User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 207
  2. Negative: 99 out of 207

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2018
    0
    Crashing after a few minutes of gameplay, have yet to finish the intro mission.
    Drivers updated and requirements met.
    Running as admin, tried disabling cloud saves, -8 clock on msi ab, etc etc, even did a rain dance.
    Game not working.
  2. Dec 5, 2018
    2
    Played on PC. Port is bad. Graphics issues and crashes. Video and key bind options are bad. Game play is less enjoyable than 2 or even 3. It is great if you want to just blow stuff up and cause chaos but the only real neat addition are the balloons. The base takeovers are not as enjoyable since you have to do missions to complete instead of destruction. Don't waste your money untilPlayed on PC. Port is bad. Graphics issues and crashes. Video and key bind options are bad. Game play is less enjoyable than 2 or even 3. It is great if you want to just blow stuff up and cause chaos but the only real neat addition are the balloons. The base takeovers are not as enjoyable since you have to do missions to complete instead of destruction. Don't waste your money until it is patched and discounted. Don't just look at the scores here, also look at Steam ratings. Tells a different story. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2018
    2
    Horrid mess: No c4, no grenades, no pistols, no duel-wield, no function vehicle handling, no settlement liberation and no working graphics.

    All in all, I terrible game that was shipped out before it was ready.
  4. Dec 4, 2018
    0
    I've already refunded this game. It is a shoddy console port that has barely functional controls for PC players. The developers expected all PC gamers to use a controller to play, the keyboard setup is a mess. Even the graphics look worse than you see on modern consoles. The gameplay is more generic and repetitive than Just Cause 3, if you can believe it. I almost wasted $90 on the GoldI've already refunded this game. It is a shoddy console port that has barely functional controls for PC players. The developers expected all PC gamers to use a controller to play, the keyboard setup is a mess. Even the graphics look worse than you see on modern consoles. The gameplay is more generic and repetitive than Just Cause 3, if you can believe it. I almost wasted $90 on the Gold Edition of this lazy port, thank God Steam gives refunds. Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2018
    0
    DON'T BELIEVE NOOBS who gave 10 to this game. They are paid for doing it or are the Developers. Read the REAL reviews on STEAM from people who really bought the game. At this time the score is 41%. Just Cause 4 is 100 times worse than JC3 in every way. Stay away from this buggy crap or wait for a 50%-60% discount.
  6. Dec 5, 2018
    0
    Seriously? After so many good trailers, even lately gameplay shown by DF, I was so hyped and excited about JC4. But after couple of hours, I'm so disappointed. Game looks horrible, AA does not work as it should or these isn't any, LOD is a joke compared to JC3, shadows of some bushes appears like from 5 feet away, water is a one flat big streched pixel!!! Sunlights on Rico's face makes himSeriously? After so many good trailers, even lately gameplay shown by DF, I was so hyped and excited about JC4. But after couple of hours, I'm so disappointed. Game looks horrible, AA does not work as it should or these isn't any, LOD is a joke compared to JC3, shadows of some bushes appears like from 5 feet away, water is a one flat big streched pixel!!! Sunlights on Rico's face makes him look like a Santa Claus, because it's that broken. Whole game looks like downgrade to that what we saw on trailers. Game looks way worse than JC3 on day one. And the prerendered cutscenes, wth is this? They look like 640x480 streched to monitor size. Is this a new strategy of publishers to release an unfinished product and get money from our pockets? This is not the way how the games suppose to look on a day one. You pay 59.99-89.99€ for a game that cannot even match to a open world graphic that is shown in AC Odyssey. It's like to pay a full price for a car, but without engine. It is so annoiyng that publishers releases more and more games that are not finished or polished on day one, instead to be broken as hell. I love whole Just Cause series, but this one is a disaster. At this state, at this moment, I would not recommed anyone to buy this game, even if you are so hyped and excited, don't do it. Just wait till they patch it, or be disappointed as I am.
    FYI, for that period of gameplay and writing my opinion, I was using nvidia driver 417.22. Specs: I7 6700k, 1080ti ftw3, 16gb ram @3200mhz. Game runs smooth, average 90 fps @1440p.
    (with driver 411.70 I had issuse in JC4 with LOD, it was totally broken. There was like invisible line that cut off details from the half of the screen to the bottom. With 417.22 it's gone).
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2018
    0
    Pros the grappling hook balloon thing. Better driving. Cons. Cutscenes that look a ps3 game. Entire landscapes popping in at the last second. Cars that disappear boats that fly into the sky. I vould go on but you get the idea.
  8. Dec 9, 2018
    0
    Terrible. In every aspect. Already refunded after 30mn of gameplay. I'm happy to see that Steam players reviews feel the same way (at the moment Mostly Negative with 1,916 reviews).
  9. Dec 9, 2018
    0
    One word: AWFUL. This is NOT Just Cause any more. What happened to the base objectives; the meaningless destruction. There might be objectives to accomplish, but I don't feel motivated to destroy as much as in previous releases. The graphics are just not of a AAA game in 2018. I just hated this game after playing an hour or so. What the hell happened to JC?
  10. Dec 9, 2018
    0
    not being able to bind movement keys makes this game unplayable, shame on the developer's for releasing this garbage for pc. I don't need some pos developer telling me what keys I need to use when I have been gaming with certain specific key bindings for over 25 years that I am accustomed to i'm not willing to try and relearn 25 years of habit for one game, get real, I know the work aroundnot being able to bind movement keys makes this game unplayable, shame on the developer's for releasing this garbage for pc. I don't need some pos developer telling me what keys I need to use when I have been gaming with certain specific key bindings for over 25 years that I am accustomed to i'm not willing to try and relearn 25 years of habit for one game, get real, I know the work around to this but its a pain to do and should not be necessary in this day and age Expand
  11. Dec 9, 2018
    3
    By far the worst game in the series. Terrible port (clearly the game designed for consoles not PC) Empty story, empty (non-destructable) world, buggy 3d and excruciating repetitive gameplay. Not a lot of choice for weapons, weapons upgrade is removed, pistols are removed (for whatever **** head of a company reason).

