User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 191
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 31, 2018
    10
    Divinity Original Sin 2 expands on everything that made the original great. It's a true masterpiece. Larian Studios has stepped up what it means to be an RPG.
  2. Aug 31, 2018
    10
    Wow, just absolutely Wow. I'm only ten hours into act 2 with a 60 hour save and I'm minblown, it's as close to perfection as I've ever seen a game. I have little to critque that isn't nitpicking.
    I's give this an eleven out of ten if I could, it's the best RPG I've ever played and perhaps the best game of ever played even beating the witcher.
    Every aspect of this game ozzes perfect from
    Wow, just absolutely Wow. I'm only ten hours into act 2 with a 60 hour save and I'm minblown, it's as close to perfection as I've ever seen a game. I have little to critque that isn't nitpicking.
    I's give this an eleven out of ten if I could, it's the best RPG I've ever played and perhaps the best game of ever played even beating the witcher.
    Every aspect of this game ozzes perfect from sound, the writing and voice acting, turn based combat, the visuals, the insane depth of choice...I could go on, there is no aspect of this game that dips below anything less tha great. I absolutely love it and it was well worth the wait for the definitve edition.
    Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2018
    10
    Man, I just love Divinity Original Sin 1 and Divinity: Original Sin 2. No games after and before these has been as good as Divinity: Original Sin 1 and Divinity: Original Sin 2. There is a gaping hole in my heart that nothing but a real-life version of Sebille can fill. I may not be able to find love in a meaningful relationship, but that's okay...because Divinity: Original Sin loves meMan, I just love Divinity Original Sin 1 and Divinity: Original Sin 2. No games after and before these has been as good as Divinity: Original Sin 1 and Divinity: Original Sin 2. There is a gaping hole in my heart that nothing but a real-life version of Sebille can fill. I may not be able to find love in a meaningful relationship, but that's okay...because Divinity: Original Sin loves me and I love it. That's why I turn into a white hot ball of untethered rage when someone dares to criticize it or say they like another game more, I mean, you're taking a dump on my love there, A-Hole.

    Saying you like any games besides Divinity: Original Sin 1 and Divinity: Original Sin 2 at this point is just a straight up lie and you know it, just like the lie I tell myself when I say I'm satisfied with where I am in life. I know there are pathetic white-knightish types of losers out there who would say games, as with other entertainment mediums, are pretty subjective...but they should go burn in Hell. Divinity: Original Sin is, objectively, the greatest thing our species has created since the moveable type printing press.

    So when I see people happy with other games, genuinely enjoying themselves, I just attribute it to them being casuals who don't understand that the AAA game industry is literally r-a-p-ing their wallets. I bet they can't even speedrun Divinity: Original Sin 1 and Divinity: Original Sin 2 with a modified Wiimote while they're blindfolded like I can.

    My friend told me that he liked Battlefield the other day, so I drowned his dog in the pool while he was on vacation and blamed it on EA. My other friend said he liked Skyrim (that casual garbage) more than Divinity: Original Sin! So let's just say it's no coincidence that his mom went missing the same night I cooked him a burger for dinner.

