Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Aug 9, 2018
    90
    Despite the performance issues, We Happy Few is a must-own title for any gamer who loves survival open world titles and quality world building.
  2. Aug 9, 2018
    80
    I'll play more polished, bigger and more bombastic blockbuster games this year, but We Happy Few will stay with me long after its quests are over.
  3. Aug 9, 2018
    80
    The game deftly balances exploration, crafting, combat, and puzzle-solving as you move through the game in the direction of the next story-based waypoint. It moves at an appropriate pace, and there's always something new around the corner, with plenty to discover as the world feels as though it's slowly unraveling around you.
  4. Aug 9, 2018
    78
    While We Happy Few is dragged down by irritating missions, scarce-but-necessary resources, and technical blips from time to time, it’s a fun adventure that combines an eerie atmosphere and a gripping narrative to great effect.
  5. Aug 13, 2018
    76
    We Happy Few must clash with a gameplay that doesn’t fascinate too much, but its plot, settings and longevity are more convincing.
  6. Aug 9, 2018
    76
    Ignoring, however, the sometimes really tough legacy of the first draft of the game, still remains at the core of an exciting commentary on bondage, control and repression, which can keep up with milestones such as Bioshock at least on this level.
  7. Aug 10, 2018
    73
    Although survival and crafting are fairly manageable, running through randomly generated towns, streets, or abandoned fields unfortunately shows that We Happy Few can’t hide from the ghost of its own past, no matter how much Joy you take.
  8. Aug 13, 2018
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Aug 13, 2018
    70
    It’s hard to criticize a game that offers so much originality, humor and satirical atmosphere. We Happy Few, unfortunately, lets its narrative and characters get bogged down in a desperate and, at times, tedious struggle to survive the game’s brutal environment.
  10. Aug 13, 2018
    70
    We Happy Few is a game filled with fantastic moments and wonderful stories, but they’re weighed down by token survival mechanics and tedious scavenging, an unfortunate hangover from the game’s survival origins. Despite this, there is so much to love about We Happy Few, and if you can forgive its missteps, you’ll find some powerful storytelling.
  11. Aug 13, 2018
    70
    Aside from the immersive introduction, We Happy Few eventually becomes a chore more than an intense survival experience. One had only hoped, that the game became a linear experience akin to BioShock than the tacked on survival game it really is.
  12. Aug 11, 2018
    70
    It’s bold and adventurous world design that should undoubtedly be praised. If story and atmosphere can carry a game for you, then you should be able to look past the weaknesses elsewhere to enjoy this quirky and distinctive adventure.
  13. Aug 10, 2018
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  14. Aug 10, 2018
    70
    We Happy Few presents a fascinating and catastrophic world, thanks to an artistic sector that highlights good design choices. Unfortunately, the gameplay and the technical side can not stand the comparison, and the final effect is weakened.
  15. 70
    We Happy Few is far from flawless, but ultimately makes up for it with its fascinating story of a comically-dark dystopia.
  16. 70
    We Happy Few doesn't always come together to form a cohesive video game experience, but its story and art direction are nothing short of fantastic. Had the developers dumped the stealth and survival mechanics, I'd love this game to death.
  17. 70
    We Happy Few is a game of high highs and low lows. It's certainly far from perfect, with questionable stealth mechanics, sometimes derivative gameplay, and a lack of polish that intrudes on the fun. However, it also offers a totally unique world full of interesting characters and places.
  18. Aug 14, 2018
    65
    Compulsion Games transformed its randomly-generated, survival game into the dystopian narrative everyone asked for, but those randomized elements are still holding We Happy Few back from reaching its full potential. The twisted tale of a society addicted to its own Joy is lost underneath an endless hunt for bobby pins and scraps of cloth.
  19. Aug 9, 2018
    65
    We Happy Few is a game that deserves some more time to improve. As it stands, it offers some truly interesting characters in a well realized and intricate story, that unfortunately have been hampered by an overall unpolished feel.