    Overall, There is nothing to do in this games. in JC2 and 3 there is
    By far the worst game in the series. Terrible port (clearly the game designed for consoles not PC) Empty story, empty (non-destructable) world, buggy 3d and excruciating repetitive gameplay. Not a lot of choice for weapons, weapons upgrade is removed, pistols are removed (for whatever **** head of a company reason).

    Overall, There is nothing to do in this games. in JC2 and 3 there is not a single moment when you open the map and don't know what to do. JC4 map feel barren, empty, just a bunch of stupid stunts (in design) challenges that is virtually impossible to do with atrocious vehicle control and camera. Not a recommended buy.
    Expand
  12. Dec 10, 2018
    3
    Just Cause 4 est le symbole d'une licence qui refuse la remise en question, par peur de perdre son essence et son public. À l'arrivée, il n'est rien de plus qu'une pâle évolution de Just Cause 3, sans ajout réellement majeur pour justifier de changer de point de vue. Autrement dit, les adeptes de défouloirs foutraques sans queue ni tête auront bien quelques heures à perdre dans ce nouveauJust Cause 4 est le symbole d'une licence qui refuse la remise en question, par peur de perdre son essence et son public. À l'arrivée, il n'est rien de plus qu'une pâle évolution de Just Cause 3, sans ajout réellement majeur pour justifier de changer de point de vue. Autrement dit, les adeptes de défouloirs foutraques sans queue ni tête auront bien quelques heures à perdre dans ce nouveau terrain de jeu qui ne permet pas tout non plus. Il leur faudra quand même fermer les yeux sur des qualités techniques d'un autre âge. Peu passionnant et assez mauvais. Expand
  13. Dec 11, 2018
    3
    Hello!
    In short - the game ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ diverge!
    A little more detailed. The problem is in the developers. Steam says - Avalanche Studios, but this is a lie. There are two studios main Swedish Avalanche Studios and American Avalanche Studios New York. First donated to Just Coast 1-2, Renegate Ops, Mad Max, Hunter. Now the guys are working together with Software ID, on Rage 2, of course.
    Hello!
    In short - the game ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ diverge!
    A little more detailed. The problem is in the developers. Steam says - Avalanche Studios, but this is a lie. There are two studios main Swedish Avalanche Studios and American Avalanche Studios New York. First donated to Just Coast 1-2, Renegate Ops, Mad Max, Hunter. Now the guys are working together with Software ID, on Rage 2, of course. Who are Avalanche Studios NY? And they did the same controversial with a bunch of shoals Just Coast 3. And they are the same subject ... and as practice has shown - comrades from the American studio NIHRENA do not learn from their mistakes. They managed to release the game - which will go down in history as the Worst part of the series ... they outdid their previous JC 3 ... These are talents ... Feedback is negative, because I hope that after seeing a squall of criticism and negative about the game, the head office Avalanche Studios in Sweden will disperse nafig these mediocrity and close the American studio.
    Expand
  14. Dec 10, 2018
    2
    it is the same games as 3 that came out last time. that is just lazy. if you have no clue to how to continue a game series, plz start a new one with other ideas.
  15. Dec 13, 2018
    0
    кусок мыльного дерьма! халтура хуже юбисофта с ихним осасоном кридом
  16. Dec 16, 2018
    0
    Мыло с каждым разом все больше и дороже. С каждым разом мы получаем все более вкусную дерьмовую похлебку, а мы ее едим и пока это будет продолжиться изменений не ждите.
  17. Dec 15, 2018
    2
    Muy mala optimizacion para PC no pude jugarlo mas de una hora, el antialiasing me mareaba.
  18. Dec 8, 2018
    1
    I finally got to give the game a shot and... this is unplayable.