    I guess what I'm saying is that Divinity: Original Sin 1 and Divinty: Original Sin 2 is ISUDBWJANAHKAKDFBWJMCHRHSJASNBSJANFBSJXNDBSNSNDNHWHAHS
    CHRISTENDME
    Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2018
    10
    Baldur's gate is dead... the new king to live.. an amazing game.. Goty 2018
  5. Aug 31, 2018
    10
    Absolutamente una obra maestra, lástima que lenfalten modos que si que están en pc. Compra oligada si te gusta el rol clásico.
  6. Oct 7, 2018
    10
    This is a great game, no holds-barred but it isn't for everyone. Like any game with this level of depth there are a few things that you could nitpick but overall this is a must-play. 10 to offset the idiots giving this a 0-3.
  7. rhe
    Jan 10, 2019
    10
    It's hard to write a review about this game without gushing about it because there really is so much to love it for so I will start with what to me feels like the most perfect part of the game which is its world. Truth is I have spent 60+ hours in this game and STILL don't feel like I've seen it all. While the game splits its areas into chapters that you can not return to, the game almostIt's hard to write a review about this game without gushing about it because there really is so much to love it for so I will start with what to me feels like the most perfect part of the game which is its world. Truth is I have spent 60+ hours in this game and STILL don't feel like I've seen it all. While the game splits its areas into chapters that you can not return to, the game almost feels like it takes a Deus Ex approach, where there is a particular objective but there are SO many ways to get to that particular objective that each players experience feels like their own. The use of these chapters can also give the game a sense of weight because it allows you to see some of the consequences of your actions in later chapters if you chose to commit certain actions for a quest. This does actually make you feel like you have to take ownership of your own actions and it makes the character at the end feel like your own because you can see the tangible results of your actions which makes you genuinely feel more attached to the character allowing you to assume that role which I feel should be the most important thing when playing an RPG. The games skill and level up system are also really generous too, as while you can begin with a more basic tier character (Warrior, Archer, Mage, etc), there is a mirror you get access to very early on in the game that allows you to fully respec your character meaning that you are not tied down to any class and you can experiment and go crazy. This is another thing that I really love about the game because it doesn't penalise me if I make a mistake with my skilltree and I won't need to go online to make sure I am following very particular build in case I make a mistake. It also means I can experiment and try my own build, like an assassin who can use blood sorcery to gain health, or a warrior who uses polymorphy to gain extra power and I can tinker with these as I please while changing them if and when I want. Then there's the selection of characters. At the start of the game you can chose to create your own character or you can choose from a group of characters premade by the game, with one character being the party leader and up to a party of 3 available extra members. I cannot state how well written the premade characters are, with each of them coming with their own backstory and having their own ways of interacting with NPCs with really interesting dialogue that allows you, again to feel like you are getting engrossed in a role (Lohse and Sibelle really steal the show for me just based on how so many of the NPCs react to them).

    But while I could continue gushing about this game there are some negatives to get out of the way. One of the most significant for me is that on PS4 the targeting of enemies and picking up items that were very cluttered was REALLY annoying, it goes without saying that the R1 and L1 buttons are your best friends here. Additionally, I did step into some glitches, however, the worst for me was when a door kept closing when I went through it so I had to constantly keep tapping X to reopen the door to go in and out. I didn't really come across anything game breaking but it was enough of an annoyance that I felt it was worth mentioning.

    Overall, while these things are annoying, in the end I still cannot give this game anything less than a 10 because it really does what you want from a game of this genre: it allows you to get engrossed in a role. Everything this game does made me feel attached to the character I was playing and the splitting into chapters made my decisions feel more permanent because I would not be able to see the immediate consequences until later into the game. This is for me what an RPG should be all about, it should be about giving you a role to play and letting you get engrossed in that role while also giving you the freedom to be able to tackle the game how you choose. If you have any love for RPGs of any form, I would strongly recommend this game on any system.
    Expand
  8. Sep 22, 2018
    9
    After I got this game I was like no way can this be better than the original but OMG was I wrong. Everything the first had this one plays out better this is the game you should look for and support being as the company behind this you know they love the game they made cause it shows in every aspect sound, story and combat. So many different ways to approach a fight or attempt things in aAfter I got this game I was like no way can this be better than the original but OMG was I wrong. Everything the first had this one plays out better this is the game you should look for and support being as the company behind this you know they love the game they made cause it shows in every aspect sound, story and combat. So many different ways to approach a fight or attempt things in a different way in lore wise that plays the game in a whole different perspective. If you haven't played the first I feel it's ok but don't let that dissuade you into getting this one as I could higly recommend this makes me remember the old days of Baulders Gate. Expand
  9. Dec 27, 2018
    10
    I'm only 20 hours in but what i've seen so far is mindblowing to be honest. I've started my first playthrough on tactician mode (hardest mode without perma-death) and i would highly advise every one that likes a challenge to do the same. Be warned though. When u set the difficulty to tactician mode u can not change it back for the rest of your playthrough.

    If u can not slash and cast
    I'm only 20 hours in but what i've seen so far is mindblowing to be honest. I've started my first playthrough on tactician mode (hardest mode without perma-death) and i would highly advise every one that likes a challenge to do the same. Be warned though. When u set the difficulty to tactician mode u can not change it back for the rest of your playthrough.

