Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jan 2, 2019
    90
    Overall, I’m very impressed with the product Insomniac released, and it raises my expectations for what other companies are willing to put out with their names attached. While I have issues with some of the beats in the final chapter, I have zero qualms recommending it for anyone who enjoyed the main game. And for those that didn’t, well, they just don’t like fun anyway.
  2. Dec 27, 2018
    85
    The Silver Lining is about as good as DLC #1, and it’s worth the three hours or so it takes to play through. With the recent price drop on Marvel’s Spider-Man, it’s a good time to pick up the game and the content if you haven’t already, as this was certainly one of 2018’s finest. The DLC did a fine job overall adding worthwhile game-extending content. Clearly, the future for Spider-Man videogames has never been brighter.
  3. Dec 27, 2018
    85
    It felt shorter than the past episodes, but also satisfying to see this story arc come to an end. The surprise cameo was much appreciated, but I think we all knew that character wasn't really dead.
  4. Jan 4, 2019
    80
    Silver Lining is a great finale to the Spider-Man DLC thanks to the story. It's funny and action-packed that's all the better thanks to the great gameplay the game is known for. Some side quests are repetitive, but the ones that aren't make up for it.
  5. Dec 27, 2018
    80
    Silver Lining didn’t surprise me much but it was a fun enough time overall.
  6. Dec 25, 2018
    80
    Silver Lining ends The City That Never Sleeps with grace but its grander ambitions make it more than yet another Spider-Man chapter.
  7. Dec 21, 2018
    80
    A satisfying end to a three-part story that had a couple swings and misses.
  8. Dec 21, 2018
    77
    The best of the three DLC for Marvel's Spider-Man and a very satisfactory ending for The City that Never Sleeps.
  9. Dec 21, 2018
    77
    A good ending to this line of DLCs despite not including many new things, especially because of its nice narrative.
  10. Dec 27, 2018
    75
    Marvel's Spider-Man: Silver Lining wraps up a story and plants seeds for a possible sequel. These are important points since this episode doesn't introduce new mechanics beyond giving you some meaningful content if you've already finished the main campaign. In the end, it's good enough to keep you entertained if you need more web-crawling action.
  11. Dec 20, 2018
    75
    Much like its predecessors Silver Lining is over in an hour with a slight extension offered for sidequests, and three more suits. Then bam, there's a proper Stan Lee dedication, credits roll, and the wait begins. Hopefully Spider-Man 2 builds on top of everything we've seen so far, including the DLC trilogy.
  12. Dec 29, 2018
    71
    Silver Lining is a solid conclusion to The City That Never Sleeps DLC pack. After completing it, you'll want to dive straight back in to New York City and swing through new adventures so here's hoping the sequel gets announced soon.
  13. 70
    Silver Lining is another excuse to strap on the web shooters and play more of one of 2018’s best games, but it makes that excuse in a way that feels complacent.
  14. Dec 27, 2018
    70
    Silver Linings offers some fun moments, but ultimately lands on its face. However, I have all the confidence in the world that Insomniac’s Spider-Man will bounce back, either in future DLC or the sequel.
  15. Dec 25, 2018
    70
    Silver Lining is not the best finale that we all expected. Silver Sable is a good character, Hammerhead remains awful, Watanabe has disappeared. Two hours of gameplay are not sufficient to explain everything, and the results are visible by everyone.
  16. Dec 21, 2018
    70
    Silver Lining is an episode that reconciles the story of this mini trilogy without major flashes: it remains on the qualitative track traced by the first two episodes, points the spotlight on a very well-characterized female co-star, leverage a showmanship from manual and unfortunately hurries the times of the story, momentarily bringing down the curtain on the various characters with little elegance.
  17. 65
    Though mechanically unambitious, Silver Lining puts a workmanlike though effective capper on Spider-Man's City Never Sleep DLC series all the while paving the way for grander and hopefully more innovative adventures farther down the road.
  18. Dec 28, 2018
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  19. Dec 25, 2018
    60
    Borderlands 2 VR is what we loved in the original game plus the VR gameplay with the hands recognition. It is one of the longer games playable in VR and the only major default is that you cannot play it in coop.
  20. Dec 22, 2018
    60
    Marvel's Spider-Man: Silver Lining wraps up the City That Never Sleeps storyline, but the hints towards a sequel make for a strange ending. A handful of new things to do will keep Spidey fans satisfied, and each side activity rewards you with some neat narrative details. It's a pretty by the numbers add-on, and if you enjoyed the rest of Insomniac's superhero title, there's no reason you won't like this. We'd have preferred a little more oomph for the DLC's finale, but the silver lining is that the implications for Marvel's Spider-Man 2 are definitely interesting.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 52
  2. Negative: 11 out of 52
  1. Dec 23, 2018
    8
    Наконец-то, качественное дополнение к пауку. В первом DLC была интересная история, но недостаточно зрелищности, второе дополнения держалосьНаконец-то, качественное дополнение к пауку. В первом DLC была интересная история, но недостаточно зрелищности, второе дополнения держалось только за счёт великолепной игровой механики игры, а главная тема сюжета не была раскрыта в должной мере, но 3-ее DLC имеет хорошую режиссуру, которая идёт равномерно и имеет интересную и законченную историю. Но выполнять очередные испытания Чудилы и зачистку баз уже не было сил - это и является главным минусом дополнения. И отдельное спасибо, Insomniac, за костюм из фильмов Рэйми. И мне очень жаль, что вы подверглись нападкам неадекватного меньшинства из тех игроков, которые благодарны вам за лучшую игру про Человека-паука на данный момент. С нетерпением жду втору. часть. Full Review »
  2. Dec 28, 2018
    7
    The finale for Marvel's Spider-Man and The City That Never Sleeps does it live up to the finale of the base game or does it live up theThe finale for Marvel's Spider-Man and The City That Never Sleeps does it live up to the finale of the base game or does it live up the quality of Turf Wars.