    Graphics are a downgrade from the previous game. Just compare the textures or water effects, what you have in Just Cause 4 looks terrible! Even the explosions somehow look less impressive than what they used to. But okay, so the game looks bad, how does it play? That was promising when I saw that game uses about 8 GB of
    I finally got to give the game a shot and... this is unplayable.

    Graphics are a downgrade from the previous game. Just compare the textures or water effects, what you have in Just Cause 4 looks terrible! Even the explosions somehow look less impressive than what they used to.

    But okay, so the game looks bad, how does it play? That was promising when I saw that game uses about 8 GB of RAM and VRAM is reasonable as well... but the framerate... I couldn't get a stable 30 fps in this game on a mid-range PC, and searching the internet shows that you need the top of the line GPU to play this game at 60 fps in a reasonable resolution! RTX 2080 TI is REQUIRED to play the game at around 60 fps in 1440p... Yeah, a game that looks about as good as Just Cause 2 and most players can't even play it at a reasonable resolution and framerate.

    I won't even mention the crashing, glitching, nonsensical AI, castrated gameplay, terrible UI, the return of vomit inducing motion blur... because chances are high that you won't be able to run the game anyway, so why even bother?
    Expand
  19. Dec 6, 2018
    0
    AVALANCHE STILL DID NOT FIX THE VEHICLE CAMERA.
    It is still snapped to the body of the car/plane and nauseating as hell, and I play a lot of vr and dont get motion sickness. But this is on another level.
    Whats disgusting is that they made Mad Max a couple years ago and it didnt have this issue. WTF is Avalanche/square thinking bringing back this mess of a camera? Otherwise the
    AVALANCHE STILL DID NOT FIX THE VEHICLE CAMERA.
    It is still snapped to the body of the car/plane and nauseating as hell, and I play a lot of vr and dont get motion sickness. But this is on another level.

    Whats disgusting is that they made Mad Max a couple years ago and it didnt have this issue. WTF is Avalanche/square thinking bringing back this mess of a camera?

    Otherwise the gameplay is average, JC2 had a better parachute so it kinda sucks here, theres no sprint (unlike jc2), the railroad track are textures and not even 3d rails.. I mean c'mon, how much performance are you saving from those few polygons? The weapon handling is better, destruction is excellent (but it seems that where the team spent literally all of their money) and forgot to spend some on cuscenes, story writing, a PROPER **** vehicle camera, graphics etc.

    The Cutscenes are prerendered in 720p low settings and the animation is actually worse than Mass effect Andromeda. Im not expecting anything worthwhile (just cause never great animation or voice acting) but this is actually atrocious, it looks like a 5 year old animated it. The direction is beyond sloppy and the faces on the characters dont look remotely natural.

    Not every game has to have motion capture animation to look acceptable. Witcher 3 had some of the best animated conversations and cutscenes and EVERYTHING was done by hand. Sot his is just unacceptable from a 60$ AAA game.

    I will update my review if any of this is addressed, however like with JC3 im not holding my breath.

    Important Fact : JC2 and Mad Max were made by Avalanche Sweden and Avalanche New York made this pile of♥♥♥♥♥♥just like they made JC3. I expect this to not get fixed ever. However I am looking forward to Rage2 and Gen Zero form Avalanche Sweden because at least they seem to be competent.

    Yes I know square is teh publisher, if you read the review before commenting you wouldnt look like an idiot int he comments.