    If u can not slash and cast your way through the enemies, u will have to be more creative in finding solutions for your problems and that is where this game really shines. No handhelding and a brutal combat difficulty, it's everything i could ask for.

    When i finally escaped fort Joy (the first area of the game after the tutorial) i felt a sense of achievement that i haven't felt in a long time. It reminded me of my favorite game series of all time: The Souls Series.

    Considering it is originally a PC game (mouse and keybord) it's also really amazing how playable it is with a controller on the PS4. The best choice they have made in this aspect is that u can move by just pushing the analog stick instead of a point and click movement system (like how it works on PC).

    The sense of exploration is also really nice in this game. Because u can not just grind your way through the enemies (on tactician mode) u will not be able to go wherever u want to go. So it feels like a real privelege if u are finally able to slay a particular group of enemies and gain acces to a new area or location.

    So if u like turn based RPG's this is a game that you HAVE to play. It doesn't get much better than this. JRPG's have ruled the turn based genre till now (Final Fantasy, Persona, Disgaea etc.), but now that we have this gem of a game, it's not so clear any more in my opinion.

    Even though i have not finished the game yet i know more than enough to give it a 10/10. There are only 3 games in recent history (Demons Souls, Dark Souls 1 and Borderlands 2) that i would give the same score, so i'm not the type of guy giving 10/10 for no reason.

    THIS IS THE BEST TURN BASED RPG I HAVE EVER PLAYED
    Expand
  10. Sep 13, 2018
    10
    What a masterpiece.

    Divinity 2 will not please everyone, but if you like deep RPGs, you will love it. The game doesn't hold your hand. You have to actually explore the environments and talk to people to find clues to complete your objectives (no pointers telling you everything you have to do), the dialogs offer an insane amount of options, the story and lore is fantastic so far, and
    What a masterpiece.

    Divinity 2 will not please everyone, but if you like deep RPGs, you will love it.

    The game doesn't hold your hand. You have to actually explore the environments and talk to people to find clues to complete your objectives (no pointers telling you everything you have to do), the dialogs offer an insane amount of options, the story and lore is fantastic so far, and the combat is just amazing. I could go further and say that Divinity 2 has the best turn based combat since Heroes of Might and Magic 3.

    Divinity: Original Sin 2 is easily one of the best RPGs i have ever played.
    Expand
  11. Sep 15, 2018
    9
    Wow what a game so far, 27 hrs in and I've loved every minute. I'm not giving this a 10 because, well I didn't give Witcher 3 a 10, and also because the combat difficulty is admittedly ridiculously brutal on anything higher than Explorer mode. I'd give a solid 9.5, easily one of the best RPG's I've ever played and probably ever will play. Everything that was good about DOS:EE has beenWow what a game so far, 27 hrs in and I've loved every minute. I'm not giving this a 10 because, well I didn't give Witcher 3 a 10, and also because the combat difficulty is admittedly ridiculously brutal on anything higher than Explorer mode. I'd give a solid 9.5, easily one of the best RPG's I've ever played and probably ever will play. Everything that was good about DOS:EE has been improved on or kept the same, but most importantly, everything that was wrong with DOS:EE has been completely overhauled. It's like they actually listened to gamers before developing this one.

    The tactical, turn-based combat is still addictively fun, but Larian have vastly improved the story development via some of the companion characters and their stories/quests. I can't imagine going the Lone Wolf route in this game because the other characters are generally pretty compelling and really shape the story. Graphics and score are far, far better than we got with DOS:EE, which never felt like a next-gen release to me. During the Fort Joy chapters in DOS2, I often found myself just exploring and saying aloud "god, this game is f--king amazing" lol, true story bro. Character creation and crafting are very robust yet fun, again much better than in the first title. I don't think the quest log/journal and quest tracking are as frustrating as some people have been saying, and that is an important aspect of the game and its manageability.
    Yes, this is a big, deeply involved game that is probably not for casual gamers, but as a casual gamer myself, I've been completely happy investing loads of time into this one. I mean, there's always one game that turns a casual into a not-so-casual gamer.
    Expand
  12. Sep 6, 2018
    8
    While I intend to make my review of this game as accurate as possible, with limited space, I will note that the majority of reviews DOS2:DE received are far more positive than what the game [currently] deserves — due to significant stat and balance flaws. As for the storyline and side quests, this review will be spoiler-free. Should you view a description of DOS2:DE’s game mechanics as aWhile I intend to make my review of this game as accurate as possible, with limited space, I will note that the majority of reviews DOS2:DE received are far more positive than what the game [currently] deserves — due to significant stat and balance flaws. As for the storyline and side quests, this review will be spoiler-free. Should you view a description of DOS2:DE’s game mechanics as a spoiler, more specifically about leveling and combat systems, then please stop reading immediately. Moreover, DOS2:DE’s systems are far deeper than what will be outlined in this review, so my criticism only intends to preemptively inform and help prepare new players, as in-game descriptions and the lack of skill-interaction tutorials make personal research an absolute necessity for those playing at — or above — the “Classic” difficulty setting.

