User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 57
  2. Negative: 16 out of 57
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2018
    6
    Alright I am a fighting game enthusiast and game developer I was really excited for this game when announced sadly that changed drastically over the course of its development first I have played all of the featured franchises games well except RWBY since it doesn't have one however the game is called BLAZBLUE cross tag battle so I am going to expect the game to share its mechanics andAlright I am a fighting game enthusiast and game developer I was really excited for this game when announced sadly that changed drastically over the course of its development first I have played all of the featured franchises games well except RWBY since it doesn't have one however the game is called BLAZBLUE cross tag battle so I am going to expect the game to share its mechanics and story with the title which it does to a degree however it is also kind of a Frankenstein when they tried pushing in the other games mechanics and it ended up being a throw a special move out whenever you want to win kinda deal, difficulty and skill is an outright joke and this game was marketed to casual players if I was them I would be insulted since everything just consists of mash the button and the game will play the game for you packaged with a little eye candy, now to get it with my personal beef and warning from a blazblue fan if you are using this game as an entrance into blazblue this is not it the blazblue characters have been cut down so much that they don't play anything like they did in they're respective games worst of all the lack the one thing that made them special the drive system Ragna no longer carries soul eater which damages him greatly since his moveset was designed and created to get the most hits to suck some life out of the enemy and recover this applies to Jin as well since he has no frostbite and has the condition removed from him as to earn stronger ice moves and not to use it to frequently, however the worst offense was Hazama they removed over half of his moveset and made him a pure rushdown character with little to no control over where he could go Hazama was a character that was based in punishing and pinning down that no longer exists in this game and made me very sad as a Hazama main I'm sure there is more but I just didn't bother. Now onto modes and the overall stuff you can do in the game the is only AI battles or going online to battle the only other thing you can do is play story mode which isn't very long and was very disappointing especially after coming from Blazblue Central Fiction where the cinematics where top-notch and don't get me started on the half-assed fan service they didn't even have the franchises villains and hoo boy that ending boss... And of course and not least the locked away roster which isn't even worth buying I got pack 1 for free and the game for 30$ and even then I wanted to return the game I was so sad to see this come out of Arc System Works a company I respected a lot and wanted to work for I still want to work for them since I make sprite based fighting games and go to tournaments to meet people to play with and have some healthy competition and on a ending note I am really involved with the Blazblue community and at this current time the people that defended this game the most don't play the game anymore on the quote of it became boring since there just wasn't content there to satisfy and they are sad that they spent money on the DLC if that doesn't tell you to stay away from this game and just play the original franchises games I don't know what will this is an average game that has only a months shelf-life so only play it once it 20$ Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2018
    8
    So, in it's core, BlazBlue Cross Tag Battle is a great fighting game. The mechanics are solid, working for both a newcomer who knows nothing of fighting games in general - let alone anime fighting games - and a veteran with years of other blazBlue and Guilty Gear titles on their belt. That being said, the lack of content (principally the DLC characters that technically are in the game, asSo, in it's core, BlazBlue Cross Tag Battle is a great fighting game. The mechanics are solid, working for both a newcomer who knows nothing of fighting games in general - let alone anime fighting games - and a veteran with years of other blazBlue and Guilty Gear titles on their belt. That being said, the lack of content (principally the DLC characters that technically are in the game, as some of them appear in the game already, in the story mode) is quite apaling, principally coming from Arc Systems. Only Story, Survival and Versus Modes on single player available, if you're not into online gaming, you can keep this one down as it's appeal will dwindle quite easily on you. Another "problem" is it's roster; even though as it is of today it's already really diverse and there is lot's of fun and good or wacky combinations to be made, to have half of the roster to come on the base game and most of the rest as paid DLC feels like a cheap way to make money over the player. The meat of the game comes from online play. The lobbies where all quick and (mostly) lag free, at least for the first day. After around 50 matches on both casual and ranked lobbies, there were only two of them where lag was really existant (and still neither of them it was an issue that changed the outcome of the match).

    In summary, if we look only at it's fighting mechanics, BlazBlue Cross Tag Battle excels beautifully, bringing a lot of ways to play at a frantic pace; but as a whole, it leaves some to be desired. If you're really into any of the franchises, it's pretty much worth the purchase. If you're only partly interested, think some more before buying this one or you might regret it.
    Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2018
    9
    More like 8.5/10 than 9/10.