  20. Aug 9, 2018
    65
    An ambitious open-world survival game that does not benefit from being one. Tedious exploration courtesy of poorly-designed environments and underdeveloped survival mechanics detract from an otherwise strong main adventure. Charming presentation, colorful writing, and powerful environmental storytelling are highlights that are unfortunately eclipsed by a shallow open world.
  21. Aug 9, 2018
    65
    We Happy Few is going to go down as a cult hit. If you can muster the strength to get past its janky gameplay, there's a whole lot to love here in the world and characters. But the fact remains that this adventure is one that could have used a bit more refinement.
  22. Aug 14, 2018
    60
    We Happy Few could have been a great psychological thriller but its muddled vision and scope leaves it trailing behind the merit it deserves.
  23. Aug 9, 2018
    60
    For $60 I needed to see more quality, and instead became overloaded with quantity.
  24. Aug 9, 2018
    60
    We Happy Few tries to combine a dystopian story with a survival gameplay, but these aspects don't quite work together and sometimes even step on each other's toes. Also the execution of the game as a whole, leaves a lot to be desired.
  25. Aug 9, 2018
    60
    There’s a huge amount of potential in this dystopian 1960s drug trip, but ultimately it starts to feel frustrating quite quickly. Every time We Happy Few draws you in with an interesting tidbit about the world or the character you are playing as it’s scuppered by the systems fighting against you.
  26. Aug 9, 2018
    60
    If you’re prepared to stomach the game’s less appetising sections, you’ll still get a little Joy out of We Happy Few.
  27. Aug 9, 2018
    60
    Much like Contrast before it, We Happy Few shows off plenty of potential with its original and engaging world from a team whose passion and heart clearly shines through. Unfortunately, the random nature of the world ultimately hampers this ambition, and is held back further by lackluster stealth and inconsistent dialogue.
  28. Aug 9, 2018
    60
    We Happy Few leaves me feeling conflicted. I don't ever want to put myself through that resource management slog ever again, but I can't discount its sharp wit and captivating writing either. Ultimately, I can't bring myself to give We Happy Few a wholehearted recommendation for the average player. This is a game that will test your patience, and if you're willing to stick it out, you'll be rewarded with a good story that was only let down by weird design decisions and flawed execution.
  29. Aug 10, 2018
    56
    A jog-fest with sluggish combat and inconsistent stealth, but a story that will pull you toward the end anyway.
  30. Aug 15, 2018
    50
    If the pop, British and psychedelic universe, inspired by Brazil, Nineteen Eighty-Four and Brave New World, proposed by Compulsion Games is surprising and offers a very immersive story, the mechanics of survival games and crafting ruin the plot of the game, giving an unpleasant feeling of a mutant game, too dispersed for its own sake and suffering from many technical problems.
  31. Aug 13, 2018
    50
    With a little more work and a less nuanced direction, the title from Compulsion Games could have won a dignified place in the genre. In the current state of events, however, it is a production to be forgotten.
  32. Aug 13, 2018
    50
    Despite its enormous potential and intriguing beginnings, We Happy Few’s open world is too big and too empty, ultimately distracting from the intriguing plot, which unfortunately never really goes anywhere.
  33. Aug 9, 2018
    50
    There's a lot to like about We Happy Few, with its unique psychedelic dystopian setting and well-developed story, but it's the moment-to-moment action that crashes down on you like a bad dose of Joy. So-so survival elements, the lack of mission variety, frame rate issues, prolific bugs, and tedious stealth and combat will make you want to cook up some Joy for yourself, so that maybe you too can forget the bad stuff and remember only the bright side of things.
  34. Aug 9, 2018
    50
    There’s the shell of a great game here. One that’s bizarre and genuinely interesting. But while We Happy Few‘s aesthetic design colorful worldbuilding are uniformly successful, they’re crushed under the weight of clumsy gameplay and unnecessary systems.
