ability. Having +20 vehicles on screen at the same time, all causing chaos, whilst the snow is battering down, with explosions and dust flying all around, all at a solid 60fps is absolutely incredible.
    Well done Codies/Evo. Amazing.
    Expand
  10. Jun 7, 2018
    0
    Half-assed arcade game and sadly no Motorstorm at all. It's not even a real racing game..more of a senseless ramming game..fun for an hour but gets boring real quick.
  11. Jun 5, 2018
    10
    Don't understand why people are whinging that this isn't Motorstorm, your right its not, its Onrush! and its not trying to be anything else. Its a different beast and unlike any other game I've played.... Its trying to be something new and fresh and that's why i like it, Its also a game that my kids love and can actually play. It looks like there is a lot of skill to be learned in thisDon't understand why people are whinging that this isn't Motorstorm, your right its not, its Onrush! and its not trying to be anything else. Its a different beast and unlike any other game I've played.... Its trying to be something new and fresh and that's why i like it, Its also a game that my kids love and can actually play. It looks like there is a lot of skill to be learned in this game but its also great for casual gamers like me. Ignore the reviews from people who can't understand this game....You don't buy F1 and expect Mario Kart. P.S. Photomode is stunning, Good Job guys. Expand
  12. Jun 5, 2018
    10
    Fantastic! I've been playing this all night, can't get enough of it. Looks amazing especially at 60Hz and in HDR too. Can't wait to get a proper team together and start using those abilities as a group. I can see this being a very deep game tactically.
  13. Jun 6, 2018
    9
    After 17hrs with the beta and 6hrs with the full game i can honestly say i love the hell out of this game. Sure at the moment the game does not have a lot of meat on it's bones, which pits a very good argument against it's full $60 price tag for sure. However what is there is very good and fun as hell!

    Arcade racers like this are the love of my life, and there has been nothing but a
    After 17hrs with the beta and 6hrs with the full game i can honestly say i love the hell out of this game. Sure at the moment the game does not have a lot of meat on it's bones, which pits a very good argument against it's full $60 price tag for sure. However what is there is very good and fun as hell!

    Arcade racers like this are the love of my life, and there has been nothing but a void in that regard since the generation started. Let me just start by saying this is sort of a game that's as fun as you make it. yes you can just drive and hit things, and yeah after a while that will get boring. The game really shines when you fully understand all the mechanics and variations between the cars, and you utilize those fully to try and keep the tides in your favor by contributing to the objective. Plan A of taking foes out with a titan to stifle their points not working anymore? quickly switch to plan B and equip a blade to get boost faster by avoiding enemies and just pulling off tricks. It's when you learn the game this well and adapt to the situation that it really gets satisfying. Can't tell you how good it feels to be just moments away from defeat, switch cars and go ham on that objective just to win by a hair.

    Driving feels great and VERY responsive given the 60FPS (30FPS on standard xbox one sadly) and pulling off barrel rolls and crush takedowns never gets old. Every car feels different with each end of the spectrum almost feeling like two different games IMO between the fast, agile and precise blade(motorcycle) and the big, car crushing, wide turning Titan(big hummer) sometimes crashes can feel a bit unfair or out of your control, but they are very few and not that frustrating as getting back into the race is very painless.

    there are about 12 cars each with different feel and perks, and about 12 maps/courses with i think 3 game modes. Like i said it doesn't have much meat on its bones as of now, maybe they plan on adding to it over time (i sure hope so) the un-selectable "ranked" mode on the menu certainly suggests they will.

    Then there's the style, HOLY CRAP does this game have style, i love how expressive and vibrant it is with it's zany presentation. Reminds me of the in your face attitude Jet Set Radio had. i crack a smile every match end when the characters do silly dances. the music does A LOT to add to that feeling, though if you really hate dubstep it may rub you the wrong way. Can't say i'm a huge fan but i definitely like how it's used in this game for sure.