    Although the series BlazBlue is not properly known in Portugal, it is a series that is almost 10 years old, and is also a series developed by Arc System Works, the same producer that brought us the excellent Dragon Ball FighterZ, but also series as the Persona 4 Arena and Under Night In-Birth. Some members of ASW had the idea of putting the series BlazBlue,
    More like 8.5/10 than 9/10.

    Although the series BlazBlue is not properly known in Portugal, it is a series that is almost 10 years old, and is also a series developed by Arc System Works, the same producer that brought us the excellent Dragon Ball FighterZ, but also series as the Persona 4 Arena and Under Night In-Birth. Some members of ASW had the idea of putting the series BlazBlue, Persona 4 Arena, Under Night In-Birth and debutant RWBY, along with the 2 vs 2 matches, all in the same bag. And the result was this: BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle.

    A strange and mysterious voice decided to mix, through Phantom Field, four worlds into one and these members of each world were summoned without warning. Each group was advised, by such a mysterious voice, to maintain their Keystone and to take the Keystones from the other groups if they wish to return to their world. And although the story is just reasonable, it always have one or another hilarious moment (though it's simple) and, fortunately, unlike what happened in the Chronicles of Under Night In-Birth Exe: Late [st] and in the story mode of Persona 4 Arena Ultimax for example, which in which they had exaggeratedly long dialogues, in this BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle the dialogs are short. Of the four episodes, the episode BlazBlue is slightly different from the other three, since it has ways to lead to a different ending, depending on the responses we give to the characters.

    For those coming from BlazBlue, I tell you that in terms of gameplay is exactly the same. If you came from Persona 4 Arena or Under Night In-Birth Exe: Late [st], there have been a few minor changes here and there, not to mention that the gameplay is simpler. Since this would take a lot of work and require too much development time, the 2.5D visual style of the Guilty Gear Revelator and Dragon Ball FighterZ has been set aside in this BlazBlue Cross Tag Battle. However, just as in Under Night In-Birth Exe: Late [st], they are still very good and it is still delightful to see each frame of each character, whether it is moving or simply in their combat pose. The fights are more or less like Dragon Ball FighterZ, but instead of being 3 vs 3, it's 2 vs 2. This means that during combat, the player can make simpler combos with only one character or more difficult combos with both characters. Regardless, and although there is one character slightly stronger than desired, the more time passes, the more I enjoy the gameplay of this game.

    We have 20 characters available (22 if we count on Blake and Yang, which are free DLCs), including Ragna the Bloodedge, Jin Kisaragi and Rachel Alucard from BlazBlue, Yu, Yosuke and Chie from Persona 4 Arena, Hyde, Linne and Gordeau from Under Night In-Birth and Ruby, Weiss and Blake from RWBY. However, and this is one of the main negatives of the game, Arc System Works has left characters like Platinum the Trinity, Jubei, Hakumen, Kanji Tatsumi, Orie, Aegis and Naoto Shirogane as DLCs without any necessity. Despite tjey have put the DLC Pack 1 (Platinum, Orie and Kanji) as free for two weeks after launch. Already to say that these same fighters are opponents in story mode.

    Are you feeling familiar with the lobby menu of Dragon Ball FighterZ or the Guilty Gear Revelator? Then you will feel at home in BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle, since the lobby menu is pratically identical, which is quite pleasant. In this same menu we can, for example, go to the store to buy Avatars, Icons and Plates, among other things. In terms of modes, we have three in the online: Casual Matches, Ranked Matches and Room matches, and in Casual and Ranked Matches we are taken to a different lobby menu, where we can see who is fighting, who is waiting for a battle. Sometimes we can also see each other's connections as well as communicate with players with emotes, stickers and messages. In terms of Lag, I had no reason to complain, we just have to be aware of the connection of the opponent. In Room matches, we can search or create room type, Match / Spectate Room or Free-for-All, as well as limit capacity (2-8 players) and connectivity (from 0 to 4 bars), among others options. There are no private matches and there is no way to invite our friends, with the alternative being to create Room matches with a password. The result is similar, but not so practical.