    First, the storyline is amazing and original. Its depth makes for one of the best narratives, that I have experienced in an RPG, ever encountered over the past decade. Concurrently, the graphics are quite attractive on a PS4 Pro, and even more so on an Xbox One X — so long as you have an HDR compatible 4K UHDTV. With that being said, load times are aggravatingly lengthy considering the regularity in which players tend to reload. Comparably, DOS: Enhanced Edition experienced a similar, but — what I perceived as — worse issue. Thus, the load times here are an improvement from the previous installment, and will hopefully improve over a series of future patches. Furthermore, much of an area’s loading occurs during these reloads, which is quite noticeable when employing the use of waypoints, as they are usually devoid of any loading screen — so long as the player remains within the same general area (Fort Joy, for example).

    As to DOS2: DE’s sound, the music is always a joy to hear and perfectly tailored to match the ambience of an area, and makes for very smooth situational transitions. In turn, the voice acting is simply delightful, and the care demonstrated by Larian Studios — to every single character, NPC, and their interactions — is evident, as discussions never felt out-of-place, boring, or unnecessary.

    Now, the worst aspect of DOS2:DE, which led to a 2-point deduction, revolves around the game’s leveling — and thus combat/progression — system. The stat scaling is incredibly unfriendly and counterintuitive, especially when combined with point investments into combat abilities. The oversight and neglect demonstrated here, especially for the “Definitive Edition,” cannot be overstated. First, there exists a variety of damage types players can employ against their enemies: four general elemental schools reflected that are traditionally associated mage and support builds, a few other combat abilities that deal “Physical Damage” — with some secondary attributes like Critical Hits for Rogues, High Ground Damage for Rangers, and Lifesteal for Necromancers — four weapon-specific combat abilities that can be leveled to 10 (One Handed, Dual Wield, Ranged, and Two-Handed), and the very important — and newly added — one known as “Polymorph.” Yet, one Physical Combat Ability surpasses all others due to a “+5% increase to all physical damage:” Warfare.

    Accordingly, Warfare makes all other physical damage builds and their skills reliant on Warfare for maximal effectiveness. This means that, to be a good Necromancer for example, a player must invest as many points as possible into Warfare, and as few points as possible into Necromancy. Concurrently, the excessive utility that Warfare provides — with an array of combat skills — makes all four weapon-related abilities utterly useless: under no circumstances should players invest into “One-Handed” or the other three skills because they are all outclassed by Warfare, point-for-point. Needless to say, this also makes any physically/magically split build — even with a 2:1 ratio — ineffective due to the reliance on Warfare as a primary physical ability, even if you intended to create a Necromancer capable of with of effectively using Pyrokinetic and/or Geomancer skills — for example. Investing into elemental schools, as a Necromancer, would detract for the Physical Damage boost provided by Warfare — thus making the character far weaker than the player could have expected.Comparably, Magic builds will find their skill set to be very limited should they attempt to specialize in 3 or more combat abilities — or 1 “primary” ability and 2 “minor” abilities. As only two elemental schools receive “+dmg%” through point investments, while the others rely on intelligence, diversified mages improve by investing into Polymorph for the extra stats rather than magic itself. Thus, neglecting these imbalances, in this version, merits at an 8.5 — at most. Were such issues addressed in a patch, this game would be a solid 9.5-10/10 .
    Expand
  13. Sep 30, 2018
    10
    Oh so good. I've been disappointed by most PS4 games I've played recently, and this is a noteworthy exception.

