Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jul 18, 2018
    90
    Day is your lady, night is your mistress, young shopkeeper. For what you seek in the depths of randomly generated dungeons will reward you dearly, if you decide to keep the lights of the family business on. Who knows, maybe someday you may even enter the mythical fifth door of the dungeon creepiest of them all. Hah, who am I kidding, you can never do that... If you don't buy the game, so buy it.
  2. Jun 11, 2018
    90
    Moonlighter is a delightful rogue-lite shopkeeping sim game (because that’s a common combination) that can either take up one day of your time or multiple weeks, depending on your playstyle and preferences. If you’re looking for a mild challenge, but want to have an overall relaxing experience in a lovingly crafted environment, then I can’t recommend this game enough.
  3. Jun 10, 2018
    90
    Moonlighter is one of the funniest indie games that we have seen this year. It mixes adventure and management and delivers hours of entertainment with an experience that feels fresh and brand new.
  4. Jun 8, 2018
    90
    Regardless of the faults that game may have, Moonlighter is a fantastic game, both in mechanics and in execution. The carrot-on-a-stick nature of the progression is superb, and the dungeon parts are both challenging and rewarding. That, along with the wonderful soundtrack and nice pixel art, make for a beautiful aesthetic that is both fun and nice to see in action. Any fan of action RPGs should pick this one up. It can last players a nice long time and never once get boring.
  5. May 28, 2018
    90
    Moonlighter is a great adventure, where everything works beautifully together. It’s fun, addictive and beautiful, and yet another great indie game we get to play this year.
  6. Jun 7, 2018
    85
    Overall the two halves of the game fit together very well and combine to make an interesting game.
  7. Jun 11, 2018
    84
    Highly motivating dungeon crawler with great pixel graphics, the mixture of loot and shop management is persuasive.
  8. 80
    Gone are the days where you have to choose between a title that focuses on if you want to be an adventurer or a merchant. Moonlighter mixes the best aspects of both and brings an experience that is highly addictive and enjoyable. Beyond the gameplay, you are sure to enjoy the charming graphics and a delightful soundtrack. This is a fantastic first release for Digital Sun, full of high-quality graphics, music, and gameplay.
  9. May 31, 2018
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. May 29, 2018
    80
    Moonlighter offers two types of gameplay in the same game and does it in an excellent way. Beautiful and with many details where a great soundtrack accompanies him. A difficult game with an excellent duration.
  11. May 28, 2018
    80
    Moonlighter’s loop of combat, exploration, and sales is an engrossing one, with steps taken to keep players invested in every part of the game.
  12. Jul 8, 2018
    78
    If you like roguelike games and the idea of managing a store or even if you want to try something special, away from the ordinary indie games, Moonlighter is a good choice.
  13. Jun 6, 2018
    78
    Moonlighter is a cute and casual revival of an uncommon mashup but doesn’t stick around to push the boundaries.
  14. Games Master UK
    Jul 14, 2018
    77
    The mix of dungeon-crawling and shop-keeping is addictive, even if the latter is a bit thin. [Aug 2018, p.72]
  15. CD-Action
    Sep 27, 2018
    75
    The ending turned out to be a huge disappointment but I will not let the last fifteen minutes or so overshadow my generally good impression. Over 20 hours that led to it were engaging, the pixel art is cute and the music is even better. [08/2018, p.70]
  16. Jul 13, 2018
    70
    The sympathetic adventure of a courageous salesman, which sometimes suffers from a relatively straightforward gameplay, but it can bewitch you with its atmosphere and the smooth action.
  17. Jun 11, 2018
    70
    It's a shame, then that Moonlighter's also a bit on the short end, as some of these ideas would do well with simply more--but then the combat would like thin out even more. Still, what's here is refreshing, and the balance struck between crawling through dungeons and working with the economics of the town are a good combo while it lasts.
  18. Jun 8, 2018
    70
    There are some good ideas in Moolighter, with its dungeons, fighting, loot and management simulation. That’s why the first hours of play are pleasant and fun. But that won’t last, for the rest of the game is repetitive.
  19. Jun 7, 2018
    70
    Though Moonlighter has several problems that prevent the game from truly achieving greatness, the excellent art and music and the fun gameplay experience make it worth a try if you enjoy roguelikes and want a new title to play.
  20. May 31, 2018
    70
    The core idea of the dualism merchant/hero is great but Moonlighter is not able to stand out in a genre where the competition is extremely fierce. The combat and the level design of the dungeons fall flat in many occasions and the epilogue of Will's adventure seems a little bit rushed.
  21. May 29, 2018
    65
    Moonlighter is incredibly captivating on the surface, but there is a lot of frustration just waiting to be uncovered.
  22. Jun 19, 2018
    60
    At first, Moonlighter is a fascinating and beautiful game. But after a few hours, it's its lack of depth and the fact that its gameplay loop never really feels fully enjoyable that we retain.
  23. Jun 4, 2018
    60
    In short, an experience that can briefly satisfy fans of the genre: not incomplete or badly realized, yet absolutely anonymous and forgettable.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 28, 2018
    An addictive mix of combat and commerce. [Recommended]
  2. It completely has me in its grips now. I want to know what it means that the later dungeons are for adventurers only, not merchants, and I want to know just how big a store I can run, and will I ever get security guards to deal with these bloomin thieves? It’s very charming, very beautiful, and both its comprising halves are enjoyable in their own ways.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 79
  2. Negative: 13 out of 79
  1. May 29, 2018
    6
    Would have been a good game if there was an end goal other than participating in looping gameplay. Because there is no proper end goal, thereWould have been a good game if there was an end goal other than participating in looping gameplay. Because there is no proper end goal, there is no motivation and because there is no motivation there is no fun. Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2018
    0
    can't rebind movement keys. i cannot play with wasd. learn how to program an user interface. this is unacceptable.
  3. May 30, 2018
    5
    Not my type of game, i don't really enjoy the store management.
    And the dungeon part either, don't like the square-to-square kind of map,
    Not my type of game, i don't really enjoy the store management.
    And the dungeon part either, don't like the square-to-square kind of map, it's repetitive.
    Maybe not a bad game, but it has no appeal to me.
    Full Review »