    In addition to Episode Mode, we have several usual offline modes, like V.S. Mode, Tactics and Training, but strange as it may seem, the game doesn't have Arcade mode. The soundtrack of each character already known is included in the package, which for me is very good. If we join the main soundtrack of the game and the songs of Ruby, Weiss, Blake and Yang, then you can take my words "very good" and put the word "excellent". If the BlazBlue Cross Tag Battle hadn't taken with the DLC's before the release, it would certainly be a near-perfect fighting game. Apart from that, it's impossible not to like BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle.
    Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2018
    9
    Fun and deep despite being simplified in its mechanics, and honestly, online playing in this game is funnier than every BlazBlue I've ever played. Completely recommended.
  5. Jun 6, 2018
    10
    Very fun game. Great for new comers and veterans of the series. It’s reminiscent of DB fighters in he sense that each character has similar moves they can pull off. My only gripe with the game is that obvious paywall for some characters. But other than that the combat is fast paced, fluid and fun.
  6. Jun 26, 2018
    6
    To give this game any higher than a 6 is laughable. Fighting game developers are getting more and more greedy pertaining to content (or lack there of). First the story mode is interesting, however, once finished, there is nothing left to do (Switch version-online=failure). Moreover, no Arcade mode (really), meaning no individual character (or pairing) story (this needs patched in--ArcTo give this game any higher than a 6 is laughable. Fighting game developers are getting more and more greedy pertaining to content (or lack there of). First the story mode is interesting, however, once finished, there is nothing left to do (Switch version-online=failure). Moreover, no Arcade mode (really), meaning no individual character (or pairing) story (this needs patched in--Arc System you already have twenty dollar pay wall with the characters--there better not be a pay to play Arcade mode). Overall, severely disappointed (the mechanics are too simplistic as my wife can pull off insane combos and she never had played a fighting game before); the game feels hollow...I would hold and wait for a price drop, but fighting novices might enjoy this rather empty game). Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2018
    10
    Amazing game. People who are dissing it are missing a lot. U really enjoy that the inputs are easier. No one wants to have hand pain once they get older (Want Arthritis? Play Naoto (BBCF)). Very accessible.
  8. Jun 6, 2018
    10
    I can wholeheartedly say that this game is worth picking up; it's the most fun I've had with a fighting game in years. In spite of its simplified fighting, its unique mechanics are what you end up learning more of. Also the story mode is incredibly intriguing; it's been split into different episodes pertaining to the roster's different IPs and each is a story based on a different outcome,I can wholeheartedly say that this game is worth picking up; it's the most fun I've had with a fighting game in years. In spite of its simplified fighting, its unique mechanics are what you end up learning more of. Also the story mode is incredibly intriguing; it's been split into different episodes pertaining to the roster's different IPs and each is a story based on a different outcome, with BlazBlue's world having multiple endings.
    THE GOOD:
    At launch, it is only 50$ with free DLC for the first bit of time after release.The game's combat has been simplified quite a lot to have more of a focus on its new mechanics and because of that, combos are based more off of how good you are with your team's synergy and adaptability than learning intense combos. Non-auto combos are still there and usually go into an assist or special move(or both); every IP's moves(L/H) and combo mechanics work a bit differently as well, so if you don't like the BlazBlue cast, try Under-Night's instead. The cast is somewhat diverse, with certain characters playing into archetypes(Like a basic sword user, a faster knife user, a fist user, etc.), but all of those archetypes play EXTREMELY differently and a much more diverse cast adding new(and expanding upon) those archetypes coming soon, so you will definitely be able to find a couple of characters that you'll want to learn more of. The tutorial is comprehensive, and the options of customization in terms of an online profile are somewhat detailed as well(with new things to unlock via a very quickly earned in-game currency). The story isn't incredibly short either and you have the option of skipping dialogue, so it works similarly to an arcade mode as well. Survival mode is fairly forgiving and addicting and the Netcode(as well as the mechanics) for online fights is fantastic as well. This game is incredibly comprehensive and well worth the time of casuals and hardcores for the fighting game genre.
    THE MEH: The starting cast is fairly small for a tag game and, despite being diverse, DOES have fan favorites from each franchise missing. The starting roster is 20(with 2 characters being free and a character pack being only free for the first bit of time after launch), with another 20 coming after launch(Half coming June 19th and the other half coming in packs of 3 every couple of weeks) priced altogether for another 20$; you're essentially paying 10 more dollars than a normal game for 10 more characters than a normal starting roster after all of those characters are out, so it's not actually a major rip-off or anything.
    THE BAD: After this DLC is out, there's pretty much guaranteed to be more afterwards, so more than likely you'll be paying another 20$. That being said, those aren't on-dics and they also aren't coming out ANY time soon.
    -------------------------
    TL;DR
    The game is fantastic and you really can't do better for 50$. The roster at launch is a bit small, but the DLC is cheap and the gameplay(while simplified) is better than any other fighter I've played.
    Expand
  9. Jun 8, 2018
    9
    Really fun and solid game, can get a little competitive too, even though i wasnt trying to get competitive against my friends, me and my buddy's have been playing this game for hours and having a great time, i recommend it
  10. Jun 9, 2018
    9
    I was afraid of how "simplified" the game would be, however the complexity has just been moved over to the tag mechanic of the game. Yes, there are auto combos, but the actual game play is not as linear as negative reviews make it out to be. Mix-ups are still there and tag mechanics allow for many different combo routes that aren't just 5AAA > 5BBB. The complexity and fundamentals ofI was afraid of how "simplified" the game would be, however the complexity has just been moved over to the tag mechanic of the game. Yes, there are auto combos, but the actual game play is not as linear as negative reviews make it out to be. Mix-ups are still there and tag mechanics allow for many different combo routes that aren't just 5AAA > 5BBB. The complexity and fundamentals of fighting games are still there. Combining all this with the fast and fluid game with its DIVERSE cast equates to a very entertaining experience.

