User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 40
  2. Negative: 12 out of 40
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2018
    8
    So, in it's core, BlazBlue Cross Tag Battle is a great fighting game. The mechanics are solid, working for both a newcomer who knows nothing of fighting games in general - let alone anime fighting games - and a veteran with years of other blazBlue and Guilty Gear titles on their belt. That being said, the lack of content (principally the DLC characters that technically are in the game, asSo, in it's core, BlazBlue Cross Tag Battle is a great fighting game. The mechanics are solid, working for both a newcomer who knows nothing of fighting games in general - let alone anime fighting games - and a veteran with years of other blazBlue and Guilty Gear titles on their belt. That being said, the lack of content (principally the DLC characters that technically are in the game, as some of them appear in the game already, in the story mode) is quite apaling, principally coming from Arc Systems. Only Story, Survival and Versus Modes on single player available, if you're not into online gaming, you can keep this one down as it's appeal will dwindle quite easily on you. Another "problem" is it's roster; even though as it is of today it's already really diverse and there is lot's of fun and good or wacky combinations to be made, to have half of the roster to come on the base game and most of the rest as paid DLC feels like a cheap way to make money over the player. The meat of the game comes from online play. The lobbies where all quick and (mostly) lag free, at least for the first day. After around 50 matches on both casual and ranked lobbies, there were only two of them where lag was really existant (and still neither of them it was an issue that changed the outcome of the match).

    In summary, if we look only at it's fighting mechanics, BlazBlue Cross Tag Battle excels beautifully, bringing a lot of ways to play at a frantic pace; but as a whole, it leaves some to be desired. If you're really into any of the franchises, it's pretty much worth the purchase. If you're only partly interested, think some more before buying this one or you might regret it.
    Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2018
    10
    Amazing game. People who are dissing it are missing a lot. U really enjoy that the inputs are easier. No one wants to have hand pain once they get older (Want Arthritis? Play Naoto (BBCF)). Very accessible.
  3. Jun 6, 2018
    10
    Very fun game. Great for new comers and veterans of the series. It’s reminiscent of DB fighters in he sense that each character has similar moves they can pull off. My only gripe with the game is that obvious paywall for some characters. But other than that the combat is fast paced, fluid and fun.
  4. Jun 6, 2018
    10
    I can wholeheartedly say that this game is worth picking up; it's the most fun I've had with a fighting game in years. In spite of its simplified fighting, its unique mechanics are what you end up learning more of. Also the story mode is incredibly intriguing; it's been split into different episodes pertaining to the roster's different IPs and each is a story based on a different outcome,I can wholeheartedly say that this game is worth picking up; it's the most fun I've had with a fighting game in years. In spite of its simplified fighting, its unique mechanics are what you end up learning more of. Also the story mode is incredibly intriguing; it's been split into different episodes pertaining to the roster's different IPs and each is a story based on a different outcome, with BlazBlue's world having multiple endings.
    THE GOOD:
    At launch, it is only 50$ with free DLC for the first bit of time after release.The game's combat has been simplified quite a lot to have more of a focus on its new mechanics and because of that, combos are based more off of how good you are with your team's synergy and adaptability than learning intense combos. Non-auto combos are still there and usually go into an assist or special move(or both); every IP's moves(L/H) and combo mechanics work a bit differently as well, so if you don't like the BlazBlue cast, try Under-Night's instead. The cast is somewhat diverse, with certain characters playing into archetypes(Like a basic sword user, a faster knife user, a fist user, etc.), but all of those archetypes play EXTREMELY differently and a much more diverse cast adding new(and expanding upon) those archetypes coming soon, so you will definitely be able to find a couple of characters that you'll want to learn more of. The tutorial is comprehensive, and the options of customization in terms of an online profile are somewhat detailed as well(with new things to unlock via a very quickly earned in-game currency). The story isn't incredibly short either and you have the option of skipping dialogue, so it works similarly to an arcade mode as well. Survival mode is fairly forgiving and addicting and the Netcode(as well as the mechanics) for online fights is fantastic as well. This game is incredibly comprehensive and well worth the time of casuals and hardcores for the fighting game genre.
    THE MEH: The starting cast is fairly small for a tag game and, despite being diverse, DOES have fan favorites from each franchise missing. The starting roster is 20(with 2 characters being free and a character pack being only free for the first bit of time after launch), with another 20 coming after launch(Half coming June 19th and the other half coming in packs of 3 every couple of weeks) priced altogether for another 20$; you're essentially paying 10 more dollars than a normal game for 10 more characters than a normal starting roster after all of those characters are out, so it's not actually a major rip-off or anything.
    THE BAD: After this DLC is out, there's pretty much guaranteed to be more afterwards, so more than likely you'll be paying another 20$. That being said, those aren't on-dics and they also aren't coming out ANY time soon.
    -------------------------
    TL;DR
    The game is fantastic and you really can't do better for 50$. The roster at launch is a bit small, but the DLC is cheap and the gameplay(while simplified) is better than any other fighter I've played.
    Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2018
    9
    Really fun and solid game, can get a little competitive too, even though i wasnt trying to get competitive against my friends, me and my buddy's have been playing this game for hours and having a great time, i recommend it
  6. Jun 9, 2018
    9
    I was afraid of how "simplified" the game would be, however the complexity has just been moved over to the tag mechanic of the game. Yes, there are auto combos, but the actual game play is not as linear as negative reviews make it out to be. Mix-ups are still there and tag mechanics allow for many different combo routes that aren't just 5AAA > 5BBB. The complexity and fundamentals ofI was afraid of how "simplified" the game would be, however the complexity has just been moved over to the tag mechanic of the game. Yes, there are auto combos, but the actual game play is not as linear as negative reviews make it out to be. Mix-ups are still there and tag mechanics allow for many different combo routes that aren't just 5AAA > 5BBB. The complexity and fundamentals of fighting games are still there. Combining all this with the fast and fluid game with its DIVERSE cast equates to a very entertaining experience.