    Replying to the guy saying the camera can be unlocked. : Unlocking the camera in this game just stops the camera from bouncing back to center position behind the vehicle, the viewport however is still locked to the chassis of the vehicle and coupled with an EXTREMELY low FOV and close up camera makes the experience nauseating, disabling vehicle auto alignment is not the same as removing the rigid lock and the **** fov.
    Expand
  20. Dec 8, 2018
    1
    Developers referred to this as a technical marvel. Watch any cutscene and tell me it is a 'technical marvel' again.

    Controls are terrible and cannot be remapped at will - like what the actual f*(k! Graphics are mediocre and I run at 4k. Car camera is too close and the options to change camera are not much better. Weather effects are 100% overrated. While there are sound radio stations
    Developers referred to this as a technical marvel. Watch any cutscene and tell me it is a 'technical marvel' again.

    Controls are terrible and cannot be remapped at will - like what the actual f*(k! Graphics are mediocre and I run at 4k. Car camera is too close and the options to change camera are not much better. Weather effects are 100% overrated. While there are sound radio stations to cycle through, they are all rubbish. Overall, I will never buy from avalanche studios again after being burnt with JC3 and now JC4.
    Expand
  21. Dec 5, 2018
    0
    It's a buggy mess and i can't play it for more than 20 mins without crashing to desktop. Great job, Avalanche.
  22. Dec 7, 2018
    3
    I don't know why but I remember Just Cause 2 looking almost as good as 4. Not close up with vegetation mind you, but just the game in general. Graphics aside, there is a big world to explore here. Plenty of CHAOS to cause for your new ARMY of CHAOS. So far looks like it checks all the boxes. A fantastic physics sandbox. Red targets to explode, soldiers to eliminate with fun weapons, airI don't know why but I remember Just Cause 2 looking almost as good as 4. Not close up with vegetation mind you, but just the game in general. Graphics aside, there is a big world to explore here. Plenty of CHAOS to cause for your new ARMY of CHAOS. So far looks like it checks all the boxes. A fantastic physics sandbox. Red targets to explode, soldiers to eliminate with fun weapons, air drops, grappling hook kills, grappling hook spinning cows, and now we get regions to conquer with our new found army. The region conquer with your army looks a bit shallow atm but I hope they do more with it later in game, as it could be a very good mechanic. Another gripe is getting hit with mortars and having no clue where from. The "Lens" you have doesn't display it. This game is fun. This game needs an hd texture pack. This game has a few stutters that should be patched soon.

    UPDATE: Seems the army/territory takeovers are pretty shallow. Blow things up, unlock an army, and automatically expand your borders. They could have done SO MUCH MORE with this... I feel there is a lot of untapped potential and they could have made several skirmishes with the border expansion. I liked the % of things to blow up in each town. In this game I'm actually searching for things to blow up structure wise. I liked blowing up all red things to 100% a town. Not "flying through 3 circles in wingsuit" or "Enter ring at xxx speed" to complete it. It seems like JC2 was a ton to explode and a lot of cities to 100%, and JC3 had a bunch but bit less. JC4 seems like that number has almost fell 50%. Also, the tornados look like a kid with photoshop, maybe I shouldn't have expected Twister movie type tornadoes to begin with. Oh, and POPINS... On ultra settings things appear out of thin air, the draw distance is terrible. Especially on the ocean. But makes flying a plane and trying to find things to bomb a chore. Grenades are gone, and timed and protect missions are absolutely maddening. Motorcycle controls are suicide lol. Another maddening feature is finding a specific type of car make and model to unlock a factory door. This wouldn't be so bad, but since they aren't real autos you just have to get in and out of a ton of them, and hope to get lucky. In one mission, "The Dawnflower", the mission fails as soon as I enter the stunt car.
    The more I think about it, this JC just doesn't have as much to offer as previous entries. There is just too much untapped potential.

    EDIT: Since the Nvidia drivers for JC4, the stuttering is gone.
    Expand
  23. Dec 6, 2018
    0
    In the game you are waiting for blurry textures, missing effects, curve smoothing and terrible shadows. The image literally "dazzles" and presses on the eyes. To the above, physical bugs, graphical artifacts and an excessively artificial AI curve are added. The impression is that, instead of the release version, the developers mistakenly flooded the "beta" curve into the network. I reallyIn the game you are waiting for blurry textures, missing effects, curve smoothing and terrible shadows. The image literally "dazzles" and presses on the eyes. To the above, physical bugs, graphical artifacts and an excessively artificial AI curve are added. The impression is that, instead of the release version, the developers mistakenly flooded the "beta" curve into the network. I really hope that they will pay for the game with patches, but now I don’t recommend spending money on it at all. Expand
  24. Dec 6, 2018
    0
    Katastrofa
    + demolice
    + fyzika = grafika jakštakš - ovladaní vozidel horší jak v roce 1995 - nezaživnost - ovládání - pojinta - inteligence - stupidní ovládání s konzole např mapa se neda ovladat ani miší ani šipkama jen kolečkem atd - mise - nezáživnost - udržitelnost a mnoho dalšího Tato hra je strašné zklamání, doufal jsem že hra nebude tak blízko Saints Row sérii a
    Katastrofa
    + demolice
    + fyzika