  35. Aug 9, 2018
    50
    Beneath We Happy Few’s flaws is an excellent story, some clever first-person exploration, and a bunch of stunning design work. But the rest of the experience feels profoundly self-conscious and unsure of what it actually wants to be, imposing on you in some areas while remaining hands-off elsewhere.
  36. Aug 9, 2018
    50
    By choosing the fastidious "micro-management" path, We Happy Few distracts far too much from its true potential as a dystopian gaming classic. And that's the biggest downer of all.
  37. Aug 10, 2018
    40
    There are just too many hurdles to overcome to enjoy We Happy Few, and not enough Joy in the world to cast them aside.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 9, 2018
    An ambitious, stylish and savage takedown of British hubris, but clunky crafting, collecting and combat make for a somewhat dull game.
  2. Aug 9, 2018
    It is beautifully, carefully written. The words that come out of this game are better than anything I can recall in even the best narrative adventures.
  3. I’ve not gotten an enormous way through We Happy Few, because I’ve severely disliked the hours I’ve sunk into it. I think it’s probably, really, just a mediocre game, but it’s one that’s made me feel drained and discombobulated with its incoherence and that deeply peculiar atmosphere of feeling like it should be a great game, while never actually being one.
  4. Aug 9, 2018
    This is by no means a full review of We Happy Few – that’ll come soon enough now that I’m critiquing the game I’m supposed to be – but this is a whole-hearted endorsement.
  5. Aug 14, 2018
    Nothing short of a mega patch will fix everything truly messed up about this game. If you can imagine a game bug, any game bug, We Happy Few probably has it.
  6. Aug 10, 2018
    The game just loses control over its own plot and worldbuilding as it progresses, to the point that I’m not even sure whether some strange moments were bugs, and whether some storytelling choices were intentional or not.
  7. Aug 13, 2018
    We Happy Few doesn’t work because it doesn’t feel cohesive. It’s one game bolted onto the foundation of another, and it shows. The game world is massive because the developer doesn’t have the budget or resources to make good on the dense nature of BioShock’s detail-oriented environments. The side quests are generic, often lacking unique NPCs, because the work required to build, animate, and implement them would be too much. Even the glitches seem to fit this theme: a game bursting at the seams, unable to contain itself. We Happy Few's ambitions are large, but it's only that: ambition.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 70
  2. Negative: 28 out of 70
  1. Aug 10, 2018
    10
    I am so surprised to see any negative or mixed reviews on here... The game is so unique, utterly bonkers, and really great to play. It suckedI am so surprised to see any negative or mixed reviews on here... The game is so unique, utterly bonkers, and really great to play. It sucked me in from the first second, and I have been playing for hours since. Hopefully people will come to realise and love the game like I and others in the future - it is really great. Full Review »
  2. Aug 10, 2018
    10
    how fun, straightforward and humble. . . i'm liking everything about it!
  3. Aug 12, 2018
    4
    This game is just boring. All the survival elements have been reduced to be of no consequence to the point i wonder why are still kept. TheThis game is just boring. All the survival elements have been reduced to be of no consequence to the point i wonder why are still kept. The chances to get infected or plagued or bleeding so small one can go through the game without ever being afflicted and there is no reason to eat anything rotten anyway so why?

    This game is like a Fallout knockoff. Trying to keep you with stories and such, but lacks any of the exciting game-play instead having stealth against a rather stupid AI. The bobbies are hardly a threat, The nosy old ladies are just regular npc now. Only the doctors can be a bother, but you have to actually walk into them for them to start noticing and even then just walking away gets them off your back 9/10 times. Once you peeve somebody off it becomes night impossible to get rid in a busy area as EVERY npc you encounter goes berserk even if the one you peeved off is nowhere close.

    It doesn't take long before you just end up walking from one point to the other over and over to get tiny bits of story before being sent of on the 1000th "Fetch this item for me!". The randomness of the maps has no consequence either sometimes putting kilometers between 2 objectives and being generally uninteresting... again it is just downright boring.

    It feels like a waste of time to play this game.
    Full Review »