    I was also concerned about the DLC pricing. The game itself is cheaper than most games, being at around $50 (which lessened the blow a bit) on release with 20 characters already loaded in. There is an optional $20 "all-in-one" pack that will include the other 20 characters announced for the game. The RWBY characters are free and DLC pack 1 is free during the first two weeks of the game's release. So $70 for everything? I ended up realizing that I had spent over $100 getting into SFV with its season passes so this was nothing new to me.

    The story is alright. I wish they could've done more with CG art and characterization, but it's really just a fun little fanservice thing to play through. Nothing serious.

    The soundtrack, as usual with anime games, is outstanding. It brings in popular tracks from the various franchises represented in the game.

    Finally, the netplay. Netplay seems to be fine. 3+ connections are always to be preferred, however I noticed that if you just let the intros play out all the way, 2 bar or even 1 bar connections will play smoothly as well. So keep that in mind.

    Overall I would say that it's a great anime fighter that is an awesome gateway to introducing newcomers to fighting games, but it also has complexities that veterans such as myself can enjoy.
    Expand
  11. Jun 25, 2018
    9
    This game works really well and has a serious amount of depth, if you like your anime fighting games this is a must play, if you like your tag fighting games this is also a game you need to check out.

    Anyone that cant see the depth in this game has not played it enough, yes, there is technically only 3 attack buttons(NOT 2!!!) but your partner button really acts as another attack
    This game works really well and has a serious amount of depth, if you like your anime fighting games this is a must play, if you like your tag fighting games this is also a game you need to check out.

    Anyone that cant see the depth in this game has not played it enough, yes, there is technically only 3 attack buttons(NOT 2!!!) but your partner button really acts as another attack button, this is where the depth comes in and you can put a lot of creativity into the combos.

    The online has been mostly smooth for me and while I still have a lot to learn, Cross Tag Battle is a unique fighting game that is really fun to play.
    Expand
  12. Jun 7, 2018
    6
    Average fighter with average gameplay. I suggest you wait til it drops to $20 or $30 then buy the "all in one" fighter pack for $20 to get your money's worth. The story is divided into four episodes (1 for each title) with 8 chapters in all of them, they can all be beaten in about 20 minutes each if you don't skip the dialogue. Blazblue's is the only one with multiple endings though (4 toAverage fighter with average gameplay. I suggest you wait til it drops to $20 or $30 then buy the "all in one" fighter pack for $20 to get your money's worth. The story is divided into four episodes (1 for each title) with 8 chapters in all of them, they can all be beaten in about 20 minutes each if you don't skip the dialogue. Blazblue's is the only one with multiple endings though (4 to be exact).

    I'm not a fan of playing online but I tried it and it was okay to say the least. Instead of picking fighters from a select charcter screen, you pick your character in a online mode menu from the pause screen, then you are stuck with them til you change them. I don't mind it but having a character select screen before the match is better in my opinion.
    Expand
  13. Jul 23, 2018
    3
    The idea here is great. 3 existing franchises brought together with a 4th new one with similar combat mechanics to allow for dream matchups.

    The good things. Plenty of characters. It has a good roster so far and they seem to be adding fast. The tag system works well (but gets used as an excuse) Many other games have implemented a good tag system as well without dragging characters moves
    The idea here is great. 3 existing franchises brought together with a 4th new one with similar combat mechanics to allow for dream matchups.

