User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 181

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2018
    10
    É um jogo INCRIVELMENTE incrível, com uma direção de arte e uma trilha sonora excelente, que deixa qualquer pessoa boquiaberta. GRIS possuiu uma historia, na qual se baseia na sua própria interpretação dos acontecimentos, e mesmo sem ter 1 dialogo, deixa qualquer pessoa emocionada. Esse jogo vale cada centavo, e para mim, é o melhor jogo do ano
  2. Dec 30, 2018
    10
    Such a moving game, the music is top notch, i went to this game expecting it to be boring but at the end I had tears in my eyes. I read somewhere that this game is a representation of a girl who lost her best-friend and never got over her loss. The music alone got this game a 10/10
  3. Dec 14, 2018
    9
    What a beautiful game. The music, the visual art, the atmosphere.
    The best purchase this year, alongside with Unavowed and Pillars of eternity 2.
  4. Dec 21, 2018
    5
    An empty but beautiful music box.
    The beauty and emotional value are being held back by the gameplay mechanics. There are better ways to tell the story of search and sacrifice but through the simplistic puzzles that don't fit the narrative.
  5. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    This is a masterpiece and everyone should give it a chance despite being an indie from a "small company", delivers sadness and perfection with a simple but great story, really beautiful game!
  6. Dec 16, 2018
    10
    Simply a masterpiece!
    It seems like a picture that comes to life! And what a wonderful soundtrack!
    Graphics: 10/10
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: 10/10
    Soundtrack: 10/0
  7. Dec 29, 2018
    7
    I was a fan of INSIDE and Little Nightmares they were awesome. ABZU and Journey was also very beautiful and fun. I find this on the same category but not as fun. It needed more puzzles than just walk in the park. If I would compare it to one of the games I already mentioned I would say its more like ABZU though I had more fun with ABZU. Because they both had almost no puzzles and justI was a fan of INSIDE and Little Nightmares they were awesome. ABZU and Journey was also very beautiful and fun. I find this on the same category but not as fun. It needed more puzzles than just walk in the park. If I would compare it to one of the games I already mentioned I would say its more like ABZU though I had more fun with ABZU. Because they both had almost no puzzles and just explore.

    The music is the best thing about this game. The art is good and some small "puzzles" were cool. There is nothing more to say. The story you will guessing it by yourself of what it might be. So its hard to say if it was good or bad.

    I would recommend it if you are a fan of such games.

    I wish it had some kind of easy combat to make it a bit more fun like Ori And The Blind Forest.
    Expand
  8. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Это апогей визуального дизайна. Настолько всё шедеврально красиво и гармонично, что просто выпадает челюсть.
    Conrad Roset - главный художник и креативный дизайнер игры, впервые за мой довольно большой игровой опыт смог меня настолько удивить и обескуражить.
    P.S Также отдельное спасибо Nomada Studio и всей её команде.
    Это апогей визуального дизайна. Настолько всё шедеврально красиво и гармонично, что просто выпадает челюсть.
    Conrad Roset - главный художник и креативный дизайнер игры, впервые за мой довольно большой игровой опыт смог меня настолько удивить и обескуражить.

    P.S Также отдельное спасибо Nomada Studio и всей её команде.
  9. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Настоящий представитель игры как искусство. Оргазм для глаз и ушей. Самая красивая игра на моей памяти, при том что она очень минималистичная, не как та же Ори. Эстетический оргазм каждую секунду. Многие сравнивают её с Journey, но мне не нравилась она за то что она была ОЧЕНЬ короткой, ты буквально не успевал ею насладится. GRIS в этом плане раза в 4 дольше Путешествия, что не даёт ниНастоящий представитель игры как искусство. Оргазм для глаз и ушей. Самая красивая игра на моей памяти, при том что она очень минималистичная, не как та же Ори. Эстетический оргазм каждую секунду. Многие сравнивают её с Journey, но мне не нравилась она за то что она была ОЧЕНЬ короткой, ты буквально не успевал ею насладится. GRIS в этом плане раза в 4 дольше Путешествия, что не даёт ни наскучить (ибо игровой процесс сам по себе простой) но и не обрывается через 40 минут, как Journey. Expand
  10. Dec 23, 2018
    0
    Чем-то напомнила супер марио, только без монстров, монеток и труб... Что это вообще?
    Что вообще мешает людям прикручивать так называемый "визуальный дизайн" к обычным играм, зачем полностью кастрировать игровой процесс, что бы показать "дизайн"?
    У меня художественное образование, я архитектор и хоть убей не пойму, что так нравиться простым рабочим людям в этой поделке. На мой взгляд
    Чем-то напомнила супер марио, только без монстров, монеток и труб... Что это вообще?
    Что вообще мешает людям прикручивать так называемый "визуальный дизайн" к обычным играм, зачем полностью кастрировать игровой процесс, что бы показать "дизайн"?