    I never played the original and had a negative reaction to the last two RPGs I tried on PS4, mostly due to them just being too cumbersome in terms of mechanics. I put it down to "oh, I guess my nostalgia got the better of me" The start of the game is a bit underwhelming, but
    Oh so good. I've been disappointed by most PS4 games I've played recently, and this is a noteworthy exception.

    I never played the original and had a negative reaction to the last two RPGs I tried on PS4, mostly due to them just being too cumbersome in terms of mechanics. I put it down to "oh, I guess my nostalgia got the better of me"

    The start of the game is a bit underwhelming, but stick with it until you make it off the boat.

    Writing and worldbuilding are top notch, as is the richness of the world and the design of progression. I have not been hooked like this by a game in years.

    The graphics are perfect, I have no idea about the sound (playing on mute with subtitles), the story and writing are compelling and the quests are meaningful and challenging. I have gotten myself into serious trouble, the game does not do any handholding, but the balance between being not too linear and too confusing (remember Morrowind?) is astoundingly well done
    Expand
  14. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    Although it does have some minor bugs, i still rate it 10/10 because it just made me addicted. I completed the game in classic mode in less then 2 weeks, playing 100 hours.

    The graphics could be a little better, but the game mechanics, the possibilities you have to find your own solutions to quests and the love for the detail in the stories makes it the best game of the year in my eyes.
  15. Sep 5, 2018
    10
    As someone who always found it difficult to get into CRPG's, I found this game to be incredibly immersive as a story and overall one of the best games of the PS4/Switch/XB1 era. From 2013-present, I have found Divinity: Original Sin II, Zelda: Breath of the Wild, and The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt to be the best RPGs to date.
  16. Sep 1, 2018
    10
    Este juego es sencillamente fantastico, buena historia y un sistema de combate por turnos adictivo, lo recomiendo 100/100. Lo que mas me gusta es que ahora lo puedo jugar en mi PS4 Pro y luce fantastico, se juega perfecto con el control.
  17. Sep 1, 2018
    10
    one of the finest role playing epics of all time.. really it is.. The best game of 2018..
  18. Sep 10, 2018
    10
    Brilliant game. Its as good as the first one. If you haven't played either one and are on the fence about buying it, it is worth it.

    These are huge sprawling games with so much to do and the humour is the games is wonderful. The game doesn't hold your hand and for the most part doesn't tell you what to do or where to go. This is great as it gives you the opportunity to explore the world
  19. Sep 4, 2018
    10
    THE best RPG ever made. I played act 1 twice while waiting rest to open.
    True masterpiece. Sounds and voice acting is superb and they have managed to make this game easy to play with controller.
    If someone does not like this game, he/she shouldn't play RPGs.
    With this game i can easily skip all upcoming games, (Q4/2018) even RDR2 until they are on sale.
  20. Sep 4, 2018
    10
    Divinity Original Sin 2 truly perfect game.. This will be remembered as one of the greats..
  21. Oct 8, 2018
    10
    If you’re sick of the over hyped, paid for 10/10 reviews, fanboy trash like Spider-Man and soon to be released red dead 2 rubbish etc, and want to play a true deep meaning rpg with plenty of options, real story and amazing thought out characters, with a great background story, combat that’s addictive once you’ve come accustomed to it, made by devs that first priority was to make a greatIf you’re sick of the over hyped, paid for 10/10 reviews, fanboy trash like Spider-Man and soon to be released red dead 2 rubbish etc, and want to play a true deep meaning rpg with plenty of options, real story and amazing thought out characters, with a great background story, combat that’s addictive once you’ve come accustomed to it, made by devs that first priority was to make a great game, and not just make as much money as possible and push their minority filth agendas. Then this the game for you, a true goty but won’t get close because of the cancer industry gamimg has become. Expand
  22. Oct 28, 2018
    3
    This game could have been a masterpiece but the 30fps just doesn't cut it in 2018. Even diablo on 360/ps3 targeted 60fps. After playing diablo 3, Path of exile, Victor vran in 60fps this is a stuttering and unresponsive experience.
  23. Sep 17, 2018
    3
    Released with bugs and no patch which no one mentions. If this was Bethesda or anyone else they would be criticised. Quest cant complete, spells dont work the way they should. Act 3 and Act 4 rushed till the point I actually hate the game and its stupid mechanics. The problem is fanboys who accept this when there are far better games out just now and even older games are way better than this.
  24. Oct 5, 2018
    0
    sin gracia , no es por ser malo pero agregan muchas cinemáticas al juego que de todas ellas sacas una pelicula de 3 horas , tengo que saltarlas por que me importan un carajo , en si no es malo pero estar viendo cortos cada 10 minutos de juego es estresante
  25. Sep 11, 2018
    2
    Everything bad is still there. EVERYTHING. The annoying camera. The fact that every little item gluts your bar. The armor system that no one likes. The modes are unexplained. The fact that every fight ends up with the screen completely covered in different effects and it's almost impossible to tell exactly where the edges of those effects are. I can mouseover a point, it says "water", thenEverything bad is still there. EVERYTHING. The annoying camera. The fact that every little item gluts your bar. The armor system that no one likes. The modes are unexplained. The fact that every fight ends up with the screen completely covered in different effects and it's almost impossible to tell exactly where the edges of those effects are. I can mouseover a point, it says "water", then cast a totem there, in that exact spot, yet it gives a wood totem. Enemies still suicide themselves by moving every turn, even when they should know that they'll provoke attacks of opportunity and die horribly. Players still become far too powerful too quickly, regardless of difficulty level, without much more to look forward to in terms of new abilities for half the game.