    In conclusion, yeah it may lack content right now, but if you ever loved arcade racers as much as i do there's really nothing else on PS4/XBox one that even comes close to scratching that itch like this does. It certainly has a permanent spot in my library as something i will keep gong back to when i'm in the mood simply because it feels good, just like Spiderman 2's web swinging, F.E.A.R.'s instant action mode, and Batman Arkham Knights combat challenges.
    Expand
  14. Jun 5, 2018
    9
    Onrush is a blast once you accept that it has its own unique spin on arcade racing, played the beta and bought the game a 9 out of 10 for me
  15. Jun 5, 2018
    10
    I played the beta and wasn't fully sold, it was fun but wasn't too sure of the overall concept, but now that I've played the full game, i can easily say without doubt this game is kick ass, its so much fun and is a blast to play.
  16. Jun 7, 2018
    10
    'Oh no this isn't a racing game...' Get over it. Onrush is exhilarating, its is truly a fun and exciting new game that brings a refreshing take on what an arcade racer can be.
  17. Jun 11, 2018
    10
    finally something original and different but beware this not a racing game its an arcade game with a lot of fun!!a little expensive i agree but if they support the game it ll be okay!!
  18. Jun 5, 2018
    10
    This is a really new and innovative arcade racer. Finally Racing has a new approach which is fun, fun, fun!!! Well done to the creators.
  19. Jun 29, 2018
    7
    It's a very fun and entertaining game but it tends to get old after awhile, this is not a shoot for 1st place racing game but more of a battle to finish objectives battle royale type game... One of my gripes is racing at night in the snow becomes very difficult to even see which causes you to wreck a lot and can be very frustrating... This game is fun but definitely not worth the $60 priceIt's a very fun and entertaining game but it tends to get old after awhile, this is not a shoot for 1st place racing game but more of a battle to finish objectives battle royale type game... One of my gripes is racing at night in the snow becomes very difficult to even see which causes you to wreck a lot and can be very frustrating... This game is fun but definitely not worth the $60 price tag, let it simmer down and get to a decent price before you buy it... Expand
  20. Jun 7, 2018
    7
    If you're looking for a fanatically high paced racer with a twist then look no further than Onrush. You won’t be disappointed I can tell you that and let's face it you can always make friends through the game.
  21. Jun 14, 2018
    8
    Evolution Studios has always had a good curriculum for racing games at Sony, first with the WRC on PS2, then with the Motorstorm on PS3, and finally DriveClub on PS4. However, in 2016, Sony made changes to its internal studios and in the process, decided to close Evolution Studios, marking the end of the production. But this was a good example of "a door is closed and a window is opened".Evolution Studios has always had a good curriculum for racing games at Sony, first with the WRC on PS2, then with the Motorstorm on PS3, and finally DriveClub on PS4. However, in 2016, Sony made changes to its internal studios and in the process, decided to close Evolution Studios, marking the end of the production. But this was a good example of "a door is closed and a window is opened". Shortly after his departure from Sony, the former members of Evolution Studios were hired by the British company Codemasters. But then, what do we have here, you ask? A recipe called Onrush, which features the Motorstorm and Burnout mixed into an action packed package.

    Onrush is an arcade racing game, but it is also a fighting game with vehicles. Sometimes the player can choose the class they want to use in an offline event, all of them have different characteristics and abilities from each other. We have several events with certain objectives to do at Onrush, but none of them says to stay in 1st place, something that may be strange for some, but that is a result of a style more focused on teamwork and combat, and not so much on performance individual. This means that we have to get organized to get points and making takedowns to the opponents in order to get the team to victory.

    In terms of game modes, in Overdrive we have to make 10000 points as fast as possible in a round (5 rounds maximum) through boost or Rush Ultimate, jumps and takedowns. Countdown mode has the general objective of trying to prevent the countdown of our team from running out and getting to the checkpoints as quickly as possible. Lockdown mode is a kind of Capture the zone. The goal is to capture the zones and for this we have to have more members of our team within that zone than the opposing team and hold 5 seconds. Finally, in switch mode we always start with bikes, we have to avoid Wrecks and knock down as many opponents as possible. Every time we take with a Wreck, we change vehicles.

    The first time I played Onrush, it reminded me no doubt of the Motorstorm series due to the scenarios used and in terms of gameplay, reminded me of the Burnout. What I can say is that despite its drawbacks, such as the fact that Takedowns and Wrecks are somewhat inconsistent (a hard knock sometimes does nothing, but a slight knock can cause the car to be destroyed), I thought that the vehicle's steering could be slightly lighter. This is particularly noticeable on tight corners. In addition, it should be noted that there is no local multiplayer mode via splitscreen. On the positive side, the action of the game is frantic and appealing thanks to 60 super-stable FPS. Never lose the joke to see the vehicles, either ours or those of the opponent, keep the pieces flying every time a Takedown happens.

    In addition to what I had previously mentioned, there is something called Rush Ultimate, which is a boost slightly more powerful than the normal boost. And when the vehicle uses this Rush Ultimate, in addition to the speed increase, depending on the vehicle, you can use a special movement on your opponents or partners. An example of this, is the Enforcer car, which makes opposing vehicles on its track temporarily blind.

    Whenever we complete an event, we are rewarded with experience, stars, if we have completed a challenge in that event, and coins to buy items, accessories and clothing, among other things. And no, fortunately there are no microtransactions in Onrush. When we level up, we are rewarded with a Crate Gear that contains three items, which can be paintings for our vehicles, clothing, celebrations or tricks for our characters, or tombstones. As you may have guessed, this means we can customize our vehicles, choose our character and personalize it, as well as choose our Tombstone and Crashtag.

    In graphical terms, they are visually not perfect, but this is completely supplanted thanks to the fluidity obtained with the 60 FPS. Onrush also has a good soundtrack, able to create a good atmosphere in both the menus and during the races, which features songs by artists such as Amon Tobin and Coldcut. In short, it is true that the gameplay of Onrush will not please everyone, especially those who wanted a true spiritual successor to Motorstorm, but despite their flaws, I confess that the game conquered me with its original and constant action on track.

