User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 105
  2. Negative: 11 out of 105

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 11, 2019
    7
    Задумка разработчиков сделать ретро шутер с новыми фишками кажется вполне каноничной, однако есть один нюанс - двигло. Игра написана на юнити, из чего вытекает множество различных багов, которые разработчик так и не пофиксил. Например, классический глитч с проходом через стены из-за прицела, направленного максимально вверх. Есть механика кувырков, которая работает через задницу послеЗадумка разработчиков сделать ретро шутер с новыми фишками кажется вполне каноничной, однако есть один нюанс - двигло. Игра написана на юнити, из чего вытекает множество различных багов, которые разработчик так и не пофиксил. Например, классический глитч с проходом через стены из-за прицела, направленного максимально вверх. Есть механика кувырков, которая работает через задницу после первого прокручивания камеры. И таких багов действительно очень много, что прямо-таки бросается в глаза. А так, это очередной хороший представитель инди, точно достойный для вашего ознакомления. Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2019
    5
    Overrated game that is only reviewing well due to nostalgia. If you want to play good classic FPS, just play games like the Classic Doom, Unreal or Quake.
  3. Feb 21, 2019
    6
    Mi piaceva anche se speravo in qualcosa di più. Ha un ritmo frenetico ma dopo un po' mi ha reso un po' ripetitivo.
  4. Dec 12, 2018
    6
    I wanted to love this game, because what not to love here- retro graphics, hordes of demons to kill, great atmosphere and gameplay in the same vein as Doom or Painkiller. I was expecting pure fun. But the problem is, when the game is at its best- its fantastic. You see hordes of demons rushing at you, you dance around them, gib them, blood everywhere- it feels fantastic. But these momentsI wanted to love this game, because what not to love here- retro graphics, hordes of demons to kill, great atmosphere and gameplay in the same vein as Doom or Painkiller. I was expecting pure fun. But the problem is, when the game is at its best- its fantastic. You see hordes of demons rushing at you, you dance around them, gib them, blood everywhere- it feels fantastic. But these moments are far and between. The rest of game is just tiny brown corridors, boring looking for keys, backtracking, getting lost and not knowing where to go next, no map or any hints to help you. Its just frustrating and not fun. Enemies dont vary much, you just see the same types over and over again.
    I finished episode 1, it was ok. But second is just bad, so many tiny dark maps i just had to force myself to finish it. I hope episode 3 is better, i just dont feel like playing it now, i need a break.
    So yea, mixed feelings. I think id rather play (Brutal) Doom or Painkiller again, than this.
    Still its decent game, and cheap, so if you like retro shooters, try it. Just dont expect wonders.
    Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2018
    7
    What are the critics smoking? Evolution of genre frozen in time? Ok lets see what we have:
    Game which feels like hd mod of Quake 1/Duke Nukem 3D. So nothing new/special. On one hand it has amazing atmosphere (which is made mostly by awesome sounds and creepy concept of cultists devilish goats scarecrows) on second - its plain ugly. Weapons looks well just awfull. Enemies too. Its fast and
    What are the critics smoking? Evolution of genre frozen in time? Ok lets see what we have:
    Game which feels like hd mod of Quake 1/Duke Nukem 3D. So nothing new/special. On one hand it has amazing atmosphere (which is made mostly by awesome sounds and creepy concept of cultists devilish goats scarecrows) on second - its plain ugly. Weapons looks well just awfull. Enemies too. Its fast and fluid like Quake 1 but how is it any better than well Quake 1? It isnt.
