User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 101
  2. Negative: 13 out of 101

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    6
    Have played this game for 10 hours, great characters, great sound, and jokes. Not too many skills in the skill tree, hope developers can add additional, zones are also not so big. The game similar to XCOM. Stealth regime is nice. Is necessary to reload the weapon.
    Nothing innovative or special, just pass through the game.
  2. Dec 5, 2018
    5
    In a word: Disappointing

    Pro's Wonderful art style and soundtrack Great characters Witty writing Polished proven formula for combat Effective fusion of stealth mechanics with turn based strategy Cons Underwhelming progression system Limited skill trees/upgrades Limited replayabilty Short Mechanically baron Minimum settings/options Suffers from a lack of ambition Wait
    In a word: Disappointing

    Pro's
    Wonderful art style and soundtrack
    Great characters
    Witty writing
    Polished proven formula for combat
    Effective fusion of stealth mechanics with turn based strategy

    Cons
    Underwhelming progression system
    Limited skill trees/upgrades
    Limited replayabilty
    Short
    Mechanically baron
    Minimum settings/options
    Suffers from a lack of ambition

    Wait for sale
    It’s a cool little title, but I can’t in good faith recommend a game that I literally dove to the computer to refund, before it was too late.
    Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2018
    9
    Great game to get your tactical turn based fix with a bit of stealth and exploration thrown in. I loved the art style and creature design. The voice acting and script wasn't exactly top shelf but immersive enough not to be distracting. Loved the mutation (skill) tree but a little variation across characters would have been better. Loot was good if somewhat limited ..getting the thirdGreat game to get your tactical turn based fix with a bit of stealth and exploration thrown in. I loved the art style and creature design. The voice acting and script wasn't exactly top shelf but immersive enough not to be distracting. Loved the mutation (skill) tree but a little variation across characters would have been better. Loot was good if somewhat limited ..getting the third version of the same weapon after a really hard fight was a bit disheartening.Story moved the game forward even if it was a bit cookie cutter.

    Otherwise loved it for what it is... can't wait for the sequel/ expansion (finished it in three sittings ).
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    Summary: Glad I played this game! Its a great introduction to turn based strategy , a genre I easily dissregarded, telling myself I couldnt get involved with characters, back story and especially combat in such a game. But Im glad I tried MYZ and I stand corrected. The art style, dialog and exploration (although minor) kept me engaged and I feel there is something special about this gameSummary: Glad I played this game! Its a great introduction to turn based strategy , a genre I easily dissregarded, telling myself I couldnt get involved with characters, back story and especially combat in such a game. But Im glad I tried MYZ and I stand corrected. The art style, dialog and exploration (although minor) kept me engaged and I feel there is something special about this game in terms of athmosphere. You can see the effort and care put into it by developers and its a breath of fresh air among all the AAA titles that seemingly become more similar to eachother rather than taking some risk. The game also turns out to be quite challenging and I believe it will find its place among the less casual crowd.

    As for bugs I encountered a few, but nothing too dramatic and I believe some of the isssues are being addressed right now. If you are a turn based strategy sceptic like I was give this game a go, I dont think you will be dissapointed.
    Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2018
    10
    this is the new fallout and has the potential to be the future Fallout 2, any negative review is from people who don't know how to play this game. also, it is not an AAA title and that's good so.
  6. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    Great game! love the DUX, Game of the Year potential. Didnt think i would like turn based combat but they have managed to make it in a way that is just pure awesomeness.
  7. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    I love this game! The graphic style really speaks to me and sets the mood.
    I haven´t been this excited about a strategic game with story since Front Mission 3 and Final Fantasy Tactics. This game is worth every penny and something for all RPG- and strategy lovers! =)
  8. Dec 4, 2018
    9
    I spent a few hours with this last night, and am really enjoying it.
    It does what it says on the box. Realtime/turn-based combination, a post-apocalyptic XCOM’ish adventure with scavenging and story. It sounds like it’s trying to do a lot, but it keeps things small. Start with only two characters. You thought XCOM:EU had squished numbers? MYZ is similar, and the simplicity of it makes it
    I spent a few hours with this last night, and am really enjoying it.
    It does what it says on the box. Realtime/turn-based combination, a post-apocalyptic XCOM’ish adventure with scavenging and story. It sounds like it’s trying to do a lot, but it keeps things small. Start with only two characters. You thought XCOM:EU had squished numbers? MYZ is similar, and the simplicity of it makes it start very accessible.