    Verdict: Despite their flaws, former Evolution Studios did a good job of creating an original product that is packed with action.
    Expand
  22. Jun 14, 2018
    8
    Onrush is an absolute ride and a half. Not your typical racer, many game modes change it up. Very much like Burnout but without the race. Your race is like an online FPS. You have different game modes, achieve the most points, king of the hill type mode and others there is a lot of choices. Talking about choice, you get a lot of customization in this so no car is the same. While theOnrush is an absolute ride and a half. Not your typical racer, many game modes change it up. Very much like Burnout but without the race. Your race is like an online FPS. You have different game modes, achieve the most points, king of the hill type mode and others there is a lot of choices. Talking about choice, you get a lot of customization in this so no car is the same. While the graphics aren't the greatest it's a whole heck of fun. Expand
  23. Jul 19, 2018
    9
    I am horrible at racing games. I struggle to win races on Lego games. I avoid racing games in general. The only racers I have ever liked are Kart racers and Test Drive Off-Road Wide Open for the PS2.

    That being said, Onrush is damn near perfect for me. This game is so much fun. I haven't stopped playing it since I got it and I see myself playing it for years to come honestly. This
    I am horrible at racing games. I struggle to win races on Lego games. I avoid racing games in general. The only racers I have ever liked are Kart racers and Test Drive Off-Road Wide Open for the PS2.

    That being said, Onrush is damn near perfect for me.

    This game is so much fun. I haven't stopped playing it since I got it and I see myself playing it for years to come honestly.
    This is a team racer that is objective based and doesn't have finish lines.
    Yup. Team racer with objectives and no finish line.
    I don't get it either but it is one hell of a ride.
    There are several different game modes that have different kinds of winning conditions. Whether it's racing through gates to add time to your clock so the opponents' clock runs out first, or catching a moving circle and trying to stay in it to capture the objective, all while trying to crash your opponents and stay uncrashed yourself. I saw one review that called this the Overwatch racing game. I can see that as a pretty fair descriptor.
    You have several different kinds of vehicles to utilize and they each have different abilities and uses.

    The ONLY complaint I have about this game is there is no local multiplayer. I would love to fire up a match, co-op or vs., with my wife or kids and race around laughing and enjoying it all as a family.
    The developer said they're looking into it, but I won't hold my breath. Adding something like that after launch has to be a huge ordeal or else they would have done it before.

    Nonetheless I'm still racing my heart out and loving every single minute of it.

    This is my new racing game and I don't see that changing for a very long time. Heck Test Drive was out back in 2001 and it lasted 17 years as my favorite.

    Update: A month later and I'm still playing this game almost every day. I love this game!!!
    Expand
  24. Jul 11, 2018
    6
    Onrush is a fun Arcade racer / car combat game that will get you hooked for a few hours, until 2 things become increasingly clear:

    1/ It is a frustrating and random game. Some "quest" require you lose on purpose, to allow enough playtime to achieve the required conditions. Even when you try to lose, you can win (and obviously vice-versa). The balance of skill to luck needs to be vastly
    Onrush is a fun Arcade racer / car combat game that will get you hooked for a few hours, until 2 things become increasingly clear:

    1/ It is a frustrating and random game. Some "quest" require you lose on purpose, to allow enough playtime to achieve the required conditions. Even when you try to lose, you can win (and obviously vice-versa). The balance of skill to luck needs to be vastly improved as it does limit the enjoyment.

    2/ The game has no progression. You're first race will feel the same as your 100th race. The content you unlock as you progress is limited to skins / banners etc. Absolutely NOTHING to deepen the gameplay. The number of tracks is limited also. Very soon, you get a sense that you have seen all the good bits and that you can move on to the next game on your list.

    Enjoyable experience, but not deep enough the asking price.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. Aug 16, 2018
    80
    It's a great casual online experience that wants to be more than that — but doesn't actually offer enough to achieve it. The continuous updates may nudge the game closer to that goal, but recent layoffs at the studio don't instill hope that updates will continue at a consistent rate. If you're looking for a fun, bare-bones, online racing experience, Onrush may still be the perfect game for you. It still has a long way to go to fulfill its potential.
  2. Aug 2, 2018
    80
    Extreme speeds, brutal crashes and intense races – Onrush got it all. If you want an arcade racer in the veins of Blur and Burnouts Road Rage mode, this is for you. We do worry about the longevity of the game as it only offers four game modes and has a pretty serious online focus. But hopefully Onrush will find enough fans to garner a vital online community, because this is the most fun we have had in a racing game since Burnout's heydays.
  3. Games Master UK
    Jul 14, 2018
    76
    It looks like an arcade throwback, but Onrush takes racers to new places - if not always successfully. [Aug 2018, p.76]