    Genre did evolve, we have story packed games with awesome graphics memorable protagonists (even blood had cool Caleb and Duke Nukem 3D - Duke Nukem :D, hell Wolfenstein had Blazkowitch) like Halo, Half Life, Call of Duty, Destiny, Bioshock, Metroid Prime, Wolfenstein, Doom etc. In terms of pure fps mayhem I can compare this to for example recent Shadow Warrior 1/2 or Doom - and Dusk is definitelly worse game than any of them.
    So is it a bad game? No. But without much trouble You can find as good mods to Quake 1 as Dusk is.
    Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    DUSK takes the best conventions and clichés of 90s shooters and perfects them for a new century. This game serves as a sort of Ying counterpart to the Yang of Superhot. While the latter title captured the simple perfection of an under-par shooter run, DUSK captures the wild frenzy of a less disciplined encounter. Modern players may be bewildered by the aesthetic, but the fluidity of theDUSK takes the best conventions and clichés of 90s shooters and perfects them for a new century. This game serves as a sort of Ying counterpart to the Yang of Superhot. While the latter title captured the simple perfection of an under-par shooter run, DUSK captures the wild frenzy of a less disciplined encounter. Modern players may be bewildered by the aesthetic, but the fluidity of the game-play, open-ended level design and the pure thrill of each encounter make this worth a look for younger gamers in addition to those looking for a nostalgia fix. All told DUSK just feels "right." Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2019
    9
    I've picked dusk once it became available on steam is final version (non early access) and before I even start talking about It, I must say it became one of my all time favorite indie shooters. Its not flawless, its not innovative but its a traditional shooter faithful to what all old gamers loved about classic shooters in PS2-Ps1 era.
    The game story is Lovecraftian, its mostly narrated
    I've picked dusk once it became available on steam is final version (non early access) and before I even start talking about It, I must say it became one of my all time favorite indie shooters. Its not flawless, its not innovative but its a traditional shooter faithful to what all old gamers loved about classic shooters in PS2-Ps1 era.
    The game story is Lovecraftian, its mostly narrated through us seeing how the world shapes as we travel between locations, the episode 1 fairly introduces the player to the Dusk world and what is happening and what has happened and it progresses onward to explain more about story. Story is nothing special or complicated but it ends up with interesting surprises toward the midway and end of campaign.
    the best thing about Dusk is how responsive the controls are and how fluid the gunplay is! it feels good to literally surf around the map and kill waves and waves of enemies, once you have finished the game, i highly recommend play it on highest difficulties to enjoy some blood pumping action. Weapons are good, sometimes its annoying that you dont get to find some of the weapons at some parts of games, and absence of Weapon wheel is also kinda annoying, I get the game tries to be what old games were like but some aspects are just very dated and straight up annoying, I hope at least they add weapon wheel for upcoming Switch Port becuz switching weapons on controller through console is just pure wasting time, specially in higher difficulty levels where the room for error is very small. There are tones of enemies, new enemies are introduced as you pregress into the game.

