User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 9 out of 19

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2018
    7
    I'm actually enjoying the game so far, probably the best MotoGP game from the past few years. They fixed some of the problems from previous games, it is a better game for sure. Gameplay wise is a step forward. Graphics are a mixed bag, they looks quite good with the new U4 engine but gone are the 60fps from last year. Milestone still need to try harder with content though, where is theI'm actually enjoying the game so far, probably the best MotoGP game from the past few years. They fixed some of the problems from previous games, it is a better game for sure. Gameplay wise is a step forward. Graphics are a mixed bag, they looks quite good with the new U4 engine but gone are the 60fps from last year. Milestone still need to try harder with content though, where is the 'Legends' race events? right, they will probably charge for it later on as a DLC, it would have been nice to have it on the launch package. I give it a 8.0 on gameplay/graphics and 6.5 on contents, so lets round it to 7. If you like the sport and you have enjoyed past MotoGP games, you will not be disappointed at all. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2018
    8
    First things first: feeling of the bike and racing in general is better than previous offers and this is the most important factor for me. Racing is tight and fun. Also, graphics are better now, they look lower res than last year game though, and you have to bare with the fact they are 30fps now instead of 60'ish' as last year game. On a PS4 Pro it looks good on a 4K screen (monitor) butFirst things first: feeling of the bike and racing in general is better than previous offers and this is the most important factor for me. Racing is tight and fun. Also, graphics are better now, they look lower res than last year game though, and you have to bare with the fact they are 30fps now instead of 60'ish' as last year game. On a PS4 Pro it looks good on a 4K screen (monitor) but it does not seem to be optimized for the PS4 Pro. AI still need some tweeking and load times are still on the long side, but all in all I'm having a pretty good time with the game so far. It still need some work but it is a step on the right direction. Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2018
    2
    I had high expectations to Motogp 2018 as i really enjoyed the 2017. I am a PS4 pro owner. Last year were 60 fps and 4K. This year Milestone chose Unreal Engine to make the graphics - and i don't know abt u guys, but i have a ps4 pro because i want to feel like i am present due to amazing graphics and at least 30fpsa stabile or more. Motogp 2018 looks like a PS3 game. The tracksides areI had high expectations to Motogp 2018 as i really enjoyed the 2017. I am a PS4 pro owner. Last year were 60 fps and 4K. This year Milestone chose Unreal Engine to make the graphics - and i don't know abt u guys, but i have a ps4 pro because i want to feel like i am present due to amazing graphics and at least 30fpsa stabile or more. Motogp 2018 looks like a PS3 game. The tracksides are awfull and colourless and f instance in helmetview u can not turn the head a litlle like last year. .The gameplay it self is ok, maybe even a small better than last year, but it looks so bad, that i would really like my money back! If u own a PS4 pro, do not buy it !! You will be very disappointed. I hope Milestone and Unreal engine will make an update, but i doubt it. I have never seen Unreal make 4K for ps 4 pro .I simply think they do not have the ability to do it. Cartoon game! Yoki76 and Spazlogames. Are you serious?. Its about the worst looking PS4 game i have experienced. Slobby and, unclear and maybe something like 0,7 K. Filled with quick and superficial details. A few lightning effects ok and the bike feels like ok but not good or precise. Yeah Martinell, a little like a bowling pin:) This is my best trying of being objective. I am not paid by competitors or other. Only enormously disappointed!! Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2018
    0
    2018 and this franchise continues to make the bike move like a bowling pin. Did anyone in
    MILESTONE S.R.L play MotoGP 2 on the first Xbox or PC did not? Because they never got close to that result in the physics of the bike.
    And the sound? what the hell is this? god... nooooo...
  5. Jun 7, 2018
    1
    I must be honest"What a Huge Letdown this is,Yes there using the unreal 4 tech and yes they have a better handling system for the bikes,But the frame rate is only 30 fps and pretty choppy at times and if you have the pro like myself you get no enhancement what so ever.And just to make matters worse trying to get an online game is a nightmare as there is something broke in this game.WouldI must be honest"What a Huge Letdown this is,Yes there using the unreal 4 tech and yes they have a better handling system for the bikes,But the frame rate is only 30 fps and pretty choppy at times and if you have the pro like myself you get no enhancement what so ever.And just to make matters worse trying to get an online game is a nightmare as there is something broke in this game.Would of been a lot better if they put time and effort into it but it feels so unfinished and it looks very blurry graphically. Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2018
    7
    Improved in some aspects, but worse in others.

    Positive points: - Rider animation feels more real. Small details like the rider looking back when exiting the pits for instance. In general it feels better than 2017. - Handling is pretty cool, specially when you switch to pro and manual. Bike does controllable power wheelies, moves when you brake very hard and feels a lot cooler. Really
    Improved in some aspects, but worse in others.

    Positive points:
    - Rider animation feels more real. Small details like the rider looking back when exiting the pits for instance. In general it feels better than 2017.
    - Handling is pretty cool, specially when you switch to pro and manual. Bike does controllable power wheelies, moves when you brake very hard and feels a lot cooler. Really nice.
    - Although the performance is not great, the bikes and riders look better.

    Negative:
    - Going back to 30fps is a HUGE HUGE HUGE dissapointment for me.
    - Crashes look dull. They all look the same now. I actually prefered 2017 version. In my opinion this has also deteriorated in this verison.
    - Some parts of the physics still feel unreal. For instance flying off the bike in a really exagerated manner. Touching the side of the track and lifing the bike up in a really weird way.

    Its fun to play if you like racing games and specially motorcycle games BUT the worst downside for me is the performance on consoles. I could live with the other negative points but not with 30fps...
    Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2018
    8
    Yes, this is a Milestone MotoGP game, so it's going to feel like past Milestone MotoGP games. They've gotten it to a point where it doesn't need substantial improvements every year to warrant a new release, just look at other sports game franchises. However, Milestone has made strides in the handling department as the bikes in this game feel much, much better than the past fewYes, this is a Milestone MotoGP game, so it's going to feel like past Milestone MotoGP games. They've gotten it to a point where it doesn't need substantial improvements every year to warrant a new release, just look at other sports game franchises. However, Milestone has made strides in the handling department as the bikes in this game feel much, much better than the past few installments. The game looks good, although it largely looks the same as the past few releases. The difficulty is fantastic. If you want to be challenged, there's a level of difficulty for that. The main draw back is the lack of depth that the career mode still has. If there is one thing that I'd like to see them make a push to improve by a decent bit by MotoGP 19, it's the career mode. If you like MotoGP, buy this game. Don't let the extremely low scores discourage you. It's not bad. In fact, it's a pretty solid installment. Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Jun 22, 2018
    68
    Milestone has made an extremely solid racing experience with MotoGP 18. Realistic controls and a pleasant Career mode are the highlights of this year’s MotoGP game. The effort to push the game forward and do more than just a simple iteration is apparent but MotoGP 18 isn’t substantial enough in key ways. The game should look slicker and scream with polish but it doesn’t. Players desperate for an update will get what they want but are probably going to have to wait another year before the kinks are further ironed out.
  2. Jun 21, 2018
    73
    Milestone delivers great bike simulation, but it doesn´t show much improvement from previous entries, even with a new graphic engine. Despite of the official licenses (pilots, teams, bikes and tracks) we still miss some details and new game modes.
  3. Jun 19, 2018
    70
    Despite a necessary upgrade since the 2017 release, MotoGP 18 still has the same flaws from the last Milestone era. The core experience is great, but the magic stops as soon as you peak out of the circuit.