    I was also concerned about the DLC pricing. The game itself is cheaper than most games, being at around $50 (which lessened the blow a bit) on release with 20 characters already loaded in. There is an optional $20 "all-in-one" pack that will include the other 20 characters announced for the game. The RWBY characters are free and DLC pack 1 is free during the first two weeks of the game's release. So $70 for everything? I ended up realizing that I had spent over $100 getting into SFV with its season passes so this was nothing new to me.

    The story is alright. I wish they could've done more with CG art and characterization, but it's really just a fun little fanservice thing to play through. Nothing serious.

    The soundtrack, as usual with anime games, is outstanding. It brings in popular tracks from the various franchises represented in the game.

    Finally, the netplay. Netplay seems to be fine. 3+ connections are always to be preferred, however I noticed that if you just let the intros play out all the way, 2 bar or even 1 bar connections will play smoothly as well. So keep that in mind.

    Overall I would say that it's a great anime fighter that is an awesome gateway to introducing newcomers to fighting games, but it also has complexities that veterans such as myself can enjoy.
    Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2018
    6
    Average fighter with average gameplay. I suggest you wait til it drops to $20 or $30 then buy the "all in one" fighter pack for $20 to get your money's worth. The story is divided into four episodes (1 for each title) with 8 chapters in all of them, they can all be beaten in about 20 minutes each if you don't skip the dialogue. Blazblue's is the only one with multiple endings though (4 toAverage fighter with average gameplay. I suggest you wait til it drops to $20 or $30 then buy the "all in one" fighter pack for $20 to get your money's worth. The story is divided into four episodes (1 for each title) with 8 chapters in all of them, they can all be beaten in about 20 minutes each if you don't skip the dialogue. Blazblue's is the only one with multiple endings though (4 to be exact).

    I'm not a fan of playing online but I tried it and it was okay to say the least. Instead of picking fighters from a select charcter screen, you pick your character in a online mode menu from the pause screen, then you are stuck with them til you change them. I don't mind it but having a character select screen before the match is better in my opinion.
    Expand
  8. Jun 8, 2018
    3
    The mechanics deeply saddens me. There is no depth and art to making combos there is only 2 normal attack buttons and you're expected and forced to play mashing the same two buttons over and over again. It gets so dull so quick, now if you're a newcomer to fighting games this will do just fine but I feel with time you'll get better and you'll yearn for something more and BBCTB just doesThe mechanics deeply saddens me. There is no depth and art to making combos there is only 2 normal attack buttons and you're expected and forced to play mashing the same two buttons over and over again. It gets so dull so quick, now if you're a newcomer to fighting games this will do just fine but I feel with time you'll get better and you'll yearn for something more and BBCTB just does not fulfill that. The story is the typical BlazBlue story.. Which is to say it is terribly mediocre. There is nothing groundbreaking here it adds nothing new aside from the four RWBY cast but since every character in this game plays the same button mashing way I would hardly call that new and unique. To sum it all up the game mechanics are extremely dumbed down, bad story, and as a bonus they're locking dozens of staple characters from each of these games behind a paywall. Verdict: Not worth it. Expand
  9. Jun 14, 2018
    3
    NOT RECOMMENDED GAME, boring mechanics if you think that the mechanics are likes Blazblue or Guilty gear forget about it, it's just a smashing buttons , Half of the roster missing, as Arc Sys say before theres 20 DLC characters: Poor offline content Story mode that is nothing that you have not seen before. Not arcade mode, Not time attack, not abyss mode only the typical survive mode,NOT RECOMMENDED GAME, boring mechanics if you think that the mechanics are likes Blazblue or Guilty gear forget about it, it's just a smashing buttons , Half of the roster missing, as Arc Sys say before theres 20 DLC characters: Poor offline content Story mode that is nothing that you have not seen before. Not arcade mode, Not time attack, not abyss mode only the typical survive mode, trials and practice. Online mode the same as always nothing new and with the same problems of always right now it's UNPLAYABLE. The price not compense the lacks of content and characters it's just a cheap excuse of Arc Sys. Disappointed game it's not an item of the quality that Arc Sys had us used to. a shame. Only graphics and musics excel in this game that the only thing that pretends is to take money from its users. Greeting. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jun 6, 2018
    90
    Whether playing through the story mode alone or against hardened opponents online, Cross Tag Battle is an absolute joy with a surplus of possibilities within its wide roster and versatile fighting system.
  2. Jun 6, 2018
    90
    BlazBlue Cross-Tag Battle is a fantastic fighting game for newbies and veterans alike. Despite some questionable DLC practices and a market saturated with other great fighting game titles, it deserves to be played, practiced and played again.
  3. 80
    The high degree of simplification seems unnecessary when the studio has successfully pulled off both technical and stylish input modes in the past. The roster, in its non-DLC state at least, is also wildly lopsided towards BlazBlue. It doesn’t have the staying power of the top-tier games of the genre, but it’s still a blast to see these fantasy crossovers play out with friends, so it more than evens out.