    = grafika jakštakš

    - ovladaní vozidel horší jak v roce 1995
    - nezaživnost
    - ovládání
    - pojinta
    - inteligence
    - stupidní ovládání s konzole např mapa se neda ovladat ani miší ani šipkama jen kolečkem atd
    - mise
    - nezáživnost
    - udržitelnost
    a mnoho dalšího

    Tato hra je strašné zklamání, doufal jsem že hra nebude tak blízko Saints Row sérii a je to stejná katastrofa
    RIP 5/100 (za fiziku)
    Expand
  25. Dec 5, 2018
    0
    The positive ratings on this website are fake, check the Steam reviews before purchase.
  26. Dec 5, 2018
    0
    It is so much wrong with this game, it's a shame. And for a left handed person like me its unplayable because you can't change the key bindings.
  27. Dec 5, 2018
    3
    Just Cause 4 is not really a Just Cause game anymore. Base liberation has been replaced by forced side-quests, more or less entertaining game expansions you could skip and ignore in it's predecessors. In Just Cause 4 to do them is crucial to progress. Noew there's even kinda strategy map, to move your team but the purpose is unclear, cause as explained you'll have to do those side-questsJust Cause 4 is not really a Just Cause game anymore. Base liberation has been replaced by forced side-quests, more or less entertaining game expansions you could skip and ignore in it's predecessors. In Just Cause 4 to do them is crucial to progress. Noew there's even kinda strategy map, to move your team but the purpose is unclear, cause as explained you'll have to do those side-quests to take over an area.
    On the other hand there are too many (sometimes even funny) glitches and bugs that shouldn't happen at a release,
    I suggest it will take at least 6-12 months to fix them all.
    Graphics quality is far from consistent, varies broadly. I didn't expect that and pre-ordered Just Cause 4 but sadly at the end of the day and after more than 12 hours gameplay this unfinished rag rug of a game reminds me too much of Mafia III. Not what I expected.
    Expand
  28. Dec 7, 2018
    1
    Не вздумайте покупать эту подделку сырую , пустая ,скучная ,недоделанная игра которой цена 300 рублей от силы.Фанат 3ий части.
  29. Dec 4, 2018
    3
    Another completely unacceptable PC port.

    - No FOV settings.
    - Max mouse sensitivity is unbearably low.
    - No way to disable motion blur.
    - Mouse sensitivity when zoomed is not modified by the zoom, so aiming is terrible.
    - Very few graphics settings.

    There are only two possible reasons for this: indifference or incompetence. I don't know which is worse.
  30. Dec 5, 2018
    2
    Можно задать только один вопрос, что за параша с графикой? КАК можно было умудриться обосраться в таком важном оспекте игры? Картинка зернистая, объекты могут прогружаются в 5 метрах от Рико, освещение отвратное. В катсценах творится полное мракобесие. Вам просто пихают мыльные тестуры в лицо, прямо во второй миссии. А вы видели глаза персонажей? ВЫ ИХ ВИДЕЛИ? Они все, б ля ть, чтоМожно задать только один вопрос, что за параша с графикой? КАК можно было умудриться обосраться в таком важном оспекте игры? Картинка зернистая, объекты могут прогружаются в 5 метрах от Рико, освещение отвратное. В катсценах творится полное мракобесие. Вам просто пихают мыльные тестуры в лицо, прямо во второй миссии. А вы видели глаза персонажей? ВЫ ИХ ВИДЕЛИ? Они все, б ля ть, что экзофтальмом болеют? Разрабы, а вы не аху е ли? На фоне rdr2 ваше *творение* выглядит просто как фанатский инди-проект на стадии дремучей альфы. ПРИЧЕМ ОСНОВНАЯ ФИЧА ВАШЕЙ ИГРЫ - РАЗРУШАЕМСТЬ И СПЕЦЭФФЕКТЫ. И, с*ка, как же мне наслаждаться ими без графония? ДА ДАЖЕ JC3 ВЫГЛЯДИТ ЛУЧШЕ, а это ваша игра, выпущеная, мать его, 3 года назад!
    Мне жалко 3к, которые я потратил на это. У меня ещё остаются надежды на какой-то патч, но не думаю, что что-то сильно изменится.
    Единственный плюс, это 100+ фпс на ультрах.
    Какие 8.0 user score, вы что? 4-5 - максимальный балл.
    Expand
  31. Dec 6, 2018
    6
    At this time, I currently don't recommend you buy Just Cause 4, not because it is a bad game, but because this game was not ready for launch yesterday and has issues that most PC gamers will find unacceptable for a game in late-2018.