    I personally didn't care much for the DLC upon release as Turf Wars wasn't that great of an experience for me and I worried that an awful finale for the DLC could lead to me having a lesser opinion for what was one of my games of the year.

    I enjoyed this DLC far more than Turf Wars it felt like there were lots going on once again Silver Sable was given far more depth and her interactions with Spider-Man was very enjoyable, and her arch was actually interesting and I hope to see more of her in a sequel or at least a mention of what happens to her and I'm sure we will as Mary Jane seems like she'll be linked to it.

    I still don't find Hammerhead that enjoyable as a villain, even if he's more robot than human at this point I just felt fighting him once again as a slight disappointment even though the boss battle wasn't too awful it still wasn't that great but it at least felt like a boss battle this time.

    Now for Screwball. Let's all be honest no one liked her missions that much but the final chase with her is somewhat enjoyable there are a few callbacks to her missions but it doesn't overstay it's welcome this time around and it's over before I'm screaming for her to leave.

    And for the side missions that revolve around different crimes in the city, they've got me super excited for the future as I can't wait to see both the character evolution as well as their interactions with Spider-Man.

    Also just want to say by this point I hate the base missions why couldn't we have a mission like the ones from the Amazing Spider-Man games where it's a stealth mission as I actually enjoyed all of Spider-Mans stealth missions and felt there could've been some for the side missions.

    I think the DLC as a whole could've been better but it wasn't as bad as it seemed when we first played Turf Wars it's far from what we got in the base game but I don't know why I ever expected anything as good as the base game narrative.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 21, 2018
    8
    This is the best DLC pack of TCTNS (The City That Never Sleeps). It's a lot more content than the last two and has more puzzle based sideThis is the best DLC pack of TCTNS (The City That Never Sleeps). It's a lot more content than the last two and has more puzzle based side quests than just fighting. Overall this DLC pack was a good upgrade over the last two. Full Review »