    У меня художественное образование, я архитектор и хоть убей не пойму, что так нравиться простым рабочим людям в этой поделке. На мой взгляд IWD 2 гораздо гармоничней и на голову лучше, в плане визуального оформления, только там, помимо него, еще и шедевральная игра есть. Здесь нет не того, не другого. Лишний раз убеждаюсь, как легко людям впарить какую-нибудь х...ю и выдать за высокое искусство. :(
    Expand
  11. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    Wonderful visual style and soundtrack.For me this game is the best game of this year,because i realy like all of her components
  12. Dec 15, 2018
    4
    The Journey для бедных: пустая, бедная музыка и монотонный визуальный стиль. Как платформер - весьма озадачивает: не один раз будете пытаться запрыгнуть туда, куда невозможно, и наоборот.
  13. Jan 10, 2019
    9
    Make no mistake, this is no game. This is a full blown spiritual experience. Nuff said
  14. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    Gris might be more of an art piece, than a regular game, but it's a stunning masterpiece and a wonderful game for relaxation and peace of mind. Been waiting for Gris since their first post on Reddit and so happy to see it released now. Definitely the best game of the year.
  15. Dec 16, 2018
    10
    Games are art, some excel at storytelling, others at visuals, sound, art direction, or gameplay. It's rare that a game can offer you that all in one package. Very rare. When you see a game like GRIS, a game that excels in visuals and offers you a soothing atmosphere. It gives you hope, hope that it can excel in its other areas as well. If steam tells me anything it is that 97% of allGames are art, some excel at storytelling, others at visuals, sound, art direction, or gameplay. It's rare that a game can offer you that all in one package. Very rare. When you see a game like GRIS, a game that excels in visuals and offers you a soothing atmosphere. It gives you hope, hope that it can excel in its other areas as well. If steam tells me anything it is that 97% of all people thought that this is something special. It is special and it does excel in other areas as well!
    It's a perfect experience for its short length. Beautiful in every aspect.
    People, go and just buy this game, play it and feel it! ♥
    It is one of the best games of this lovely year! Like fine art, 10/10
    Expand
  16. Dec 29, 2018
    9
    Desde a primeira cutscene, GRIS mostra a que veio. Abraçando totalmente o minimalismo, ele sabe balancear a sentimentalidade com a reflexão, o ruído com o silêncio, para criar uma experiência como nenhuma outra. Este jogo é verdadeiramente uma obra-de-arte.
  17. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    Чиллаут игра, даже во время движухи не заставляет ничего делать. Кто-то ставит минусы за то, что короткая, но по мне приятно, что есть игры, которые можно пройти от начала до конца за один вечер даже не напрягаясь. Можно просто расслабиться и наслаждаться красивой картинкой, приятной музыкой и историей которую они передают.Чиллаут игра, даже во время движухи не заставляет ничего делать. Кто-то ставит минусы за то, что короткая, но по мне приятно, что есть игры, которые можно пройти от начала до конца за один вечер даже не напрягаясь. Можно просто расслабиться и наслаждаться красивой картинкой, приятной музыкой и историей которую они передают.
  18. Dec 17, 2018
    10
    GRIS is an incredible journey surrounded by astonishing landscapes, whith a suberb music and a smooth gameplay.
    The detail in every little thing shows that they have made it with love to what they were doing. It is almost impossible to finish it without droping a tear. Congratulations to all the team!
  19. Dec 19, 2018
    10
    Una obra maestra, si queréis vivir una experiencia Única este es vuestro juego. insuperable apartado artístico, Mecánicas solidas, Puzzles sublimes, Música extraordinaria, Técnicamente perfecto. lo mezclas todos y te sale esta obra maestra con una capacidad transmitir un torrente de emociones. 10/10
  20. Jan 2, 2019
    10
    Simply a masterpiece relax game! Like a fairy tale hugging you...
    ---
    Graphics: 10/10
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Story: 10/10
    Soundtrack: 10/10
  21. Jan 13, 2019
    3
    The game is beautiful, but the gameplay is slow and very basic. The biggest problem is that nomad Studio, or most probably Devolver choosed to censor the game.
  22. Dec 18, 2018
    8
    Gris is a very, very, very beautiful game, both visually and aurally. It is a short but fulfilling experience, with gameplay creative and polished enough for a few hours of amazement.
  23. Jan 19, 2019
    10
    This is a masterpiece. Whatever your head from this game, just give it a go.
    Absolutely gorgeous, music, the visual, everything. Top notch game. It feels that everyone making the game really cared about it, it's bloody fantastic.
  24. Dec 21, 2018
    10
    This is one of the most beatiful games I've ever seen. The art is absolutely astounding. The story is vague and I feel like everyone will find their own meaning in it. I was able to experience goosebumps in a game, that hasn't happened to me for a while. The levels are designed very cleverly, even if you feel as if you were lost, you actually aren't. Another thing that's brilliant is theThis is one of the most beatiful games I've ever seen. The art is absolutely astounding. The story is vague and I feel like everyone will find their own meaning in it. I was able to experience goosebumps in a game, that hasn't happened to me for a while. The levels are designed very cleverly, even if you feel as if you were lost, you actually aren't. Another thing that's brilliant is the soundtrack. I went to Spotify right after finishing this game.

