Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Jun 8, 2018
    80
    Yes, MotoGP 2018 is only an update with some editing of its previous edition. But the job is well done on the important points that matters; driving sensations, adjustable realism at all levels, and comprehensive content regarding the real MotoGP and its virtual transposition. This is as much at the level of the circuits as of the machines and the pilots. We regret the lack of competition that has probably contributed a bit to Milestone laziness. There is still a lot of room for improvements. But if you like the MotoGP, you will not be disappointed by this game that does the job correctly.
  2. Jun 7, 2018
    77
    Milestone, in short, has obvious room for improvement, but MotoGP 18 appears to be a solid product, a candidate to be an important basis for the future of the series.
  3. Jun 7, 2018
    75
    MotoGP 18 is a great racing game, powered by Unreal Engine 4, with all the bikes, teams and tracks of the official Championship. Milestone delivers an incredible racing experience.
  4. Jun 7, 2018
    75
    After some years in the shadows, the official MotoGP game is back in pole position.
  5. Jun 21, 2018
    73
    Milestone delivers great bike simulation, but it doesn´t show much improvement from previous entries, even with a new graphic engine. Despite of the official licenses (pilots, teams, bikes and tracks) we still miss some details and new game modes.
  6. Jun 7, 2018
    72
    MotoGP 18 is a solid racer, with plenty of options to tailor the driving experience the way you want. The game's got a new graphics engine that sports better, more detailed visuals, but also limits the experience to 30 frames per second.
  7. Jun 19, 2018
    70
    Despite a necessary upgrade since the 2017 release, MotoGP 18 still has the same flaws from the last Milestone era. The core experience is great, but the magic stops as soon as you peak out of the circuit.
  8. Jun 19, 2018
    70
    Not the best or definitive motorcycle sim available, but a good one. The new graphic engine (Unreal Engine 4) used in this iteration sets a new future quality standard for this franchise.
  9. Jun 19, 2018
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. Jun 22, 2018
    68
    Milestone has made an extremely solid racing experience with MotoGP 18. Realistic controls and a pleasant Career mode are the highlights of this year’s MotoGP game. The effort to push the game forward and do more than just a simple iteration is apparent but MotoGP 18 isn’t substantial enough in key ways. The game should look slicker and scream with polish but it doesn’t. Players desperate for an update will get what they want but are probably going to have to wait another year before the kinks are further ironed out.
  11. Jun 11, 2018
    68
    MotoGP 18 is still good, it has updated its engine and looks better than ever, but this isn’t enough. It needs more ambition and modes so it truly feels like an evolution of the series.
  12. Jun 7, 2018
    68
    One step forward, two steps back. The MotoGP license have been developed with the Unreal Engine 4 for the first time with few notable improvements, but with the absence of previous modalities for a fairly limited offer.
  13. Jun 10, 2018
    65
    It's an improvement on the previous iteration, even if only visually. Aside from that, it feels like the same game but ever so slightly improved. That's the real shame, the jump from Milestone's ageing engine to Unreal had a lot of potential. Considering everything, do I recommend MotoGP 18? If you want a motorbike racing game now, then go for it. If not, you may be better waiting for Ride 3.
  14. Jun 7, 2018
    60
    It is nice being able run your own 2018 season in tandem with the real thing, but the Career Mode is nothing special. Even if the online mode and the eSport Championship function well enough, the lacklustre collision detection will hinder that side of the experience, too. This is flawed and rushed.
  15. Jun 18, 2018
    50
    The MotoGP series has long suffered from a lack of obvious progression from one release to the next. This time, Milestone has at least tried to do things differently and switch game engines, but right now that hasn’t paid off. Last year’s game was already supposed to be a transitional one, yet here we are with a game that is a regression for a series that was becoming a bit stale.
  16. Jun 18, 2018
    50
    After releasing Monster Energy Supercross, it seemed that Milestone was destined for more and more success, but after the release of two incomplete titles, Gravel and now MotoGP 18, it seems that not only Milestone has lost its way, but also is destroying its reputation.
  17. 45
    Extended loading times, washed out textures, and an unobtainable online infrastructure crucify what could have been a fresh start for the franchise. Worst of all, the personalities behind the sport have not transcended whatsoever – taking away one of its greatest assets.
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 9 out of 19
  1. Jun 8, 2018
    8
    First things first: feeling of the bike and racing in general is better than previous offers and this is the most important factor for me.First things first: feeling of the bike and racing in general is better than previous offers and this is the most important factor for me. Racing is tight and fun. Also, graphics are better now, they look lower res than last year game though, and you have to bare with the fact they are 30fps now instead of 60'ish' as last year game. On a PS4 Pro it looks good on a 4K screen (monitor) but it does not seem to be optimized for the PS4 Pro. AI still need some tweeking and load times are still on the long side, but all in all I'm having a pretty good time with the game so far. It still need some work but it is a step on the right direction. Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2018
    7
    I'm actually enjoying the game so far, probably the best MotoGP game from the past few years. They fixed some of the problems from previousI'm actually enjoying the game so far, probably the best MotoGP game from the past few years. They fixed some of the problems from previous games, it is a better game for sure. Gameplay wise is a step forward. Graphics are a mixed bag, they looks quite good with the new U4 engine but gone are the 60fps from last year. Milestone still need to try harder with content though, where is the 'Legends' race events? right, they will probably charge for it later on as a DLC, it would have been nice to have it on the launch package. I give it a 8.0 on gameplay/graphics and 6.5 on contents, so lets round it to 7. If you like the sport and you have enjoyed past MotoGP games, you will not be disappointed at all. Full Review »
  3. Jun 7, 2018
    2
    I had high expectations to Motogp 2018 as i really enjoyed the 2017. I am a PS4 pro owner. Last year were 60 fps and 4K. This year MilestoneI had high expectations to Motogp 2018 as i really enjoyed the 2017. I am a PS4 pro owner. Last year were 60 fps and 4K. This year Milestone chose Unreal Engine to make the graphics - and i don't know abt u guys, but i have a ps4 pro because i want to feel like i am present due to amazing graphics and at least 30fpsa stabile or more. Motogp 2018 looks like a PS3 game. The tracksides are awfull and colourless and f instance in helmetview u can not turn the head a litlle like last year. .The gameplay it self is ok, maybe even a small better than last year, but it looks so bad, that i would really like my money back! If u own a PS4 pro, do not buy it !! You will be very disappointed. I hope Milestone and Unreal engine will make an update, but i doubt it. I have never seen Unreal make 4K for ps 4 pro .I simply think they do not have the ability to do it. Cartoon game! Yoki76 and Spazlogames. Are you serious?. Its about the worst looking PS4 game i have experienced. Slobby and, unclear and maybe something like 0,7 K. Filled with quick and superficial details. A few lightning effects ok and the bike feels like ok but not good or precise. Yeah Martinell, a little like a bowling pin:) This is my best trying of being objective. I am not paid by competitors or other. Only enormously disappointed!! Full Review »