    The good things. Plenty of characters. It has a good roster so far and they seem to be adding fast. The tag system works well (but gets used as an excuse) Many other games have implemented a good tag system as well without dragging characters moves lists through a pit of broken glass but some use it as an excuse for this game. The graphics are great and the online connection is rarely laggy after the intros.

    Now for some negatives. How does a game with 3 of my favorite 2d fighters end up with a 3 score? Because its not actually any of those 3 games at all. Its an incredibly simple fighter lacking even some of the most basic 2d fighting game mechanics skinned with my favorite characters. What made blazblue so great was that many characters felt different. They had different moves and controlled differently so to play 3 characters really felt like you were playing 3 different ways depending on who you picked.

    This game makes every characters move list identical. Every character is down forward attacks. The most basic and simple command in any fighting game is now the only command. This bothered me for a few reasons. First being that every character now feels the same but with different hitboxes and range. So now I cant even be excited to see if more of my favorite characters become usable since theyre not really my characters. Theyre missing several moves and even one of the earliest moves in fighting games...the forward down forward uppercut moves.

    Inputs got more than simplified for this game...they got raped. When something is made accessible it means its easy to get into and start figuring out. This game locks you into easy and when you have your footing refuses to let you move forward. there is nothing complex to figure out. the whole game boils down to timing skills with calling in support characters. The games used to have 4 face atk buttons and a launcher for r1. in blazblue x activated character specific skills like hazamas chain. now there are only 2 atk buttons a character swap and a tag combo or ex skill activation button. so now hazama who used to be cool and unique has 1 atk button and triangle activates his chain. This is now the only game my 6 year old can beat me at sometimes through shear button mashing.

    In the end this games idea of accessible is like adding a wheelchair ramp to a building...but once you get to the top youre met with a cage. You cant go farther no matter how bad you want because the moves have been stripped from the game leaving this as one of the most oversimplified child friendly fighter out there with absolutely no room for growth after you discover tag timing. I was horribly disappointed to see these games I loved so much get there chance together and lack even basic 2d game mechanics. That's something I thought arc would never do outside of dbz. I liked dbz but that's because its a new game...they didn't take a few complex ones and rape the commands like they did here. This isn't blazblue. Its a simple game with one command list and many character skins to go over that list. all of them missing huge chunks of there old moves list. I was actually mad at this game. And arc wants to simplify future games as well......this may be the end of there 2d dominance if all future games end up this dumbed down.
    Expand
  14. Jun 8, 2018
    3
    The mechanics deeply saddens me. There is no depth and art to making combos there is only 2 normal attack buttons and you're expected and forced to play mashing the same two buttons over and over again. It gets so dull so quick, now if you're a newcomer to fighting games this will do just fine but I feel with time you'll get better and you'll yearn for something more and BBCTB just doesThe mechanics deeply saddens me. There is no depth and art to making combos there is only 2 normal attack buttons and you're expected and forced to play mashing the same two buttons over and over again. It gets so dull so quick, now if you're a newcomer to fighting games this will do just fine but I feel with time you'll get better and you'll yearn for something more and BBCTB just does not fulfill that. The story is the typical BlazBlue story.. Which is to say it is terribly mediocre. There is nothing groundbreaking here it adds nothing new aside from the four RWBY cast but since every character in this game plays the same button mashing way I would hardly call that new and unique. To sum it all up the game mechanics are extremely dumbed down, bad story, and as a bonus they're locking dozens of staple characters from each of these games behind a paywall. Verdict: Not worth it. Expand
  15. Jun 14, 2018
    3
    NOT RECOMMENDED GAME, boring mechanics if you think that the mechanics are likes Blazblue or Guilty gear forget about it, it's just a smashing buttons , Half of the roster missing, as Arc Sys say before theres 20 DLC characters: Poor offline content Story mode that is nothing that you have not seen before. Not arcade mode, Not time attack, not abyss mode only the typical survive mode,NOT RECOMMENDED GAME, boring mechanics if you think that the mechanics are likes Blazblue or Guilty gear forget about it, it's just a smashing buttons , Half of the roster missing, as Arc Sys say before theres 20 DLC characters: Poor offline content Story mode that is nothing that you have not seen before. Not arcade mode, Not time attack, not abyss mode only the typical survive mode, trials and practice. Online mode the same as always nothing new and with the same problems of always right now it's UNPLAYABLE. The price not compense the lacks of content and characters it's just a cheap excuse of Arc Sys. Disappointed game it's not an item of the quality that Arc Sys had us used to. a shame. Only graphics and musics excel in this game that the only thing that pretends is to take money from its users. Greeting. Expand
  16. Jun 27, 2018
    1
    Lamentable producto, es la definición perfecta para esto. Después de que por fin una compañía rodada en el mundo de la lucha metiera a RWBY en un juego de lucha y uno llenarse de ilusión...se encuentra con esta bazofia injugable. Juego excesivamente auto dirigido que hace que no quieras jugar por que esta pensado para que el juego haga las cosas solo. Exceptuando a las 4 chicas de RWBYLamentable producto, es la definición perfecta para esto. Después de que por fin una compañía rodada en el mundo de la lucha metiera a RWBY en un juego de lucha y uno llenarse de ilusión...se encuentra con esta bazofia injugable. Juego excesivamente auto dirigido que hace que no quieras jugar por que esta pensado para que el juego haga las cosas solo. Exceptuando a las 4 chicas de RWBY (si tienes la edición completa) cualquier personaje es millones de veces mejor jugarle en sus juegos originales.