    If you enjoy relaxing games and / or INSIDE, LIMBO, Journey - this is definitely for you. This game is one of a kind.
    Expand
  25. Jan 6, 2019
    9
    Mesmerizing game with beautiful artstyle, great soundtrack, emotional story and great level design, the only thing it lacks is combat and high difficulty, which is intentional and game is engaging even without these core aspects of gameplay. It is very refreshing to play a game of this kind from time to time. I'd like more of such games coming out. GRIS is a bit of an exception because itMesmerizing game with beautiful artstyle, great soundtrack, emotional story and great level design, the only thing it lacks is combat and high difficulty, which is intentional and game is engaging even without these core aspects of gameplay. It is very refreshing to play a game of this kind from time to time. I'd like more of such games coming out. GRIS is a bit of an exception because it got popular quickly and you didn't really need to look for it, but usually you really have to look hard for such games, they are like hidden gems. Expand
  26. Feb 10, 2019
    10
    An absolute audio-visual masterpiece. One of the most beautiful games i have ever played with an incredible story for those willing to look deeper and discover it. Must play.
  27. Jan 1, 2019
    9
    Красивая рисовка, музыка. Прошёл игру на одном дыхании
  28. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    Music is stunning in this game. Sets you off in a dreamy calm world. The puzzles are devilish at times but over all a beautiful game.
  29. Dec 22, 2018
    10
    Mesmerising musing and design! Most of the levels saved now as screenshots! Waiting for the sequel.
  30. Feb 2, 2019
    8
    A medio camino entre una experiencia audiovisual y un plataformas.
    Gris es un juego indie del equipo español de Nómada Studios.
    Lo primero que llama la atención es su estilo artístico a base de acuarelas, el paisaje y los distintos elementos y personajes que encontramos tienen un diseño impecable y precioso. Cada segundo del gameplay es una obra de arte que fusiona la música con los
    A medio camino entre una experiencia audiovisual y un plataformas.
    Gris es un juego indie del equipo español de Nómada Studios.

    Lo primero que llama la atención es su estilo artístico a base de acuarelas, el paisaje y los distintos elementos y personajes que encontramos tienen un diseño impecable y precioso. Cada segundo del gameplay es una obra de arte que fusiona la música con los gráficos y la jugabilidad de una manera que no había visto antes.

    No tiene diálogos ni textos por lo que la historia queda completamente sujeta a nuestra interpretación de las distintas pistas que el juego nos coloca en el camino. Basándome en mi interpretación y la opinión de otras personas con las que he podido hablar de ello, la temática principal me resulta muy apropiada y le aporta un toque de sentimiento que puede llegar a conectar con muchos jugadores. Personalmente, me hubiera gustado que quedara mas claro en el juego y que no estuviera abierto a tanta interpretación.

    En cuanto a la jugabilidad, hay momentos en los que se juntan todos los elementos del juego y crean experiencias increíbles, sin embargo en otras ocasiones los puzzles o las plataformas suponen un inconveniente para la fluidez de la experiencia. Los controles y las mecánicas están muy bien diseñadas pero creo que el juego no tiene claro su objetivo a la hora de presentar los distintos niveles.

    En conclusión, es una experiencia de unas 4 o 5 horas, que reivindica la belleza en todas sus formas a la vez que nos plantea un mensaje emotivo (sujeto a interpretación).

    Lo recomiendo a cualquier persona, creo que todo el mundo puede y debería disfrutar de este juego.

