User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 11 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2018
    7
    I'm actually enjoying the game so far, probably the best MotoGP game from the past few years. They fixed some of the problems from previous games, it is a better game for sure. Gameplay wise is a step forward. Graphics are a mixed bag, they looks quite good with the new U4 engine but gone are the 60fps from last year. Milestone still need to try harder with content though, where is theI'm actually enjoying the game so far, probably the best MotoGP game from the past few years. They fixed some of the problems from previous games, it is a better game for sure. Gameplay wise is a step forward. Graphics are a mixed bag, they looks quite good with the new U4 engine but gone are the 60fps from last year. Milestone still need to try harder with content though, where is the 'Legends' race events? right, they will probably charge for it later on as a DLC, it would have been nice to have it on the launch package. I give it a 8.0 on gameplay/graphics and 6.5 on contents, so lets round it to 7. If you like the sport and you have enjoyed past MotoGP games, you will not be disappointed at all. Expand
  2. Jun 17, 2018
    8
    Yes, this is a Milestone MotoGP game, so it's going to feel like past Milestone MotoGP games. They've gotten it to a point where it doesn't need substantial improvements every year to warrant a new release, just look at other sports game franchises. However, Milestone has made strides in the handling department as the bikes in this game feel much, much better than the past fewYes, this is a Milestone MotoGP game, so it's going to feel like past Milestone MotoGP games. They've gotten it to a point where it doesn't need substantial improvements every year to warrant a new release, just look at other sports game franchises. However, Milestone has made strides in the handling department as the bikes in this game feel much, much better than the past few installments. The game looks good, although it largely looks the same as the past few releases. The difficulty is fantastic. If you want to be challenged, there's a level of difficulty for that. The main draw back is the lack of depth that the career mode still has. If there is one thing that I'd like to see them make a push to improve by a decent bit by MotoGP 19, it's the career mode. If you like MotoGP, buy this game. Don't let the extremely low scores discourage you. It's not bad. In fact, it's a pretty solid installment. Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2018
    0
    2018 and this franchise continues to make the bike move like a bowling pin. Did anyone in
    MILESTONE S.R.L play MotoGP 2 on the first Xbox or PC did not? Because they never got close to that result in the physics of the bike.
    And the sound? what the hell is this? god... nooooo...
  4. Jun 7, 2018
    2
    I had high expectations to Motogp 2018 as i really enjoyed the 2017. I am a PS4 pro owner. Last year were 60 fps and 4K. This year Milestone chose Unreal Engine to make the graphics - and i don't know abt u guys, but i have a ps4 pro because i want to feel like i am present due to amazing graphics and at least 30fpsa stabile or more. Motogp 2018 looks like a PS3 game. The tracksides areI had high expectations to Motogp 2018 as i really enjoyed the 2017. I am a PS4 pro owner. Last year were 60 fps and 4K. This year Milestone chose Unreal Engine to make the graphics - and i don't know abt u guys, but i have a ps4 pro because i want to feel like i am present due to amazing graphics and at least 30fpsa stabile or more. Motogp 2018 looks like a PS3 game. The tracksides are awfull and colourless and f instance in helmetview u can not turn the head a litlle like last year. .The gameplay it self is ok, maybe even a small better than last year, but it looks so bad, that i would really like my money back! If u own a PS4 pro, do not buy it !! You will be very disappointed. I hope Milestone and Unreal engine will make an update, but i doubt it. I have never seen Unreal make 4K for ps 4 pro .I simply think they do not have the ability to do it. Cartoon game! Yoki76 and Spazlogames. Are you serious?. Its about the worst looking PS4 game i have experienced. Slobby and, unclear and maybe something like 0,7 K. Filled with quick and superficial details. A few lightning effects ok and the bike feels like ok but not good or precise. Yeah Martinell, a little like a bowling pin:) This is my best trying of being objective. I am not paid by competitors or other. Only enormously disappointed!! Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2018
    1
    I must be honest"What a Huge Letdown this is,Yes there using the unreal 4 tech and yes they have a better handling system for the bikes,But the frame rate is only 30 fps and pretty choppy at times and if you have the pro like myself you get no enhancement what so ever.And just to make matters worse trying to get an online game is a nightmare as there is something broke in this game.WouldI must be honest"What a Huge Letdown this is,Yes there using the unreal 4 tech and yes they have a better handling system for the bikes,But the frame rate is only 30 fps and pretty choppy at times and if you have the pro like myself you get no enhancement what so ever.And just to make matters worse trying to get an online game is a nightmare as there is something broke in this game.Would of been a lot better if they put time and effort into it but it feels so unfinished and it looks very blurry graphically. Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2018
    7
    Improved in some aspects, but worse in others.

    Positive points: - Rider animation feels more real. Small details like the rider looking back when exiting the pits for instance. In general it feels better than 2017. - Handling is pretty cool, specially when you switch to pro and manual. Bike does controllable power wheelies, moves when you brake very hard and feels a lot cooler. Really
    Improved in some aspects, but worse in others.

    Positive points:
    - Rider animation feels more real. Small details like the rider looking back when exiting the pits for instance. In general it feels better than 2017.
    - Handling is pretty cool, specially when you switch to pro and manual. Bike does controllable power wheelies, moves when you brake very hard and feels a lot cooler. Really nice.
    - Although the performance is not great, the bikes and riders look better.