    I started playing the Just Cause games when I got Just Cause 2 on my Xbox 360 with Games with Gold, I enjoyed the game as it was rather simple, fun,
    At this time, I currently don't recommend you buy Just Cause 4, not because it is a bad game, but because this game was not ready for launch yesterday and has issues that most PC gamers will find unacceptable for a game in late-2018.

    I started playing the Just Cause games when I got Just Cause 2 on my Xbox 360 with Games with Gold, I enjoyed the game as it was rather simple, fun, action-packed, fluid and played as I wanted it to play. I then bought Just Cause 3 on my Xbox One (at launch) and then on PC earlier this year when it was on sale. Same as JC2, I enjoyed JC3, same fun action, the wingsuit was an excellent addition, I loved the new mechanics, and all the movement felt extremely smooth. The Xbox version did have frame-rate drop issues and extremely long loading times, but my time playing the game on PC (ultra graphics) was excellent. And this is my first problem with Just Cause 4, it simply resembles a Just Cause game but it doesn't feel like one. The removal of the base liberation was the biggest change I noticed in Just Cause 4, they marketed the new physics engine (which is excellent BTW) as a way to creatively destroy enemy bases and infrastructure, but I never get the chance to do so as I have no motivation to blow sh*t up as I get no reward for it. Instead, conquering bases is a process of going there and completing linear and boring side-quests (mostly vehicle and wingsuit stunts) to complete the base. The system in JC2 & JC3 where you will liberate a base/town, and unlock challenges from there, was a far better system as it was easier to see your progress and would slowly piss-off the dictator you were trying to take down. However, in Just Cause 4, I really struggle to see a main goal in the game, the map view is so over-crowded with challenges and information that I mostly just fly around and see what happens.

    It also annoys me that Avalanche Studios bragged for weeks about how they cared about the PC player base and were touting their excellent PC optimization, even for lower-end hardware. Yeah, bulls**t. Firstly, just like Just Cause 3, the settings menus and some aspects of the map are so poorly optimized for a mouse and keyboard and I don't understand why. For example, to apply a change to your graphics settings, you need to use the arrow keys to navigate down the list but then you can't press ENTER to click, you must then move your cursor over the button to click APPLY. Not to mention, who the hell presses RIGHT CLICK to go back when navigating menus?! Sometimes the game settings menus are unresponsive, don't select the right option, or don't work at all. It feels like a sh*tty console port of the menus. Sometimes the game will decide to launch in windowed mode @720p instead of fullscreen @1080p, even though I set it to that in the first place. In my case (I run a GTX 1060, i5 6600 & 8GB of RAM), I can achieve about 70fps on medium-ish settings and I'd like to commend the game on the consistency of this framerate, even during large explosions or when doing complex physics calculations. In terms of gameplay optimization, Avalanche has done a reasonable job, except for the crashing every hour or so.

    In regard to core gameplay, Just Cause 4 is pretty fun. The gun mechanics and controls are nice, the grappling hook, wingsuit, and parachute play well, and the gameplay feels much more realistic than Just Cause 2 or 3, in my opinion. I like the vehicles, they are cool, the controls for planes still sucks (why can't I tilt or roll the plane with my mouse instead?), and Rico's new gadgets are bloody awesome. I especially have fun with his balloons as I love to lift soldiers and vehicles up into the air, drop them, and see what happens to blow up next. His booster rockets are cool to give every vehicle a boost or can make enemies fly. I'm not an awful fan of the changes the devs made to Rico's grapple tether as it now automatically winds up instead of doing it manually.