    First chapter takes place in a Resident Evil 4 type of setting, pretty cool with some horror aspects, Chapter 2 starts as a very typical military shooter and by far is the weakest chapter but midway to end it starts to introduce some otherworldly transitions that are amazing and add a huge variety to the campaign and lastly episode 3 is by far the best and each level is so distinctive and designed very well and the end game boss is so satisfying and cool :D
    the combat is chapter 2 is a little bit boring compare to 1 and 3 because the military presence is too much and there arent enough melee battles, you mostly spend your time staying as far as possible and killing enemies, where as in chapter 1 and 3 was more varried because you were encouraged to attack enemies close up.
    Some levels are little bit too tights and some levels are a bit too wide for no reason, its good variety but platforming sections, such as wall climbing, or passing through traps for hidden items are straight up annoying!
    but overall the game is so responsive in its shooting and it has amazing range of levels with wide variety to almost cover anything you have in mind that ultimately outweighs all the bad things about this game.

    I highly recommend everyone this game !
    Expand
  8. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    The first person shooter has evolved massively over the laster 25 years. We've gone from simple key hunting and monster bashing to Hollywood set pieces and storylines. Dusk is a reminder of a more simple time in FPS history.

    Dusk is a retro, 90's style FPS game which captures pretty much everything that defines a "retro shooter". Fast paced action, banging soundtrack and a certainly
    The first person shooter has evolved massively over the laster 25 years. We've gone from simple key hunting and monster bashing to Hollywood set pieces and storylines. Dusk is a reminder of a more simple time in FPS history.

    Dusk is a retro, 90's style FPS game which captures pretty much everything that defines a "retro shooter". Fast paced action, banging soundtrack and a certainly retro feel with regards to models and textures which only add to it's charm. I grew up with Doom, Quake and Half Life. This game makes me feel 15 again back when I was running Quake on a 266MHz Pentium 2 with a 2MB graphics card.

    The movement in Dusk is fluid and if you're used to strafe jumping and bunny hopping, you'll find yourself moving around maps at breakneck speed. Shooting feels impactful and every gun feels powerful and fun to use, blowing enemies into little chunks using the super shotgun never stops feeling satisfying. Enemies are varied and episodes change up what kind of monsters you'll be facing. The atmosphere and level design is superb, yes there is key hunting and exploring which may feel like it slows down the action, but this is how it was back in the 90's. Not every single second of gameplay was a sensory overload, it provided a welcome break in the fighting and let you get your breath back.

    The sound design and music are incredible. Andrew Hulshult's soundtrack provides both engaging atmospheric background noise and head banging metal for when the action kicks in. Enemies have their own distinct sounds and I guarantee that you will never forget your first encounter with the Wendigo in Episode 2!

    The inclusion of an endless mode adds to the replayability and there are plenty of well hidden secrets which will keep you coming back for more.

    For me, a 90's FPS veteran, Dusk is a dream game. It doesn't complicate life by throwing a thousand different mechanics at you. It runs at a silky smooth framerate and you'll find yourself flying around levels once you get into the groove of bunny hopping and strafe jumping.

    A solid 10/10 from me. I understand that it won't be every body's kind of game, it is after all a throwback to the more simple times in FPS history, but what a throwback it is!
    Expand
  9. Dec 18, 2018
    10
    Great throwback to the 90's shooters with very well done gameplay upgrades to the current times. The level design is really good which most of the modern shooters still are unable to get. It does so much with so little and that is where Dusk Shines!! Its a must play for anyone who even remotely likes the FPS genre.
  10. Jan 7, 2019
    10
    I do love this game. It wasnt love at first site but it gave me everything ive missed for so long. Fantastic!
  11. Dec 14, 2018
    9
    From what I see now, the game is a solid 9 / 10. Dusk keeps creating interesting shootouts throughout the levels, filled with not-so-challenging but time-consuming secrets, which sometimes appear to be handy. The game freaks you out at first with all the jump scares, but, then again, you get used to them in an hour or so. The soundtrack is very nice (especially those ambient pieces), andFrom what I see now, the game is a solid 9 / 10. Dusk keeps creating interesting shootouts throughout the levels, filled with not-so-challenging but time-consuming secrets, which sometimes appear to be handy. The game freaks you out at first with all the jump scares, but, then again, you get used to them in an hour or so. The soundtrack is very nice (especially those ambient pieces), and the shooting mechanics are very tasty. Acquire this game if you want some old-school experience without strings attached (such as compatibility problems or performance issues). Expand
  12. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    Why are you even reading this? Go buy it.

    ...or keep reading for more infos. Appearantly, some users do not understand what a "faithful" throwback shooter implies. The goal is not to improve on the formula but to create a title that could have very well been released during the era it is aiming for. Dusk is looking to bring back the excitement of playing Quake 1 for the first time.
    Why are you even reading this? Go buy it.

    ...or keep reading for more infos.

    Appearantly, some users do not understand what a "faithful" throwback shooter implies. The goal is not to improve on the formula but to create a title that could have very well been released during the era it is aiming for. Dusk is looking to bring back the excitement of playing Quake 1 for the first time. With a fresh new IP but close to it's inspiration. In this regard, the game exceeds all expectations. Thus why reviews from critics have been so high. You need to judge a game for what it is. Pinning it against huge releases like Doom 2016 is just unfair as it dosent aim to get any close to a modern shooter. The goal is the complete opposite. This game pretty much is a nostalgia time machine. It quite literally kicked me back to my childhood. Good times.