    MYZ’s got oodles of atmosphere. And the controls and UI ‘just work’, doing what they’re meant to and being pretty intuitive. There’s no excessive hurdles around saving/loading. Save when you want. Load when you want. Save-scum if you want. (Haven’t tried it to see if the same action can get different results yet, just loaded after a tactical error to avoid wasting a medkit.) Brief loading screens between zones.

    Roam the overworld in a ‘How to Survive’ style isometric-view real-time exploration game, and enter turn-based combat mode whenever you want,
    similar to Fallouts 1-2. Collect glowy junk piles which require some exploration, sneak in the real-time mode to avoid circles of detection displayed around enemies, engage if you’ve scouted the area enough and think you know what you’re dealing with and can handle it. Go back to base to buy gear, add mods to your weapons, upgrade them, and collect missions, go back out again to complete the mission. I have yet to investigate if there’s any respawning to allow for farming – just following the story at the moment, because it’s simple but compelling enough.

    Voice acting isn’t the best, but it’s not terrible, either. Graphics, performance, environments, story, design… it’s all sitting squarely in the ‘pretty good’ range of quality. Not trying to do too much and succeeding is a refreshing thing from an AA title, instead of being very ambitious and failing (Elex et al).

    Looking forward to putting more hours into this. At its low price point, I've already got my money's worth.
    Expand
  9. Dec 4, 2018
    9
    Great turn based game with awesome humor. Only negative is that its a little short, but I'm sure the devs will work on that.

    Do you like Xcom? Then you will enjoy this.
  10. Dec 8, 2018
    5
    1) Has DRM junk called Denuvo 2) Cannot skip splash screens before the title screen 3) Graphic options are shockingly minimal feels like a console port 4) Story becomes disappointing after the middle half of the game and overall the game is short 5) Current version has a serious bug when a character is getting out of hiding, and when the player switches to the next character too quickly1) Has DRM junk called Denuvo 2) Cannot skip splash screens before the title screen 3) Graphic options are shockingly minimal feels like a console port 4) Story becomes disappointing after the middle half of the game and overall the game is short 5) Current version has a serious bug when a character is getting out of hiding, and when the player switches to the next character too quickly after that: the former character gets stuck, becomes unavailable to selection 4) RNG is precomputed meaning you will always get the same outcome for the same action at a given point and place. It is quite pricey in comparison to other games, for what little it has to offer. Expand
  11. Dec 6, 2018
    8
    A very good RPG/tactical game and there are not many of them in the X-com genre. The world is a fascinating place, full of details. The cara design is great. As for gameplay, it deserves a few patches, to meet players more demanding than me.
    I look forward to learning more about this universe and its history...
  12. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the humor and everything in this game. Only negative is that its a little too short. Expand
  13. Dec 5, 2018
    8
    As has been mentioned by many this is a great quirky take on squad turn based combat, very similar to XCOM, wasteland 2, Divinity Origonal Sin. That being said if you enjoy that type of game I highly recommend Mutant Year Zero.

    Overall it is a very challenging game, that runs well and looks fantastic with atmosphere to match. However all is not perfect in Eden. The RPG aspect of
    As has been mentioned by many this is a great quirky take on squad turn based combat, very similar to XCOM, wasteland 2, Divinity Origonal Sin. That being said if you enjoy that type of game I highly recommend Mutant Year Zero.

    Overall it is a very challenging game, that runs well and looks fantastic with atmosphere to match. However all is not perfect in Eden. The RPG aspect of character building is somewhat superficial, with skills overlapping between characters - replay wise, there won't be much variety. The base aspect is also very superficial, this could have been fleshed out in a lot greater detail. The lack of / cost of med packs, in harder difficulties you are constantly running around with half health (or maybe me the player is crap?). Lastly, stealth is also superficial, and combat is repetitive, you stealth, kill individual guards silently, then take on the main group. This is the approach you must take for every battle - very little variety in this aspect.

    If this game even had some more polished but rudimentary elements of RPG's it would be absolutely amazing, however the focus is on turn based combat and it does it very well. Highly recommend for turned based combat buffs, and I'll be purchasing any DLC that may appear.
    Expand
  14. Dec 5, 2018
    8
    The problem with Games like Xcom & Wasteland2 and now MYZ
    is they get boring faster then the usual game..
    *Wasteland2 made it up with LORE. as the writers and creators were involved with original Fallout or something like that....

    **FACT~ if combat isn't 'fun then it better make the rewards uber aka compensate...

    kudos soooo far guys!!!!
  15. Dec 9, 2018
    3
    Very nice setting, nice graphics, it will be a decent "X-COM meets Fallout" if not for the fact that the game does not explains anything to you. It just throws you out there without any secondary quests, without guidance in a very heavy RPG experience and very, very difficult. Sorry, but two lines of a voice line is not enough to explain anything.