    Most of the issues I have with Just Cause 4 are more than fixable. What I think Avalanche Studios need to do is sit down, take in all the feedback and reviews, and list common points from all of them as areas to fix. Little fixes like improving the menus, brightening up colours and the environment, fixing bugs and crashes, allowing better plane controls, and cleaning up the complicated map and information around it would do wonders for this game. Something like an Operation Game Health would keep Just Cause fans confident in this game and would keep the player base alive.

    At the moment, however, Just Cause 4 just doesn't feel like Just Cause. It feels like a half-assed version of the game that was made to continue sales and revenue into the company.
    Expand
  32. Dec 5, 2018
    0
    JC4 for the PC is badly designed. The UI is a mess. Avalanche Studios, I am very disappointed, especially given the media hype that PC performance is a priority.
  33. Dec 5, 2018
    0
    ***DONT BUY***
    This metascore of 8.1 is fake, and the studio/developers are spamming accounts, to try and save their sales.
    ***LOOK at STEAM REVIEWS FOR HONEST REVIEWS! *** Like another guy wrote: No c4, no grenades, no pistols, no duelwield, vehicle handling sucks, no settlement liberation and trash graphics..... This game is absolute garbage. The people who give it 10, are
    ***DONT BUY***
    This metascore of 8.1 is fake, and the studio/developers are spamming accounts, to try and save their sales.
    ***LOOK at STEAM REVIEWS FOR HONEST REVIEWS! ***

    Like another guy wrote: No c4, no grenades, no pistols, no duelwield, vehicle handling sucks, no settlement liberation and trash graphics.....

    This game is absolute garbage. The people who give it 10, are developers or people working for the studio, that is 100%....
    This game is so horrible i can't even describe it. Makes Just Cause 3, seem like the best game ever made, in comparison..

    If you want to read reviews, go on steam, its on 38% now even further down than before.. I'm so glad i got my refund through steam, i just managed to stop at 1hour and 57minutes lol.
    Expand
  34. Dec 10, 2018
    6
    Yet another shoddy release (as if we didn't have enough this year thanks Fallout 76!) from a developer that seems to have forgotten what made their previous games fun and entertaining.

    Let's take out what made Just Cause 3 fun (liberating towns), add in canned tornado animations, a nonsenical map, an absolutely horrid UI on the Windows version, poorly made graphics using way too many 2D
    Yet another shoddy release (as if we didn't have enough this year thanks Fallout 76!) from a developer that seems to have forgotten what made their previous games fun and entertaining.

    Let's take out what made Just Cause 3 fun (liberating towns), add in canned tornado animations, a nonsenical map, an absolutely horrid UI on the Windows version, poorly made graphics using way too many 2D bitmaps, and no reason to blow up things anymore and you get something called Just Cause 4.

    What possessed the developers to abandon a tested formula that made previous Just Cause games so much fun? Were they bored? Did they change developer teams? Was this new graphics engine beyond their skill level?

    The developers have stated a day after release they were aware of the issues and promise to release a patch that will solve everything. I can't help the feeling though that this release was rushed to market and the developers were hoping to just push this game out as is and no one would notice. IF THE GAME WASN'T FINISHED WHY DID YOU RELEASE IT AVALANCHE?! What idiotic manager made that decision? You realise all you have done is given the Steam reviews a chance to completely trash your game!