    This game SHOULD be in your library if you are a retrogaming fan. Especially if you like early ID FPS titles. Only downsides I can give can be summarized in 2 points... wich are admitedly more nitpicking than actual huge issues.

    1) Lacks that ONE gun that makes you want to come back constantly. Most of the arsenal is fairly generic with the notable exception of dual sickles. Do not get me wrong, the weapons feels AWESOME to use. This game just needs it's "bfg". Or at the very least a weapon to distinguish itself from the crowd. Outside from those sickles you probably won't use much.

    2) Some enemies and the way they are used ingame sometime makes it harder than it should be. And not always for the right reasons. But hopefully these moments are quite rare. But youll know what I mean when it happens.
    Expand
  13. Dec 26, 2018
    6
    The good: beautiful music score, fast and fluid movement, precise mouse control, 90's retro look and feel, secrets to discover in each map. The mediocre: stock standard weapon selection - no innovative weaponry, graphics - personally I find this game to look worse in parts than even some of the old classics (no pixelation to boot). The bad: lifeless protagonist, background and storyThe good: beautiful music score, fast and fluid movement, precise mouse control, 90's retro look and feel, secrets to discover in each map. The mediocre: stock standard weapon selection - no innovative weaponry, graphics - personally I find this game to look worse in parts than even some of the old classics (no pixelation to boot). The bad: lifeless protagonist, background and story severely lacking, poor weapon animations, progression from one map to another feels ad-hoc - no sense of what ties them geographically together, many maps are boring to play. Bottom line: i had fun in parts but ultimately had to force myself to finish the game - the originals such as Doom, Quake, Blood, Sin, etc. still reign supreme. Expand
  14. Mar 15, 2019
    6
    I find this game to be a bit insulting to the gaming crowd, not for what it is really, but for what it tries to be. Reviews online here and there seem to point out that its, "got its own unique flare" compared to those other older contemporaries its based on. Does anyone really believe that nonsense? It is a by-the-numbers arcade shooter. We've seen many of them over the years. SomeI find this game to be a bit insulting to the gaming crowd, not for what it is really, but for what it tries to be. Reviews online here and there seem to point out that its, "got its own unique flare" compared to those other older contemporaries its based on. Does anyone really believe that nonsense? It is a by-the-numbers arcade shooter. We've seen many of them over the years. Some are better than others, but most seem to struggle to find their own identity among the greats, the fabulous five. The fabulous five being: Doom, Quake, Serious Sam, Painkiller and Blood (Duke Nukem 3D puts it over 5 but its still technically in there). These are the still some of the best games in their respective genre. Its funny to me that developers behind a game like "Dusk" are going for a visual style that both mocks and reveres the mid-90's videogame look. What with the "pixelation" settings, or removing bloom or extra lighting, and changing the color scheme from acceptable, to clown vomit or sepia color tones. This is what I find insulting. Its insulting that anyone would accept this look in the year 2019, and though the game plays about as well as "Painkiller," did it looks like it could've come out in 1995. That's not a compliment. Its not out of respect that they made the game look like it did, if it indeed is, then I truly wonder what on God's green earth was going through their heads. As far as the level design is concerned a simple "homage" to Quake and Doom goes totally overboard. The levels are tiny, there are never as many enemies in each level as you wish there would be. You still have monster closets from 1993. You still have key cards, random switches, end bosses that come up about as often as they did in Quake 1 and many other similarities to older games. The weapons are at least, mostly enjoyable, but you never really use anything beyond the shotgun, pistol and perhaps the double-barreled (I refuse to call it the "Super Shotgun") shotgun. I found the enemies dull, they are easy to pick off from a distance, don't have any health beyond a few assault rifle bullet sprays, and they never attack you with overwhelming numbers (something that was key to the difficulty curve in Serious Sam.) I thought the enemy designs were ugly, I thought the soundtrack was silly and over the top. I found the dialogue found before or after boss-fights to sound quite amateurish and unnecessary. "Dusk" is entirely reliant on a minority of people who play videogames and have not been able to move on from the past. Its like they tried to capture lightning in a bottle, but it will never be the case. Limitations in the medium were what pushed games forward, every Quake has sequentially been made during a computer hardware revolution. It wasn't purposely "designed" to look the way it did, it looked that because of hardware limitations at the time. These older games are still plenty of fun, and their are many devoted projects lying about on the internet if you want to play them on more modern hardware or with modifications that improve upon the originals in many ways. Doom has enjoyed a massive resurgence, and is still being played in some form for over 25 years. If you're gonna make something new Dusk? Just make it, don't ape it. Expand
  15. Dec 18, 2018
    10
    What can I say that hasn't been said? It's true, DUSK is a brilliant loveletter to the 90s FPS games we all know and love, like Quake, Doom, Redneck Rampage, and Blood. However, Dusk also brings the best of these games while trading out the annoying aspects for complete and totally accessibility.