    I just end up desmotivated, without
    Very nice setting, nice graphics, it will be a decent "X-COM meets Fallout" if not for the fact that the game does not explains anything to you. It just throws you out there without any secondary quests, without guidance in a very heavy RPG experience and very, very difficult. Sorry, but two lines of a voice line is not enough to explain anything.

    I just end up desmotivated, without understanding what the hell I'm doing in a middle of a combat. Who are this guys? Why they hate me so much again? Why the dogs don't attack them, only me? Why people are doing what they are doing, why I'm hearing stuff in my head... Also, character development. There's the whinny duck, the whinny pig and the whinny girl. They all seem as unmotivated as me for doing their quest. I don't understand why they are friends, why they are doing what they are doing...

    Difficult turn combat and stealth focus is nice, at the begginng, but I need some stuff, some dialogue some LORE to keep going. And a RPG without enough LORE or story development... It's not RPG at all. It's just a hardcore stealth and turn combat, which is not even that hardcore once you learned how to kill people in stealth.

    At least it's free with XBOX game pass, I guess, so if you have the console you can try it out and see for yourself, but... I'm going back to Wasteland 2, much, much better that this.
    Expand
  16. Dec 5, 2018
    8
    I'll write a proper review, once I've completed the game. It's a shame that so many people are hating on it. purely because it runs on Denuvo. I don't think that's a very fair thing to criticize a game for.
  17. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    Best tactical turnbased shooter so far.
    Would really be a bonus if they had coop play like Divinity Sin but as a single player game this gets 10/10
  18. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    f... yeahh ! Now we need huge open world online !!
    MUTANT YEAR ZERO: ROAD TO EDEN 10/10
  19. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    Instant in love whit the game. Cool story and cool characters and epic game play.
  20. Dec 5, 2018
    10
    This game is wonderful! I like it from beginning to end. I hope there will be DLC with continue of story or next mutant 2)
  21. Dec 5, 2018
    10
    In simple words ,An amazing game that have merged the turn based system with real time system successfully. if you are a fan of XCOM 2 or Shadow tactics then i shall recommend this game for you .just play it like a pro.
  22. Dec 13, 2018
    8
    This game is SHORT. Maybe 20 hours at most. It ends just as it is getting started.
  23. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    It's hardcore one with linear gameplay. It was a miracle, that I Finished it for 15 hrs (2nd lvl of difficulty).
    Nostalgic wind of Fallout/Wasteland, Gorky 17 and of course, X-Com series.

    NOT FOR CASUAL GAMERS LIKE YOU!!!
  24. Dec 17, 2018
    9
    Good game so far. Compared to XCOM2 it doesnt have randomly generated levels so replay value would be reduced but therefore the levels are lovely designed but small, they are interconnected via fast traveling. And also unlike XCOM2 there is no difficulty adjustment of the enemys strength against your party. So once you get to the ark and get your first assignment to investigate for theGood game so far. Compared to XCOM2 it doesnt have randomly generated levels so replay value would be reduced but therefore the levels are lovely designed but small, they are interconnected via fast traveling. And also unlike XCOM2 there is no difficulty adjustment of the enemys strength against your party. So once you get to the ark and get your first assignment to investigate for the ingeneer you wont be able to proceed at certain places unless you backtrack and kill weaker enemys to level up. I recommend this game. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Dec 17, 2018
    80
    Mutant Year Zero seems like the natural evolution for tactics games. The real-time aspects make things move faster and add a unique layer of tension. On the story end of things, it manages to keep you interested until the linear campaign finishes up. You won't find a groundbreaking narrative but it doesn't overstay its welcome, and the characters are just charming enough to keep you invested.
  2. Dec 17, 2018
    90
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden is an exceptional take on the tactical RPG and the addition of a stealth system certainly sets it apart from the crowd. Both genres blend together in a way that’s satisfying, challenging and well designed, while an engaging and well-written narrative drives the player forward. The difficulty might be an issue for those new to the genre, but for those seasoned in turn-based tactics, this is an absolute must buy.
  3. Dec 17, 2018
    85
    Even though it draws inspiration from X-COM, Mutant Year Zero felt quite unique to me. The mix of real-time exploration and turn-based strategy elements, as well as the tactical decisions concerning each stalker's loadout, makes Mutant Year Zero one of the best games in the genre launched this year. The solid combat system, interesting setting and great voice acting, merge into an appealing formula that the alchemists at The Bearded Ladies unexpectedly discovered while experimenting with various concoctions.