Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Jun 12, 2018
    85
    Jurassic World Evolution is not the best or most complex management sim on the planet, but that's okay, it’s still demanding enough to be very entertaining. The focal point of the game are the dinosaurs anyway, and they look amazing.
  2. Jun 11, 2018
    85
    Jurassic World Evolution strikes a chord with me, and that’s evident in the amount of time I’ve sunk into it. The presentation is gorgeous, the mechanics are engrossing, and balancing your veggiesauraces and meatysauraces has never been fun. There’s a handful of bugs to shake loose, but based on Frontier’s track record I’m fairly certain that these can be shaken out post launch.
  3. Jun 11, 2018
    85
    Jurassic World Evolution is one of the best games ever made based on Michael Crichton's Jurassic Park. Managing inGen would get you in front of your computer for hours.
  4. Jun 11, 2018
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Jun 11, 2018
    85
    Jurassic World Evolution is a simply gorgeous and robust game. This multilayered gameplay experience takes place in a beautifully crafted world with lush terrain, changing weather patterns, and an incredible amount of control. Even the musical score awakens that sense of wonder and the gravity of what you are doing - you get to run Jurassic World! It is an outlier in the long line of movie-based video games, standing as a beacon of hope that it is possible for them to actually be good while staying true to their source material.
  6. Jun 11, 2018
    83
    Beautiful theme park manager with a clear focus on the great presentation of dinosaurs. Micro-managing fans get a raw deal, though.
  7. Jun 21, 2018
    80
    I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my time with Jurassic World Evolved thus far, and the more I play the more I look at my parks and think of ways I can improve upon it. Fickle crowds be damned, I’m here to build a park - I’m here to make Jurassic World work. For dinosaurs in the business world, and in the theme park industry... life finds a way.
  8. Jun 19, 2018
    80
    The enormous amount of satisfaction gained by building parks equivalent to the real Jurassic Park deal, outweighs the few technical problems the game has.
  9. Jun 18, 2018
    80
    With Jurassic World Evolution, Frontier delivers a solid game with very good gameplay mechanics which even gives us goosebumps when we follow the footsteps of a new dinosaur. The movie lore is there and the graphics are good. You should definitely give this one a try.
  10. Jun 14, 2018
    80
    An enjoyable journey into better, more dinosaur filled times, that will keep you entertained throughout. The careful balancing acts that are required are demanding without being overwhelming and the dinosaurs look great.
  11. Jun 12, 2018
    80
    Jurassic World Evolution may not be the best theme park management game, but it’s the most exciting dinosaur management game. And that’s enough for us.
  12. Jun 11, 2018
    80
    Despite some opaque game mechanics and missing tutorials, turns out running a dinosaur park is brilliant fun and the best time sink you can play.
  13. Jun 11, 2018
    80
    If anything I took on the role of a benevolent eccentric, building a park and bringing long-dead creatures back to life for my own pleasure and fascination, not to gouge the wallets of the people drawn to the creatures I was so captured by. Basically, what I’m getting at is that Jurassic World Evolution made me into John Hammond.
  14. Jun 11, 2018
    80
    Arguably the best Jurassic Park-themed game to date, and a must-buy for fans of the films.
  15. Jun 11, 2018
    80
    Business management games don’t come much cooler than Jurassic World Evolution, and as subject matter goes it has done the the franchise proud. The dinosaurs look fantastic, the park building is easy and coherent, and the ensuing chaos when it goes a little bit off the rails can be frantic and enthralling. It’s pacing where the game struggles a little, with a few too many sedentary moments stretching your patience, but you’re not likely to get any closer to building your own park packed with once extinct animals than this.
  16. Jun 11, 2018
    80
    It's quite slow to start and has a pretty harsh difficulty curve, but when everything clicks, it proves to be the best use of the Jurassic licence yet. Running a park isn’t easy, but incubating your first velociraptor makes it all worthwhile.
  17. Jun 11, 2018
    80
    Jurassic World: Evolution is more of a pure sim game than Planet Coaster, but it does a good job of taking advantage of its license.
  18. Jun 20, 2018
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  19. Jun 19, 2018
    75
    Jurassic World Evolution is a game with great potential, but at the same time a tycoon proposal undermined by some weird design decisions and a lack of variety and depth.
  20. Jun 11, 2018
    71
    Initially stunning but lacking the depth and variety to support mammoth playtimes.
  21. Jun 21, 2018
    70
    If there's one word that could easily describe Jurassic World Evolution, it's "faithful." Taking control of a ranger behind the wheel of a Jeep in the rain and sidling up to a pack of socializing Stegosaurus is as epic as it sounds and is a definite highlight, as is releasing a newly recovered species into your park. Despite the campaign stumbling over itself and losing focus towards the end, Evolution captures the essence of Jurassic Park while being a good park management sim in its own right.
  22. Jun 19, 2018
    70
    Jurassic World Evolution is packed with qualities, especially for the fans of the Jurassic Park IP, but it lacks depth for now. As if the developers saved content to sell later as DLCs.
  23. Jun 17, 2018
    70
    Jurassic World Evolution is a direct shot to nostalgia with the appearance of familiar faces, the magic BSO and a huge variety of dinosaurs. Even so, it’s global simplicity and the current lack of options in the management of the park makes the necessity of various updates in order to improve and become the perfect Jurassic Park simulator we all want.
  24. Jun 17, 2018
    70
    If you’re a fan of the franchise it’s a fun dip into the prehistoric pool, but the water isn’t deep enough to satisfy a voracious carnivore.
  25. Jun 20, 2018
    65
    Quotation forthcoming.
  26. Jun 18, 2018
    65
    Jurassic World Evolution is a huge tribute to the entirety of Jurassic Park's history, but from the gameplay side, it lacks of depth.
  27. Jun 18, 2018
    60
    Evolution will amuse movie fans and infrequent sim hands, but linearity and lack of meaningful decision-making undermines its lavish production values.
  28. Jun 18, 2018
    60
    Jurassic World Evolution lacks of depth in the management part, but has great dinosaurs to look at.
  29. Jun 14, 2018
    60
    It has a whimsy to it all the same that makes it worth trying, at least for a while. You may get hooked, you may not. It’s no bigger a gamble than a park full of carnivores, and in the worst case scenario, far less messy.
  30. Jun 20, 2018
    50
    While Jurassic World Evolution has a great concept, it fails to achieve anything close to greatness once you get past the first day of gameplay. Excellent graphics and nostalgic euphoria can only carry a product so far.
  31. Jun 11, 2018
    48
    Besides the fact that there’s absolutely no evolution involved in it, Jurassic World: Evolution is a bad game because it’s just a bore of a park sim. Sure, the dinosaurs look nice enough, but the process of unlocking new species is beyond tedious and actually running the business is shallow and quickly gets stale. It beats getting mauled by raptors, but after careful consideration, I’ve decided not to endorse this park.
  32. Jun 19, 2018
    40
    Unfortunately, the act of doing all this research and genetic splicing amounts to the same level of involvement as a mobile clicker game. It’s just plain tedious. No one is saying that science has to be exhilarating, but it should at least feel more fulfilling than snoozing your morning alarm clock.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 20, 2018
    While the game does eventually die to repetitive cuts, it’s a slow death. The game’s charm, visuals, and novelty hold up for a quite solid few hours of fun, and the premise isn’t completely wasted. But it’s also not utilized to its fullest potential. Maybe an expansion or two can bring this one back from extinction down the line.
  2. Jun 14, 2018
    Don't get me wrong; I loved my time in Las Cinco Muertes, and there's immense satisfaction to be found in just sitting back and watching your creations roam. But with a brutal learning curve, weak tutorials, and a lack of meaningful gameplay once your parks are mature, even the most ardent paleontologist may struggle to keep coming back for more.
  3. Jun 11, 2018
    In Jurassic World Evolution, you can finally create a Jurassic Park to be proud of.
  4. It’s a greater disappointment because it falls so short of Planet Coaster. Frontier has already made the game that shows Evolution where it went wrong. It’s not that Evolution couldn’t have forged its own path, but it throws away lots of proven systems, often without substituting them for anything else. I don’t want to bad-mouth cool dinosaurs, but cool dinosaurs can only carry a game so far.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 120
  2. Negative: 17 out of 120
  1. Jun 13, 2018
    1
    Pros:
    +Fantastic graphics
    +Great looking dinosaurs +Good variety of dinosaurs +I like the "idea" of modifying the genes +Different island
    Pros:
    +Fantastic graphics
    +Great looking dinosaurs
    +Good variety of dinosaurs
    +I like the "idea" of modifying the genes
    +Different island types is a nice idea.
    +UI/Park Map
    +Dinosaur Stats