    DUSK feels good to play, moreso than even most AAA games of today. Movement is fluid and
    What can I say that hasn't been said? It's true, DUSK is a brilliant loveletter to the 90s FPS games we all know and love, like Quake, Doom, Redneck Rampage, and Blood. However, Dusk also brings the best of these games while trading out the annoying aspects for complete and totally accessibility.

    DUSK feels good to play, moreso than even most AAA games of today. Movement is fluid and perfect, and very easy to control. The feedback from enemies, weapons, environment, and sound is both informative and fits perfectly.

    It'll take about 4-6 hours to complete the three episode campaign if your FPS skills are up to snuff, but the game has tons of options for replayability: Awards for completing levels in special ways, loadouts on unlocked levels, endless mode, and multiplayer. Modding support and coop coming in the future as well.

    The story, while not in-your-face or anything much like the games that inspired it, is both engaging and surprising. The music complimenting each level and dynamically changing with every big moment in the levels is top notch, and Andrew brings the bacon home, both with the heavy metal tracks, and the creepy atmospheric ones.

    For the price, you can't beat DUSK.
    Expand
  16. Dec 19, 2018
    10
    Amazing FPS which not only emulates, but builds upon the legacy of classics like DOOM and QUAKE to make it a unique and modern experience. A truly worthy successor to the id classics of the 90s, do not miss it!
  17. Dec 22, 2018
    10
    Although, I didn't grew up with 90's FPS games, I enjoyed playing Dusk the whole time. The same moment I finished game I started it all over again for 3 times and guess what? It's still fun. Level design is like in 90's FPS games, with key hunting, shooting is fun, with responsive controls and great sounding weapons. Dusk also has horror moments and it builds up thick atmosphere making meAlthough, I didn't grew up with 90's FPS games, I enjoyed playing Dusk the whole time. The same moment I finished game I started it all over again for 3 times and guess what? It's still fun. Level design is like in 90's FPS games, with key hunting, shooting is fun, with responsive controls and great sounding weapons. Dusk also has horror moments and it builds up thick atmosphere making me crap my pants when I first encountered Wendigo. There are plenty of bosses and most of the time they are great. Soundtrack is awesome and Andrew Hulshult has done amazing job.