    Gráficos 9, Historia 8, Jugabilidad 7.
    Expand
  31. Feb 2, 2019
    10
    Soundtrack 10/10 es increible como la musica cambia a medida que avanzas
    Graficos 10/10 y eso que corre en cualquier pc
    jugabilidad 10/10 no necesitas mucho conocimiento de como se juega este tipo de juego ya que es muy intuitivo a mi parecer. historia 10/10 sola se cuenta viendo lo que sucede a medida que avanzas Es literalmente una gran obra de arte! un gran videojuego,espero que su
    Soundtrack 10/10 es increible como la musica cambia a medida que avanzas
    Graficos 10/10 y eso que corre en cualquier pc
    jugabilidad 10/10 no necesitas mucho conocimiento de como se juega este tipo de juego ya que es muy intuitivo a mi parecer.
    historia 10/10 sola se cuenta viendo lo que sucede a medida que avanzas
    Es literalmente una gran obra de arte! un gran videojuego,espero que su desarrolladora nomada studios tenga muchos mas exitos en el campo de videjuegos!.
    Expand
  32. Mar 14, 2019
    7
    ealing with a painful experience in her life. Her journey through sorrow is manifested in her dress, which grants new abilities to better navigate her faded reality.
  33. Mar 23, 2019
    9
    It's a masterpiece. Beautiful and engaging. It's the first indie game that I play and Im loving it. Perfectly playable with keyboard.
  34. Dec 18, 2018
    10
    Если Вы способны мыслить нерационально, не категорично - пожалуйста, поиграйте в GRIS.
    Если Вы мыслите строго, не подвержены эмоциональным всплескам и оцениваете происходящее с вами объективно - пожалуйста, не ругайте GRIS, это хорошая игра, просто вам не не подойдет.
    Если Вы способны мыслить нерационально, не категорично - пожалуйста, поиграйте в GRIS.
    Если Вы мыслите строго, не подвержены эмоциональным всплескам и оцениваете происходящее с вами объективно - пожалуйста, не ругайте GRIS, это хорошая игра, просто вам не не подойдет.
  35. Dec 21, 2018
    9
    GRIS, developed by Nomada Studios and released by Devolver Digital is akin to a painting in a museum. You hear about it, you go see it, and it’s everything you’ve heard it would be. You leave the museum with a warm feeling in your heart for having seen the painting, and it’s an experience you’ll treasure forever, even if you don’t really return to the piece. The music is beautiful and theGRIS, developed by Nomada Studios and released by Devolver Digital is akin to a painting in a museum. You hear about it, you go see it, and it’s everything you’ve heard it would be. You leave the museum with a warm feeling in your heart for having seen the painting, and it’s an experience you’ll treasure forever, even if you don’t really return to the piece. The music is beautiful and the art is stunning, and this more than makes up for the overly simplistic puzzles and platforming elements. It's a journey, one I thoroughly enjoyed being a part of. Expand
  36. Dec 23, 2018
    10
    A journey with one of the best storytellings I have ever seen. I'm studying art history and this left me speechless. If you have suffered loss, this is going to touch you. A game for gamers but also for art fans.
  37. Dec 24, 2018
    10
    First, I pirated the game. After I started playing this game I was simply amazed by it's visual style, the soundtrack and an amazing story.
    I had to buy this masterpiece to show love for the developers, best game ever made in my opinion.
  38. Feb 10, 2019
    9
    Absolutely great atmosphere. In love with beautiful arts and music. Big ups!
  39. Feb 5, 2019
    10
    Эта игра обескуражила меня своей стилистикой и музыкальным сопровождением!!!

    Она изменила мой взгляд на прекрасное... Эту историю можно трактовать так как тебе захочется и над каждой трактовкой хочеться пустить слезу!!! Спасибо Nomando Studio, эта игра навсегда останется в моём сердце!!!
    Эта игра обескуражила меня своей стилистикой и музыкальным сопровождением!!!

    Она изменила мой взгляд на прекрасное...

    Эту историю можно трактовать так как тебе захочется и над каждой трактовкой хочеться пустить слезу!!!

    Спасибо Nomando Studio, эта игра навсегда останется в моём сердце!!!
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 17, 2019
    85
    Gris evokes memories of Disney's Fantasia, a wordless animated movie which creates an exciting audiovisual experience by combining colors and music.
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Feb 8, 2019
    83
    Soft aquarelle palette and meticulously composed soundtrack make GRIS a true work of art. [Issue#235, p.43]
  3. Feb 5, 2019
    100
    A true indie gem.