    Maybe 2018 is the year developers have all decided to completely destroy what little rep they have left with gamers? First we have Bethesda with the FO76 mess, then we have Dice and BFV released with half its content, and now Avalanche releasing this half completed game. What the heck is going on?!
    Expand
  35. Dec 9, 2018
    5
    The side-missions and filler content are much worse (and intrusive) than the previous JC games. It's like a Michael Bay Assassins Creed ripoff. Very disappointed.
  36. Dec 8, 2018
    6
    hello i love just cause 4 this wow this action this game of the year WOW WOW
  37. Dec 6, 2018
    3
    I'm updating this review. Originally I gave it a 9 and praised the weather and graphics. After playing for around 10 hours and realizing all the game's faults...it's a complete mess. Graphics and textures are horrible, pop in is atrocious, there are unfinished textures and environmental features. The motion blur is also horrendous and makes it hard to focus. The weather is not random it'sI'm updating this review. Originally I gave it a 9 and praised the weather and graphics. After playing for around 10 hours and realizing all the game's faults...it's a complete mess. Graphics and textures are horrible, pop in is atrocious, there are unfinished textures and environmental features. The motion blur is also horrendous and makes it hard to focus. The weather is not random it's on a predetermined path and always repeats the same cycle. It is not dynamic or random so the devs lied on that. The game can still be good fun but it has way too many issues and I can't recommend it unless it gets fixed. It's saddening to say that this was the most disappointing game I've played all year. I wanted to love this game but it's an ugly,unfinished, and buggy mess of a game in it's current state. If it gets patched I will update it but if not this is my final score. Tl;dr graphics are garbage, game can be fun but is a disappointing mess. 3/10 Expand
  38. Dec 5, 2018
    10
    Amazing game but can glitch sometimes uses your own creativity and makes it as fun as you make it
  39. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    Классическая just cause, ещё больше, ещё взрывоопаснее
  40. Dec 5, 2018
    6
    Ну игра так себе, не рыба не мясо. 3-я часть была не о чем, а 4-я скатилась еще больше.
  41. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    This game is honestly a lot of fun everything a just cause game should be, explosions chaos and a lot of fun!
  42. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    Best game of series, but there are haven't got amount of action, as in the previous part...
  43. Dec 6, 2018
    9
    Over 10 hours in a game, not even one crash. Lots of fun activities, lots of mayhem to make.
    If You love the series - lots of new and loved stuff to do, if You're new to series - good one to start.
    Sure - it has some minor setbacks, few changes comparing to previous games, but none of them will stop You from having fun :)
  44. Dec 4, 2018
    9
    Just a fun game but could do with some multiplayer and the weather is a great touch but me loving just cause 3 I didn't like the control change for the grappling hook but it is something that will take a bit getting used to. It is just a fun game to play.
  45. Dec 4, 2018
    9
    Really fun gameplay. Lots of side missions to unlock upgrades, plenty of vehicles/supply drops. The various grappling hook mods are so much fun to use. The cutscenes look bad, but apart from that, the game is quite stunning. The plot is nothing special.
  46. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Разработчики полностью выполнили свои обещания и выкатили нам очередной Just Cause, который просто хочется запустить и потеряться. Модификации крюка Рико - это просто нечто! Expand
  47. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    EL MEJOR JUST CAUSE DE LA HISTORIA Y EL "SANDBOX" MÁS GRANDE Y ESPECTACULAR.
  48. Dec 5, 2018
    10
    Honestly, this game is super fun. better than rdr2. (i'm joking). but still this game is dope
  49. Dec 12, 2018
    5
    13h in. whilst not as fun as 3 it still has some moments. probably will finish it off tho.

    a big gripe is the change to have complete challenges to capture towns. really interrupts the flow to have to go and find car type X to go thru obstacle Y (especially when said obstacle is 100m above ground level).
  50. Dec 11, 2018
    6
    Unfortunately, Just Cause 4 is a real let down. From a poorly constructed world to a confusing & basic story. There is nothing new here. Steer clear of this one unless its on sale or gets many updates. DO NOT PLAY ON PC!
  51. Dec 11, 2018
    7
    YES i recommed but wait for a sale for like 30$ or less. If you like just cause you will like this game but there are cons and pros about this game. graphics suck most of the time, cool/ good easter eggs, people have been complaing that this game crashes a lot but i have 20 hours in this game and its never crashed once, no c4 but the balloons can be like c4 beause you can attached them toYES i recommed but wait for a sale for like 30$ or less. If you like just cause you will like this game but there are cons and pros about this game. graphics suck most of the time, cool/ good easter eggs, people have been complaing that this game crashes a lot but i have 20 hours in this game and its never crashed once, no c4 but the balloons can be like c4 beause you can attached them to anything and they can explode, story is medicore, not the best progression, the map is good, vechicles are good, its very hard to die because if you egt hit by a rocket or something you wont lose all health you will always usally have 1hp and beable to heal, shooting and gunplay are improved from 3. the game also runs almost perfect only it stutters sometimes when i find new cities, but its a easy fix. sound effects are great. also it has a terrible ui because it strait console port but still easy fix. 7/10 Expand
  52. Dec 10, 2018
    10
    Достойное продолжение. Фанатам серии зайдет.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Dec 18, 2018
    68
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Dec 17, 2018
    79
    The franchise essence is still there and responsible for a lot of over the top explosive action that you love or hate about the series. But the enormous hardware requirements of the Apex engine make this a tough cookie to chew on - even more so on consoles.
  3. Dec 17, 2018
    80
    Just Cause 4 does not represent a setback or a bad delivery in the terms of the franchise and if you are a fan of the adventures of Rico Rodriguez, you will not be disappointed after making the revolution succeed in Solis.