    For conclusion I think Dusk is great return to 90's FPS games.I can't wait for New Blood Interactive to release Amid Evil. 10/10
    Expand
  18. Dec 31, 2018
    10
    Classic old school action. Excellent level design. Engaging elements of interaction with the environment. Some nice horror moments that accent the action in a perfect fashion. Absolutely killer gun play. A soundtrack that can keep pace with what you need, be that a blaring metal track, or unnerving ambiance. DUSK has absolutely everything you want and more. And never once during its spanClassic old school action. Excellent level design. Engaging elements of interaction with the environment. Some nice horror moments that accent the action in a perfect fashion. Absolutely killer gun play. A soundtrack that can keep pace with what you need, be that a blaring metal track, or unnerving ambiance. DUSK has absolutely everything you want and more. And never once during its span does it forget that games are about having fun. Expand
  19. Jan 26, 2019
    10
    This game is amazing and 100% deserves the Overwhelmingly Positive status it currently enjoys on Steam. The gameplay is fluid, fast, and fun, the weapons are varied and none are irrelevant, the monsters are creepy and the overall atmosphere of the game is super dark. I cut my teeth on Doom in the early 90s when I was 13 years old and it left a permanent mark on my brain. This game tickledThis game is amazing and 100% deserves the Overwhelmingly Positive status it currently enjoys on Steam. The gameplay is fluid, fast, and fun, the weapons are varied and none are irrelevant, the monsters are creepy and the overall atmosphere of the game is super dark. I cut my teeth on Doom in the early 90s when I was 13 years old and it left a permanent mark on my brain. This game tickled all the right nostalgia centers while bringing a few new tricks all its own.

    And can we talk about the sound design for this game?? First of all, Andrew Hulshult deserves the Nobel Prize for the music he did for Dusk. No lie, there were several times during the game where I got chills from either the rising sense of dread or rising sense of hell yeah that the music was making me feel. Beyond that, enemies and environments make disturbing noises that will keep you leaning forward in your seat and the guns sound great when they're doing their thing.

    My one nitpick about this game is that most of the bosses are kind of meh. They're not awful or anything, just average. And average things can kind of stick out in a game that rocks as hard as this one.

    TLDR, Dusk is a fun as hell love letter to 90s FPS and the music is GOD TIER
    Expand
  20. Mar 7, 2019
    10
    The first episode was pretty good. It took me a while to get into it, but I was quite excited by around the 5th level. From there, the game just continues to grow.

    This has some of the best level design in the genre, building on and in a lot of ways surpassing the old guard. DUSK is sublime. Though the low poly graphics are not the most amazing in the world, there are a few moments in
    The first episode was pretty good. It took me a while to get into it, but I was quite excited by around the 5th level. From there, the game just continues to grow.

    This has some of the best level design in the genre, building on and in a lot of ways surpassing the old guard. DUSK is sublime. Though the low poly graphics are not the most amazing in the world, there are a few moments in various levels that made me pause because of the visuals.

    The weapons aren't the most exciting, but they are functional and feel nice. The game really has you switching between most of your arsenal throughout each of the levels, which keeps things exciting and varied.

    The music is excellent. The sound is excellent.

    There isn't too much of a story but I did find myself genuinely intrigued by things as the second and third acts unraveled before me. I was downright excited about the little tiny shreds of plot the game threw out at the end of the third (and final) act. The mood and scenery is top notch - while it starts as a romp through slightly uninteresting backwoods areas, things quickly escalate towards the end of the first act and throughout the second and third.

    All in all, DUSK is a phenomenal game and worth every bit of the praise it has received. It truly does bear the torch of the FPS games of yore, and hopefully it inspires plenty of new games in the same vein over the next few years.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jan 11, 2019
    89
    Dusk offers a tribute to old-school shooters with a fantastic level design, frantic gameplay and an excellent OST.
  2. Jan 11, 2019
    80
    Dusk does not reinvent the wheel and has no intention to do so. It offers wonderfully fast-paced and robust first person action that mostly lives up to classics like Doom or Quake. Add some great level design and a bold art style, and you get a retro experience that would have been an instant classic, if it had been released 23 years ago.
  3. Jan 4, 2019
    83
    Fantastically playable old-school FPS with great soundtrack and well-emulated retro graphics that even works as a horror game.