    Cons:
    -Small maps
    -Gets boring pretty fast
    -Bad Ai
    -No Managing (financial etc etc...)
    -Guests are useless because you cant do anything with them
    -Money is growing on trees...
    -No difficulty
    -No decoration
    -No Mod Support
    ---No Content..

    Conclusion:
    This game is not Worth 60$ more like 30$ it was such a good concept but they F***** it up ,for a Frontier game this is a disappointment..

    sorry but wait until its in a 50% Sale
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 12, 2018
    10
    It's ou finally. And in my opinion it's a great game. Yes some things are missing and it will come later i'm sure (decoration air dino etc).It's ou finally. And in my opinion it's a great game. Yes some things are missing and it will come later i'm sure (decoration air dino etc). As everyone know thirst Dlc will be free which can compensate for the things missing at launch.
    Game is running fine, graphics are good. Frontier is a great studio and i'm sure they will keep improving it.
    Of course it could have been better but i think Universal is a bit responsible for a premature realease.

    Nonetheless great Game. Should Buy it it's our only chance i think to have a great Jurassic Park Game.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2018
    9
    Great Game, graphics are good, there is still somes features missing like more decoration and so on. But first DLC is gonna be free and willGreat Game, graphics are good, there is still somes features missing like more decoration and so on. But first DLC is gonna be free and will add some of the things we miss. Certainly the game could have been more polished but i'm sure it will be even better. Despite that it's a great game Full Review »