    And I still can't easily make my own group to start with. Why not spend .01% of the dev time to make that happen?

    There's literally ONE good change, and that's the new quest log, which, while still buggy, is an improvement.

    TL:DR - There are no useful changes to the game.
    Expand
  26. Sep 24, 2018
    0
    Why doesn't anyone mention the camera zooming out ever single time you talk to someone? Makes the game really annoying to play. Ive just traded in as for me it's unplayable ((
  27. Dec 28, 2018
    10
    I want to play it all day and night, simply beautiful. Definitely sets the bar up high for other games to aim at.
  28. Oct 31, 2018
    10
    One of the greatest role playing games ever made. The attention to detail and level of freedom is unparalled. Play with friends or solo, the combat is the best turn based combat I've ever played. So much depth, so much replay value. Larian studios have outdone themselves with this one. Definite Game of the Year contender.
  29. Nov 25, 2018
    7
    Many flaws in the game mechanics, UI and AI, diminish the overall fun game play. With a little more polish this could have been a great RPG with a perfect score.
  30. Nov 20, 2018
    10
    Great story, characters, customization, length. Had a blast playing this solo and with a friend.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Nov 30, 2018
    85
    Divinity 2: Original Sin is an excellent RPG that’s packed full of excellent writing, great characters and lengthy adventure filled with inventive and quirky twists on the genre. The combat can be a bit of a slog, there are a few bugs, and the console interface isn’t perfect, but it’s still an absolutely cracking title that will suck up an obscene amount of hours from those who get stuck in. As mentioned at the start of this review, Larian Studios have been making great role-playing games for years and years, and this one stands as one of their very best.
  2. Oct 10, 2018
    90
    Overall, Divinity: Original Sin II is still an excellent RPG experience that uses intuitive mechanics and player choice to an incredible degree to make every encounter challenging and interesting. Divinity II is a beast of an RPG that does many different things incredibly well. It's not perfect from a technical standpoint, and fights and leveling can be frustrating at times, but these are minor quibbles when compared to all of the good stuff that's in the game and works well. If you're in the market for a new RPG with interesting storytelling and an appropriate amount of freedom, make Divinity II your next adventure.
  3. Oct 5, 2018
    88
    Original Sin 2 shakes your hand a little too hard when you first meet. It needs to relax until you get to know it better. It's endlessly surprising, with characters that lose their stiffness over time, in dialogues and battle logs that piece together a dangerous, thoughtful world. It's tough. But the reward is that you get tougher, too. It still needs to clean up some of its tactical sloppiness, though. Having a ton of options in battle is only good if its rules are fair and make sense.