    Ademas que nos han echo otro SF5 el día de salida dándonos un juego de lucha sin el OBLIGATORIO modo arcade que nos ha acompañado cualquier juego de lucha desde que cristo perdió las sandalias.
    En vez de eso nos ponen un modo episodio donde los personajes nos contaran su vida separado según el juego que corresponda...Que nisiquiera podemos elegir los personajes con los que podemos jugar.

    Visualmente y sonoramente esta bien que es lo poco que tiene bueno.

    Videojuego NO recomendado . Yo incluso confieso que he perdido dinero con esto por que no quería tener esto ni un minuto mas en casa y fue comprarlo y venderlo.
    Expand
  17. Jul 16, 2018
    7
    BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle is actually a spin-off and not an installment in the main series. This gave me a little bit of leeway when saying it's definitely not on par with the main series but is fun. The story is rather poor and short. Trying to explain how the characters from other games appear in this, while a good idea, they just don't execute it well. The AAA price tag for such a gameBlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle is actually a spin-off and not an installment in the main series. This gave me a little bit of leeway when saying it's definitely not on par with the main series but is fun. The story is rather poor and short. Trying to explain how the characters from other games appear in this, while a good idea, they just don't execute it well. The AAA price tag for such a game is not worth, from a long shot. With that said the additional characters are great and add that extra playability, mixing it up a bit. The level designs are great and have a retro Street Fighter look about them. Lastly, the main part of the game, the tag-team battle system is great and works so well this type of fighting game. Expand
  18. Aug 8, 2018
    9
    The game is criminally underrated. One of the most complex games in the Tag Team 2D fighting game scene.

    With both auto combos for newer players and advanced tag mechanics and enough systems to keep Veteran players entertained. The few downsides being the lack of an arcade mode (The game was released directly on the console, which is the main reason for that) and something that can
    The game is criminally underrated. One of the most complex games in the Tag Team 2D fighting game scene.

    With both auto combos for newer players and advanced tag mechanics and enough systems to keep Veteran players entertained.

    The few downsides being the lack of an arcade mode (The game was released directly on the console, which is the main reason for that) and something that can be counted as a problem with is the roster(I don't have any problem with it personally, but many people will find that their main characters in each respective game might be missing)

    Also don't feel discouraged about the DLC practices, the resulting price(all DLCs) is only 10 bucks higher than the usual price of a normal game(without any dlcs). Which actually means that this game is the cheapest one to invest your money into.

    Also, due to how the DLC works, you can get only the characters you're interested in and have a game that is actually cheaper than normal. Which defeats the argument that these DLC practices are there to rob your money.
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Aug 26, 2018
    60
    BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle has got the fanservice down, but it feels more like a tribute to Arc System Works’ other games than its own unique beast. Its simplified fighting game mechanics, along with its reused assets, makes it only worth it for the most diehard of fans.
  2. Jul 23, 2018
    75
    The fighting is solid both online and offline, and it's easy enough for players of all skill levels to enjoy. It really is the DLC plan that's a big decision point for players. With no timetable about when all of the fighters will be released, the smart move for the more casual set would be to wait until everything is out first and see if the company will release a more complete version later on. Otherwise, if you can't wait, you're in for a solid fighting experience.
  3. Games Master UK
    Jul 14, 2018
    88
    Despite the dastardly DLC plan, a superb fighting game for all levels of experience with the genre. [Aug 2018, p.81]