Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 11, 2018
    90
    Moonlighter is a delightful rogue-lite shopkeeping sim game (because that’s a common combination) that can either take up one day of your time or multiple weeks, depending on your playstyle and preferences. If you’re looking for a mild challenge, but want to have an overall relaxing experience in a lovingly crafted environment, then I can’t recommend this game enough.
  2. Jun 10, 2018
    90
    Moonlighter is one of the funniest indie games that we have seen this year. It mixes adventure and management and delivers hours of entertainment with an experience that feels fresh and brand new.
  3. Jun 8, 2018
    90
    Regardless of the faults that game may have, Moonlighter is a fantastic game, both in mechanics and in execution. The carrot-on-a-stick nature of the progression is superb, and the dungeon parts are both challenging and rewarding. That, along with the wonderful soundtrack and nice pixel art, make for a beautiful aesthetic that is both fun and nice to see in action. Any fan of action RPGs should pick this one up. It can last players a nice long time and never once get boring.
  4. May 28, 2018
    90
    Moonlighter is a great adventure, where everything works beautifully together. It’s fun, addictive and beautiful, and yet another great indie game we get to play this year.
  5. Jun 7, 2018
    85
    Overall the two halves of the game fit together very well and combine to make an interesting game.
  6. Jun 11, 2018
    84
    Highly motivating dungeon crawler with great pixel graphics, the mixture of loot and shop management is persuasive.
  7. 80
    Gone are the days where you have to choose between a title that focuses on if you want to be an adventurer or a merchant. Moonlighter mixes the best aspects of both and brings an experience that is highly addictive and enjoyable. Beyond the gameplay, you are sure to enjoy the charming graphics and a delightful soundtrack. This is a fantastic first release for Digital Sun, full of high-quality graphics, music, and gameplay.
  8. May 31, 2018
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. May 29, 2018
    80
    Moonlighter offers two types of gameplay in the same game and does it in an excellent way. Beautiful and with many details where a great soundtrack accompanies him. A difficult game with an excellent duration.
  10. May 28, 2018
    80
    Moonlighter’s loop of combat, exploration, and sales is an engrossing one, with steps taken to keep players invested in every part of the game.
  11. Jun 6, 2018
    78
    Moonlighter is a cute and casual revival of an uncommon mashup but doesn’t stick around to push the boundaries.
  12. Jun 11, 2018
    70
    It's a shame, then that Moonlighter's also a bit on the short end, as some of these ideas would do well with simply more--but then the combat would like thin out even more. Still, what's here is refreshing, and the balance struck between crawling through dungeons and working with the economics of the town are a good combo while it lasts.
  13. Jun 8, 2018
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  14. Jun 7, 2018
    70
    Though Moonlighter has several problems that prevent the game from truly achieving greatness, the excellent art and music and the fun gameplay experience make it worth a try if you enjoy roguelikes and want a new title to play.
  15. May 31, 2018
    70
    The core idea of the dualism merchant/hero is great but Moonlighter is not able to stand out in a genre where the competition is extremely fierce. The combat and the level design of the dungeons fall flat in many occasions and the epilogue of Will's adventure seems a little bit rushed.
  16. May 29, 2018
    65
    Moonlighter is incredibly captivating on the surface, but there is a lot of frustration just waiting to be uncovered.
  17. Jun 19, 2018
    60
    At first, Moonlighter is a fascinating and beautiful game. But after a few hours, it's its lack of depth and the fact that its gameplay loop never really feels fully enjoyable that we retain.
  18. Jun 4, 2018
    60
    In short, an experience that can briefly satisfy fans of the genre: not incomplete or badly realized, yet absolutely anonymous and forgettable.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 28, 2018
    An addictive mix of combat and commerce. [Recommended]
  2. It completely has me in its grips now. I want to know what it means that the later dungeons are for adventurers only, not merchants, and I want to know just how big a store I can run, and will I ever get security guards to deal with these bloomin thieves? It’s very charming, very beautiful, and both its comprising halves are enjoyable in their own ways.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 54
  2. Negative: 9 out of 54
  1. May 29, 2018
    6
    Would have been a good game if there was an end goal other than participating in looping gameplay. Because there is no proper end goal, thereWould have been a good game if there was an end goal other than participating in looping gameplay. Because there is no proper end goal, there is no motivation and because there is no motivation there is no fun. Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2018
    0
    can't rebind movement keys. i cannot play with wasd. learn how to program an user interface. this is unacceptable.
  3. May 30, 2018
    5
    Not my type of game, i don't really enjoy the store management.
    And the dungeon part either, don't like the square-to-square kind of map,
    Not my type of game, i don't really enjoy the store management.
    And the dungeon part either, don't like the square-to-square kind of map, it's repetitive.
    Maybe not a bad game, but it has no appeal to me.
    Full Review »