Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 19, 2018
    90
    The Missing's self-harm mechanic is deliberately uncomfortable and inscrutable, as the disturbing process clashes with its bizarre, often humorous results.
  2. Nov 26, 2018
    80
    The Missing – J.J. MacField and the Island of Memories combined it's puzzle-platformer gameplay and narrative in a way that truly makes use of the medium and highlight's it's best potential. Difficult subject matter and a leaning toward the surreal drive a story that touches upon aspects of humanity that are rarely explored in games.
  3. Oct 18, 2018
    80
    The Missing: J.J. Macfield and the Island of Memories is an evocative, offbeat adventure with a sinister yet imaginative gameplay hook. Its story suffers slightly from subpar voice acting and an eagerness to tell more than show, but for the most part this is a dark, strange and utterly compelling journey into the tortured mind of its main character, and one absolutely well worth taking.
  4. Oct 11, 2018
    80
    The Missing is smaller and more mechanically conventional than Deadly Premonition or D4, but its components remain focused on distinctly a Swery game: a dark, idiosyncratic experience that tells a deeply personal story that's as confronting as it is sincere. It is absolutely not for everyone, but as the game reminds us, there is nothing wrong with that.
  5. Oct 11, 2018
    80
    The Missing told a moving story about J.J.’s personal struggles that caught me off guard more than once. Like its surprisingly heartfelt narrative, this quirky indie side-scroller came out of nowhere, but I’m glad I didn’t miss out on The Missing.
  6. Oct 21, 2018
    79
    The Missing is a good puzzle platformer, with inspiring atmosphere. The puzzles are good, sometimes a bit too brainy.
  7. Oct 17, 2018
    78
    The Missing: J.J. Macfield and the Island of Memories is a game full of feels and pain, that uses a puzzle game to tell a story of searching and growing up in our strange and bad world.
  8. Oct 17, 2018
    70
    Swery's the MISSING is a touching game, with original thoughts behind a good and surprising plot. A mysterious and mystic adventure through classic puzzle-platforming. Sometimes is slow and unrefined but the good atmosphere deletes the pains of backtracking and dead times.
  9. Oct 11, 2018
    70
    Swery's touch keeps the whole adventure interesting, although many issues regarding its control make it hard to enjoy sometimes. It is definitely unique, but it needs some polishing.
  10. Oct 11, 2018
    70
    A short, dark trip through the nightmare of youth; growing up, discovering yourself, and existing among a society that rarely understands. Sure to be a divisive title, there are those who will find The Missing overpriced and melodramatic, while others will be taken by its surrealist story of undying friendship, ironically becoming an indelible memory to those who dare to experience it.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 22, 2018
    Swery's brand of wonky mechanics underlined with impeccable writing and atmospherics proves just as effective in the 2D platformer field. [Eurogamer Recommended]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Game of the year in my opinion. The message behind it is beautiful. I wish everyone could experience what this game has to offer. The last 30Game of the year in my opinion. The message behind it is beautiful. I wish everyone could experience what this game has to offer. The last 30 minutes of this game is pure art.

    This game is made with the belief that no one is wrong for being what they are.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 13, 2018
    10
    This game is fantastic. From the art direction to the story I am in love with it. The music is also spot on.
  3. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    The Missing is a must-play game with intense emotional resonance. Its story and characters are executed extremely well, and I would say thatThe Missing is a must-play game with intense emotional resonance. Its story and characters are executed extremely well, and I would say that the message is one of the strongest I've seen in a game in years.

    This game is very "Swery," which goes for better and for worse - the controls are kind of bad, the production values aren't always great, and the puzzles can feel clunky; but don't let that hold you back. It is 1000% worth experiencing.
    Full Review »