    Negative:
    - Going back to 30fps is a HUGE HUGE HUGE dissapointment for me.
    - Crashes look dull. They all look the same now. I actually prefered 2017 version. In my opinion this has also deteriorated in this verison.
    - Some parts of the physics still feel unreal. For instance flying off the bike in a really exagerated manner. Touching the side of the track and lifing the bike up in a really weird way.

    Its fun to play if you like racing games and specially motorcycle games BUT the worst downside for me is the performance on consoles. I could live with the other negative points but not with 30fps...
    Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2018
    5
    Update: After playing through the rookie's cup and nearly completing with moto3 championship, I'm knocking it down to 5 because even the racing simulation feels a bit stale. The sim of the player's bike is super, top-notch, but all the other AI racers race the exact same way. The only way to tell them apart is somehow they spread out during the race. No personality in theUpdate: After playing through the rookie's cup and nearly completing with moto3 championship, I'm knocking it down to 5 because even the racing simulation feels a bit stale. The sim of the player's bike is super, top-notch, but all the other AI racers race the exact same way. The only way to tell them apart is somehow they spread out during the race. No personality in the competition. Other things I notice are the graphics of the asphalt are sharp with texture of different patches and rubber tracks, etc. But really you'd expect that from a game in 2018 wouldn't you? You'd also expect much better off-track animations, more variety in the commentary, and on and on. This game really is overall mediocre, with a few highlights: Player bike sim, replay, Esports competitions, on-track graphics are good, and highly adjusteable AI difficulty (can be good and bad). Oh, last thought, tried to play online game, nobody in the lobby? Are there really no other players out there or do Sony servers suck that bad?

    Update: I knocked it down to 7 because the off-track graphics are pretty bad, too cartoony. Not up to par with modern games. The replay feature is nice.

    I haven't played the MotoGP series in a few years, so I didn't really go into it with any expectations. I've played it for about 15-20 hours now and I'm thoroughly enjoying it. I definitely have some gripes, but overall I think the game, standing on it's own merits, is great.

    I can't recall that much about the previous game engine, but the Unreal engine does it's job well. Realism is better than what I remember, such as the faster you go, the harder the bike should be to turn, like a LOT harder, and this version does a better job of simulating that. I really was impressed by how realistic the different weather patterns are. One race was in damp conditions, where part of the track was dry and part damp. You could really see and feel (as the bike slides and the controller vibrates) when you ran over damp patches in turns versus dry corners. In general, the vibration feedback works really well, with different types of vibrations letting you know different things about how the bike is behaving.

    One thing I miss from a version of MotoGP from about 10 years ago is that when you hit above about 180mph everything started to go a little blurry as it flew past. I thought that was such a cool effect that gave a better sensation of speed.

    Anyway, the career mode is pretty well thought out. You start out in the Rookie's Cup (which I'm currently in), and then you progress as you supposedly would in real life, maybe one day getting an email with an offer, etc. The bike setup is mostly restricted in Rookie's Cup, but you can see the menus that hint at how deep you could go (there's one for ECU). and I've tinkered around with the suspension settings, which are thankfully limited to 4 options: preload, damping, spring rate, and one other I can't recall. Based on the difficulty of the game at easy levels, it's obvious you will have track by track by weather type of unique settings to race at the highest difficulties. Which brings me to my main gripe, the game is too friggin hard. You set the difficulty as a percentage. 50% is considered Easy. I race at 45% and still coming in towards the bottom of the pack, and after playing the game for many hours. Maybe I just suck, but I enjoy the game, so be it. But maybe they could scale down the difficulty a bit to make the learning curve a little less steep at what's considered "easy".

    It's not much of a gripe, more nit-picking. A guess another thing I could pick at is the fact that the stands are packed with fans going wild... during a Rookie's Cup race. But on the flip side, the crowds look great, and the colored smoke effects during the race add a nice touch.

    So how about a suggestion? Why not let the rider off the bike and let the player control him, make him walk around and interact with audiences, have special post-race celebrations on cool down lap, etc. It'd be something else to do in the game.

    After all it is a racing game, and there's not much else to do except... race. But Milestone has done a good job with the racing part. Few nit-picks aside, it's a solid motorcycle racing game.
    Expand
  8. Jul 16, 2018
    3
    Really satisfied with the graphic but only during playing time. The graphic turns to be cartoon when it comes to Replay mode. Very poor rendering especially on the shadow. No pit crew holding board, no marshall, bad looking paddock girls, everything looks very dull. Should make it more interesting for example adding crew holding chequered flag when the race is over. The rider's faces alsoReally satisfied with the graphic but only during playing time. The graphic turns to be cartoon when it comes to Replay mode. Very poor rendering especially on the shadow. No pit crew holding board, no marshall, bad looking paddock girls, everything looks very dull. Should make it more interesting for example adding crew holding chequered flag when the race is over. The rider's faces also not as expected. You should see how FIFA games create hundreds of player face with very amazing details. Before the race start, you should include all track histories such as track record, former winners, or track details because I think the loading time is too long. It will be very useful if you include all this information to make it more interesting. Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Jul 12, 2018
    70
    While the game could need more variety in tracks and bikes, and a few technical fixes as well, MotoGP18 delivers so much and has a level of polish that makes it a worthy competitor against any racing game on the track.
  2. Jul 10, 2018
    70
    A new sequel with better graphics, cuts in game modes and lack of ambition.
  3. Jul 4, 2018
    70
    MotoGP 18 is the latest installment of Milestones motorcycle game series. Although the transition to the Unreal Engine 4 brings a lot of improvement, the other side of the coin is that you can't shake the thought that it could have been much more.